Film Review: Zeitgeist the Movie

Are We Puppets in a Giant Show?

When I first heard of Zeitgeist, the Movie, I had it confused with Rob McGann's American Zeitgeist (which I have yet to watch).

Apparently, I'm not the only person who has confused these titles, as IMDB's comments section is flooded with confusion.

To be clear, this review has nothing to do with American Zeitgeist, it's a review for the Zeitgeist, the Movie, produced by Peter Joseph.

If you've ever felt as though you were a small part in a very large world, Zeitgeist, the Movie will reaffirm your feeling. This compelling documentary explores manipulations of the American masses by those with wealth and power.

By employing three main themes (Christianity, September 11th, and the Federal Reserve) that seemingly have nothing to do with one another, this film may enlighten (or offend) Americans that are spellbound to change the balance of power in the world.

The massive conspiracy that's painted before our eyes is controversial, thought-provoking and gripping. Peter Joseph presents his powerful argument to people that are conditioned to accept the American government and the media as truth. However, he doesn't take a subtle approach that will be easy to swallow for every viewer.

Zeitgeist, the Movie isn't for everyone. If you're interested in exploring the depth of lies, corruption, secrets and manipulation that's spoon-fed to us, you'll most likely find that the two hours it will take you to watch this film will be spent constructively.

Nevertheless, people who are easily offended should probably skip this documentary. After all, films about mass-manipulation, religious manipulation, false flag operations, hidden agendas, economical manipulation and hidden truths aren't everyone's cup of tea.

Zeitgeist, the Movie is available to watch for free (yes, seriously).

I invite everyone to watch it and leave a comment here about Peter Joseph's arguments. Did you love it or hate it?

Whether you're a critic or a fan, the documentary certainly packs a powerful punch. There are many legitimate questions presented and Peter Joseph offers the viewer his own interesting perspective.

Rating: 9/10

More by this Author


Comments 19 comments

greg 8 years ago

loved it


futonfraggle profile image

futonfraggle 8 years ago Author

It raised my eyebrows!


SebCam 8 years ago

Life Changingly awesome..... Everything in my life makes sense now. God blessssss!


futonfraggle profile image

futonfraggle 8 years ago Author

I was pretty blown away when I watched it too.


tripletsnthree 8 years ago

To take what we see in the movies and call it fact is silly. We each should ask questions and seek facts. When conspiracy looks to be involved we should seek truth. Hold those accounable where acountability lies. This movie brought up many questions about theories, but left us with no facts to lead us to clear answers in holding the government or any source responsible. This movie raised questions.

Borrowed sources, WE ALL owe it to ourselves to research before jumping to great conclusion such as these.

10 mistakes in 1 1/2 minutes:1. “This is the cross of the Zodiac”, 1:38. It’s actually the Greek Zodiac Wheel, but admittedly a minor error. Nonetheless, it implies a word that makes it seem more related to Christianity.2. “Horus…the Solar Messiah”, 2:57. The Ancient Egyptians did not have the word or concept of a Savior or Messiah…the movie simply adds that word on for later relationship to Jesus.3. “Metaphorically speaking, every morning Horus would win the battle against Set, while in the evening, Set would conquer Horus and send him into the underworld.” 3:10. This is not Ancient Egyptian mythology, but rather the product of Zeitgeist’s writers. Horus and Set were enemies, but there was no myth stating their battles were the daily cause of daylight and nighttime. “Metaphorically speaking” is the very nice way of saying this.4. “Horus was born on December 25th…” 3:33. Incorrect. Horus’ birth was during the Egyptian month of “Khoiak”, which falls in what is now October and November.5. “…of the virgin Isis Mary…” 3:36. Incorrect on both the name and her virginity status. In truth, Horus was born to Isis (the “Mary” seems to be added by Zeitgeist writers to make it sound like Jesus’ birth), the widow of Osiris. She used her deceased husband’s phallus and sperm to conceive Horus, but there is absolutely nothing about her being a virgin; her formerly being married to Osiris shows otherwise.6. “…three kings followed to adorn the newborn Savior” 3:42. There is no evidence in any of the birth stories I’ve found for any kings visiting or adorning the child; in fact, Horus is born as a falcon and flies away. As we all know, it’s hard to catch a falcon to adorn it. It’s also worthy to point out…again…that the concept of a “Savior” was not part of Egyptian Mythology.7. “…at the age of 12 he was a prodigal child teacher…” 3:47. He was quite a kid but I have found nothing about Horus as a “teacher” of anything, let alone at age 12.8. “…at the age of 30 he was baptized…” 3:50. The Egyptians did not “baptize” anyone. That term is obviously Christian and it’s application to Egyptian mythology is grossly misled. All of the information I can find about this also cites some of the above facts I’ve debunked as true, and I’ve found nothing to indicate Horus was dunked in water of any kind from any actual reputable source.9. “…Horus had 12 disciples…”3:53. Horus had four disciples/ followers, not 12. They were called the “Heru-Shemsu” if you want to look it up.10. “…(Horus) walked on water…” 3:57. Horus never walked on water. This appears to be nothing short of a Zeitgeist made piece of fiction


Heiri 7 years ago

Hm. I somehow wonder why all criticism of that movie cite things to criticise when it come to part one. However, the much more important parts would be parts 2 and 3 in my humble opinion..


Rey 7 years ago

Makes me think that Obama was the right pick.... I love how this movie eases you into the seriousness... I can't for the American version of the Euro... should make us fasionable.


MARIA  7 years ago

It is truly is a thought provoking film, it will raise further controversy soon or later, it only has been a year. I'm scared that the internet will eventually be regulated by government. ugh. I didn't care too much for part 1. I was never a religion follower, part 2 is hard to believe but has provokes so many questions, i can't seem to just dismiss it, however, i can't dismiss the Al-Qaeda either. This was the toughest one for me to swallow. Part 3 was very interesting and I was soled (kind of), it basically made me want to add economics to my political science major. Overall, however, the producer doesn't submit any form of citation or credits at the end of the film. Which I find rather suspicious and like he points out that we should all think for ourselves and therefore, I am wondering why didn't he include sources. If anyone would like to answer my question feel free to visit my website or substantiate Peter Josephs argument, please do so quick :). Thank you.

maria

www.ThaUnseen.com


sheilaDan 7 years ago

Heiri: Since there are litlle or no reliable sources we can access to confirm or deny anything in parts 2 and 3, we must make an estimate of the reliability of the information based on what we do know. And what we do know, as tripletsnthree points out, based on the many independent sources available regarding ancient history and the religious history, is that the part 1, though not totally fictious, is largely a combination of distorted facts and pure fabrictation. This casts doubt on sections 2 and 3.


poophead 7 years ago

yeeah the relgion part is something i would take with a grain of salt... anytime you deal with religious history, there is never ANY fact..

religion is ALL opinion and really you should form your own...

but part two and three are the important and should be listened to... find your own answers yes, but when you do, youll find they are similar to the facts already stated by tthis WONDERFUL movie


GreyMoon profile image

GreyMoon 7 years ago

There is of course "Zeitgeist Addendum" out now. This follows on very well from the first and actually offers ways in which people can change and move to a more constructive future for everyone.

Another movie of interest to people not or perhaps stuck on Religious dogma is "The God that Wasn't there"  http://www.thegodmovie.com/

Im glad you did not get stuck on the Religious part of the movie and took in the whole message. A very good review :)


none of your biz 7 years ago

Made me look at our goverment in a new light & how some people our so blind to the fact that we as americans our contributing to a new world order which makes us look like Nazi Germany.I cant help but think how this world would prosper from asingle world goverment & how it would kill it.I shared with friends & lost some along the way but its a small loss to me considering the fact that if we dont OPEN OUR EYES we dont do somethinghow it will end!!


futonfraggle profile image

futonfraggle 7 years ago Author

Thank you for all of the comments. I also believe the second and third parts of this documentary are the most powerful.

We live in scary times!


Jyle Dupuis profile image

Jyle Dupuis 7 years ago from Henrico, Virginia

Loved it. Peter Joseph did a great job making this film.


Florin Andrei 7 years ago

Here's my review:

http://florin-other-blog.blogspot.com/2009/05/zeit...

Summary: The sources and references used by the movie have very serious issues.


MikeNV profile image

MikeNV 6 years ago from Henderson, NV

The Federal Reserve is not a conspiracy it's a fact of life put into law by very corrupt people and has continued to this point where the weight of it's own failed perpetual debt model has brought it crashing down. It can not be fixed. Credit is not capital. Growth is not infinitely sustainable on a debt model.

Consumerism and the debt model must lead eventually to a crash. A crash is at the very root of any model that creates money out of nothing more than perceived value.

The planet has finite resources... those resources are shifting ownership to people who control the money supply.

Anyone that looks into this themselves and has even a semblance of intelligence can "do the math".

People who have their heads in the ground will become the slaves of any system of monetary control. Religion is not a creation of God, but a creation of man that is leveraged to instill fear and control populations of people.

Zeitgeist is not just a movie, it's a movement based on sound principals that our currently world economies of consumption have failed and will only lead to more destruction.


Slider 5 years ago

It's not just about the movie, it's about the way of thinking that has already been described by many scientists. Our planet is unsustainable and our culture is moving forward much slower than our science... so we must do our best to catch up culturally.


Rob S 4 years ago

Zeitgeist movie = lying dumbness. Google his "facts", if you don't believe me.


M. Brown 2 years ago

The section on the mythology of religion made the most sense--the rest was interesting as well but much more controversial.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working