Nevada Domestic Violence Laws: Charges and Penalties
Domestic violence (also known as domestic abuse) is defined as "any abusive, violent, coercive, forceful or threatening act or word inflicted by one member of the family of household on another". Hitting, kicking, slapping, shoving, restraining and throwing objects are some common forms of domestic violence. Spouses are involved in most of the domestic violence cases in Nevada.
Domestic violence charges are taken very seriously in the state of Nevada. Even stalking is considered domestic violence if the victim feels threatened. Various statutes related to the state's domestic violence charges are published in NRS (Nevada Revised Statutes) Section 200.485.
The charges may be pressed by either the victim of by the DA (District Attorney) on behalf of the victim. The charges vary from misdemeanor (a lesser criminal act) charges to felony (a serious crime) charges.
First domestic violence offence
The offender has to spend at least two days in jail. The jail term can go up to six months. He/she has to devote not less than 48 hours to community service. It will not be more than 120 hours. The person has to participate in weekly counseling sessions, not less than one and a half hours per week, for not less than six months. He/she has to bear the expenses. The fine may vary from $200 to $1000, excluding court administrative charges.
Second domestic offence
The culprit has to spend at least 10 days in jail. The jail term can go up to six months. He/she has to devote not less than 100 hours to community service. It will not be more than 200 hours. The culprit has to participate in weekly counseling sessions of not less than one and a half hours per week for 12 months. He/she has to bear the expenses. The fine may vary from $500 to $1000, excluding court administrative charges.
Third domestic violence offence
It is considered as a felony. The jail term varies between one and five years. The fine may be up to $10,000 (excluding assessments). This can have a huge negative impact on the person's future.
If you are in the State of Nevada and believe that you are subject to domestic violence, you may call either call 911 or the local police and report the crime. The state's legal system is designed to assist you.
Are you a victim of domestic violence?See results without voting
Never let a man put his hands on you without your permission.— Melda Beaty
More by this Author
If you reside in a place with tropical climate and intend to have a pooch companion, it is advisable to go for those breeds that are known to tolerate heat. Please read on for more details...
A wedding is a ceremony to celebrate the coming together of two people in marriage. Some people keep the celebration simple; some spend extravagantly in order to make the occasion a memorable one.
Has horizontal gene transfer played any role in evolution? Read on to know...
No comments yet.