NFL Divisional Round Playoff Picks

The NFL playoffs are upon us!
The NFL playoffs are upon us!

The Most Offensive Game Ever

Which Divisional Round Team Do You Think Has the Best Shot at Winning it All?

Who has the best chance to go all the way this year?

  • Arizona Cardinals
  • Baltimore Ravens
  • Dallas Cowboys
  • Indianapolis Colts
  • Minnesota Vikings
  • New Orleans Saints
  • New York Jets
  • San Diego Chargers
See results without voting

Who Will Win Each Game, and More Importantly, Who Will Cover the Spread

I do have to admit that this is a somewhat less than scientific study, but I am pretty sure that no except me and Arizona's fans thought the Cardinals were going to win against the Packers in the wild card round.

I'm almost equally as certain after all the press coverage of the game that I'm about the only one on earth who didn't think the game between Arizona and Green Bay was the greatest game ever played since the founding of the National Football League.

Not to denigrate Aaron Rodgers and Kurt Warner who took advantage of the opportunities presented, but that shootout was more about neither team bothering to play defense than it was about great offense.

My impression of the game wasn't that it was some classic shootout, but more that the winner of this game might give up a 100 points to the Saints next week.

In fact, I went from thinking the Packers or Cardinals both might have a good chance of upsetting New Orleans to feeling like Arizona might be lucky to keep it close if their defense plays like they did against Green Bay during the course of that game.

This is still a somewhat complicated pick, mostly because of the Saints losing their final three and I could see Warner keeping it close, but I could also see it being over by halftime.

New England getting taken to the woodshed by Baltimore is the only game last week that really threw me. Not as much the fact that the Patriots lost to the Ravens, but the way they never even had a chance to win. But that's what happens in the playoffs; the cream has a way of rising to the top.

During the season teams can overcome injuries and positional weaknesses, but those kind of things get exploited against the elite teams. Unfortunately for the Ravens next week they will be the ones getting exploited by the Colts this week.

The Colts have made a habit out of pulling games out late, so there's a good chance it'll be close. However, I just don't see Indy's offense being stopped by the Raven's like the Pats were.

Before last week's games everyone was saying that New York didn't even belong in the playoffs. Rex Ryan responded to that talk by declaring that the Jets should be the favorites to win in every game they play. The Jets then went out and beat a Bengals team that had stumbled into the playoffs while losing four of their last five games (including last week), which somehow made everyone lend credence to Ryan's boast.

In spite of the fact that the Bengals were the team that arguably didn't belong in the playoffs and were still competitive until they missed their second of two easy field goals during the game, a lot of people are now believing that the Jets are one of the top contenders, based on that victory.

Even though I would really like to see one of Buddy Ryan's boys succeed (I picked the Jets to get to the AFC conference championship during my preseason predictions mostly based on New York hiring him as the coach), I think reality is going to get in the way against the Chargers. I actually think things are going to turn ugly before it's all over.

And now we are down to the final game between in Minnesota. Looking at the keys to the game, for the most part, they all point to one team.

The momentum going in is the most of obvious and probably the most important of them in this game.

Similar to the Saints, Minnesota got tripped up a bit in the final games. They lost three of five games and didn't look good doing it to close out the season.

However, the Cowboys are playing playing as good as they have all season right now. They even avoided their traditional December collapse, winning four straight games instead, including a win over the previously unbeaten Saints.

In the other significant factor on Sunday, the matchups once again, seem to favor one team over the other.

Pressure up front has been the single biggest key to successfully disrupting the Vikings offense. Late in the season, the O-line just hasn't been able to keep opposing pass rushers away from Brett Favre.

Minnesota's biggest weakness throughout the season is their defensive backfield. Every time they've come up against a good QB, they have been overmatched. I'm not expecting it to be any different against Tony Romo, Miles Austin, and Jason Witten.

The week 13 injury that put LB E.J. Henderson on the sidelines also doesn't bode well for the Vikings defense against Felix Jones and Marion Barber.

You might of figured this out at this point, but if you somehow haven't I'm taking the Cowboys to beat the Vikings and I won't be one bit shocked if they win big.

Last week, I finished 2-2 straight up and against the spread, with both the Jets and Cards winning outright as underdogs. Don't forget to check out my articles on my blog and on Bleacher Report (see related links).

My Picks for the 2010 Divisional Round Playoff Games

Sat, Jan.16
1:30 PM (PST)
2:30 PM (MST)
3:30 PM (CST)
4:30 PM (EST)
Favorite
Underdog
Point Spread
Straight Up
Against the Spread
@New Orleans
Arizona
7.0
New Orleans
Arizona
Sat, Jan.16
5:00 PM (PST)
6:00 PM (MST)
7:00 PM (CST)
8:00 PM (EST)
@Indianapolis
Baltimore
6.5
Indianapolis
Baltimore
Sun, Jan 17
10:00 AM (PST)
11:00 AM (MST)
12:00 PM (CST)
1:00 PM (EST)
@Minnesota
Dallas
3.0
Dallas
Dallas
Sun, Jan 17
1:40 PM (PST)
2:40 PM (MST)
3:40 PM (CST)
4:40 PM (EST)
@San Diego
New YorK Jets
7.0
San Diego
San Diego

More by this Author


8 comments

richbrown80 profile image

richbrown80 6 years ago

we usually agree on a majority of the games, this week only the chargers, good luck


EYEAM4ANARCHY profile image

EYEAM4ANARCHY 6 years ago from Las Vegas, NV. Author

Yeah, I already gave the Cards offense too much credit.


wavegirl22 profile image

wavegirl22 6 years ago from New York, NY

so the chargers are just going to take it from the #1 defense of the Jets???? Im looking for a Jets Cowboys day today!!!!


EYEAM4ANARCHY profile image

EYEAM4ANARCHY 6 years ago from Las Vegas, NV. Author

The Chargers are going to take it from the horrible Jets offense.


Michael Willis profile image

Michael Willis 6 years ago from Arkansas

As a fan of the Dallas Cowboys, I am disappointed again this year, but I am hoping for the New Orleans Saints now to win the Superbowl.


EYEAM4ANARCHY profile image

EYEAM4ANARCHY 6 years ago from Las Vegas, NV. Author

Since I pretty much hate Favre and the Cowboys, last week was either a win-win or lose-lose (I haven't made up my mind yet). But I've been picking the Saints since preseason, so I'm hoping they make me look good.


Michael Willis profile image

Michael Willis 6 years ago from Arkansas

The Saints made it to the Super Bowl. What a classic game between the Minnesota Vikings and New Orleans Saints. Looking forward to reading your take on the Super Bowl.


EYEAM4ANARCHY profile image

EYEAM4ANARCHY 6 years ago from Las Vegas, NV. Author

I'm hoping to get a Super Bowl preview posted tomorrow. I think this was probably the best matchup of the possible conference winners. It should be a great game. Bet your house on the over.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working