Chakra According to Western Beliefs

The endocrine system

Each organ represents one of the chakras.
Each organ represents one of the chakras.


            The concept of chakra was brought to the attention of the western world through several translated and heavily interpreted documents in the late 1690s. The two most influential of these works are: Theosophia Practice by Johann Georg Gitchel, and Serpent Power by Sir John Woodroffe. These books brought concepts primarily from the Hindustani (Modern Day India) understanding of chakra, coloring the western world’s perspective on the subject ever since. Diagrams in these works represented the chakra points as lotus flowers located at different points in the body, where each specific chakra was denoted by how many petals a lotus had.

They also had a significant influence on the creation of Theosophy, which is a system of religious and philosophical doctrine that states there is a specific way in which mankind may advance closer to perfection. The radical part about Theosophy states that each religion in the world holds a portion of the answer, and only by embracing, analyzing, and understanding all these religions will we ever find the whole answer.

The understanding of the chakra in the western world mirrored that of the Hindu understanding until the very early 1900s. There are seven major chakra points in the body, though western belief never attributed them separate names. It was posited that each chakra corresponded to a specific organ in the body. Unlike Eastern beliefs, these were not all major organs, but specifically belonged to the endocrine system. Here the passage of spiritual energy through the chakra paralleled with the interaction of endocrinological glands.

The first chakra is symbolized as a lotus with a thousand petals. It equates to the pituitary gland and the thalamus, which are thought to have a key role in our consciousness and also secrete hormones to regulate the rest of the endocrine system. The second chakra is the pineal gland in the brain, which is symbolized as a lotus with two petals. This gland reacts to the presence of light and secretes melatonin which regulates sleep and waking. The third chakra is the thyroid gland in the throat, appearing as a lotus with sixteen petals. This gland produces thyroid hormone which regulates human maturation and growth. The fourth gland is the thymus located in the chest, which produces T cells which are responsible for fending off bacterial and viral pathogens. It is denoted by a twelve petaled lotus. The fifth gland is the pancreas near the solar plexus. This is symbolized by a lotus with ten petals and plays a very important role in digestion and converting food to chemical energy. The sixth gland takes the form of the testicles or ovaries. They produce chemicals important to the reproductive cycle and can be the source of dramatic mood swings. They are denoted by a lotus with six petals. The seventh and last gland is the adrenal medulla, also known as the adrenal glands which are located atop the kidneys. The adrenals release adrenaline and other chemicals associated with the fight-or-flight reflex. They are symbolized by a four petaled lotus

Oddly enough the endocrine system is involved entirely with the release and regulation of mood altering hormones. So the belief that our humanity and emotions comes from our chakra may not be as incorrect or outdated as many people think.

Comments 3 comments

Ivorwen profile image

Ivorwen 7 years ago from Hither and Yonder

Makes sense.

Since the birth of her last child, two and a half years ago, my sister has complained of lower back pain. She asked me to look at it, and see what was wrong. I found that the energy port at the small of the back thought it was the cervix, and was trying to stay shut. This allowed her almost no flexibility in the lower back. After a bit of praying, I stretched the port open, -- using a method similar to what you depicted in your last hub, and told it to stay, as well as pointing out it's true use. It took several reminders, but is working properly now.

Joy At Home profile image

Joy At Home 7 years ago from United States

Jarn, you are constantly introducing me to concepts I wouldn't think to check out on my own, and giving ones I have looked at new spins.

Well done.

LiftedUp profile image

LiftedUp 7 years ago from Plains of Colorado

I am continually amazed at the intricacies and inter-connectedness of the physcial, emotional, and spiritual parts of our beings. I expect to be much wowed in the future as the Lord reveals to us more and more of what He built into our systems.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.

    More by this Author

    Click to Rate This Article