Manchester City FC

Official Name: Manchester City FC

President: Thaksin Shinawatra

Coach: Sven-Göran Eriksson

Address: City of Manchester Stadium, SportCity, Manchester, M11 3FF, England

Telephone: (+44) 0870 062 1894

Fax: (+44) 0161 438 7999

Uniform: sky blue/white, white shorts

Alternate uniform: purple

Third uniform: white, sky blue shorts

UEFA Cup Winners' Cup winner: 1970

Division One winner: 1937, 1968

FA Cup winner: 1904, 1934, 1956, 1969

League Cup winner: 1970, 1976

Charity Shield winner: 1937, 1968, 1972

Division Two winner: 1899, 1903, 1910, 1928, 1947, 1966, 1999, 2002

1880: Foundation of St. Marks (West Gorton) by Anna Connell and two wardens of St. Mark's Church.

1887: New name: Ardwick AFC, New home ground: Hyde Road, Arwick, Manchester

1889: New manager: Lawrence Furniss

1892: Joined Football League as one of the founders of the Division Two

1893:  New manager: Joshua Parlby

1894: New name: Manchester City FC

1895: New manager: Sam Ormerod

1899: Division Two winner, Promoted to Division One

1902: New manager: Tom Maley 

1903: Division Two winner, Promoted to Division One

1904: April 23: FA Cup winner (1-0 against Bolton Wanderers)

1906: Suspension of 17 players including captain Billy Meredith (due to financial problems), New manager: Harry Newbould

1910: Division Two winner, Promoted to Division One

1912: New manager: Ernest Mangnall

1920: Fire at Hyde Park destroys main stand of stadium

1928: Division Two winner, Promoted to Division One

1923: New stadium at Maine Road

1924: New manager: David Ashworth

1926: New manager: Peter Hodge

1932: New manager: Wilf Wild 

1933: FA Cup finalist (lost against Everton)

1934: FA Cup winner (against Portsmouth)

1937: Division One winner, Charity Shield winner

1938: Relegated to Division Two

1946: New manager: Sam Cowan

1947: New manager: Jock Thomson, Division Two winner, Promoted to Division One

1950: New manager: Les McDowall 

1955: FA Cup finalist (lost against Newcastle United)

1956: FA Cup winner (3-1 against BirminghamCity)

1963: New manager: George Poyser, Relegation to Division Two

1965: New management: Joe Mercer

1966: Division Two winner, Promoted to Division One

1968: Division One winner, Charity Shield winner

1970: New crest, UEFA Cup Winners' Cup winner (2-1 against Górnik Zabrze), League Cup winner

1972: New manager: Malcolm Allison, New crest, Charity Shield winner

1973: New manager: Johnny Hart, New manager: Ron Saunders

1974: New manager: Tony Book 

1976: League Cup winner

1979: New manager: Malcolm Allison

1980: New manager: John Bond

1981: FA Cup finalist (lost against Tottenham Hotspur)

1983: New manager: John Benson, Relegated to Division Two, New manager: Billy McNeill

1986: New manager: Jimmy Frizzel

1987: New manager: Mel Machin, Relegated to Division Two

1989: New manager: Howard Kendall

1990: New manager: Peter Reid

1993: New manager: Brian Horton

1995: New manager: Allan Ball, Jr.

1996: New manager: Steve Coppell, Relegated to Division One (from Premier League), New manager: Frank Clark

1997: New crest 

1998: New manager: Joe Royle, Relegated to Division Two

1999: Division Two winner, Promoted to Premier League

2001: New manager: Kevin Keegan

2002: Division Two winner, Promoted to Division One

2003: New stadium: City of Manchester Stadium, Uniform number 23 retired in memory of Marc-Vivian Foé, who died on field while playing for Cameroon at 2003 Confederations Cup.

2005: New manager: Stuart Pearce

2007: New owner: Thaksin Shinawatra, July: New manager: Sven-Göran Eriksson

2008: New manager: Mark Hudges

2009: New manager: Roberto Mancini

More by this Author


No comments yet.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.

    Click to Rate This Article