Keurig Platinum B70 Single Cup Coffee Brewer

Author's Note:

This is the second product I've decided to write a review about. My first-ever product review was on my Samsung Intrepid Smartphone which I still can't talk enough about. I've always been a firm believer that in order to really a review a product, the reviewer should own the product in question. I realize that I'm not the first to write a review on a Keurig Coffee Maker and probably won't be the last, but in checking other hubs right here at HubPages, I didn't find any on the Keurig Platinum B70 which is the latest and best of the Keurig Single Serve Coffee Maker line as Keurig has made vast improvements as of late. I hope you enjoy reading this and find it helpful. Thank you.

-ODP

Making the Switch to Keurig Coffee Makers

For over two years now, I've been wanting to buy a Keurig single-serve coffee maker but was reluctant to, due to the simple fact that I just didn't think it would fit my lifestyle. However, after doing a bit of research, I discovered something extraordinary in the world of single serve coffee making at its very finest (more on that later). One of the many things that I like most about Keurig coffee makers is that they offer over 200 different types of coffee from reputable companies such as Green Mountain Coffee, Gloria Jean's, Newman's Own, Timothy's Coffee and Emeril Coffee, including world Celestial Seasonings (yes, you can brew hot or cold tea, espresso, and hot cocoa with this snazzy machine as well). So price, availability, and quality all play a vital role in my decision to finally buy this amazing machine.

Keurig Platinum B70 Features

  • 5 Cup Sizes: 4 oz, 6 oz,
    8 oz, 10 oz, & 12 oz
  • Iced Beverage Setting
  • Removable 60 oz Reservoir
  • Fully Programmable Features
  • Blue Backlit Display
  • Quiet Brew Technology
  • Award Winning Design

One of the largest supporters of the K-Cup line is Green Mountain Coffee
One of the largest supporters of the K-Cup line is Green Mountain Coffee

Keurig Platinum B70 Specifications

  • UL and c-UL approved for
    Household use only
  • Power: 1,500 Watts
  • Voltage: 120VAC/60Hz
  • Weight: 12 lb empty; 15 lb full
  • Dimensions:
    13"H 10"W 13.25"D

Some of the Over 200 Types of K-Cup Beverages Available To You

What's a K-Cup and How Does It Work?

A "K-Cup™" or Keurig Cup is Keurig's patented disposable technology which is a small plastic container that houses both the coffee, tea, or even hot cocoa and the filter itself. Many first-time Keurig users make the mistake of trying to pry open the small container which is a slightly smaller than a Dole fruit cup. The very first step to making yourself a cup of coffee is by lifting up your Keurig Platinum B70 handle and placing it inside its cradle. Two pins; one from the top and one from below puncture the the K-Cup™. The pin from the top is actually a spigot that shoots a hot stream of water which passes through the grounded coffee, through the self-contained filter and then finally through an opening and into your awaiting coffee mug or cup. The entire procedure takes about 45 to 60 seconds which is obviously faster than any other automatic coffee maker on the market today.

The Alternative To Using the K-Cup

So the one thing that finally sold me on buying a Keurig Platinum B70 Coffee Maker was the ability to use my own coffee as a cost-effective means of enjoying my own gourmet or even inexpensive good coffee such as Maxwell House Columbian Supreme which I've been drinking for years. So how was I able to do this you ask? With a Keurig's own K-Cup™ filter! This filter fits in all of their home coffee makers, is made of stainless steel and so is reusable not to mention durable. In such the case where you can't find a coffee (out of 200 different varieties mind you) that Keurig does not offer, you can go ahead and buy your own beans, grind them, and then load them inside the filter to make the coffee to your liking. One of the things that I didn't like was to have my options limited or to fall in a kind of coffee-bondage in which I'm forced to buy only K-Cups™ for the rest my life just so I can enjoy some home brew. Keurig simply changed everything by making available their ingenius filter, thus re-opening my coffee options.

Okay, Okay...So How Much Does It Cost?

Nowadays, you can buy a coffee maker almost anywhere, including a supermarket, starting at about $10. After that, coffee makers can range up to and over $1,000 for a commercial or professional coffee maker like ones you see in restaurants, such that is made by companies like Bunn. The best way that I can describe a Keurig coffee maker or brewer is that it's somewhere in between being cheap and expensive. Once you purchase one, you won't need to stop at a Starbucks or a Dunkin' Donuts, at least not for coffee. A simple hot cup of java these days costs about $2 whereas the same cup of java from a Keurig coffee maker will cost you only about 50 cents a cup. The Keurig Platinum B70 coffee maker is arguably the best single-serve coffee maker you can buy for your home or office, but it's certainly not the only one, as Keurig has an array of coffee makers to fit every budget and decor.  No longer will you have to make an entire pot of coffee to let go to waste when all you really want is a single cup of coffee, which is just as good as any you could consequently by at Starbucks or a Dunkin' Donuts.  In these tough economic times, saving money is certainly a priority for most.

Why I Love My Keurig Coffee Maker

As you now know, there are many different types of Keurig Coffee Makers available now on the open market, but the B70 is by far the best of the bunch for the following reasons:

  • Quiet Brew technology-It's the quietest one ever and doesn't "slurp" like my 1970s coffee maker of old
  • It has the largest reservoir--a whopping 60 ounce tank which in turn, will make 10 standard cups of coffee before needing to a refill
  • Digital Display/Program Feature makes for the perfect cup of coffee any time all the time
  • Five cup sizes allows you to make something as small as a cup of espresso to a large coffee, and finally
  • Cold brewing feature allows you to make icy beverages as well, such as iced tea and lemonade

Although it's tough to see in the picture provided, there's a blue light underneath the 60 ounce water tank that's very appealing. it reminds me of me of a lava lamp I had in my dorm back during my college days. So not only can you easily entertain guests with this little machine, but with its state-of-the-art design, it doubles as a conversation piece! And it really is easy to entertain, as it makes coffee, tea, iced tea, espresso, and hot cocoa for all ages, all for about 50 cents per cup.

I must admit, I made some poor purchases in my lifetime, but this is not one of them. For its ease of use, its program feature where I can set the time in which I want my coffee ready at any given time during the day, and especially its versatility with the addition of the Keurig filter which allows me to use canned coffee like Maxwell House to save some money (did I mention that I never have to buy another filter again?) the Keurig B70 is by far THE BEST coffee maker I've ever had the pleasure of owning.

Visit the official Keurig website

© Copyright 2010. All Rights Reserved.

Thanks For Visiting!

Please Vote!

Was this review helpful?

  • Yes, absolutely
  • No, not at all
See results without voting

More by this Author


Comments 30 comments

Kaie Arwen profile image

Kaie Arwen 6 years ago

Dohn121- it looks like a beautiful machine, but I must admit I'd be spending half of the day looking at it............ i don't think I'll ever own a one cup at a time machine...........

The B70 looks like it fits the bill though.......... that one is a definite posibility!

Thank you,

Kaie


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you so much for that, Kaie! I used to think that it wasn't for me until I learned that they have available, a reusable filter as an alternative to brewing coffee, which is very cost effective. I'm so happy to hear from you again and hope that you think about buying one (you won't regret it). Thank you for being the first to comment!

Dohn


prettydarkhorse profile image

prettydarkhorse 6 years ago from US

DOHN, Thanks for this one, this is nice, and it has a reusable filter?? wow, hmmm mine is an old coffemaker here, I am thinking about this now, it is nice looking as well, amazing indeed DOHN< love it love it live it,

Hey The Saints won -- who dat, who dat hehe, I enjoyed my Sunday cooking yesterday DOHN,But I felt bad for P Manning because I like him a lot, he was frustrated, but I noticed I watched some of his adverts yesterday, Thanks Dohn, Maita


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, Maita! I'm glad you liked this hub. I just bought this little bad boy just the other day and I'm now a fan. The reusable filter means I can still by my Maxwell House coffee as I need it in order to write, lol. One thing that I forgot to mention is that when you buy the B70 it comes with 72 K-cups for free. I'm noticing now that these are on sale everywhere you go!

I was really amazed that the Saints won yesterday. They really tried everything BUT the kitchen sink, lol. But in the end, it was obviously worth it. Yeah, I feel bad for Peyton as well, but I'm sure that the Colts will be back very soon. I'm sure he'll win at least one more Super Bowl before he retires :D Thanks as always


Tammy Lochmann profile image

Tammy Lochmann 6 years ago

My sis has this coffee maker. It makes great coffee for sure. It is economical too because it only brews one cup at a time but in a very quick efficient way. Great review


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, Tammy! Like I said, I've been reluctant to buy a Keurig until I saw one at a BJ's the other day, which was $30 less than retail. After figuring out the math, I found that a single cup is only about 44 cents or so and that closed the deal. Thanks for reading this!


prettydarkhorse profile image

prettydarkhorse 6 years ago from US

HEY DOHN< I finally found this one in Bed Bath and Beyond, I might buy if I have some extra money next month, thanks for your information, Happy Monday!!

CONGRATULATIONS DOHN for 100, 000 page views, YOU are a great writer indeed, now when is the party? I can cook hehe, Maita


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Haha! I know you can cook, Maita, and from the sounds of it, I bet you can cook very well! I'm still amazed by the page views myself! I really thought it take a lot longer for me to accomplish this feat. Party on!!!

BTW, thanks for dropping in and viewing this AGAIN! This hub really could use some Hub Love :)


anglnwu profile image

anglnwu 6 years ago

Congratulations on your 100,000 page views. I must say you have a great following. Maybe, some hubs to share your success secrets? Thanks for the very inviting review--makes me want to own one too.I have lots of 3-in-1 sachets of coffee--not very flattering for a coffee drinker. Since, I'm the only one drinking hot beverages, I always opt for convenience but looks like B70 can do just that, in addition to other features. Thanks for the great review.


yenajeon profile image

yenajeon 6 years ago from California

Very intriguing BUT I would never ever purchase this. I am strictly a 'I need 5 cups of coffee every morning' type of girl! Imagine having to brew coffee 5 times!!

But....great hub Dohn and congrats on all your hubpages success =)


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you anginwu! I'm surprised myself by that and plan to keep the views coming by writing more hubs (in anticipation of a serious drop in traffic). I was definitely thinking about writing a hub or two on my successes here on Hubpages and so would be happy to give it a shot.

Ha! I'm very familiar with those 3-in-1 sachets of coffee as my mom and my sister-in-law and my oldest brother drink that. It certainly is a great way at a quick fix, not to mention cost effective. The B70 is VERY convenient by the way. I highly suggest you give it a whirl! Thank you as always!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, yenajeon and thanks for sharing your thoughts on my post in the forums. There's still some time before I have to make any final decisions on that matter.

You and I are just alike! Yes, I still drink about 5 or 6 cups first thing to get me revved up for my day. I actually still use my dinosaur of a coffee maker in addition to my Keurig so that way, I have the best of both worlds. What really is great about the B70 is its versatility in entertaining guests. It really is an amazing machine!

Thank you again! On to the next 100,000!


akirchner profile image

akirchner 6 years ago from Central Oregon

I've heard folks swear by them - I don't think I could handle making just 1 cup though as it would seem 'inefficient' in my multitasking world! Great machine though and everyone I know that has one loves it!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, akirchner. I still have my much older coffee maker for such occasions, so I can understand what you mean. But nothing else gets the job done when entertaining guests like the Keurig! Thank you so much for visiting.


TattoGuy 6 years ago

Deff a great product review, methinks I must try my hand at one myself. Not a big cofffee fan, I likes my tea and of course my red wine, anyways loved the presentation, look forward to more of these !


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks Captain! I think this is the best thing for you, as from the sounds of it, you're a casual tea and coffee drinker. This would be perfect for entertaining guests (believe me, I know). I hope to write more of these soon! Thanks again, my friend.


Truth From Truth profile image

Truth From Truth 6 years ago from Michigan

Nice Review Dohn, you have convinced me that this is a solid product. Coffee has definitely evolved from no longer being just a beverage to keep us awake. Thanks.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hey, TFT! Thanks for reading this. I'm in total agreement with you. Once you taste coffee from Keurig, you'll swear that the coffee tastes just like coffee house coffee (i.e. Starbucks). I really is amazing. Thank you as always.


Peter Dickinson profile image

Peter Dickinson 6 years ago from South East Asia

Thanks Dohn - You made it sound exciting plus you produced a good interesting and useful hub. I admit to being more of a traditionalist as far as coffee goes. Which Reminds me. I am going to brew now.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, Peter. I'm kind of middle of the road when it comes to coffee. With such little time, I go both ways with automatic coffee so have the best of both worlds. I'm glad that you enjoyed reading this!


Ultimate Hubber profile image

Ultimate Hubber 6 years ago

Dohn let me tell you that you are going to make loads of money from Amazon selling their products. People are going to find your product reviews really helpful.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, UH for your vote of confidence. I normally put that much effort into doing product review--I only do them on products I actually own. I know that Mark Knowles makes an absolute killing (more on Amazon than AdSense) doing such product reviews. I'd be happy if I sold just one machine a week! Thanks again.


Mary Jo 6 years ago

Can you use coffee sachets in the Keurig?


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

That's a great question, Mary Jo. Yes, there is in fact a filter/adapter for such. You can find it on Amazon. It's built specifically to use coffee "Pods." You can find them in every supermarket nowadays. Thanks for the inquiry.


Mike Chronos 6 years ago

This is really a handy contraption my friend has one. Some of the best coffee doesn't come in the one cup "pod" so I'll be sticking with my press and pot brewer. I get my coffee from ChronosCoffee.com and I've been trying out their new monthly blend suggestions. Like all of them so far. Huge fan of the Costa Rica Tarrazu blend however.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 6 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks for commenting Mike. I'll certainly have a look at that one. I couldn't agree with you more about those "pods" and it's my belief that Keurig's availability on so many different coffees is bar none when it comes to single-serve coffees. Thanks for the insight.


Jammie Truesy 4 years ago

I think I am going to have to grab one of these, checked out the reviews here to http://on.fb.me/s67H0T


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 4 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks Jammie Truesy. I hope you do, because it's my belief that someday soon, these are going to be as common as a refrigerator or stove in each and every household.


Natalya 3 years ago

Aside from the various stpicaley flavors I have been writing about there are many standard blends available, too. The best thing about the single-serve system is you can just make one cup of coffee at a time rather than brew a whole pot and it generally only takes a little more than a minute, too!


AntoineMarcello profile image

AntoineMarcello 2 years ago from United States

Thanks for this nice hubs! One thing that I like about Keurig coffee maker is you can make a delicious cup of coffee under a minute. You can save time when you want to go to work or campus in the morning.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working