Tottenham Hotspur F.C

Official Name: Tottenham Hotspur F.C.

Chairman: Daniel Levy

Secretary: John Alexander

Press Officer: Philip Dorward

Coach: Martin Jol

Address: Bill Nicholson Way, 748 High Road, Tottenham, London, N17 0AP, England

Telephone: (+44) (0)844 499 5000

Fax: (+44) (0)870 420 5001

Uniform: white

Alternative uniform: navy blue

UEFA Cup winner: 1972, 1984

European Cup Winners' Cup winner: 1963 

Anglo-Italian League Cup winner: 1972 

FA Cup winner: 1901, 1921, 1961, 1962, 1967, 1981, 1982, 1991 

Football League Cup winner: 1971, 1973, 1999 

FA Community Shield winner: 1921, 1952, 1962, 1963, 1968, 1982, 1992 

Division One winner: 1951, 1961 

Division Two winner: 1920, 1950 

Southern League winner: 1900 

Western League winner: 1904 

Football League North and South winner: 1944, 1945 

Kirin Cup winner: 1979

Peace Cup winner: 2005 

Vodacom Challenge winner: 2007 

1882: Foundation of Hotspur Football Club by grammar school students. Probably named after a local of the 14th century, Sir Harry Hotspur, Later new name: Tottenham Hotspur to distinguish from other another team called London Hotspur, Uniform: navy blue, First home ground: River Lee marshes

1888: New home ground: NorthumberlandPark

1895: December: Club turns professional

1896: Admitted to Southern League, Crowds: around 15 000 

1898: New president: Charles Roberts, New manager: Frank Brettell, New home ground: NorthumberlandPark

1899: New manager: John Cameron, New Stadium: High Road, later new name of ground: White Hart Lane (after local thoroughfare) 

1900: Southern League winner

1901: FA Cup winner

1901: FA Cup winner

1904: Western League winner

1905: New Stadium: White Hart Lane (still Tottenham Hotspurs stadium)

1907: New manager: Fred Kirkham

1908: New manager: Arthur Turner, Admission to Division Two

1909: Promoted to Division One

1912: New manager: Peter McWilliams

1913: New manager: Peter McWilliam

1915: Football suspended

1919: Relegated to Second Division (ended pre-suspension season(1914-1915) at bottom of league. Football Association expanded number of teams from 20 to 22; electing Division Two 5th place Arsenal in place of Tottenham, causing a still present rivalry among the two clubs)

1920: Division Two winner, Promoted to Division One

1921: FA Cup winner, FA Community Shield winner

1927: New manager: Billy Minter

1928: Relegated to Division Two

1930: New manager: Percy Smith

1935: New manager: Wally Hardinge, later new manager: Jack Tresadern

1938: New manager: Peter McWilliams

1942: New manager: Arthur Turner

1944: Football League North and South winner

1945: Football League North and South winner

1946: New manager: Joe Hulme

1949: New manager: Arthur Rowe

1950: Division Two winner

1951: Promoted to Divison One, Division One winner

1952: FA Community Shield winner

1955: New manager: Jimmy Anderson

1958: New manager: Billy Nicholson

1961: FA Cup winner, Division One winner

1962: FA Cup winner, FA Community Shield winner

1963: European Cup Winners' Cup winner, FA Community Shield winner

1967: FA Cup winner

1968: FA Community Shield winner

1971: Football League Cup winner

1972: UEFA Cup winner, Anglo-Italian League Cup winner

1973: Football League Cup winner

1976: New manager: Keith Burkinshaw

1974: New manager: Terry Neill

1977: Relegated to Division Two

1978: Promoted to Division One

1979: Kirin Cup winner

1981: FA Cup winner

1982: FA Cup winner, FA Community Shield winner

1984: New manager: Peter Shreeves, UEFA Cup winner

1986: New manager: David Pleat

1987: New manager: Trevor Hartley, Doug Livermore, later new manager: Terry Venables

1991: New manager: Peter Shreeves, FA Cup winner

1992: New manager: Doug Livermore, Ray Clemence, FA Community Shield winner

1993: New manager: Osvaldo Ardiles

1994: New manager: Steve Perryman, later New manager: Gerry Francis

1997: New manager: Chris Hughton, later New manager: Christian Gross

1998: New manager: David Pleat, later New manager: George Graham

1999: Football League Cup winner

2001: New manager: David Pleat, later New manager: Glenn Hoddle

2003: New manager: David Pleat

2004: New manager: Jacques Santini, later New manager: Martin Jol

2005: Peace Cup winner

2006: New Uniform: blue shoulders removed and away short from cyan to navy and alternate kit from yellow to chocolate brown and for European games all white uniform

2007: Vodacom Challenge winner

More by this Author


No comments yet.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.

    Click to Rate This Article