Slow Cooker Review - 3 Crock Pot Buffet

There's my three crock buffet in the box, on my counter, waiting to be opened. So excited!
There's my three crock buffet in the box, on my counter, waiting to be opened. So excited! | Source

Benefits of Slow Cookers

I've really been getting into cooking with crock pots, or slow cookers. These kitchen items are great for the summer because they don't heat up the kitchen like the stove or oven will. In the winter, the slow cooker is also fun to use, as it creates warm and comforting foods.

Slow cookers require much less energy even when on for eight hours compared to only an hour or so on the stove. And how awesome is it to put in the food and walk away without having to continually check on it as you would with the stove or oven. There is virtually no danger of the food boiling over or burning. Plus, if you have the "warm" feature, you can keep food warm without it continuing to cook.

To me, another perk is that everything just seems to taste better in a slow cooker. Well, maybe not dishes such as fried chicken, but foods do seem to blend together well in a crock pot. I have cleaned out my refrigerator and freezer before, dumping in my slow cooker the miscellaneous leftover vegetables and meats, adding only a few spices, with the final result tastier than I could have imagined.


Cook three foods at once!

Although I've been enjoying my traditional slow cooker for years now, recently I caught myself eyeing the three pot slow cooker. I seemed to spot them everywhere I went. One even went for a door prize at a conference I attended.

As my birthday drew near, I told my boyfriend that getting me one of these three crock buffets would be a great idea. It wasn't too long before we were off to Kohl's to pick one out!

We looked at the different sizes--one with a regular size crock plus two small ones of 1 1/2 quarts, one with three 1 1/2 quart sizes, and one with three 2 1/2 quart sizes. I didn't want the regular sized one, as I already have a large slow cooker. After some contemplation, we decided that I might regret getting the smallest sizes, so we decided on the 2 1/2 quart sized crocks. I think they are the perfect size.

My three crock slow cooker buffet, all washed and set up, ready to go!
My three crock slow cooker buffet, all washed and set up, ready to go! | Source
Three dishes ready to go: marinated chicken, loaded potatoes, and green beans.
Three dishes ready to go: marinated chicken, loaded potatoes, and green beans. | Source

Setting up your slow cooker buffet

The three crock slow cooker was easy to set up. I found a temporary spot on the counter, flipped quickly through the instructions, washed the pots and lids, placed them in the apparatus, and I was ready to go.

Also included in this brand (Tru) were three heavy duty serving spoons. I could hardly wait to cook in my new prize for the first time.

Since then, I have moved the stuff on my counter around in order to give my crocks a permanent spot. I thought about moving the appliance to the garage or somewhere else when I wasn't using it, but I thought that would be too much trouble. I think I'll be using this slow cooker pretty often. Plus, the attractive black and stainless steel matches the built-in microwave and stove that is next to it.


Three pots cooking, all steamed up!
Three pots cooking, all steamed up! | Source

I love my new three pot slow cooker!

5 stars for Tru 3 Pot Crock Slow Cooker

My first three crock meal

My first three crock meal consisted of marinated chicken breasts, potatoes and onions, and green beans. After marinating the chicken breasts, I cooked them slowly to tenderize them. I cooked the potatoes and onions on high for a while before switching them to low, adding some grated cheese. For the green beans, I found an online recipe for frozen green beans cooked in chicken broth. Those I cooked on high.

I'm excited about the "warm" setting, as I have only a "high" and "low" on my regular crock pot. The warm--unlike the low--setting keeps the dish warm without continuing to cook it. I love that!

You may want to know that these little crocks are removable for cleaning. The dishwasher isn't recommended for them, but they clean up easily by hand. I've had no trouble with them at all.

I thoroughly enjoyed my first time cooking with my new three crock slow cooker buffet. This thing will be great for parties!

The results: I took these dishes over to my boyfriend's house to let him try them too, since he bought this delightful kitchen appliance for  me. The experiment was a big success!
The results: I took these dishes over to my boyfriend's house to let him try them too, since he bought this delightful kitchen appliance for me. The experiment was a big success! | Source

Have you used a three pot slow cooker?

  • Yes, and I love it!
  • Yes, but I didn't care for it.
  • No, but now I want one!
  • No, but I have no interest.
See results without voting

More by this Author


Comments 40 comments

Georgie Lowery profile image

Georgie Lowery 3 years ago from Slaton, Texas USA

Great review, thank you for sharing it!

I've been eyeballing the three crock cooker for a little while, but I have a dilemma. I want to get it for my roommate and she and her husband have five kids! Plus me, that makes eight to cook for. Do you think the large size of this brand would be big enough to cook for eight?


Louisa Rogers profile image

Louisa Rogers 3 years ago from Eureka, California and Guanajuato, Mexico

I love my crock pot! Don't think I cook enough volume for the three crock-pot version, in fact I didn't even know of its existence, but it was a good read.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Georgie--It might work for 8. It holds quite a bit. I didn't even fill half the crocks when I used it. You might look in a store to see the actual sizes--what 2 1/2 quarts looks like. It might at least be good for side dishes when there doesn't need to be as much of one dish. It's something to consider. It might make cooking easier for your roommate.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Louisa--Sometimes I cook just for myself and have stuff for the whole week. I'm sure I'll use it when just cooking for myself! I don't guess I have to always cook 3 things at once. :-)


MartieCoetser profile image

MartieCoetser 3 years ago from South Africa

A Slow Cooker is just what I need. So glad to see the 3 Crock Pot Buffet (instead of one pot). I wonder if it is available in SA? Let me go check. Thank you, Victoria!


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

I don't know, Martie, but I bet you could order it online and get it shipped there, perhaps? I forget that you are in South Africa! :-)


savingkathy profile image

savingkathy 3 years ago from Ontario, Canada

I've never heard of this before, but think it is a brilliant idea! Now, if only I can find some more counter space in my kitchen... ;)


MartieCoetser profile image

MartieCoetser 3 years ago from South Africa

Victoria, apparently the 3 Crock Pot Buffet is not yet here - but I will check the stores - On the other hand, one pot will be enough for me. I love stews! This is what's available in SA. And BTW, R1 (ZAR) equals about $7 ~~~ http://www.takealot.com/home-kitchen/slow-cookers?...


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Yeah, savingkathy, it's awesome! You could set it on the dryer when you're not using it! LOL


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Martie--ONly $7? Wow. You should have at least ONE slow cooker!! :-)


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Martie--The ones at takealot look just fine!


always exploring profile image

always exploring 3 years ago from Southern Illinois

I most definitely will purchase the three pot cooker. I didn't know they were on the market. Thank you for sharing..


Angela Blair profile image

Angela Blair 3 years ago from Central Texas

I'd seen the three-pot cookers but didn't know anyone who'd bought and used them -- so thank you muchly for this informative Hub. I use my one-pot cooker a lot and can think of ways the 3-pot model would be tremendously helpful. Great review! Best/Sis


Mhatter99 profile image

Mhatter99 3 years ago from San Francisco

Good product review. Thank you. Though I once used 2, somehow I have 3.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

always exploring--I didn't know they were out there either, until they started hitting me in the face b/c they were everywhere!!!!!


RealHousewife profile image

RealHousewife 3 years ago from St. Louis, MO

Hi Vicki! I just got one of those from my sister for a gift! Now I really can't wait to use it....I think it's almost exactly the same except its red...I knew it would be awesome for family dinners and holidays!


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 3 years ago from England

What a great review! now I seriously want one! lol! your cooking looks great too, I am on my way!


randomcreative profile image

randomcreative 3 years ago from Milwaukee, Wisconsin

I love hosting and would really enjoy this! Very tempting. I've already maxed out my Christmas gift list this year, but I'll have to keep this in mind for my birthday.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Angela Blair--I like that word, "muchly"!! I'm excited to see what ways I'll be using my three pot cooker! :-)


GiblinGirl profile image

GiblinGirl 3 years ago from New Jersey

This sounds awesome. I've never used a crock pot before and always thought they weren't really worth it, but I've been pinning all these crock pot recipes on Pinterest and now I'm ready to get one. Maybe I'll check this one out.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Mhatter--Now how did that happen???


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

RealH Kelly--Red is awesome! Fun color. I bet you'll love it!


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Go, Nell, go! You won't regret it!

You too, random! You would love it, too. You don't have to put it on your birthday list; just buy it for yourself. LOL!


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Oh, GiblinGirl, crock pots are SOOO worth it, whether you use one or three! Easy, healthy, and makes food taste great!


carol7777 profile image

carol7777 3 years ago from Arizona

I guess three crockpots are better than one. Great job on the review and I can almost smell dinner cooking.


Ruchira profile image

Ruchira 3 years ago from United States

Crock pots are my fav too, and three in one is superb :)

Good review, Vicki.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

haha, carol! Yes, 3 are sometimes better than one. :-)


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Me, too, Ruchira! thanks for the input!


teaches12345 profile image

teaches12345 3 years ago

My mother-in-law would love this slow cooker. She cooks all the time for large family gatherings. I often have wondered what would help her and now I know. I am going to mention this to my hubby. Thanks for the Christmas gift idea.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

teaches--Yes! This would be a great gift for your mother-in-law. It's awesome!


tebo profile image

tebo 3 years ago from New Zealand

I have never seen a three pot slow cooker. It is a great idea. I use my one pot slow cooker quite often and it is so good to just put the food on and forget about it until its time to dish up. Great review.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Thanks, tebo, for the comments. You should try one of these things! :-)


pstraubie48 profile image

pstraubie48 3 years ago from sunny Florida

O thank you for this. I have used my one pot crock pot for quite a while and love it because I can take the pot out to clean it. I may have missed it; are these little pots removable for cleaning??

This looks like a new addition to my kitchen.

With summer coming on, less heat in the house the better for sure.

Sending Angels and good wishes your way :) ps


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

pstraubie--It's fun to cook 3 things at once. And, yes, the pots are removable for cleaning. The dishwasher isn't recommended for them, but cleaning them is pretty easy. :-)


Kasman profile image

Kasman 3 years ago from Bartlett, Tennessee

I WILL be honest victoria, i read.everything up to your first recipes with this thing because im out and about and didn't want to make myself hungry, lol. Your overall review makes me want one of these because im already a fan of using crockpots but this would make so much more sense. Voting up and sharing!


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

LOL, Kasman! You're funny. This 3 crock thing is really fun to experiment with! Think about it! Thanks for the vote and share!


RTalloni profile image

RTalloni 3 years ago from the short journey

This would really come in handy tomorrow…, and other times, too.

Hope you have a lovely Thanksgiving!


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

RTalloni-Yes, I've used this quite a bit--for a party or just when cooking a few things for myself. :-)


Cynthianne profile image

Cynthianne 2 years ago

I got one for a housewarming gift just in time for the holidays and absolutely LOVE it!! Good review and good article.


Victoria Lynn profile image

Victoria Lynn 2 years ago from Arkansas, USA Author

Cynthianne--Thanks for the compliments. I love mine, too!

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working