"A World of Opinions" by Merwin

Opinions... Setting aside God, setting aside math, or even including them, opinions are all we have.

Opinions are what we consistently operate on. Sure we may have our "informed" opinions but when push comes to shove, it really boils down to opinion. Usually when the pushing/shoving is all over, the one left standing, is the one "who's opinion is in the right". Ask him or her about it and they will eagerly confirm this to be true.

Never mind that the loser's opinion may not have changed, nor the opinions of those that observed the verbal battle. The winner will proclaim, at the very least to him/her self, "I showed my opponent where the bear goes in the buckwheat".

Neither does it matter about the topic... any discussion/argument may be filled with valuable evidence on both sides, the side that has the most points at the end of the day wins.

But, wins what?

It is very unlikely that anything would have changed for the vanquished, and the strutting, self indulgent, bragging rights will be short lived, for the victor. So too for the by-standing, rubber neckers if any, they will likely forget their moments of entertainment as soon as they go on to the "next" entertaining thing.

It does not matter one whit about the opinion of the opponent, and therefore (if honest), "my" opinion does not matter one whit, except to "me". There may be many that might "share" a few of my opinions, but, as it may be with most humans, any departure from the particulars of that opinion of mine, are likely to disqualify my fellow opinion holders in my own eyes.

This condition may be found in every discipline, in every sector of society. Mankind looks for reasons to disqualify the opinions of his fellows. Seldom are the declarations of my acquaintances heard, without being sifted through many filters, and this is as it should be.

Through our lives we hear/read the many opinions, from various perspectives and because of our personal preferences, we take ownership of the things we like best and, we poo - poo the rest. And when we've glommed on to the things we like the most, we may even be able to "cite and quote" the sources that helped us polish our passionate position with accuracy and vigor.

We go forward thinking that if we may be able to show ourselves well read and versed that it will somehow add value to our credibility. We do this because it works, and it works well. We, by following this method, may elevate ourselves in the opinion poll of any given topic and end up making us/you/me/we the "go to" person(s) for that particular view.

Who knows... it might even end up getting us/you...etc. elected to something that would improve "our" living conditions. And that is really our goal is it not..? Self improvement..? Accent on self.

But, the things that must be understood by one and all, either now or later...

1) "There is nothing new under the sun." and, "...all is vanity." Ecclesiastes 1:9 & 1:14
2)
"EVERYONE", has just another opinion, that is basically more of the same, stemmed and was formed from other sources.
And most of all...
3) There is only one absolute... The Living Torah... Jesus... The Only Begotten Son of God, His grace, His mercy.

Of course you might not share my opinion... Mankind is always looking for dis-qualifiers.

MARANATHA..! (even so, come quickly LORD..!)
Merwin aka Balaam's Nazarite Donkey (Numbers 6: & Numbers 22:)



Comments 14 comments

PassinThru 5 years ago

Hello Merwin, Agreed, and we even have our opinions as to our understanding of Jesus and what He told (is telling) us. But, in this case, the established view is deemed right (no pun intended) and any new or dissenting views are attempted to be dismissed as mere heresy.


CoauthorU profile image

CoauthorU 5 years ago from Inland Northwest, USA Author

Thanks for the stop by, and your comment and I would not disagree with you... uhhh... so far. lol


Chasuk 5 years ago

Sorry, Merwin, but no.

Shakespeare either wrote Hamlet, or he didn't. Jesus either rose from the dead, or He didn't.

My opinion doesn't change those things.

Unless you are arguing that we live in a consensual reality?


CoauthorU profile image

CoauthorU 5 years ago from Inland Northwest, USA Author

2 All...

As you may or may not know, there has been much controversy concerning who wrote the works of Shakespeare, while some speculate that it may not have even been a man. And depending on certain OPINIONS, Jesus may not have existed.

Again... OPINION owns the day, whether it be regarding, man having set foot on the moon or anything else. My opinion only really matters to me, and yours to you.


Chasuk 5 years ago

"The Tragical History of Hamlet, Prince of Denmark" was authored, whether we know the identity of its author or not. Who authored it is an opinion, that it was authored is not.

Jesus either rose from the dead, or he did not. That there are opposite beliefs regarding his resurrection does not change the binary "Yes|No" reality.

Man either set foot on the moon, or he didn't. Viewpoints may vary, but the truth is "Yes|No."

However, there are matters of opinion. Were the Beatles "better" than Elvis? That depends on your opinion. Both opinions are correct. That's what makes it an opinion, that the answer can be "yes" and "no" at the same time.


CoauthorU profile image

CoauthorU 5 years ago from Inland Northwest, USA Author

My hub was composed to showcase the strength of opinion and to showcase my opinions.

I then have Chasuk (bless his heart), who comes along to take issue with my opinion. Let us bear in mind that he has asked me not to share my opinions on his hub, but let us set that aside.

First he shares the opinion that... "Shakespeare either wrote Hamlet, or he didn't..." Which I promptly showed that, that may not reflect the consensus of opinions, so he revised his posture.

Then he shares that either the resurrection happened or it did not... well, to a person that has the opinion that Jesus did not even exist, that concern may not be worth bug spit.

Man setting foot on the moon..? There are some very persuasive arguments to the contrary.

Again, to one and all, this hub was OBVIOUSLY written to describe some of the powers of -"opinion"-.

To those that will concede (in their opinion) that Jesus lived, and was crucified. But have the opinion that the resurrection could not have happened, and so, therefore it did not, the condemned to death testimony of 12 (including Paul) and the one, John, boiled in oil and imprisoned for his testimony, would mean nothing more than foolishness.

Never mind that this type of testimony (dying man's) would stand up in any court in our nation (except sham courts of course). And never mind they testified of this in front of people who were there... and saw what they saw (in many cases) and were converted by their testimonies. And never mind any other bits of evidence that point to the reality of the resurrection and many other miracles in the Bible... because of people's opinions to the contrary is not easily budged.

This hub was/is about the power of opinion, I will thank you Chasuk to refrain from what you nearly always attempt to do (and many times succeed)and that is, turning into a nit-picking rabbit trail, far removed from the original intention.


PassinThru 5 years ago

Chas, that is just your opinion. I just gave you mine. Merwin started with his. It's simple really.

Sorry if I intruded on your argument. I know how much you two enjoy the intellectual debates.


Matt Blacksher 5 years ago

As I read this I was reminded of the saying..."History is written by those who hung the hero's". Thanks Merwin for the read.


Chasuk 5 years ago

I love you Merwin, I really so. However, by this stage, if you don't understand the fallaciousness -- and the inapplicability -- of your arguments, then you never will.

Of course, in your opinion, that's only my opinion, so that's all right.

Still, you've asked that I refrain from turning this hub into a nit-picking rabbit trail, so I will honor that.

Take care.


CoauthorU profile image

CoauthorU 5 years ago from Inland Northwest, USA Author

2 Chas...

Feel free to comment anytime you like, just bear in mind that I am not as likely to entertain your diversions.

2 All... thank you for your kind words.

2 Matt... thanks for being one of my oldest friends.


CoauthorU profile image

CoauthorU 5 years ago from Inland Northwest, USA Author

2 PassinThru...

Open forum (sans rabbit trails), you've never intruded, and you're welcome anytime.


wba108@yahoo.com profile image

wba108@yahoo.com 5 years ago from upstate, NY

CoauthorU- Amen, Jesus himself is the truth! He is the stardard by which anything can and should be judged.-Blessing- WBA


Hubertsvoice 5 years ago

In our confused society today there are too many misquotes of politicians, bible verses, percentages, etc for one writer to point out. The natural instinct here would be to throw in a percentage or of the top of my head estimation of how many hubs could be written by how many hub authors. I want do that, because I just said that there too many comments and misquotes like that exist. I am not saying that I have never done that, just not this time. Many people have engaged in this practice many times that will not admit it. When people are caught doing these things after denying the truth of the matter, the usual reply is that they were misinformed, or there was typo. I never hear them say, pardon me, in my haste to fabricate more false statements I failed to research that one, or simply, "I apologize, I failed to do the proper research on that item."

Politicians, clergy, elders, deacons and many others, in their rush to show how brilliant they are, seem to push away the boring facts that get in the way of their truth.

Here is a novel or unique method of avoiding situations like that, "Make sure your brain is in the right gear before you release the clutch on your jaws". Something that I always try to do, but sometimes my clutch slips.

I am not trying to impress anybody with what I know. I'm not trying to impress anybody about anything at all. I don't stand to get rich off this article. I am simply offering my opinion, based on what I see and discover through my personal research. I hope it helps someone in whatever way it can. It has already helped me a great deal by getting it off my chest. I feel wonderful. Not so confused.

I welcome all who wish to offer their opinion or observation. If it makes you feel better, you have done well.


CoauthorU profile image

CoauthorU 5 years ago from Inland Northwest, USA Author

Thank you for your comments Hubertsvoice stop by and share anytime.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working