Indian Mythology: The Seven Great Sages or Saptarishis


Saptarishis or the seven sages.
Saptarishis or the seven sages.

What exactly are Saptarishis

Hindu Mythology has three main Gods: Brahma, the Creator, Vishnu, the Preserver and Mahesha (Shiva),the destroyer. The Saptarishis mean Sapta=Seven Rishi(s)=Sage(s) or the Seven Rishis in Sanskrit, an Indian language from which most of Indian languages have evolved. These Seven Rishis are the great seers, caretakers, mind born sons of Brahma.In a similar way, Greeks too had seven wise men namely Cleobulos, Periandros, Bias, Pittacos, Chilon, Solon and Thales which shows that mythologies around the globe do have parallel connections though it will take another hundred years for researchers to prove it.They live for a period of time known as a manvantar (306,720,000 Earth Years). Though incredulous, that is what Indian mythology is about.

So which are the Saptarishis

There are various books written in Hindu mythology and some books have a slight variation in the listing of which exactly are the seven rishis. The most popular Seven Rishis recognized are Atri, Vashishta, Kashyapa, Vishwamitra, Jamadagni, Bharadvaja and Gautama. As given below, there is variation according to different literature

Literature Variation of Saptarishis

The Light Masters

So what is the fuss about

They are said to be 'seers' by virtue of being able to see the divine law which rules all creation and also sustains it.They are also said to be first Brahmans or the sons of Brahma. They have divine powers and are free from worldly pleasures, the circle of life and death and karma. They bring down to the earth the Knowledge required and Energies to strengthen the processes of Transition or Pralaya. They are the most evolved Light Beings in the Creation and the guardians of the Divine Laws. They are given more importance than the "Devatas" or the other Gods.

The Big Dipper or Ursa Major

The Seven stars of The Big Dipper or the Ursa Major are known as the Saptarishis or Saptarshis in Indian Astronomy. They are said to revolve around Dhruva or the Pole Star. The Seven corresponding Ursa Majoris stars with the rishis or "sages" is as follows:

Alpha Ursa majoris: Kratu

Beta Ursa majoris: Pulaha

Gamma Ursa majoris: Pulastya

Delta Ursa majoris: Atri

Epsilon Ursa majoris: Angiras

Zeta Ursa majoris: Vasishtha

Ita Ursa majoris: Marichi

As can be seen, again a variation in names of these rishis is observed.

The Big Dipper or Saptarshis in Indian mythology

the big dipper
the big dipper

More by this Author

Comments 4 comments

uday 21 months ago

Soooo good

audrey parmer 11 months ago

i relly love this book because it will tell you about the seven rishis.My brothers love this book so much that they want me and my mom to buy it .how much do you want for it.

ranjan kumar mohanty 8 months ago

all r good

sudhendra 6 months ago

maharishi.kashyapa happens to be the father of lord.vaman,lord.sun,lord.indra as per indian mythology.And it is a well known fact that lord.vishnu is the sustainer of the world.Therefore it is said that never question the origin of a rishi,river,and a holy cow.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.

    Click to Rate This Article