Just stay at it - persistence

Let me share this series of emails

My wife’s laptop was experiencing “power outages” because her power cord was slowly deteriorating from the inside out.  I will not mention the manufacturer because it’s not the point and I have removed all references to order numbers, company names, etc.

After finding 53 ways to hold the cord so it would power the laptop, and having made several offers to get a new one for her, the cord’s prognosis was not good.  We decided, “better order one before the thing dies.” So, while I was placing the order online, my wife struggled even more to keep her laptop powered, holding the cord every which way.  So, the shipping decision was upgraded on the spot, and I spent the twenty bucks for two-day shipping.

Since it was a Thursday morning before 8 EST, I really expected to see the power cord on Saturday.  I felt reassured of this when I received a confirmation that the order was not only acknowledged, but was already on its way as of Thursday morning.  Saturday came and went, and the cord arrived Monday afternoon.  I felt that I had wasted that 20 bucks, and they had the nerve to ask me what I felt about my purchase.  I told them I was not happy and they sent me an email suggesting that I fax them a copy of my receipt…we pick it up from there:

My response to their initial email:

Sent: Mar 2, 2010 12:04:11 PM
Subject: Order Concerns

I complained that the additional 20 bucks I paid for 2-day delivery was a waste of money because it took from Thursday to Monday. You should not offer 2-day on a Thursday if you are not going to use the USPS or FEDEX.
Someone responded by telling to fax the bill to some phone number. You have all the information right there, and don't make me jump through hoops to get a refund for the difference in shipping. That's just crap, and you know it.
Sincerely,

They responded:

Date: Tue, 2 Mar 2010 12:10:21

Dear Valued Customer:

Thank you for your email.

We apologize for the inconvenience. Unfortunately we cannot process a request for a shipping cost refund as per your request. As per checking your account information through our database, Your order was shipped on the 18th of February and was delivered on the 22nd. Please be advised that you placed your order on a Friday. We don't have delivery over the weekend unless specified by the client. Your 2nd day air delivery started on Monday, so count 2 days after the order was shipped.

Thank you for visiting our website. We appreciate your business. If you have further inquiries and reply to this email, please make sure to include your entire message, so we can address it appropriately.

Sincerely,

Nick

My response:

Sent: Mar 3, 2010 7:25:56 AM
Subject: RE: Order Concerns

Dear Nick,


For the record, February 18th was a Thursday, not a Friday. Second, your site does not offer other choices of carriers as you suggest by saying, "We don't have delivery over the weekend unless specified by the client". Thirdly, if you were to use other carriers for shipping, one could actually have second day air. So, I disagree, and still feel the company should refund me the difference.

I will pursue this by all means until you comply with a reasonable request to do the right thing.

They responded:

Date: Wed, 3 Mar 2010 13:54:24 -0800
From: iodo
Subject: RE: Order


Dear Valued Customer:

Thanks for your email.

WE cannot process the refund until you fax us the receipt. Please fax the shipping receipt to xxx-xxx-xxxx, Attention Customer Service Team for refund consideration. Please make sure you include your order number.


Thank you for visiting our website. We appreciate your business. If you have further inquiries and reply to this email, please make sure to include your entire message, so we can address it appropriately.

Sincerely,
Aldrin

My response:

Sent: Mar 4, 2010 7:11:45 AM
Subject: RE: Order Concerns

Dear Aldrin,

The company already has a copy of my receipt. Why don't you just say you "refuse" to do this, be "cannot" is not accurate. You are just trying to make me jump through hoops so I won't have to refund the difference. I know "lame" when I see it, and this is lame. You have the order number, it's part of the subject line. You can email the complete transaction to that phone number, but you will not. This is NOT an acceptable resolve.

They responded:

Date: Fri, 5 Mar 2010 01:38:33 -0800
From: iodo
Subject: RE: Order Concerns
Dear Valued Customer:

Thanks for your email.

We apologize for the inconvenience. Unfortunately, even if we submit a request to waive the charge for the 2 day air, it will only be declined since the shipping as per our policy, the package was delivered on schedule counting 2 business days. Please call our Customer Service Department at 800-800-xxxx for further assistance.

Thank you for visiting our website. We appreciate your business. If you have further inquiries and reply to this email, please make sure to include your entire message, so we can address it appropriately.

Sincerely,
Allan

My response:


Sent: Mar 6, 2010 7:27:34 PM
Subject: RE: Order Concerns

Dear Allen,

I see they switched people to respond to me. That is still not acceptable. You can, if you want, return the difference between normal, it will get there when it get's there, and two-day shipping. I will not let up, since you made an extra $12.00 for absolutely no reason. I am sure it did not go to the carrier. Why would you pay them to do something they could do at normal price. I am not satisfied, and I will not stop until you give me the difference.

I run 6 restaurants, and this would have been fixed and the customer satisfied on the FIRST LETTER. When will you get a clue about customer satisfaction? And I personally, would have been the person to fix it. Tell me, I'm not worth twelve bucks to you?

Sincerely,

Todd Kemp

They responded:

Date: Mon, 8 Mar 2010 16:39:10 -0800
From: iodo
Subject: RE: Order Concerns
Dear Valued Customer:

Thank you for contacting us.

We have submitted your concern to our upper management for review. Our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience this may have caused you.

Thank you for visiting our website. We appreciate your business. If you have further inquiries and reply to this email, please make sure to include your entire message, so we can address it appropriately.

Sincerely,
Jon

My response:

Sent: Mar 8, 2010 8:00:11 PM
Subject: RE: Order Concerns

Hello,

At least this response gives me some hope. Responses that include "we do not" or "we cannot" tell me that you "don't want to". I've been in business for 40 years and know what can and can't be done. I deal with customer's levels of satisfaction every day, at the ground level, eye-to-eye level, and know the difference between a real review of a situation and a blow off.

As I said, if you offer two-day delivery, "business days" are a cop out. There are shippers who do every day, and those who do six-days a week. If you don't use them, you should not offer that on Thursdays through Saturdays. It's just not that hard unless you are permanently bonded to one delivery company. If that is the case, then offer only what they can truly deliver, without you having to put stipulations or disclaimers on the offer.

It was shipped on Thursday, I should have received it on Saturday.....that's two-days. Please either refund the difference or change your language in the "shipping category" of your site.

Sincerely,

They responded:

Date: Wed, 10 Mar 2010 13:01:15 -0800
From: iodo
Subject: RE: Order Concerns
Dear Valued Customer:

Thank you for your e-mail.

Upon checking our records, a request to refund your shipping fee was submitted on 03/08/10 and this is now being reviewed by our Manager. If you would like to make a follow-up in regards to the status of this request, please use reference number ######.

Thank you for visiting our website. We appreciate your business. If you have further inquiries and reply to this email, please make sure to include your entire message, so we can address it appropriately.

Sincerely,
Rhea

My response:

Sent: Mar 11, 2010 6:58:16 AM
Subject: RE: Order Concerns

RE: ######,

Hello,

Do you have any idea how long this process will take?

Thanks,

They responsed:

Date: Fri, 12 Mar 2010 13:21:53 -0800
From: iodo
Subject: RE: Order Concerns
Dear Valued Customer:
Thank you for your email.

Our record shows that the request was approved last 03-11-10. Please allow 3-5 business days for the refund to be credited to your account.


Thank you for visiting our website. We appreciate your business. If you have further inquiries and reply to this email, please make sure to include your entire message, so we can address it appropriately.

Sincerely,
Jon

My response:

Sent:

Fri 3/12/10 11:03 PM

To:

Jon

Thank you very much.  Please notify me of the exact date my account is credited so I can check my credit card.
Sincerely,

And to all of you:

Ray Kroc, founder of McDonald’s once said, “Persistence and Determination alone are omnipotent”.

Comments 1 comment

Uwant the TRUTH profile image

Uwant the TRUTH 6 years ago from South Jersey Author

Their last word:

Thank you for your email. Kindly give us until 03/18/2010 to credit your refund back to your original payment method. We appreciate your business, please be aware we are making all efforts possible to complete your order in a timely fashion. Please advise us if there is anything further we can assist you with.

Thank you for visiting our website. We appreciate your business. If you have further inquiries and reply to this email, please make sure to include your entire message, so we can address it appropriately.

Sincerely,

Maureen

and my last word is ...thank you

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working