The Navagrahas or nine Planetary Gods in Hindu Religion and their Significance

Navagraha Gods in Hindu Religion

Navagrahas refer to the 9 Planetary Gods in Hindu Religion. Hindus worship these 9 Planets as Gods. It is believed that these celestial bodies in the cosmos influence every aspect of human lives and is responsible for all the good or bad times one faces in life. These 9 planets of great significance are the Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu. In reality, Out of these nine Sun, Moon, Rahu and Ketu are not planets. According to Hindu Astrology an ill placement of any of these planets in ones horoscope can cause diseases or other negative effects in that person’s life. The Navagrahas needs to be propitiated in order to have a good life. Each of these Planetary Gods, except Rahu and Ketu, rules one day each of the week and also have Gemstones representing them.

The details of the 9 Planetary Gods in Hindu Religion are given below.

Navagraha (Planet Gods in Hinduism)
Navagraha (Planet Gods in Hinduism)

9 Planet Gods of Hinduism

Sun: The Sun is considered as a royal Planet and giver of life. The day of Sun is Sunday and gemstone is Ruby. The ill placement of Sun in Horoscope can cause mental tension, head aches, mental tension, fevers, body ache, problems of the heart, blood pressure etc. Surya Namaskar is a good practice for attaining a healthy life.

Moon: The Moon is the Planet representing the mind, feminine nature, beauty and happiness. The mental stability and wellbeing of an individual to a larger extent depends on the placement of moon in horoscope. The day of the Moon is Monday and gemstone is Pearl. An ill placement of the Moon can cause diseases like urinary infections, colitis, bronchitis, abdominal problems etc.

Mars: Mars is often referred to as a ‘hot planet’ and protector of Dharma. Mars controls the muscular system of the body and also rules over nose, forehead and circulatory systems. The day of Mars is Tuesday and gemstone is Coral. An ill placement of Mars can cause accidents, blood clots, and inflammation of the lungs, typhoid and other blood disorders.

Mercury: Mercury is representation of ones intelligence and communication. This Planet governs the nervous system. The day of Mercury is Wednesday and gemstone is Emerald. An ill placement of Mercury can cause stammering, bronchitis, asthma, paralysis, nervous disorders, brain fever, nasal disorders etc.

Jupiter: Jupiter symbolizes knowledge, love and spirituality. The day of Jupiter is Thursday and the Gemstone is yellow sapphire. This planet rules the thighs, flesh, kidney, liver, fat and arterial system. An ill placement of Jupiter can cause diabetics, piles, tumors, liver malfunction, blood cancer, gout etc.

Venus: Venus symbolizes love and passion. The day of Venus is Friday and gemstone is Diamond. An ill placement of Venus can cause eye diseases, indigestion, skin rashes, pimples, impotency, venereal diseases etc.

Saturn: Saturn is often referred to as a ‘dark planet’ and symbolizes longevity, misery, grief and old age. The day of Saturn is Saturday and the gemstone is Blue Sapphire. An ill placement of Saturn can cause asthma, gout, arthritis, rheumatism, impotency, TB etc.

Rahu: Rahu is a malefic Planet and do not have any special day dedicated to him. According to Hindu Mythology Rahu swallows the Sun or the Moon causing eclipses. When the Rahu is afflicted one faces several miseries and obstacles in the way of success. The gemstone of Rahu is Gomedh.

Ketu: Ketu is a malefic Planet and do not have any specific day dedicated to him. According to Hindu mythology, Ketu is generally referred to as a "shadow" planet and descending lunar node. According to Vedic astrology Ketu is the representation of karmic collections both good and bad, spirituality and supernatural influences. The Gemstone of Ketu is Cats Eye.

Visit the links below for more on the Significance of the Planets in Horoscope, Remedies and Mantras.

Planetary Gods

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Mars( Mangal)RahuKetuJupiter (Brihaspati)Sun (Surya)Venus (Shukra)Mercury (Budh)Saturn (Shani)Moon (Chandra)
Mars( Mangal)
Mars( Mangal)
Jupiter (Brihaspati)
Jupiter (Brihaspati)
Sun (Surya)
Sun (Surya)
Venus (Shukra)
Venus (Shukra)
Mercury (Budh)
Mercury (Budh)
Saturn (Shani)
Saturn (Shani)
Moon (Chandra)
Moon (Chandra)

More by this Author

Comments 16 comments

anil 5 years ago

good things

PRAVESH 5 years ago

Good info, trying to do the same on FB(groups) called "Hinduism Q&A", will link to your hub, too many conversions in South Africa due to a lack of knowledge of the religion, hence creating apathy. Hopefully we can get people back on the right path.

profile image

onlyhinduism 5 years ago

nice introduction to the navagrahas...

Abhijit S. Nikam 5 years ago

navgraha nath sampraday mantra:----"om bramh murari tripurant kari bhanu shashi bhumisuta budhashcha guruscha shukra shani rahu ketave kurvantu sarve graha om shanti shanti shanti "

navgraha stuti:---

Om surya shaurya mathendu uchcha padvi sanmangalam mangala sadbuddhimcha buddho guruscha gurutam shukra sukham sham shani rahurbahu balamcha vipulam ketuhu kulasyonnatim nityam priti karam bhavantu bhavatam sarve prasanna graha"

varaprasad- kuwait 5 years ago

Excellent information about navagrahas from hub pages.Thanks

Rimjim 6 years ago

Great to know. I came to know a lot of things about hinduism. Thank you so much.

sujju profile image

sujju 6 years ago from mangalore, india

very informative....thanks for sharing this wonderful piece of knowledge

prateekboss 6 years ago

Great stuff with lots of interesting info...keep it going

SIVA PRASAD 6 years ago

HI Anamika.. ur doing a very gud job.. the way ur spreading ur knowledge is really informative and awesum. i pray to al these nava grahas daily...

Adityaya cha Somaya Mangalaya Budhaya Cha, Guru Shukra Sanibhyascha, Rahava Kethave Namaha

ratnaveera profile image

ratnaveera 7 years ago from Cumbum

Indeed Great Hub! You have added all great information about nine planetary deities of Hinduism. I have great faith and bakthi on all nine planetary Gods. Thanks for adding links that enable to get mantras of planetary Gods. Thanks a lot Anamika!

Anamika S profile image

Anamika S 7 years ago from Mumbai - Maharashtra, India Author

Use more than one text capsules. That should so the trick.

ruperi profile image

ruperi 7 years ago from India

anamika, can you teach me how I can insert advt. beween paragraphs?

Anamika S profile image

Anamika S 7 years ago from Mumbai - Maharashtra, India Author

Thanks for the encouragement Catchy Hubs.

Catchy Hubs profile image

Catchy Hubs 7 years ago from Vijjus - HYDERABAD(India)

Hey Anamika the HUB is very informative

Anamika S profile image

Anamika S 7 years ago from Mumbai - Maharashtra, India Author

I am happy you liked it Mahesh. Thanks for the appreciation.

mahesh 7 years ago

Nice information guru jee.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.

    Click to Rate This Article