jump to last post 1-6 of 6 discussions (14 posts)

Is Religious Discrimination Wrong?

1. marriedwithdebt profile image89
    marriedwithdebtposted 4 years ago

So, I generally try to stay away from religious topics, but I just got to thinking after reading an article about people who won't vote for Romney or Huntsman because they are Mormons.

Is it really wrong to discriminate based on religion?

Let me start out by saying that I'm 110% against discrimination based on things that are beyond people's control: gender, color of skin, disability, sexual orientation, age, etc. I fiercely oppose this discrimination wherever I see it. I DO NOT stay quiet if I witness it.

So on to religious discrimination...

Pretend that I'm a hiring manager for a sales firm. (I am not) - this is for discussion purposes. I interview a man and he seems good, but then I ask him if he has any questions for me. He asks "I am a devout Muslim and I will not shake hands with women nor will I sit at a table with them and discuss business. Will that be a problem?"

Yes, it's a huge problem. Many of the companies I deal with are owned by women. I tell him that I will not be able to hire him.

I have just committed religious discrimination.

Another person walks in and when it gets to the point that she asks me questions, she says - "I am a devout Christian and it is my calling to try to convert everyone I meet. Is it OK that at the end of every sales meeting, I do a presentation on the Southern Baptist Church and ask if they have found Christ?"

No, I tell her. I cannot hire you. I have discriminated again.

What I am trying to get at is, isn't religious discrimination simply taking a look at the ideas that someone has chosen to subscribe to, and judging them based on their merits?

Isn't that what we should strive for as a civilized people?