Cricket World Cup 2011 Opening Ceremony Kicks off In Bangladesh

The 2011 Cricket world cup kicks off in the Indian subcontinent today, 2 days ahead of the first match to be played Saturday 19 February 2011. Three nations play host to this cricket world cup India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. Pakitsan was excluded as a host city  due to security concerns  after attacks in Lahore during the Sri Lankan cricket tour  in 2009. This years 2011 cricket world cup opening ceremony is held in Bangladesh on 17 February at the Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka and will be a symbolic day of uniting the three nations in the common love for the game of cricket.

Performances at the 2011 Cricket World Cup Opening Ceremony

Performances at the 2011 cricket world cup will include international and local artists. International artists includes Canadian star Bryan Adams. Several Indian artists including Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy - De Ghuma Ke, Momtaz Begum, Sabina Yasmin, Runa Laila and Sonu Nigam

ShankarEhsaanLoy to perfrom the 2011 Cricket World Cup Offiicial   Song
ShankarEhsaanLoy to perfrom the 2011 Cricket World Cup Offiicial Song | Source

2011 Cricket World Cup Games

The first game starts off with host nations India vs Bangladesh at the Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium, Dhaka This is sure to be an entertaining game with home support for Bangladesh.

2011 Cricket World Cup Groups

Fourteen teams will compete in this years Cricket world cup. There are two groups in this six week long Cricket wold cup. The tournament draws to a close on April 2 2011. The winning team walks way with a total prize money of $3 million. The official Mascot for the 2010 Cricket World cup is Dumpy the Elephant. The official song of the 2011 Cricket World cup is "De Ghuma Ke" by the trio Shankar–Ehsaan–Loy.

De Ghuma Ke is sung in Hindi, Bangla and Sinhala symbolising the main languages of the host nations. The rhythm incorporates Indian music with hip hop and rock beats with universal appeal.


  1. India
  2.  England              
  3.  South Africa     
  4.  West Indies      
  5.  Bangladesh       
  6.  Netherlands     
  7.  Ireland

2011 Cicket World Cup Group A

  1. Australia
  2. New Zealand
  3. Pakistan
  4. Sri Lanka
  5. Canada
  6. Kenya
  7. Zimbabwe


No comments yet.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.

    Click to Rate This Article