A Simple Flat Tax Plan by Ted Cruz

Jump to Last Post 1-2 of 2 discussions (14 posts)
  1. colorfulone profile image79
    colorfuloneposted 8 years ago

It would put more money in the hands of the working class, and provide growth and opportunities. It would eliminate taxes that are ridiculous (example: Obamacare). It would end the IRS and Washing cartel.  It would be post-card size filing, a real simple form. 

To me, it looks like what our tax plan should have been all along.

https://www.tedcruz.org/tax_plan_summary/

1. Credence2 profile image78
      Credence2posted 8 years agoin reply to this

I am not an expert on fiscal matters, but at least he has a plan outhere. I would like to see how it stands up to scrutiny by those that know a little more about this than myself. Let's hear what they have to say.  I don't trust Rightwing candidates, implicitely and often times the devil is in the details that may not be plain and evident in his proposal.

colorfuloneposted 8 years agoin reply to this

There you have it, "often times the devil is in the details".   I do like the idea of abolishing the IRS organization, very much.  Now they can add the IRS Tea-Party scandal to their list of tax-invasion schemes and most likely get away with it.

2. wilderness profile image93
      wildernessposted 8 years agoin reply to this

The description doesn't seem quite complete.  For instance, line 4 asks for "itemized deductions", but it sounds like there aren't any.  I also question the child tax and earned income "credits"; these are nothing more than grants and should be listed as such if we're going to continue making them.  Nor do I like tax free overseas income unless the same amount was already paid there.  And no, it is not a "postcard" filing - there will be many additional pages.

I also don't like a single $10,000 deduction for a married couple.  Or would each file their own taxes without any penalty?