Online Writing Groups, Writing Communities and Critique Groups

Looking for information about online writers' groups? Look no further!

Online writing groups can be a great way to make connections in the writing and publishing world and to get critiques that will improve your skills as a writer. That is, if you can find one that suits you. Here you'll find current, up-to-date reviews of online critique groups and writer's communities.

Have a review you'd like to share? Feel free to post in the comments! I'll even post a link to your website/blog/writer's profile, if you like.

Want to see what other writers think of these groups? Jump to the poll farther down the page, where more than 160 people have voted for their favorite sites. According to this poll, Scribophile is the most highly rated site, followed by Critique Circle and Authonomy.

I've organized the groups by popularity for ease of navigation, but don't forget that some of the smaller sites could be a perfect fit - especially the ones that are genre-specific, or that require extra effort to join.

Most Popular Online Writing Groups

Quill in Ink
Quill in Ink

Scribophile, Critique Circle, Authonomy

Review Fuse, Absolute Write

Each of these groups have at least 12 votes in their favor. More popular doesn't necessarily mean better, but they're a good choice for getting your feet wet.

Scribophile: I've had a great experience with this online critique group so far. Basically, once you've signed up for the site, you critique other people's work to get a certain number of 'points.' Once you've gained enough points, you can post your own work. The community is great, and the critiquers offer useful, insightful advice. The website is easy to navigate, and you can easily keep track of critiques you've given and received, which is not true for all sites. Scribophile has a "story queue" feature that makes it easy to pick which story you want to read next. Virtually all stories posted receive critiques. Also has contests.

Critique Circle Online Writing Workshop: Having to sign up means that your work won't be considered "published" when you use this site. There are also a bunch of features that writers really appreciate, such as being able to choose who can view your work and being able to delete or change settings at any time.

Authonomy: Thanks to Cati for spotting this one. Cati writes: "I've joined two groups: authonomy.com and inkpop.com. They're both great sites. Authonomy is for those 18 years and older, but inkpop focuses mainly on teens. What's great about the two is that if your book gets in the top ten, it is read by Harper Collins editors! I am on them both frequently and I love them. There's critiquing and you can chat with people in the community. I love them both and I'd recommend them to anyone."

Review Fuse: This popular site is of the "you give, you get" format: for every four reviews you give, you are guaranteed three in return. You need to sign up for an account in order to participate and see others' work, which means that your work won't be considered "previously published" if you ever seek out a traditional publisher.

Absolute Write Watercooler: This highly active forum is great for connecting with writers and getting answers to writing-related questions.

Your Favorite Community/Critique Online Writing Group: - Vote Here!

This poll is for the fiction critique groups listed above. Keep reading for community (non-critiquing) groups and non-fiction groups!

Which is your favorite online writers' group?

  • Scribophile
  • The Write Idea
  • Writing.com
  • Writers Cafe
  • Critique Circle Online Workshop
  • Nothing Binding
  • Review Fuse
  • Hatrack River Writers Workshop
  • Absolute Write Water Cooler
  • The Writers Beat
  • Figment (was Inkpop)
  • Authonomy
  • The Write-Brained Network
  • BookRix
  • WeBook
  • Quilliant
  • Stories Space
  • The Reddit Writer's Group
  • Story Dam
  • Critters Writers Workshop
  • Quantum Muse
  • Dreaming In Ink Writer's Workshop
  • Composite Minds
  • Amazing Instant Novelist
  • The Next Big Writer
  • Protagonize
  • Mibba
See results without voting

Second Most Popular Online Writing Groups

Writing.com, Writer's Cafe, Inkpop

Quantum Muse, The Write Idea

These groups are also fairly well-known, ranging in votes from about eleven to about four.

Writing.com: With more than 944,000 members, this is a fairly active writing critique group. It also offers special services and tools to the aspiring author. Great for getting discovered, but not great if you're looking for a site that keeps your stuff under wraps.

Writer's Cafe: In my experience so far, more of a community than a critique website. You can put your story up on the website for review, but the reviewing structure isn't as organized as that of Scribophile. When you read a story, you have the option to "share" it with your friends through email, Facebook, MySpace, etc. This is good if you just want to get your story out, not so good if you don't. Sheer volume of stories with little organizational structure makes it difficult to pick something to read. The people here are very friendly. Also has contests.

Figment (was Inkpop): (originally suggested by Cati in the comments section). The look of this site will draw you in right away. Kelly B., who first pointed out this site's transition to us, notes that there can be a lot of effort involved promoting your work internally in order to win contests and thus get story-focused prizes.

Quantum Muse: (for science fiction, fantasy, and horror) Submitted by Timothy O. Goyette. Similar to Critters, you "earn" your keep by critiquing the works of others. Again, don't forget that making your work public on the internet can affect publishing options later on.

The Write Idea: This site is set up primarily as a forum for writers, where you can meet people and solicit advice in addition to posting your story for critique. There is a tight community here, and the number of stories isn't overwhelming. A good portion of stories posted actually receive critiques. Again, less structure than Scribophile. Also has contests.

Third Most Popular Online Writer's Groups

Quilliant, Critters, Write-Brained Network, and More

Each of these critique/community groups received at least two votes. Several of them are specialized (such as Critters), and/or require more work to join. Others are too new to have made much of an impression.

Quilliant: Thanks to marchpast for suggesting this brand-new, UK based writers' critique site. Anyone can join, and once you do, you can form "groups" with other writers based on what kinds of categories of writing (essays, chick lit, young adult, etc.) you're interested it. Group members focus on reviewing one another's work, creating smaller communities within the larger community.

Critters Writers Workshop: (for science fiction, fantasy, and horror) This is a highly active online writer's group, with a high chance of receiving critiques for a story. However, note that there is a lot of commitment involved; you will be dropped from this group if you do not critique regularly enough.

The Write-Brained Network: This site was suggested by Bridgid. It is fairly new, but already has a thriving community of writers. The site is password-encrypted and by invitation, although it supports all levels of writers. You can find critique partners, as well as just talk about the progress of your writing.

Amazing Instant Novelist Revisited (Facebook group): Thanks to Funloving for submitting this new group in the comments! This group has frequent discussions about writing topics (and puppies!)

Nothing Binding: This is a group aimed specifically at writers and authors who want to connect with their readers, and through these connections develop a readership for their work.

Don't Just Take My Word For It!

Fourth Most Popular Online Writing Groups

Composite Minds, Dreaming in Ink, Hatrack, and More

Most of these are too new or too small to have received any votes yet. Small groups can mean better and more focused critiques - just make sure that there are enough people actually using the site to make it worth your while.

Composite Minds: This is a community for writers of poetry and prose. At the moment, there isn't a ton of feedback, and I'm a little concerned that the writing is visible to everyone; make sure to only post excerpts to preserve your first publication rights.

Dreaming In Ink Writer's Workshop: This is a limited community that uses an elist without archives so that you can post your work without worrying about first electronic rights. Always remember to be careful when posting your work online, as it could affect your ability to sell it to a publisher later!

Hatrack River Writers Workshop: (Part of the Orson Scott Card network) This is a site with a closed forum that you must register for to enter the workshop, which means it's okay to publish your work without future publication issues.

BookRix: This site offers ebooks for free (I assume so that authors can build a readership) and also hosts a writing community.

WeBook: This group was suggested by Peggy Dallmann. It's a critique group that is strongly focused on building a community; one part social networking site, and one part writing critique site. There's also a feature that helps you submit your stories electronically to agents, and has links to agents' websites, although according to some the information isn't always up to date. For a review on WeBook, check out this article on Listio.

Stories Space: This is a new online group brought to our attention by Lisa Bradley. The homepage gives you easy access to the latest, most viewed, and most popular stories submitted. Users register, and then enter stories in various genres (including audio). Stories are also rated based on their content; because there is some "extreme content," you must be at least 16 years old to use the site. This site includes a forum and a live chat section for connecting with other writers. Note that because the site is open to everyone, you might have issues publishing a story "traditionally" after first posting it on this site.

New, Possibly Unloved Groups

If They're Good...

Vote Them Up!

Most of these are too new or too small to have received any votes yet. Small groups can mean better and more focused critiques - just make sure that there are enough people actually using the site to make it worth your while.

The Writer's Beat: Thanks to Gwyndolin for spotting this one. Gwyndolin writes: "writersbeat.com is a great one. There are sections to post writing and it can be anything from songs to fiction to poetry (plus more) and advice and tips sections, plus community building sections - places to talk about things not related to writing at all if you want. It's a great group of people."

The Reddit Writer's Group: Reddit is an awesome online community group for people with all sorts of interests. Again, because it's an open group, be careful about posting things that you want to have published elsewhere.

Story Dam: According to creator Brandon, "We are a new writer's community. The site is not by subscription, authors post their work to their own sites/blogs and use a link tool to visit each others work and critique." This site launches on November 1, 2011. I like the idea of connecting writers, but I will caution once again that posting writing on your blog or site counts as "publishing" and could affect the interest of traditional publishers.

The Next Big Writer: This is a PAID site (not free) for writers to share their work. I personally would be cautious about signing up for a paid site, but you can click on the link if you want to check it out. CORRECTION: Reader max keanu was very kind to clarify about this site.

"Your description tense (PAID site) is grammatically off.

One does not have to pay to join this site to review and join the forums. To post novels, which are the majority of offerings there, a fee is charged. This fee keeps out the majority of immature beginning novice writers, God's gift to fiction, vampire/Twilight imitators and of course the trolls.

Most writer there are of a professional caliber in their chosen fields, i.e., doctors, lawyers, of the police, social or sciences, etc. And these disciplines provided them compelling life experiences above and beyond the mundane college experience first person tomes, first love dabbles or the sophomoric or overly melodramatic.

In other words, it is for serious, mature writers who want to develop a mentoring relationship with people who have 'been there and done that'. The site attracts many publish mainstream authors, represented by log established publishers who depend on a cadre of reviewers to move there product to the publishable stage."

Protagonize: Thanks to np for the suggestion! This site is a collaborative space where you can post your stories live for anyone to see.

Mibba: Thanks to colafrank for the suggestion! This site has been around for more than four years, so it's been able to build up a following over time.

Brian Foster's Site: Brian Foster critiques works submitted to his site.

Agent Query Connect: A great online writers' community that critiques queries to improve your chance of getting picked up. Thanks to Mimika for the suggestion!

ScribeSlice: Thanks Jay Jannull for the mention!

Community Writers' Groups
Community Writers' Groups

Community Only Online Writing Groups: Fiction

Non-Critiquing Writers' Groups

Some communities are just for writers to get together, and don't really do critique.

BlogBookTours: This group is focused on helping authors promote their books by going on a 'virtual book tour' across the blogosphere. A great community, and a good way to meet people for aspiring authors.

NaNoWriMo: No list of writing communities would be complete without mention of NaNoWriMo, a.k.a. National Novel Writing Month. What is it, you might ask? Just what it sounds like: a website that challenges people across the US (and now, across the world!) to write a 50,000 word novel during the month of November. At first glance, that might seem ridiculous, impossible, insane even, but when you break it down, it's only 1,667 words a day, right? Okay, so it still sounds crazy, but NaNoWriMo is emminently equipped to help you handle the challenge. From well-equipped forums to motivational videos to even local, real-life events, NaNoWriMo gives you everything you need to finally achieve your dream of writing a novel.

Don't want to wait until November? You're in luck; there's actually a novel writing month for every month of the year!

Image by kraetzsche on Flickr.

Directory of Defunct Writer's Groups

In my search for writers' groups and critique groups, I came across several that either weren't being used any more or weren't accepting new users. Here is what I found.

Aylad's Writer's Group: This is a Yahoo group focused on critiquing writing over email. It has a pretty bare-bones structure compared to the other groups. Also seems to have succumbed to some flame wars. The associated website hasn't been updated for a long time, but the chat group still exists. This online writer's group is age restricted. Seems to have been losing traffic over the last few months.

Short Story Group: The group forum for this site is closed. However, you can still go here to get some good information about critiquing and writing.

Coffeehouse Select Critique Community: The critique group is closed, but this site still has some great information!

CritiqueGroups.com: The website is no longer at this url.

More by this Author


Did I Miss Any Online Writers' Groups? - Or Any Other Suggestions? 127 comments

HotbuttonPress 8 years ago

Nice start! Don't forget http://groups.yahoo.com/blogbooktours and a lensroll to http://quickest.blogbooktourguide.ever.com for more great writing resources.


anonymous 7 years ago

I'm on www.thenextbigwriter.com

It also has a review-to-post system and a minimal membership fee. I'm on it and find every penny to be well spent.


anonymous 7 years ago

Any suggestions for someone who is just starting out and would appreciate support and encouragement as well as critique?


anonymous 7 years ago

www.quantummuse.com besides being a sci fi/fantasy zine is also a writer's group. All published stories are selected from the writer's group. Each submitted story is guaranteed 5 critiques. To submit a story requires a submission credit. One submission credits is earned for each 3 critiques. You can also engage in discussions with other members by using the messaging system. This allows writers to discuss critiques in more detail. There is also a forum for general discussion.


sciencefictionn profile image

sciencefictionn 6 years ago

Useful lens about a topic I am interested in. Excellent job! 5 stars


Nielsen 6 years ago

I'm on www.bookrix.com, a community for writers and readers. It's free! You can read books online, create and present your own books and network with other writers or readers. There are forums, groups and regular writing contests.


anonymous 6 years ago

@anonymous: Try cavewriters.com!


anonymous 6 years ago

I need guidance with organizing a10-year journal of notes for a nonfiction project i want to do.


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 6 years ago Author

@anonymous: Definitely sounds like something a writer's group could help with! You could also find a local group, such as those listed on http://www.squidoo.com/localwritersassociationsbys... And many community colleges and community centers teach classes about both fiction and nonfiction writing.


Sayewhat profile image

Sayewhat 6 years ago

great info..... i've been writing since the age of ten and i know how tricky it can be!


anonymous 6 years ago

writersbeat.com is a great one. There are sections to post writing and it can be anything from songs to fiction to poetry (plus more) and advice and tips sections, plus community building sections - places to talk about things not related to writing at all if you want. It's a great group of people.


squidoolover76 6 years ago

Really very useful tips, I think it's a paradise for talented writers


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 6 years ago Author

@anonymous: Great suggestion! I've added it.


VivekS 6 years ago

hello, that sounds cool on getting fast, up-to-date reviews of online critique groups and writer's communities. seems more of a community feeling. thanks for more insight on genre specific critiques. well-conceived!


anonymous 6 years ago

I've joined two groups: authonomy.com and inkpop.com. They're both great sites. Authonomy is for those 18 years and older, but inkpop focuses mainly on teens. What's great about the two is that if your book gets in the top five, it is read by Harper Collins editors! I am on them both frequently and I love them. There's critiquing and you can chat with people in the community. I love them both and I'd recommend them to anyone.


anonymous 6 years ago

@anonymous: My mistake... its the top ten that get read! Even better. :)


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 6 years ago Author

Thanks for reporting more sites! I've updated the information above.


rikleigh 6 years ago

Great info! I'm the developer behind both authonomy.com and inkpop.com

I've made a quick guide for getting started on authonomy if anyone is interested.

http://www.squidoo.com/authonomy-online-writing-co... :)


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 6 years ago Author

@rikleigh: Thanks for the link! I've added it to the Authonomy section. It's great to see a developer actively involved in helping new users!


anonymous 5 years ago

I'd like to add The Write Brained Network. It's a relatively new group (almost a year old), but growing rapidly. I belong to a couple of other online groups, but find this one to be the most supportive and motivating. There are both fiction and non-fiction writers in the group, and subgroups for those who are interested.


JakTraks profile image

JakTraks 5 years ago from Chicago area

Helpful info - thankyou!


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 5 years ago Author

@anonymous: Thanks for the info! Looks like a great group. I've added the information above.


Marijoyce 5 years ago

Another well-done and really useful lens. I'll be bookmarking this one as well. I'm working on a fantasy novel at present and I see a lot of potentially useful groups I can check out here. Thanks for the good work here. Well done and helps writers a great deal.


rwoman profile image

rwoman 5 years ago

Very useful lens. Writing groups are a marvelous support for writers looking to learn and grow -- or just connect with other writers.


JanetG LM profile image

JanetG LM 5 years ago

I love chatting at the writers chatroom www.writerschatroomcom on Wednesday nights 8-10 pm EST. Thanks for the info.


anonymous 5 years ago

@anonymous: I agree! The site is great :)


wadestar 5 years ago

My favourite has to be Authonomy, but that may now change because of your lens very informative thank you


legangles 5 years ago

Thanks for this lense, I have started writing blog fiction and its hard to find sites that are still live! the amount of dissertion of these sites is worrying... Cheers


sheilamarie78 profile image

sheilamarie78 5 years ago

Very helpful lens! Thanks!


anonymous 5 years ago

I like the comments that the authors from authonomy leave about my novels. I posted them there to see what people thought of my writing style. It encouraged me to keep writing more novels. It's a very supportive community.


Brite-Ideas profile image

Brite-Ideas 5 years ago from Toronto, Canada

A very informative lens,

Barb


jojokaya lm profile image

jojokaya lm 5 years ago

great information about online writer's groups.. and great lens too


UKGhostwriter profile image

UKGhostwriter 5 years ago

Great lens emma


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 5 years ago Author

Glad everyone found the site helpful!


mneff999 5 years ago

This lens serves writers well.


anonymous 5 years ago

Another free online critique group is www.writermatch.org


anonymous 5 years ago

Amazing Instant Novelist Revisited it is a facebook site, where people that want some feed back on their writing can find supportive critism. if you have trouble coming up with a topic, they post new topics once a week!


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 5 years ago Author

@anonymous: Thanks for the info! I've added it.


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 5 years ago Author

@anonymous: I'm waiting for more information before I add this group. They seem to be asking for a lot of personal information to join.


marchpast 5 years ago

Hi Emma, I'd like to present Quilliant.com for your consideration - it is a great new writing site featuring full critiquing to improve your work. You can connect with other writers to form both real-world and online writing groups and have your writing promoted to thousands of readers and publishing decision-makers across the site - and millions beyond through social media plugins.


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 5 years ago Author

@marchpast: Sounds interesting! Good luck with building a new writers' community! I've added it to the list.


fionajean profile image

fionajean 5 years ago from South Africa

Thanks for putting together a comprehensive list - I haven't really joined writer's circles 'cos I didn't know which ones were good.


anonymous 5 years ago

Has anyone ever used writtingassistance.weebly.com? or www.newrhetoricofthepeople.info? I found them both very helpful. it wasn't on this site but it was helpful and free. Can never beat free lol. I found the website http://writingassistance.weebly.com/ helpful for people who want free help with brainstorming, proofreading, or research. The administrator responded rather quickly. She actually taught me something instead of just doing it for me. I had needed help writing an esay for a class website project. She helped me find sources and she helped me eek out a thesis and showed me how to stay on track.


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 5 years ago Author

@fionajean: Hope you find something here that's right for you!


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 5 years ago Author

@anonymous: I'm having trouble accessing the writing assistance site, so I can't say for sure if it will suit the reader's needs. Let me know if the address is correct!


anonymous 5 years ago

What about WeBook (www.webook.com)? I haven't joined the community, so I don't know much about it. But I think it's worth looking into if one is seeking a writers' community. I was looking at your article because I decided I need to find a serious online writers' community that will offer advice and critiquing. I found webook through my own research. It allows authors an opportunity to link up with agents, and readers rate their work.


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 5 years ago Author

@anonymous: Thanks for the tip! I've checked it out, and it definitely looks like one for writers to consider, especially if they're looking for the community aspect.


elhuntley lm profile image

elhuntley lm 5 years ago

Nice lens a lot of great info.


anonymous 5 years ago

What an excellent resource you have compiled for writers, well done!


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 5 years ago Author

@anonymous: Glad you liked it! I love promoting writerly connections!


zencherry 5 years ago

www.libboo.com

A great place to submit your work, gain exposure, and collaborate.


anonymous 5 years ago

Thank you for the excellent article! I run a website called storiesspace.com, a free online writing community where writers post their works of fiction, discuss various writing topics in the forum and provide feedback on each others work. We're just over a year old but quickly developing into a warm, friendly community. New members most welcome!


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 5 years ago Author

@anonymous: Looks like a really interesting site! I've added it to the list, thanks for letting me know.


anonymous 4 years ago

enjoyed this reading this morning. I'm all about nonprofit stuff too. If you haven't browsed my lens yet, please do, I think you'll like the topic and poll questions for my readers to enjoy.


anonymous 4 years ago

Quantum Muse is an online writer's group that also is a web zine. Each month's selections com form the critiqued submissions. A member earns one submission credit for every 3 stories critiqued. This is specific to the science Fiction, Fantasy, abnd Horror genres.


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 4 years ago Author

@anonymous: Thanks for the great-looking site! I've added it to the list.


anonymous 4 years ago

We are a new writer's community you might be interested in. We launch in full on November 1st, but you are welcome to contact me and I can get you an early view at what we are doing. The site is not by subscription, authors post their work to their own sites/blogs and use a link tool to visit each others work and critique on their site or blog. We have traditionally published and/or represented author interviews scheduled, and will post advice from various authors and publishing or writing bloggers as well as original content. The site is called Story Dam (http://storydam.com)


waldenthreenet profile image

waldenthreenet 4 years ago

You have a lot of great writers support groups listed here. But going beyond this, I would like see people commenting on their own experience with may their top 3 choices as to why then like each, and advantages and disadvantages of each. May be a separate module for such discussion linked to this wonderful Lens you have created will be helpful. But for now, I will start by looking deeper to my top 4 picks from your introduction. Comments ? Topic 02 : Oh, I am a community tv producer and focusing on short stories as I read recently in the 60's and 70's some top movies were made based on short stories. Anyone know about this topic ?


anonymous 4 years ago

I am an administrator of a small writing/critique site called Literati Sedition. We aim to provide a small community where nobody gets lost amidst the crowd. Where there are unbiased, constructive critiques on your writing. Admins regularly review members too so you are always guaranteed a critique. We also offer a free online writing course called 'Dead on the Page' which goes through the many faults and traps writers new and old fall into. The site is free of charge and has made a real change to the abilities and knowledge of many members.

Check us out at http://litsedition.spruz.com/


seosmm 4 years ago

Good info. Very nice lens!


bolillie 4 years ago

What a tremendous resource for writers! Thanks so much!


Board-Game-Brooke profile image

Board-Game-Brooke 4 years ago from US/TN

Great info! I had seen your article about groups that physically meet but I missed this one -- there are so many more choices when you aren't restricted to a certain geographic area. I'm not ready to join a group right now, but I know I'll need to find a critique group in future. I'm bookmarking this list for later. Thanks!


anonymous 4 years ago

It would have helped to know if there were any good poetry critiquing groups out there. I'm currently a member of critiquecircle.com, and I absolutely love it (for fiction), but my development in poetry has been completely neglected.


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 4 years ago Author

@anonymous: The Writer's Beat and Composite Minds are two groups that definitely accept poetry; I think there are a few others on the list as well. Hope this helps!


whimsey 4 years ago

I had no idea there were so many writers' groups out there! This list is a great resource for writers.


whimsey 4 years ago

I had no idea there were so many writers' groups out there! This list is a great resource for writers.


norma-holt profile image

norma-holt 4 years ago

This is a wonderful lens and some great ideas for writers. Blessed and featured om Blessef by Skiesgreen 2012 and also on How to Write for Reader's Benefit. Hugs.


anonymous 4 years ago

I just bookmarked this lens for future use. Online writers' groups seem like a great way to grow as a writer. Thanks.


SoniaCarew profile image

SoniaCarew 4 years ago

A fantastic lens that I certainly will use! Thank you so much!


Edutopia 4 years ago

Nice comprehensive list of online writing groups.


Hellus 4 years ago

Excellent lens! This is a truly wonderful compendium and a needed resource for folks! You've really done a fabulous job in coordinating and assessing the strengths and weaknesses of various sites. I commend you on the depth and breadth of your knowledge! Bravo! Well done!


SheGetsCreative profile image

SheGetsCreative 4 years ago from Seattle, WA

Thanks for all the great writer resources - will definitely be checking them out.


KathyBatesel profile image

KathyBatesel 4 years ago

Ok, I became a fan! What a great list of sites. I'll look forward to getting to know one or two of them and reading more from you, too. Thanks!


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 4 years ago Author

@KathyBatesel: Aw, thanks! I love it when people find new groups that really suit them!


kbeckbooks 4 years ago

Writing groups are a great way to get good feedback on your own writing, as well as get tips and tricks for the trade.

A trick I'd like to share to authors is that every reviewer of your writing has a different style. Don't be put out if you get one or two people who dislike your main character, or don't like how you worded your favorite part of the story. It just didn't click with them. It's probably just fine. Now, if you get 3 people who say something needs to be changed, then it is something you should start looking into. They might be on to something that will make your story even better.


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 4 years ago Author

@kbeckbooks: This is absolutely fantastic advice! There are plenty of reasons that other writers might not agree with your work, and it doesn't necessarily mean your work is bad. The hardest part is learning to be objective, and understanding when a critique is a personal preference or an actual flaw.

This is also the reason that it can take some time going through potential publishers to find the one that sees your vision, and also why people turn to self-publishing when they want to share a vision that others don't agree with.


adriennedewolfe 4 years ago

To help aspiring authors discern between "helpful" fiction critiques and "harmful" fiction critiques, I've written 2 articles about how to give and interpret feedback for a fiction manuscript. I invite fiction writers to visit my website, http://WritingNovelsThatSell.com, to learn more. (You'll find the links on the navigation bar, under "Story Critiques and Book Coaching.)

~ Adrienne deWolfe, Award-winning Novelist / Writers Digest University fiction instructor


Seasons Greetings profile image

Seasons Greetings 4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

A good list of groups. One I hadn't known about but will check into.


JoyfulReviewer profile image

JoyfulReviewer 4 years ago

Thanks for publishing this helpful list. I appreciate the time and energy involved to hunt down all these resources. ~~Blessed~~


anonymous 4 years ago

I hadn't heard of some of these groups, so thank you.


anonymous 4 years ago

Hey I am 12 years old and I have a dream of becoming an author, I have been writing since I was 5 and have had 1 of my stories read out to a class, any advice on how to be a published author would be greatly appreciated:)


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 4 years ago Author

@anonymous: Good for you! You're awesome for wanting to give writing a serious try. Here are my suggestions. 1.) Take any writing classes you can - either in your school, summer classes, go away to "writing camps," etc. Not only will these build your skills, but you'll also make contacts in the writing community, which is EQUALLY important. If you have a choice of high schools, choose one with a strong writing program. 2.) See if you can attend a local writers' conference or meetings of a local writers' group. Do an internet search for "writers' group" and your state to find them. You'll probably need an adult to go with you, but attending these conferences is by far the best way to make contacts and see what the industry is really like. 3.) Start a writing group with other writers at your school, even better if you can make it "official" and have a teacher or a local writer as a mentor. 4.) Do an internet search for "kid's writing contests" and enter one or more (http://www.thebettyaward.com/ is an example). Be prepared to face some rejection, though. Also, don't hesitate to ask me more questions, you can click on my picture at the top of this site and then press the "Contact" button on my profile page. Best of luck!


piarejuden profile image

piarejuden 4 years ago

Great to see the right kind of motivation to writing.. Thanks for all the info. I didn't know there were all these options online! :)


anonymous 4 years ago

You missed one of the oldest and biggest online writing and critique groups - TheNextBigWriter.


Spiderlily321 profile image

Spiderlily321 4 years ago

Awesome lens. My fiancé and I recently completed our debut paranormal novel and have been looking for a good writer's group to join. Thank you so much for sharing this.


anonymous 4 years ago

Figment.com is a good site for their contests, but to get your work noticed you have to promote it, so it gets extremely tiring. I hate it for that fact, but if you're willing to devote a lot of time for a week or two, then you might win a contest and get an awesome prize, like a chat with an author. This is the only reason I like the site is for the contests, but I thought I would mention it. I think it is mostly comprised of younger writers, too.


anonymous 4 years ago

@anonymous: Research how to get an agent, how to get published, what sites will help you with writing. Try a few of the sites mentioned here. Be serious about writing. Search the Internet for writing competitions for young writers, get your writing published (poems, short stories, what not). Start small and get bigger. Read everything you can get your hands on, especially books in the genre you want to write in. Work hard. Be open minded. Understand that it's not easy. Keep writing and writing and writing.


anonymous 4 years ago

good


oooMARSooo LM profile image

oooMARSooo LM 4 years ago

You're definitely a talented writer. I very much enjoyed this Lens, and I thank you for grouping all these writing groups together in one place for our (your readers) reference. :) Keep up the good work!


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 4 years ago Author

@oooMARSooo LM: Thank you so much! I'm glad you found this resource useful.


Millionairemomma profile image

Millionairemomma 4 years ago

I think you got them all! Wonderful job compiling all of them.


dream1983 4 years ago

I enjoy reading this lens, great job!


matchlit 4 years ago

Thank you so much for this article, I've been looking for some good websites to join and Critique Circle sounds good!


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 4 years ago Author

Glad everyone is finding this list so useful! Hope you're all finding great groups to be a part of :)


anonymous 4 years ago

Me and a few others just recently created a online writers community called 'Readers Writers Notebook' which we are only beginning to advertise about. It consists of a Forum for you to talk with other writers, a page filled with book reviews, and a great Blog with tons of helpful inspiration advice. It's more specifically routed to fit the needs of teens so please check it out!

http://readerswritersnotebook.weebly.com/


poorwendy lm profile image

poorwendy lm 4 years ago

Extensive list. It will take me some time to research each one. Thanks for the lens.


ElizabethSheppard profile image

ElizabethSheppard 4 years ago from Bowling Green, Kentucky

I will come back and see if I can add a group. This gives me lots of places to explore!


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 4 years ago Author

@anonymous: I'll have to check it out!


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 4 years ago Author

@poorwendy lm: You're welcome :)


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 4 years ago Author

@ElizabethSheppard: Glad to hear it! Looking forward to any additions you might find!


anonymous 4 years ago

Emma, my blog might fit in with your list. I'm soliciting short submissions that I'll critique. Check out www.brianwfoster.com if interested. Thanks.


anonymous 3 years ago

I'm looking for writer's group to critique my writing abilities and offer wise suggestions to a beginner writer.


anonymous 3 years ago

MythicScribes.com is a fabulous writing community for fantasy authors. An active and responsive user base ensures a vibrant dialog about all things writerly and fantastical, plus feedback on posted WIPs and stories. Definitely worth a look see. :)


siobhanryan profile image

siobhanryan 3 years ago

Blessed-excellant


ryokomayuka profile image

ryokomayuka 3 years ago from USA

I would love to join one. I will have to bookmark lens.


ukprowriter profile image

ukprowriter 3 years ago

Wow So many groups and so little time. Thanks for sharing


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 3 years ago Author

Thanks everyone for your comments. Glad you found the list useful, and hope you find a group that suits your needs!


anonymous 3 years ago

RE:The Next Big Writer: This is a PAID site (not free) for writers to share their work. I personally would be cautious about signing up for a paid site, but you can click on the link if you want to check it out.

Your description tense (PAID site) is grammatically off.

One does not have to pay to join this site to review and join the forums. To post novels, which are the majority of offerings there, a fee is charged. This fee keeps out the majority of immature beginning novice writers, God's gift to fiction, vampire/Twilight imitators and of course the trolls.

Most writer there are of a professional caliber in their chosen fields, i.e., doctors, lawyers, of the police, social or sciences, etc. And these disciplines provided them compelling life experiences above and beyond the mundane college experience first person tomes, first love dabbles or the sophomoric or overly melodramatic.

In other words, it is for serious, mature writers who want to develop a mentoring relationship with people who have 'been there and done that'. The site attracts many publish mainstream authors, represented by log established publishers who depend on a cadre of reviewers to move there product to the publishable stage.


cdechavigny 3 years ago

There is a huge list of online writing groups. I would love to surf them all , cheers \m/


makarenko profile image

makarenko 3 years ago

THANK YOU!!! That's all I am going to say for now... ;)


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 3 years ago Author

@anonymous: Thank you for your clarification! I've added it above.


emmaklarkins profile image

emmaklarkins 3 years ago Author

@makarenko: You're welcome :D


anonymous 3 years ago

You missed Agent Query Connect, a very useful group.


michalk lm profile image

michalk lm 3 years ago

thanks for the list of groups.


Digory LM profile image

Digory LM 3 years ago

Thanks so much for the lens. I'm a new writer and can use all the help I can get.


Wayne Rasku profile image

Wayne Rasku 3 years ago

Wow, there is no shortage of places to add and receive critiques. This looks like an excellent way to improve writing skills. Thanks for the great list.


anonymous 3 years ago

Hey, you totally missed ScribeSlice.com! how is that possible, they are newer and remain free to use and have a truly global audience!


epcws79 profile image

epcws79 3 years ago

Great lens, good information, I think It will help me a lot.

Thanks


anonymous 3 years ago

I need some assistance on a paragraph I wrote, can someone help me?

rulycantrell@yahoo.com

Thanks


tammywilliams09 profile image

tammywilliams09 3 years ago

Thanks. You provided a great deal of information. I was wondering how I could get someone to critique my work apart from Squidoo. I plan to look at those top ranked sites you mentioned. Writing is an important skill so I want to do my best.


Colin323 3 years ago

I use WriteWords. There is an annual payment (£35), but I have had good value from it, in terms of honest critiques from professional writers. The cost element deters a lunatic fringe you find on Authonomy. There is also no competition on the site, as the main aim is for writers to critique other writers, not vote for them. There is also a mine of useful information about markets on it from members or in their archives.


seodress profile image

seodress 3 years ago

Very helpful lens. Great information.


cdhops profile image

cdhops 3 years ago

Wow, fantastic information. I will be looking into the critiquing group.Thank you


ChelsyG 2 years ago

Thank you for sharing. I just looked for a writing group, this lens really help me.


MJ Martin profile image

MJ Martin 2 years ago from Washington State

What an awesome list, gonna keep me busy until the new year for sure. Thanks.


TanjaCrouch profile image

TanjaCrouch 2 years ago

This is fantastic. I had not heard of most of these. Nano is another good one--National Novel Writing Month sponsors.


Marisa Wright profile image

Marisa Wright 18 months ago from Sydney

So, does that mean that on some of these groups, you're posting excerpts on a public forum? I would be worried about that even if I wasn't planning to attract a traditional publisher. Having experienced (on HubPages) how widespread article theft is on the internet, I wouldn't be posting any part of my novel on the open internet until it's ready for publication!

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working