Writedge Review: Not Just Another Revenue Share Writing Site

Are you looking for another revenue share writing site? Writedge could be your option.
Are you looking for another revenue share writing site? Writedge could be your option. | Source

There are so many revenue share writing sites out there that it’s easy to get bogged down on them. When I first heard about Writedge, I wasn’t too certain about it. To be honest I check out all new sites out with apprehension. In the end, the site had a good layout and I liked the payment model. When I joined at the end of March 2014, the pay was 1c per unique view. From April it dropped to 1/2 a cent per unique view, but I stuck around. By that point I’d realized that Writedge was not just another revenue share writing site.

Here is my honest Writedge review. There are downsides (nothing is perfect), but there are also some major benefits to this writing platform.

What Is Writedge?

Before going into the writing site any further, it is important to understand more about the platform. This is a place set up by writers for writers. The owners, Danielle McGaw and Michelle Harlow, have written for the likes of HubPages, Infobarrel and others in the past—and still do. They know what it is like to be a writer on a site like this, and listen to their writers on a daily basis. In fact, writers get to vote on their preferences for things, and in most cases the majority wins. It is a democracy, and a refuge for many writers who have been burned on other sites.

There are rules, of course. One of those is that all content must be high in quality. No spun content is allowed, and the minimum word count is 400 words (although longer is preferred because that’s what readers and Google prefer).

Income is gained through online advertising, with advertisers paying for each unique view—and that means users must remain on the site for at least 15 seconds for the view to count. All payments are made at the end of the month, as long as the minimum $5 threshold has been met.

It's a place created for writers by writers.
It's a place created for writers by writers. | Source

By Writers for Writers

This was the one thing that attracted me to the site in the first place. As soon as I read a review and it stated the site had been set up by people who had written on sites like HubPages and Infobarrel, I knew they would understand the trials and tribulations of other writers. This wasn’t just about making money. They would understand the fear of a site not paying out, and know how it felt when rules suddenly changed without warning.

But the rules did change, didn’t they? I’m sure you’re all asking since the payment terms did change after a few days of being there. However, I knew all about that possibly happening upfront. When doing my research, I realized the site was trialling the pay-per-view model set at the rate of 1c per unique view. Trials are important, and I accept that they may not always work out.

I did expect the site owners to just decide on the pay structure afterwards, but was pleasantly surprised to find that the site owners asked the writers first. It was the first sign that it would be a refuge for writers, as well as a site to make money.

That isn’t to say other sites are bad. I still write at HubPages, Wizzley and other revenue share sites. It’s just a very different view, making it very different to any other revenue share writing site out there.

See Why Danielle McGaw Chose to Set Up Writedge

Friendly and Supportive Staff

Not only are the owners also writers, but they are friendly, supportive and communicative. This is very important when it comes to a site, and something that many writers would like from certain others sites. I won’t name it by name, but I’m sure many writers know exactly which site I mean. It only has a 400 character count minimum for those who need a hint.

The support goes further than just answering questions about payments and changes. McGaw and Harlow want writers to do well. Of course, writers doing well means that the site does well. To help with that, there are various videos and articles written. These show people how to use the interface, how to improve the chance of posts being shared and the use of social media.

1/2 a cent per view may sound low until you consider the long-term benefit of Writedge.
1/2 a cent per view may sound low until you consider the long-term benefit of Writedge. | Source

But Isn’t the Pay Low?

There are some people who claim that being paid half a cent per unique view is extremely low. Well, that depends on the way you look at this. I actually view the half a cent per view as a realistic and sustainable one. One thing that I never understood about a certain site was how it was able to pay a cent per view, comment and like. Maybe that is why there have been payment issues as of late.

The pay structure is set to keep the site running and help writers earn. It certainly isn’t a get rich quick site, but anyone looking for a get rich quick option would not likely look into revenue share sites. Any site like that takes time to build up. It’s all about keyword research, evergreen and viral content and creating something that people need to read.

Writedge is a long-term venture. Considering my five-year plan, it is perfect for me. I can keep adding content and see my view count increasing day by day. Those who aren’t interested in building up their portfolio slowly or want to earn real passive income will not find this option viable.

It does take time, though, and that is one of the downsides. The site is still new, but that doesn’t mean it is a complete write-off. In fact, something that I need to include in this Writedge review is that this site is growing rapidly. It is already exceeding sites like Zujava and Wizzley on Alexa. That says that it offers readers everything they want and need.

Will You Add Writedge to Your List of Revenue Share Writing Sites?

It’s time for that last question. What do you think you will do? Personally, I love the site and I’m really glad I took the plunge. It is easy to write on and it has become a great alternative to Infobarrel, which I dropped around the same time as finding this. The fact that it was created by writers for writers really drew me in.

Payments are on time each month (I know from experience), and the staff are around to answer questions. Both are in the continent of North America so you may not get a reply right away, but you will get one within 24 hours. Since I prefer doing my residual income writing in the evenings and I’m in the UK, I get answers within minutes.

It could be a great option for your writing portfolio. Writedge is not just another revenue share writing site. This is a place where writers are looked after.

More by this Author


Comments 22 comments

xmags profile image

xmags 2 years ago from Philippines

To be honest, I'm still trying to get the hang of hubpages, but it's nice to know that there are sites out there that offer the same venue for writers and also take care of them. :) Thanks for sharing about Writedge. I'll probably try it out soon. :)


fl1guy2 2 years ago

$0.005 per view isn't really that bad. As long as content is decent quality and relevant, most the readers should stay on longer than 15 seconds. That structure will give you $5 per 1,000 views as long as 100% of the readers stay for 15 seconds.

I think that's pretty reasonable. I've noticed that Hubpages offers the same amount give or take a dollar.

And with them having higher quality standards, the pages should be able to rank decently. I'll have to try this out. Thanks for the info


aingham86 profile image

aingham86 2 years ago from UK Author

It is per unique view, but I still don't think it's that bad. There are a lot worse rates on sites out there.

I've noticed about the same on HubPages too, so really can't complain from a newer site. I hope you enjoy checking it out enough to join. I believe it's a great site for those looking to make residual income.


aingham86 profile image

aingham86 2 years ago from UK Author

There are a lot of sites similar to HubPages, xmags, but they're not all as great. HubPages has been the only one I've stuck with since starting online writing almost four years ago. But I'm always looking out for new ones. I like to join them when they're new :)


streakanime profile image

streakanime 2 years ago from Indianapolis

Nice review. My biggest thing for the site is the fact that the owners really don't appear to be in it for making money off of the writers. They've said right now they just want/need to break even with the pay rate. If they can break even or profit even just a tad with the pay rate now.... They'd increase it. They just need to make enough money to be able to continue to run the site. Which is fair and understandable. I'm glad they gave us a choice because I wasn't making nearly the money I am now when they shared advertising space. But, as you said it was a trial and error thing and we all learned what worked best (I've been with the site since it started).

The admin has also used/and said they want to use extra money made off the writers to put back into the site better pay rates, contests, more features. This isn't a site that is trying to get rich off of other people's work as I've seen so many other shared revenue sites do.

The admin have their own accounts and write articles just like everyone else to make money. :)

This is DLWright by the way. :) I made a hub pages account long before I settled on the DLWright pen name lol


cmoneyspinner1tf profile image

cmoneyspinner1tf 2 years ago from Austin, Texas

Genuine review. Couldn't have said it better. Hope this site continues to climb in the rankings.


lovebuglena profile image

lovebuglena 2 years ago from Staten Island, NY

I love the new layout of Wridge and even DTC. And I think the site is great. Certainly very quick responses from the admin on the WE FB page, which is very good.

I can't say that I am a huge fan of the 1/2 cent PPV payout because my monthly earnings are very low so far - under a dollar. At this rate it will take me at least a half a year to reach the $5 minimum, which is a joke.

I think that the revenue sharing would have probably brought me more earnings. I even remember when there was a voting poll where members got to pick if they want revenue sharing or PPV I voted for revenue sharing.

Even though I hardly earn anything on WE I still stick around and continue to write posts there to build up my portfolio, in hopes that in time I will make more than under a dollar a month.


thelesleyshow profile image

thelesleyshow 2 years ago from US

WritEdge is an excellent site. They are going to give Squidoo and HubPages a run for their money one day because the owners are dedicated and they've proven in the last year they are not greedy souls either. Most, if not all the month that website makes is paid to the writers.

A site like this is only as good as the quality it puts out, clearly, they care about quality. Quality is what will stand the test of time for any website. They are relevant, classy and a refreshing change of scenery for a lot of seasoned writers.

WritEdge listens to their writers, very nice because of us are used to sending an email off into internet space. Bigger sites tend to forget about the writers that got them there and I don't believe that WritEdge will ever do that because the owners ARE WRITERS themselves.


aingham86 profile image

aingham86 2 years ago from UK Author

I was starting to wonder while reading it, thinking it was you, DLWright :)

You make some brilliant points about the owners and wanting to increase the pay. As more writers join the site and the site gets more traffic, the money the site gains will go up and so will the pay (hopefully!).


aingham86 profile image

aingham86 2 years ago from UK Author

Thanks, cmoneyspinner. I hope the very same.


aingham86 profile image

aingham86 2 years ago from UK Author

I've found the opposite regarding monthly earnings, lovebuglena. Considering the amount of content I have on the site, I'm earning more than I did on HP and other revenue share sites (that do it through adsense and not per view) with the same amount of content. Of course, I now have more on HP and others, so I'm starting to earn more but I suspect I'll earn more on Writedge when I have more content. I seem to do better with getting and keeping views than with the advertisements and affiliate products right now. That may change in a few years.

I was one of those that voted for the PPV model, after some debating over it.


aingham86 profile image

aingham86 2 years ago from UK Author

Yes, thelesleyshow, the site is only good as the writers, and I love a site that puts the writers first knowing that this is the case. It doesn't always mean the writers get their own way (after all, what a writer thinks is best, may not actually be the case).


Maximum A 2 years ago

Yes, Writedge is a good site where the administrators take care of their members. I'm a new member there and I was having trouble since it's WordPress, which I wasn't too familiar with. Writedge also has a sister site, DailyTwoCents, which is also amazing. Nice hub!


aingham86 profile image

aingham86 2 years ago from UK Author

Thanks for stopping by Maximum A. I love Daily Two Cents too. I'm planning a review of that very very soon. Just dealing with moving home at the moment.


RonElFran profile image

RonElFran 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

I just joined Daily Two Cents, and now am considering Writedge as well. I'll be looking forward to your DTC article. I hope you can compare the two.


Alphadogg16 profile image

Alphadogg16 2 years ago from Texas

I had not heard of Writedge. I will definitely have to check it out & maybe give it a try. Nice hub.


aingham86 profile image

aingham86 2 years ago from UK Author

Hi RonElFran, I hope you're enjoying DTC. There will be an article about it eventually. I'm in the middle of moving home at the moment so limited at the things I can do right now.


aingham86 profile image

aingham86 2 years ago from UK Author

Thanks, Alphadogg16. I definitely recommend checking it out.


Say Yes To Life profile image

Say Yes To Life 2 years ago from Big Island of Hawaii

Thanks for telling your experience. I will check Writedge out.


aingham86 profile image

aingham86 2 years ago from UK Author

You're welcome Say Yes to Life.


Markeli profile image

Markeli 20 months ago from Italy

Thanks for sharing this info about Writedge and DTC. Unfortunately the revenue model of half a cent per unique view proofed unviable and they had switch to 1,5 USD per 1,000 views.


aingham86 profile image

aingham86 19 months ago from UK Author

Hi Markeli, they did have to switch but have said that it is a temporary switch. Once the traffic goes up the income will go up. I've got no reason not to trust them in those words as they are writers first and know how important making money through this is.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working