American National Insurance Company Complaints : A Review

American National Galveston Texas
American National Galveston Texas

Losing a loved one is something that none of us look forward to. There are times when we place those thoughts to the wayside, believing deep within ourselves that it can be put off for another day. We contact different companies and try to understand what would be best, knowing there will be financial expenses involved. From burial expenses to medical debt many companies claim they are there for you at a time of loss. American National Insurance Company based in Galveston, Texas is not one of those companies.

Although rated in the top 10, when you look at the complaints filed and penalties an insurer would believe that is a reputable company with a good track record, considering they insure over a million people in the United States, Puerto Rico, District of Columbia and American Samoa. The provide a code of ethics that explains they play by all of the rules they are governed under. Their profit margins dated July 26, 2010 appear to be flawless.

But behind all of those numbers is a company who takes months to fund a Life Insurance Policy without any explanation of why it takes so long. When you contact a representative and begin to ask questions, there is not an explanation and each month they always state it will be sent at anytime.

Watching A Family Member Suffer

In September of 2009 my Mother-In-Law past away, of natural causes. For years she had been paying American National Insurance monthly premiums on Life Insurance policies until her death. By December the company had received the Death Certificate and began to process the information. My husband knew it would take a little time before the policy was funded, so he allowed them time to process the information. In the same month his Aunt received an X amount of dollars but he and his sister were left on the back burner. By April he made contact, which was approximately 120 days and the stated they were still working on the claim. He respected what they had to say and waited until June. When making contact in June they still did not provide an answer and said it would more then likely fund at the end of June. He waited. Nothing happened. Of course he did not wish to make any waves, but was a little agitated because we were into the 6-month without any response. He contacted the local representative in our state and they also stated that the policy would fund by July, 2010. Feeling somewhat relieved, he continued on without worry. They contacted him and asked him if he would like to have Life Insurance polices written with the company. But due to all of the delays, all of the excuses and the frustration, he cordially declined. It is now almost August 1,2010 we are nearing the one-year anniversary of his mother's passing. He is still waiting. How many more are out there? They have great second quarter profits to report, but one can see why. There profits are up which is because they are not taking care of there policyholders.

When our grandmother passed away, she had Colonial Penn and MetLife there was not any delays or issues. Unlike American National Insurance they provided accurate information and explained the process thoroughly. Those companies fund in a timely manner. We can understand why their numbers were reported well and they were trading high on the stock market, they were not providing customer service nor releasing any funds. If they were it was minimal. So while many policyholders sit on hold for months, waiting to pay a person's debt who has passed away and dealing with their creditors. American National Insurance is busy reporting profitable numbers instead of being concerned about there policyholders.

A Jaded Past

American National Insurance has a very jaded past. During the companies early stages, it has been documented that they were tied in with Maceo Crime Syndicate during the first half of the 20th Century. They had been tied in with questionable dealings with mob figures such as Jimmy Hoffa, Teamsters, Moe Dalitz and the Cleveland mob. During the 40's when Las Vegas was expanding, it has been noted that American National Life Insurance was heavily involved with the financing and development of Las Vegas.

Before taking out Life Insurance policies, health insurance, mutual plans, pension funds with American National Insurance, detailed research and questions should be asked. If it is to good to be true, it probably is. Although the ratings appear to be strong it makes a person wonder, what hand they are shaking to get those scores.

Choosing A Reputable Company

Life insurance is a gift that is given when family needs it the most. Bills continue to come through the mail, bill collector's would like to get paid. When you lose a loved one, it should not be a time for stress but a time to reflect and begin to heal. It should not take months or years to get things resolved. It should not be about the check is in the mail, but sincerity and understanding. When choosing a reputable life insurance company, look at the companies history. Ask your neighbors, friends, co-workers if they have ever heard of them, or what there experiences were with the company they had chosen. Because they are rated high does not necessarily mean they are customer service friendly. Many companies will automatically take your money every month, but when the time comes to reciprocate you could be standing in line.

Tips

1. Pay attention to detail and fine print, don't just sign on the dotted line.

2. There are different types of Life Insurance so don't let them talk you into, what they believe would benefit you. Read and research about the types.

3. Ask questions about length of time it takes to fund, what the process is, and if any delays what would cause them. Get the facts.

4. Follow-up is important. Check-in every couple of weeks to get an update.

5. You are entitled to all of the interest that accrues during the process so don't get short changed with the provider you choose.

6. Everyone has rights, check into the time frame that a company has to fund the money.

7. Don't be afraid to file a complaint. Many times policyholders are fearful of filing against there insurance companies. If you believe there is wrong doing, step-up and get assistance.

8. If you cannot get answers. work your way to the top someone knows what is happening and your money could be laying on someones desk.

9. You are in control. You paid the premiums, you are always entitled to answers.

There are many companies that would like to have your business, so don't fall prey to the first one you see. Sometimes paying a little higher premium can go along way.

American National Insurance is not a company that we would ever choose to do business with. There customer service is poor, there response is not timely, and there promises are always broken. If you are willing to sit and wait for months, choose them. If you are looking for Peace and relief knowing that you will find comfort and will be able to take care of your loved one's creditors in a timely manner, choose a company that is known for service, understanding, compassion and respect for their policyholders just like New York Life Insurance company, MetLife, Colonial Penn or Mutual of Omaha who has been around for over a 100 years and have positive reputations, simply by word of mouth.

 

More by this Author


Comments 78 comments

ama83 profile image

ama83 6 years ago from San Jose, CA

Unfortunately, many of us just "sign the dotted line" because the paperwork gets so bogged down with the legal mumbo jumbo that so many individuals have a hard time understanding. And, look at the consequences that people end up facing :(


Vladimir Uhri profile image

Vladimir Uhri 6 years ago from HubPages, FB

Thanks for info.


AEvans profile image

AEvans 6 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

ama83: There are consequences and what is worse is when they keep dangling a carrot in front of your nose. Make people believe that all will be fine and then they wait, with unanswered questions and broken promises. The 90 days turns into a 180 and keeps on going it is silly. I can see why there profit margins were so high, they had people waiting instead of taking care of business. They wanted the numbers to look good for the stock market. What I also found amazing was they have 15 complaints filed in one day on June 15,2010 and they miracleously disappeared and went down to one. Corruption in the life insurance companies runs deep, they need to look at them too.

Vladimir: You are welcome. Be careful when choosing you certainly do not want to get yourself into a situation.


"Quill" 6 years ago

Hi AEvans... sorry to hear about the frustration for you and hubby. The mumbo jumbo in the fine print is just that. I do believe it is advisable to consider taking forms such as these to your lawyer. For what it costs you in the end it is a well worthwhile investment.

Life insurance is the same as any insurance, "It is a business" in business we feel compelled to make money not pay it out. This company has a very poor record after doing a little research of my own.

Keep after them, make waves and you will get their attention, stay quiet and it is where they want you while they sit on the funds you have coming. A year is far to long to process something which has been paid for over a number of years.

Blessings and Hugs


AEvans profile image

AEvans 6 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

"Quill" : They do have a poor track reocrd and his patience has worn thin. With there jaded psat it is unfortunate that so many have fallen prey to this company who could have paid off companies to get those ratings and be in the top 10. I also found it odd that on June 15,2010 they had 15 complaints against them and all of a sudden those disappeared and reduced. American National Insurance seems to also have a few corrupt employees to, who will adjust numbers to sway their way. We keep making waves and they become more agitated. I believe that letting hundreds of thousands of people know how they run there company , could give them a wake up call for many. It is my attention to make as many people aware of there scam as I can.


COCO RYDER profile image

COCO RYDER 6 years ago from A different era...

AE. I'm glad you wrote about this since I am just about to look into insurance. Thank you for this very informative hub. COCO


AEvans profile image

AEvans 6 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

Coco Ryder:Whatever you do, stay away from American National Insurance your loved ones could wait for months, while there trading index looks good.


dallas93444 profile image

dallas93444 6 years ago from Bakersfield, CA

Thanks for a great, informative hub. It is sad where a business elects to not follow the Golden Rule. Eventually, unfortunately it is not sooner, their deeds catch up to them... I am sure there are good, honest people at American National, but apparently there are "leaders" who are not. You cannot delegate responsibility.


AEvans profile image

AEvans 6 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

dallas93444: They should delegate responsibly instead of getting big bonuses for holding on to people's money and making there numbers look good. It is sad and the employees may not even realize what they are up against and if they do there is not much they can do about it.


ocbill profile image

ocbill 6 years ago from hopefully somewhere peaceful and nice

great Hub and exposure. this is actually effective in making companies clean-up their act to some degree. It happened with Apple and an airline that I can recently remember.

Thanks


jayb23 profile image

jayb23 6 years ago from India

Amazing hub. I hope this information is helpful to all. I was certainly not aware being a non american. Thanks for sharing.


Hello, hello, profile image

Hello, hello, 6 years ago from London, UK

Interestingly written hub and to read about other countries' systems.


AEvans profile image

AEvans 6 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

ocbill: They need to clean-up their act and today is the second and guess what? He is still waiting. It is ridiculous and absurd. He cannot even handle his mother's business because they are taking there time.

jayb23: It happens and it is a shame that our government cannot put there thumb down on this situation.

Hello, hello: Our system always seems to have issues. CEO's make megabucks and the others just wait in line.


ledefensetech profile image

ledefensetech 6 years ago from Cape Girardeau, MO

First of all, let me offer my condolences on your loss.

Second, I think you have made some assumptions about insruance that many people make. Those assumptions lead you to make certain logical mistakes.

Be aware that insurance companies are out there to provide you a service in the form of money in case of catastrophe. They're not. What insurance companies want is your money, in the form of premiums, so they can then use that money to invest and they make their living off the profit of that investment. What this means for you and other policy holders is that there is an incentive to obstruct and not pay out policies because if they settle a claim, they're out much more than you've paid in premiums over the life the policy.

That's another reason you'll never see the government really regulate the insurance industry. Those companies have way more money than even the richest private donor, so they'll always get a space at the table when laws come up to be written and you never will.

That being said, there are things we can do to curb the abuses of the insurance industry. Were you aware, for example, that every state in the union limits who can do business offering insurance in their state? It's true. Look up the difference between domestic provider and foreign provider as concerns the insurance industry.

That's what the Republicans were talking about during the health care debate last spring. For the few states that have eliminated those laws protecting domestic providers, you've seen premiums go down and coverage increase. Why? Instead of having only two or three competitors in some cases, insurance companies in those states which eliminated those protectionist laws now have to compete against dozens of companies. That right there is a disincentive to piss people off because if you do make a customer mad, they'll just take their business elsewhere. I can't think of a more fitting way to punish those companies that behave badly, can you?


AEvans profile image

AEvans 6 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

ledefensetech: Shame on them for there negative behavior and there indirect way of taking money from the people. Competition is the best and let me tell you, once this is resolved we will never use this companies services ever again.


drcrischasse profile image

drcrischasse 6 years ago from NH/Foxboro

Try the state's AG's office. Insurance companies are certainly on their list now. Expose them all I say!


AEvans profile image

AEvans 6 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

drcrischasse: He will certainly do that, but there are also great ones out there too.


ledefensetech profile image

ledefensetech 6 years ago from Cape Girardeau, MO

The thing we must do first if we want to correct the problem, is we must correctly identify how a company makes money. Insurance companies do that by investing the premiums they get in real estate, stocks, bonds, etc. They don't tell you that, what they tell you is that you'll get blah, blah, blah protection.

If more people understood that and didn't pay for insurance, those companies would be forced to change the way they do business. The reason they get away with it is because most people don't know any better. Sounds like you're getting a good start on punishing that company for it's poor behavior. Now all you have to do is spread the word.


AEvans profile image

AEvans 6 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

ledefensetech: I know the word will get out and soon this hub will be brought to many people's attention. This company is unbelievable! It is now the 4th I will certainly post how long it had taken them. That you can count on. On June 15,2010 15 complaints were registered in one day on American National Insurance and interesting enough they disappeared. I wonder who they are paying off so that policyholders believe they are golden? They are far from a golden company. I hope people cancel there policies and move to a more reputable company that has there best interests in mind.


ledefensetech profile image

ledefensetech 6 years ago from Cape Girardeau, MO

As bad as it is now, consider how much worse things were before the advent of the Internet. If there is one wonderful thing about the Internet is that it offers a decentralized way for people to talk about stuff and, more importantly, exchange information. More and more of these companies are finding harder and harder to hid behind bureaucracy. That's not a bad thing at all.

It sounds like the American National Insurance company is going to get outed too, and soon. What most people don't realize about most of those companies, is that they were set up by the industry to protect the industry. The more light you shed on this sort of thing, the more likely you'll make it so that we get real independent unbiased companies that don't kowtow to the industry they oversee.


AEvans profile image

AEvans 6 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

ledefensetech: I hope they are outed, in all of our lives this company is one of the worse in our Country. We do need real independent unbiased companies that will not kowtow the industries they oversee. It is all about pay-off and something has to be done. Where is the clear explanation or time frames? There is not any excuse for months and months of delays.


ledefensetech profile image

ledefensetech 6 years ago from Cape Girardeau, MO

Ever hear about Angie's List? The idea is an intriguing one. An entire community of people who pass judgment on local contractors. Since transaction costs are so low on the Internet, perhaps a similar company could be set up to monitor insurance companies. The only problem is that people are very limited in the choices they have when it comes to selecting life or health insurance. See my comment above about protectionist laws.


AEvans profile image

AEvans 6 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

ledefensetech: I believe we are not really limited there are many reputable companies like MetLife, Colonial Penn, New York Life Insurance Company and there are those such as State Farm, Farmer's Insurance who offer exceptional service. How would you recommend they change the protectionist laws to benefit the consumer? You can bet there are many unhappy policyholders that deal with American National that are afraid to voice there opinion. I believe that they will soon be voicing because this company is absolutely appalling. Imagine if my husband is dealing with this, there are many others out there who are just as frustrated and irritated. Settine up a site similar to Angie's list is a great idea, it would allow the consumer to vent there thoughts and opinions, rate the companies and give feedback about what they are like. mmmm...... I will begin to work on that, great idea. :)


Wayne Brown profile image

Wayne Brown 6 years ago from Texas

Here in Texas, I am told by those who work the industry, that filing formal written complaints with the State Insurance Commission is a sure-fire way to speed the process. You should also copy the insurance company with the complaint. The state requires them to answer every complaint with a viable reason within a designated period or their status as a licensed provider in the State is in jeopardy. If you have not gone that I route, I would say you are overdue! Good article. WB


AEvans profile image

AEvans 6 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

Wayne Brown: We did file a complaint and low and behold they are now jumping through hoops. Imagine that? I will keep everyone updated on there progress, but I would still not recommend the company at all. They have not provided us with any confidence at this time nor can I say will they ever. Thank you for the kudos.


RickAU 5 years ago

I know your message was months ago. I am actually in the insurance industry on the life and disability side. I definitely would not want to have to wait that long for a claiim.


tmac 5 years ago

someone called from this company to see if we wanted insurance and when I said no, he hung up on me and did not even say thank you for your time


AEvans profile image

AEvans 5 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

tmac: The only thing I can say is don't do it! They are the worse.


AEvans profile image

AEvans 5 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

RickAU: If someone asked me today, would you recommend them. I would say absolutely not! Hang up the phone, close the door and choose another company. They had more excuses then carter had pills and they are slower then molasses. If it isn't one excuse it was another they are not organized and they are not for any of there insurer's at all. They will take the money for months and even years but when all is completed good luck, but then again they trade on NASDAQ so maybe that is why they look so good. I am sure they have people who clean up the negative comments so they glisten but to us they were tarnished. Never ever would we get life insurance from them, not in a thousand years.


John  5 years ago

I have been with them for 15 years and my agent has now taken to calling me monthly to see if I have mailed my check. i am thinking about pulling out, completely. I have a 25k whole life policy and my wife and I both have cancer policies. Your comment?


AEvans profile image

AEvans 5 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

John: I would recommend hunting for a new insurance company. If anything happens you would be waiting for a long time and would be dealing with so much stress. They always say they are looking into it and it takes months to collect. They don't have any problem with taking your money but they certainly have an issue with paying. I wish you all of the best.


John  5 years ago

Thank you for the reply.


AEvans profile image

AEvans 5 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

John: You are welcome and keep let me know if all works out. :)


luis 5 years ago

then if someone dies they dont pay you ?


KAthleen 5 years ago

thank you for taking the time to post this and so sorry for your loss and problems. I was perhaps looking into changing to a term and keep receiving this in the mail. I have had a whole life for a long time and thought this would be cheaper but I think I will stick with my reputable company of Principal Financial. Whenever I even need a check from the cash value it is there within a few days. I will trash all the things I get from American. They should not be allowed to continue the way they do.


Chelsea 5 years ago

I am sorry for your loss and I just wanted to point out another side of the life insurance story with American National. My aunt's mother died on May 27th. My aunt went to a local American National Agents office, and the agent called the company to request payment on the life policy. My aunt didn't have to provide any paperwork. the money on the policy was deposited in her account 13 days later. No headaches, no worried. I am sorry your experience with American National was awful, but I thougth that people should know another story about it.


John Lumb 5 years ago

I posted you about three weeks ago. Here is my update. I got in touch with my agent and told him I was pulling out of ALL 3 policies. He was quick to respond, talked sincerely to us (not down to us) and understood our situation. We signed the papers and shook hands. He said I should have a check in hand no more than 2-3 weeks.


AEvans profile image

AEvans 5 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

John Lumb: Thank you for the update, and I am glad to hear that they are stepping up to the plate and taking on the responsibility of handling the policies in the correct way. Keep me updated and I hope that you receive it in a timely manner. :)


vivian 5 years ago

my mother had this insurance american national and she had been paying on a policy thatlapse for 3 years i hate this company there crooks. mother has other policys with this company Jesus help us....


AEvans profile image

AEvans 5 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

vivian: That is so sad to hear and what's even worse is they took her money. Jesus help us is right.


NHARDY 5 years ago

my parents died ten years ago. this is now 9/11. i just got a letter from american national saying i am the beneficiary of a policy. i never knew my parents even had this policy.at first,i'm thinking this must be sometime of scam. i called the number on the letter,looked the website(useless)they also sent with the letter an affidavit that i must have notorized with name, address and worst of all, my social security number.could this be a scam?how do i know for sure if this is legit BEFORE i send this my social?


AEvans profile image

AEvans 5 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

NHARDY: Contact the headquarters directly in Galveston, Texas. Thet have a toll-free number and ask them about it. I hope you have a windfall, so I hope all turns out well for you. :)


Numberonemema 4 years ago

I just got through talking to an agent whick told me my Ins. is about to elaps because the intrest was not enough to keep it in force. I was sold a universal policy which was suppose to be a whole life policy. I was told I had a 30 day free look. I was also told to keep my policy or convert it to whole life I have to drop it to half the face value and the premium doubles. If I don't do this I will no longer have any Ins. My husband is 70 and I am 67, we both have health issues and can no longer buy ins. We have been screwed by American National Ins Co, and there is not a darn thing we can do about it.


AEvans profile image

AEvans 4 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

Numberonemema: Hang in there. Contact the state of Texas and report them. Talk to an attorney never give up and allow a company to take your money like that. I wish you all of the best and keep us posted.


AEvans 4 years ago

Sorry to hear about all the trouble you have faced that certainly is unique as ANICO does have a history of settling claims on time. I know because I am a multi-line agent and have handled my share of death claims and they have always been handed in a timely matter. You may be referring to the debt side of the company a completely different division all together as it has been my experience when a check comes it comes to the agent who then presents it to the beneficiary at least that's how I have done it. I think the agent or whoever was assigned this policy should have been more proactive, but that being said we don't know from your post all the circumstances involved because there could have been delay for a number of reasons none of which are mentioned so we all don't truly know all the facts. ANICO is a great company and o venture to say some of the best life products in the industry, that being said humans still write these policies and as one post pointed out it lapsed. This is not a unique problem to American national, in fact a vast majority of the life insurance I write is replacing some subpar policy an agent wrote many with the companies you named as reputable. Consumers do need to be educated about the choices they make before they hand over their money, if you dint understand ask questions if the agent is worth his salt he should be able to make it clear or provide other options. If they can't you probably shouldn't do business with them, if they can't take the time to make sure your needs are meet and your getting what you want and not the agent then move on to someone that will do it right. For the most part insurance companies are good with some exceptions I won't name, but that being said some agents are strictly in a robber baron approach take the money and run. Wrong way to do business and often those agents don't last. I do feel like some of your attacks are in accurate one ANICO does not underwrite health insurance they write through assurant health they also do not offer "mutual plans" or "pension funds" for that matter I don't think other companies have that either. They do "pension planning" and have life policies tied to "mutual funds" but not the latter. Also the info in regards to being tied to mob bosses and funding of las Vegas casinos etc. Do you have info your willing to share to corroborate that? I think we would love to read about that? Insurance regulations state any insurance company has 30 to pay a benefit once the death certificate is received, do we all the facts straight? If this is the case and ANICO dropped the ball and filling against them is correct. As for the 15 complaints received on a said day in June 2010, American national does not control the Texas department of insurance and I highly doubt they are in cahoots to keep the name in good standing. Conspiracy theory at it's worst. I believe they have complaints all companies do and you won't please everyone, but it is sort of ironic that you happened to be watching the complaints compile on that one specific day and poof they are gone? I don't discount ANICO has complaints all ins. Companies do at some point but for 15 to come in one day to be registered, btw registered where exactly? I bet they don't get 15 in a calendar year much less a day. If you could please provide the info on the before mention of mob ties with crime families and the website where these complaints were compiled in one day and suddenly disappeared. One quick note if American national was involved in the funding of las Vegas in it's growing years you might be surprised to know that is what insurance companies do and how they are able to pay these huge claims when they occur. It's no secret insurance companies invest in property and real estate to make profits to help the company grow and make sure reserves are such to pay claims so insinuating they were involved with the

mobsters gosh what a better place to invest than where people lose and corporations win, sounds smart to me. Please provide us with this info, I'm not saying they are perfect but they are a great company and amongst the companies you named with exception to colonial Penn, you clearly don't know how they lure clients in they over the years their term increase to the point it's unaffordable.......now someone should take a hard look at them


BERNIE 4 years ago

does anyone know any life insurance company that i can purchase here in the U.S. for my parents whom reside in American Samoa


AEvans profile image

AEvans 4 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

Bernie: Research State Farm, Colonial Penn, MetLife. If they are able to assist you, they will. If not I believe they can help you. :)


nluna 4 years ago

Thanks everybody for the feed back on this INS.i was just getting ready to sign on the dotted line ..but thank you all for the complains..I am not signing,i started to look for another life ins...thank you again from saving me from a lot of heads later on...


AEvans profile image

AEvans 4 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

nluna: You are welcome and yes please shop around. Ask a lot of questions before purchasing life insurance.


melissa 4 years ago

I think the American National Agent has some good points, and it's good to hear the other side. However, I am having terrible trouble just getting American National to change the beneficiary on our policy. It's been five months and I still don't have proof in my hands that the beneficiary has changed. I've also requested a new copy of the policy because the original was lost. It shouldn't take half a year to mail me a copy of my policy.


AEvans profile image

AEvans 4 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

melissa: My recommendation is to go to local office in your area and demand a copy of the updated policy with the beneficiary change. Don't allow them to give you the run around.


Jasecom89 4 years ago

I did not take the time to read all of the comment but I have to say at first, I am an agent with ANICO and I have seen my fair share of problems but in almost %100 percent of the cases the problem is because of the agent, not the company, if there was a mistake on the application, the wrong type of policy sold, a loan taken out against the policy without the clients full knowledge of what they were doing or how to fix it, if they were a few days outside of the grace period, etc. etc. etc. I won't advocate buying from "us" because we are the "best", I would advocate buying from the person who is willing to educate you the most. In reading these comments I am appalled at the level of ignorance that I am seeing. UL policies are high maintenance, for people willing to check on it at least once a month, when anyone buys a policy make sure you know what you got, ask the agent to show you the terms and conditions of the policy, understand the grace period, understand if it's term or whole life or interest sensitive or universal life or accident only or a graded policy (that has a waiting period before they will pay a claim) make sure you know what your doing! And don't just take the agents word for it, there are brochures for absolutely everything, ask for one and actually read it. If something happens and a claim is not paid, there is a reason, not just the result of a "bad" company. Educate yourself before you point fingers please :)


AEvans profile image

AEvans 4 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

Jasecom89: Thank you for the insight and your point of view. :)


amry 4 years ago

so what do i do.. i have that ins company and ive been paying for 18 yrs.. and I thank God i haven't had to use it..so can i transfer it to a better company or what.??/ I dont want to loose any more money or time...


AEvans profile image

AEvans 4 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

amry: I would recommend that you sit and talk to other insurance companies and let them know what type of policy you have and if you can cash-out and transfer.


lroberts 4 years ago

Bank of America sent me an application for this company as a customer. Hard to fathom BOA offering insurance to its customers from this company and I am glad I checked the company out be4 taking out a policy. Shame on BOA for sending their customers this insurance company and requesting debiting your account monthly to pay. Thank God for the internet.


AEvans profile image

AEvans 4 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

Iroberts: Every bank is always wishing to profit one way or another. I am glad you decided not to allow them to profit off of you.


v.Marines 4 years ago

Thank you A.Evans I was about to put my application in the mail. I too was sent this application from Bank of America. Thank you so much for posting this info.


AEvans profile image

AEvans 4 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

v.Marines: You are welcome. I would recommend MetLife or State Farm, etc. This is a company I would steer away from; but its only my opinion. You would be waiting a long-time. They also collect money on insurees for years and when the person is to old and can no longer pay; or they believe they paid enough because they were informed they paid completely into their policy. There family will also find out later that they cannot receive a pay-out because the person did not keep paying on a policy they believe was paid in full. They will collect the money and not give the family a dime. ( Learned this by another person who was insured by American National).


monicamelendez profile image

monicamelendez 4 years ago from Salt Lake City

That's just horrible. Thanks for posting. I'm sure that this has helped a lot of people to avoid giving their money to this dirty company.


AEvans profile image

AEvans 4 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

monicaamelendez: I hope so , sadly we would not recommend them.


Cookie 4 years ago

People really have to stop and ask questions before entering ANY contract. I can see where things can get complicated in any situation. But a year? Come On...Really? I have never heard of that..... Not only that but I personally have had Several Claims with ANICO with NO PROBLEMS. On top of that, it is easy to get "used to" making your monthly payment. Again, ask questions. Your ANICO Agent should be available for any questions or concerns. It is not to say that there could have been an error on someone's part, but to bash a whole entity solely on one incident? I know not everyone is like me but you know what? If I go to a store and I got bad customer service the first time, I don't stop going. We are all human.... Anyway. Sorry to hear about your experience but I know that my friends, family, neighbors, including myself...have nothing but GREAT EXPERIENCES WITH THE COMPANY & LOVE OUR AGENT!! Good Luck! :)


Samantha 3 years ago

Not everyone gets the exact as the insurance policy says and my uncle is one of those victims who just got 10 % of the actual bill amount in the hospital but the policy which the company promised for was full Treatment costs including the Drug Costs !

http://www.medicaremichigan.com/


Beverly A Hamilton 3 years ago

I find the service of this company the worst I have ever delt with !! I have an annunity which I would NEVER have gotten but go taken in by a slick "money manager" you don't want to know the money they have taken from me already. Now I am to get distribution of the funds. I got a long letter about this. I have been getting distributions for years !! Good job..I have been trying to speak to someone for 3 days now, wait time, hold time, robot time is hours !! I still have not spoken to a person....I may write the Insurance Commissioner. How can I trust them with my money when they can't even answer their phones !!! Of course if I take my money out I pay a huge penality...sad situation and a real racket..they should run Las Vegas !!! B Hamilton


AEvans profile image

AEvans 3 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

B Hamilton: They were a part of LV at the very beginning. Thanks so much for your thoughts on the company too! Wishing you all of the best!


RL2011 3 years ago

Wow...reading this on here just further confirms my fears...I am trying to get a hold of anyone that will help my mother out with my grandmothers life insurance...I called their main office today and they told me that they will have the manager call me back as soon as she gets out of her meeting and reviews my paperwork...2 hours later no call and so I called them back...the woman told me that she has already gone home...uhg...Im frustrated because my mother needs that payout to get her overseas to see her mother before they bury her...such a sad and frustrating weekend it has been with this company...they have been giving me the run around since friday...I will not be buying insurance with these people...too many complications...praying that they will get to me tomorrow...


Liz 3 years ago

I am a former employee of this company, or maybe I should say "X". Your comments concerning Vegas, Mafia and the likes are most likely true. They previously owned two of the casinos/hotels back in the late 60's and early 70's. Of course, all this happened after Mr. Moody (the starter of the company had passed on). I was told he was a hard man, but during the depression he did keep all the employees on. This accounts for something with him. After 40+ years working for them, rated an excellent employee by upper management, I experienced some health issues and was off for some time. Protocol was not followed according to the Policies and Practices Manual. I received a letter on a Thursday, told if I did not return on the following Monday, I would be replaced. With 4weeks and 4days vacation left, and about 60days sick leave, I was supposed to be paid for theis unused time. It took 2years, but I finally wrote Mr. Robert Moody, the current owner and son of the deceased Mr. Moody informing him of the problem. One week later, my checks came in themail. A few hours short on the unused sick time tho. Since that time, I was informed by a current employee the turn over was extremely high. They let their high pay employees go, retiring some, giving others an alternative, while others were told they were layed off (a polite term for fired). These were top employees in their field just as I had been. Now, it appears as soon as someone gets trained and time for a raise, they let them go. Tthis extremely high turnover rate, would explain the problems you are expriencing in receiving your checks. Also, I doubt that Mr. Moody himself even knows what is going on in his own compay. It seems he has just turned it over to all these high pay CEO, Pres. and Vice pres's. If they don't like you, you are on the 'hit list. At this time, neither would it be a very good place to work. When I went to work tghere 50 years ago, it had a bad name then because of a lot of trash they had working there. Now, I see they again have a bad name. If people would turn their complaints in to their states Insurance Commissioner at the State capital, something might be done. Oh, they also own Farmers of New York, Credit Life, a company in Mexico, another one in San Antonio and probably several others by this time. So check out the companies you deal with. You can find the information the the internet. Also, check with your BBB before purchasing insurance. Look at the companies ratings as well. Good luck to all you who are having problems. Here are two addresses for Mr. Moody. Mr. Robert Moody; 2302 Post Office St, Galveston, TX. 77550 and his residence is 5 Colony Park Drive, Galveston, TX. 77551. Try writing him with a cc to the President and CEO. You can find his name under Hoover.com. Search for American National Insurance Corporate Office, Galveston, TX. I do not know the name of the current one. Good Luck.


AEvans profile image

AEvans 3 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

RL2011: Please keep us posted. Quite frustrating indeed. Blessings to you and your family and I pray that she gets home.


AEvans profile image

AEvans 3 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

Liz: Thank you for all of the informative information, I am sure if he receives enough mail and or e-mails something will be done.


Anon 3 years ago

Not happy with the life insurance from this company either. I've been trying to get out of my policy for a few years now and each time the agent calls me up and talks alot of phony baloney and I give up. I am happy enough with their home policy. I only signed up because a friend of mine worked for the company. I'm ready to get out.


MG 3 years ago

I would not recommend this company to anyone at all . In my experience with them I had two claims on my roof within a year do to thunderstorm and a hail damage and then they cancelled my policy . I do not have any control of the weather and the money that they gave me didn't pay half of what it cost to fix it . In my opinion they are not an insurance company that you can count on .


Pat 3 years ago

We had to get the BBB after this company in order to get our money back. Would not recommend this company to anyone. Becareful before you sign your life away. It pays to look on the computer before you sign


Rosemary McGee 3 years ago

Hello, we paid for several policies with this company, one was a 25,000 policy for over 23 years, I got a better policy and wanted to cash out this one, I was told by another insurance salesman of the same company(I'll provide his name later)a policy like that would earn over 15,000 to 25,000 thousand dollars,. Well I let him know I had a policy with them and I wanted to cash it out, then STALLED, tried to INTIMIDATE US, tried to FORCE US to take just the money they wanted to give us, they wrote a check for 5, 956 dollars after 23 years AND me having their agent ON TAPE!!! I am preparing the BIGGEST LAWSUIT AS I CAN against them as I have recorded ALL they have tried to do,


AEvans profile image

AEvans 3 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

Rosemary McGee; You do what's necessary and keep us updated. That is ridiculous!


Daniel Daily 2 years ago

I am independent agent and I recommend Anico to my clients. Most mistakes aren't by the Insurance Company it's the agent. A agent must fully explain the policy and provision of the policy. Also the agent should push along ANy of the customers concerns. Unfortunely, bad agents give ANY insurance company a bad name. I've read the post and it sounds like the agent dropped the ball. My clients don't have to call Anico. I have their direct #.


AEvans profile image

AEvans 2 years ago from SomeWhere Out There Author

Well Daniel, you may have quite a few more clients all do to an incompetent agent. Thanks for the information about Anico.


Lmoell 15 months ago

I have been with American National for 10+ years and have whole life, auto, and home owners/renters insurance. My agent has always been prompt and takes care of my needs. Although I don't know how long they would take to pay out life insurance, but they paid immediately for auto body repair. I am shopping around for life insurance for my mother and have read about many other companies, with no surprise every company has a ridiculous amount of slanderous/negative complaints. Every insurance company has satisfied and unsatisfied customers, so it is impossible to get accurate info this way. I do believe that depending on the state and particular agent varies drastically. Reading all these comments simply confirms that the world is bombarded with negativity. Unfortunately people will always take the time to complain and leave negative comments/reviews, but when service is good and memorable very few take the time to give credit/compliments. I'm sorry for those who have been given the run around after a loss in the family, but for those who are shopping for coverage, know that what is posted typically only comes from people who had bad experiences, rarely you'll see those comment on good experiences.


ANGELA MARIE VILLALOBOS 12 months ago

My name is Angela Marie Villalobos my aunt raise me as a daug and she had been paying on two life insurance policy's from American National life insurance policy's she stayeded that when she deid I was intituled to her benefits how ever they only pay me 749 for a twenty year policy's and I don't feel it was right her name was IRENE SOTO RAMIREZ OF ASHERTON TX, CAN ANYONE HELP ME FIND OUT ANYTHING IN REGARDS TO THIS CLAIM

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working