What "GOOD" or "BENEFIT" Come From Religious Belief?

Jump to Last Post 1-10 of 10 discussions (30 posts)
  1. Cagsil profile image71
    Cagsilposted 14 years ago

Dear posters, non-believer or believers:

I've posted this topic to discuss 'religious beliefs' and the basis for which you formed your belief.

I'm studying, through your comments, your methodology/thinking, which you form your belief.

I'm looking for a "GOOD" or "BENEFIT" aspect that appears to have missed my grasp. And, I don't need someone to tell me re-read the bible. I have read a catholic bible(3x). I was baptised 'catholic' because of my mother, who gave birth to me. I've made my communion and confirmation. On top of that- I've studied 'religion', the topic, for a great many years.

I started my study of 'religion' when I was 22 years old and I finished my study in 2005. I am now 41 years of age.

My attempt here is bring "GOD" into reality, so it can be shared throughout or dismiss it all together. How ever, I am also attempting to understand your system of belief, like how you form your belief- what specifically makes you believe something and what if anything that you've come to understand about 'religion'

Now- Since "GOD" was perceived by man, centuries ago. That would mean that "GOD" has been around, as long as man or possibly before mankind ever existed. Man perceived "GOD" in some manner.

The questions that needs to be answered is HOW did man come to perceive "GOD" and Where was Mankind on the Evolutionary scale when he first perceived "GOD's WILL"?

Now- if you plan to use the 'bible' or any scriptures, as part of the discussion- it isn't allowed.

The bible is man made, based on what man perceived to be truth. That perception is in question? and can not be answered by any religious text or scripture. That would defeat the purpose of figuring out whether or not, the text is truthful and can be brought into existence as truth.