What do I share when I click “Like” or “Recommend” button on External Websites other than FaceBook ?

Like or Share ?

And now you see the “Like” or ”Recommend” button rapidly dispersing all over the web, be in on Premium content sites like TIME.com, ABC.com, services like Docs.com, blogs, content sites or on over 2 million other sites who are using it. Clicking “Like” under something is an easy way to let someone know that you enjoy it. A cool and poised feedback (or connect) the “Like” is something you care the world to know about - and without leaving a comment. While the average user clicks “Like” on over ten pieces of Facebook items each week, this plugin brings a big deal for other external sites as well. Since the launch of this social plug-in button in April, it has been integrated on millions of sites, with many publishers like TypePad (+200%), Sporting News (+500%), and NBA.com (#2 referral source) having reported large increases in traffic specifically.

Facebook “Like” and Feacebook "Recommend"

On external sites, when you click "Like" or "Recommend" button on a Page, you not only notify your Facebook friends of your external likes, but also provide the site with a way to add personalized recommendations based on what you and your friends like – an unmatched content personalization is what they say.

The Page selected is displayed in your profile, and in turn, you will be displayed on the Page as a person who likes that Page. The Page will also be able to post content into your News/Activity Feed. For instance, if you like a pair of jeans on Levis.com, this site can show you a list of your friends that also like that specific pair of jeans. According to revealing statistics, those who click on the Activity Feed plug-in in particular generate 4x as many page views as the average media site viewer.

What do you Share on External Sites?

If you're logged in to Facebook and stop by some of the yet unnamed "pre-approved" sites around the web, chances are those sites may soon have default access to data about your Facebook account.

When you connect with an application or website it will soon have access to General Information about you. The term General Information includes you and your friends’ names, profile pictures, gender, user IDs, connections, and any content shared using the Everyone privacy setting. The location of your computer or access device and your age is also available to applications and websites according to the company’s new privacy policy.

FaceBook opts out than opts-in here and you should always review the policies of third party applications and websites to make sure you are comfortable with the ways in which they use information you share with them. For example, if you share your phone number with your friends, they may use third party applications to sync that information with the address book on their mobile phone.

More by this Author


Click to Rate This Article
working