3 kinds of Love

There are three different kinds of love. Both the Greek and Hebrew languages tend to be more specific and focused than the English language, so I'm going to use these words to describe to you the 3 different forms of love. Eros, Philos, and Agape.

Eros; In Greek mythology, eros love was taken from the Greek belief in a "god" of love called by the same name. The word actually means "longing and desire." Its like the "feeling of love" Eros is a selfish love; it asks "what can I get for myself?" Eros is associated with a sexual love. Unless this sexual love is redeemed by the presence of God, it is at stake at becoming possessive. It seeks to conquer and control. This was never God's intention. He created the physical attraction between a woman and a man but didn't intend selfish eros, but he DID create the longing and desire that makes up sexual love. Yes believe it or not, God created sex! Physical desire is very important in a marriage, and this type of love was created to be preserved for your special marriage partner. This type of love is an important type of love. Its essential to a healthy marriage.

Philos; is the second type of love. it's a unique kind of love, like the love that one has for a friend, or a companion, to love like a brother or like a sister. When we have Philos love for someone we have placed that friend in a high personal position. its characterized by shared experiences, as the joy of one becomes the joy of all. With all that being said, Philos has the ability to turn sour as we all have experienced sometime in our lives.

Agape; is the third and most important kind of love there is. It's the love that God commands us to have for one another. Its God's own personal way of loving us. It's not determined by feelings, its more like a set of actions or behaviors. You don't have to feel it to give it. When I say this I mean, its possible to not feel anything and be able to "love" in this sense. Sometimes the feelings follow. Its the kind of love that the bible is talking about in 1 Corinthians...

1 Corinthians 13:4-8 says; Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails....

Comments 14 comments

Jamie Brock profile image

Jamie Brock 6 years ago from Texas

Wow, I haven't heard of the three different kinds of love.. this is informative! Reminds me of that book called The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman.. It's about different ways people express their love to one another.. apparently different people show love in different ways. Great article, Leslie!

leslie4130 profile image

leslie4130 6 years ago from TX Author

Jamie, My husband and I did that test. It was pretty interesting to see each others scores, it makes you more aware and able to appreciate the things that they do when you understand their love language. We all have different ways that we give love and receive love. You can actually take the quiz here at http://www.5lovelanguages.com/assessments/love/

rechel palmes 5 years ago

wow it... so nice i admired the 3 kinds of love....

rechel palmes palmes 5 years ago

wow it... so nice i admired the 3 kinds of love...

summer 4 years ago

the three types of love that i know are frendship love whitch means ur friends will always be there for u second type of love would be family love witch means that ur family we always love u no matter what u do last type of love would be realtionship love witch means when u love someone but it is hard for u to get that guy that u love

ishiee 4 years ago


ckret 4 years ago

haha useful khet papano....

elliza 4 years ago

watta love hmmmn

Soraya 4 years ago

That's beautiful

chrisnette 4 years ago

akala ko fillial love yun kasi sinabi ng teacher ko sa amin . .

shanmarie profile image

shanmarie 3 years ago from Texas

Agape love is the hardest to keep because it means continuing to love even after someone else has broken the ties of the other two kinds of love with you. Yet, think of how many times over God must look at us and keep on loving us as we turn our backs on him in some form or another.

anne chella 3 years ago

4r me is agape because the love is very special i mean social number 1 means of very special words but it so very broken hearted den to live ur love ..

hmm... 2 years ago


D. Jarvis 22 months ago


    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.

    Click to Rate This Article