Pennies for Your Thoughts: Making Money with Reviews at Epinions

Source

Seen any good movies lately? Read any good books? Or maybe you’ve just used a product that just doesn’t work, so you want to warn everyone about it. Epinions is a website that lets you post your reviews to an Internet audience. And get paid for doing it. It is open to both U.S. and non-U.S. residents.

© 2012 by Aurelio Locsin.

Source

Basics

The site’s tag line is Unbiased Reviews by Real People, so it stakes its reputation on opinions written by ordinary people rather than professional reviewers. And the first rule of the review is you must have used the product. Categories include cars, books, movies, music, computers and software, electronics, gifts, home and garden, office supplies, sports and travel.

  • You can search for a particular product or select one from among the tens of thousands listed.
  • You can drill down through subcategories or sort selections by price range, brand and features.
  • Clicking a product reveals the ratings bestowed by other reviewers, ranging from one star to the highest five stars.
  • You can read individual reviews, compare prices and view details of your selection.

If you want to review a product that is not in the database, you can request that ia category lead add it.

Writing

To compose your opinion, click Write a Review to display the review fields. You can type directly into the fields but risk losing your words if your system goes down. It’s best to use an external word processor to write and save the review. You can then copy and paste your words into the site fields. Reviews must contain at least 20 words, though 100 words or more are preferred. Most reviews are in the 400-500 word range.

Source

Community

You can then post your review to the site. You may return to your writing and edit it at any time, for example, if you want to update any information. The community of reviewers can vote on your review by assigning Not Helpful, Somehwat Helpful, Helpful and Very Helpful. Category leads can further dub your effort Most Helpful, if it’s the best one of all the reviews. All members can also write comments. These in-house ratings and comments are only visible to members and not to consumers. As with many such sites, Epinions has a forum where you can read and write about your experiences.

Source

Earnings

Your earnings come from the number of times your review is read and whether anyone buys a product from it. Your reviews display Adsense ads, but you have no control over their placement and subjects. The money earned by all the reviews of a product is split between Epinions and the pool of reviewers. The number of visits your reviews generate is updated continuously. However, the amount of money you earn is not revealed until after the end of the month.

The site often runs special promotions. For example, on some months, the first review for a product automatically earns $1 aside from standard royalties. Your earnings also go up if you get promoted to a Top Reviewer, Adviser or Category Lead.

When your total earnings reach $10 for U.S. residents or $100 for non-U.S. residents, you can request a check, which takes a frustratingly long two-to-six weeks to arrive.

Earnings range from nothing to a few cents to a few dollars per month per review. Obviously, the more reviews you write, the higher your income. The money keeps coming in every month without you having to do anything else. The most income goes to popular products, particularly electronics and technology items. Consumers can read your reviews by searching for them on Google or through Shopping.com, with which Epinions is affiliated.

Thoughts

You’re not going to get rich at the site. But the writing is easy, the members are friendly and the money rolls in month after month. I’ve been a member for about six years and invite you to check out my Epinions reviews.

More by this Author


Comments 31 comments

kikalina profile image

kikalina 4 years ago from Europe

I havent had much luck with epinions. Maybe I should look again!


alocsin profile image

alocsin 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Well, unfortunately, you won't be making much per review individually, but aggregated together you can make money. This month (January), they have the $1 per new review promotion, so reviews will at least get that. But it's small, I admit.


Loi-Renee profile image

Loi-Renee 4 years ago from Jamaica

I've never heard of this site before. Off to check it out. Voted up and interesting.


tammyswallow profile image

tammyswallow 4 years ago from North Carolina

Thank you for sharing that. I never knew if those surveys were ligit! Voted up and tweeted.


healthywholefoods profile image

healthywholefoods 4 years ago

sounds like a pretty good deal. If you have some extra time and like to give your opinion, it sounds like a great gig. If nothing else, you could write 100 reviews, and see what you get for it.


FutureDrKate 4 years ago

That's pretty sweet!


livelovelaugh5 profile image

livelovelaugh5 4 years ago

Thanks for sharing! Haven't heard of this site. Voted up!


alocsin profile image

alocsin 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Thank you all for responding. Please let me know how it works out for you if you decide to try it.


cardelean profile image

cardelean 4 years ago from Michigan

Thanks for the information. I've never heard of the site before but just might check it out.


alocsin profile image

alocsin 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

I hop3e you do cardelean. Let me know if you end up signing up.


teaches12345 profile image

teaches12345 4 years ago

Thanks for the information. It is a good site to look up.


J.S.Matthew profile image

J.S.Matthew 4 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

I want to check this out! Thanks for posting. Voting up.

JSMatthew~


alocsin profile image

alocsin 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

I do write articles regularly for them, so can vouch for them.


thelyricwriter profile image

thelyricwriter 4 years ago from West Virginia

Voted up and useful. Very well written. I have been at the site for a few months now. I have only written a few reviews and write a few per month. Every penny counts. As usual, it takes time but in the end, it is worth it.


alocsin profile image

alocsin 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Maybe I'll run into you there.


Naima Manal profile image

Naima Manal 4 years ago from NY

Thank you for sharing. I did not know about this site, but I intend to sign up. It's true, every penny does count.


PDXKaraokeGuy profile image

PDXKaraokeGuy 4 years ago from Portland, Oregon

it'd another stream of income, and it all adds up. I'll have to check this out...


Brett.Tesol profile image

Brett.Tesol 4 years ago from Somewhere in Asia

Another new site for earning, nice find Alocsin. How much are you earning there now?

Will SHARE this, as I am sure a few others would like some extra $$$s


Kris Heeter profile image

Kris Heeter 4 years ago from Indiana

Very interesting - I wasn't familiar with this website. Looking forward to checking it and your reviews out!


cclitgirl profile image

cclitgirl 4 years ago from Western NC

Wow, alocsin. You must do all this stuff full time - HubPages, epinions, etc. Way to go - you've inspired me. Voted up and awesome.


peoplepower73 profile image

peoplepower73 4 years ago from Placentia California

Thansk alocsin for the information. You say it pays via adsense. It there anything that has to be setup in adsense to make a connection?


alocsin profile image

alocsin 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Well, if any of your try this out, let me know. My username their is the same as here.


alocsin profile image

alocsin 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Only about $20 last month, but I only wrote about 10 reviews. And the money keeps rolling in every month. I have reviews that are many years old that are still paying.


vespawoolf profile image

vespawoolf 4 years ago from Peru, South America

This caught my eye because I often go to epinions to read reviews. I had no idea you can get paid to write them! Thanks, as always, for such informative hubs.


alocsin profile image

alocsin 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Let me know if you decide to join. I'm still on there under the same usercode as here.


vespawoolf profile image

vespawoolf 4 years ago from Peru, South America

Sure thing!


THEHuG5 profile image

THEHuG5 4 years ago

Wow I had no idea that this site existed! Thanks for sharing alocsin I'm gonna check it out :)


iamaudraleigh 4 years ago

Interesting :) Voted up!


alocsin profile image

alocsin 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Look me up there, THEHug5. Same usercode of alocsin.


MarleneB profile image

MarleneB 3 years ago from Northern California, USA

I like this idea. I like writing reviews, so I may just check them out. I think a lot of people will like this, too so I'm pinning and sharing with my readers.


rajan jolly profile image

rajan jolly 3 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

I've never heard of this site so I'll be checking it out. Thanks for sharing this info and voted up.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working