West Ham United

Official Name: West Ham United FC

Secretary: Peter Barnes

Press Officer: Miranda Nagalingam

Coach: Allan Curbishley

Address: Green Street, Upton Park, London, E13 9AZ, England 

Telephone:(+44) 020 8548 2748

Fax: (+44) 020 8548 2700

Website: www.whufc.com

Uniform: claret, blue sleeves, white shorts

Alternative uniform: white jersey with claret collar, claret shorts

UEFA Cup Winners' Cup winner: 1965

Intertoto Cup winner: 1999

Charity Shield winner: 1964

War Cup winner: 1940 

League Championship play-off winner: 2005

FA Cup winner: 1964, 1975, 1980

Milk Cup winner: 1996, 1997

Division Two winner: 1958, 1981 

London League winner: 1897

Western League Division 1B winner: 1907

West Ham Charity Cup winner: 1895

Western League Overall winner: 1907 

BBC Sports Personality of the Year Team Award winner: 1965

Southern Leagues Division Two winner: 1899

1895: Foundation of Thames Ironworks FC, First uniform: dark blue, West Ham Charity Cup winner

1897: New uniform: sky blue jersey, white shorts, London League winner

1898: Club turns professional, Entered Southern League Second Division

1899: New uniform: claret jersey with sky blue sleeves (after an Aston Villa player couldn’t pay a lost bet, he gave his uniform as payment)

1899: Southern Leagues Division Two, Promoted to Southern League First Division

1900: July 5: New name: West Ham United FC, New manager: Sydney King

1901: New manager: Syd King, Joined Western League Division 1.

1903: New Crest: a castle added to the crest (date unknown; 1903 or 1904)

1904: New Stadium: Boleyn Ground at Upton Park

1907: Western League Division 1B winner, Western League Overall winner (after beating Western League Division 1A winner Fulham 1-0)

1919: Joined Football League Division Two

1923: Promoted to Division One, FA Cup finalist

1932: New manager: Charlie Paynter, Relegated to Division Two

1940: War Cup winner

1950: New manager: Ted Fenton

1958: Division Two winner, Promoted to Division One

1961: New manager: Ron Greenwood

1964: FA Cup winner, Charity Shield winner

1974: New manager: John Lyall

1965: UEFA Cup Winners' Cup winner, BBC Sports Personality of the Year Team Award winner

1976: UEFA Cup Winners' Cup finalist (lost 4-2 against Anderlecht of Belgium)

1978: Relegated to Division Two

1975: FA Cup winner

1980: FA Cup winner

1981: Division Two winner, Promoted to Division One

1989: New manager: Lou Macari, Relegated to Division Two

1990: New manager: Billy Bonds 

1991: Promoted to Division One

1992: Relegated to Division One (formerly (previous season) known as Division Two (due to introduction of Premier League in 1992)) 

1993: May: Promoted to Premier League

1994: August: New manager: Harry Redknapp

1996: New Crest, Milk Cup winner

1997: Milk Cup winner

1999: Intertoto Cup winner

2001: New manager: Glenn Roeder

2003: August: New manager: Trevor Brooking, October: New manager: Alan Pardew (from Reading FC), Relegated to Division One

2005: Promoted to Premier League, League Championship play-off winner

2006: FA Cup finalist (lost to Liverpool FC after penalty shootout) December 13: New manager: Allan Curbishley (from Charlton Athletic), November: New Owner: Eggert Magnússon of Iceland

2008: New manager: Gianfranco Zola

2010: New manager: Avram Grant


No comments yet.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.

    Click to Rate This Article