Jergens Natural Glow Face or Body Moisturizer: Product Reviews. Is It Safe?

Natural Face Glow
Natural Face Glow

What are users saying about it?

 Does Natural Glow give you a summer tan all year around, as advertised? Is it healthy for your skin? Does it tan without streaking? Is it greasy or does it absorb smoothly? From what I've seen of other reviews, it seems people either love or hate it. I haven't tried it myself (I love the "natural glow" of good times in the sun!) so my opinions are as objective and unbiased as an outside researcher's opinions can be. Here's the lowdown on Jergens Natural Glow Moisturizer for Face.

MakeUpAlley gives it an average rating of 2.9 out of 5.

EOpinions gives it an average of 3.5 of 5.

Positive Reviews

Most users got great results, describing their experience in truly glowing terms! "Didn't make my face orange or streaky," "great natural-looking tan," "made my skin moisturized," "inexpensive," "I could control the shade I wanted through the gradual increase of color," "saw great results after first try," "would recommend as great protection, moisturizer, and enhancer for darker (African-American) skin tones too." Some said that it eliminated the need for foundation or concealer because it evened out skin irregularities, and another said that it actually made some face scars disappear!

When compared with Coppertones Endless Summer, Jergens Natural Glow came out far ahead, with top recommendations on the list being its very natural, subtle tan with no orange tones and no streaks or stripes. The great thing about the positive reviews is that they tend to unconsciously echo the back of Jergens Natural Glow Face packaging:

"Jergens® natural glow Daily Moisturizer delivers an optimum amount of color to even out and enrich the appearance of your skin. Formulated with a unique blend of non-drying Erythrulose, DHA and essential moisturizers to gradually develop a soft, natural glow, without streaking or orange coloration often experienced with using a self-tanner. Simply moisturize your skin to keep a beautiful and natural glow. It comes in three different shades to complement your unique skin tone."

Negative Reviews

Though over 50% of reviewers had positive results and gave generally high recommendations, a close 40% had some very serious concerns and have declared that the product was a waste of money and they would not buy it again. The greatest of their problems seems to be the oily nature of the moisturizer, though Natural Glow claims to be oil-free. This may be due to one of the ingredients being a possible allergen (see "Health Warnings," below). "[Jergen's Natural Glow] made me break out in my T-zone," "caused breakouts," was "greasy." Those of us who struggle to keep clear skin would do best to stay away from Jergens Natural Glow Moisturizer for face, though the Natural Glow for body seems to be fine. There were enough reviews that claimed breakouts as a result of using the moisturizer that I would have serious qualms about using this on my own face. Most of us would rather have break-out-free pale skin than have glowing, throbbing skin, if we are prone to breakouts already. If your skin is generally clear, and dry more than oily, then you probably won't have any problems with breakouts.

Some reviewers did not have immediate results, others didn't get any results at all, or got a murky, muddy color if used every day instead of every other day, as the package recommends. "Took five to six applications before I saw results," "total waste of money," "wouldn't buy again," "everyday use made skin look muddy."

The smell seems to be another issue for reviewers. They didn't want to go around smelling like self-tanning cream all day, but they said Jergens is just like most other self-tanning products in that it has the typical self-tanner smell (though the newest product reportedly has no smell). Other downsides included burning if applied too close to eyes or on open skin, darkening of the palms or fingers that were used to apply the lotion to the face, and spending too much time and effort before results appear.

http://www.visit4info.com/advert/Jergens-Natural-Glow-Jergens/60741
http://www.visit4info.com/advert/Jergens-Natural-Glow-Jergens/60741

Health Warnings

Don't be fooled by the word "natural" in the title. "Natural" applies to the shade of color that will shine from your face, not to the ingredients list. After the first ingredient, "water," most of us won't have a clue what the other chem-lab ingredients are:

Water, Ethylhexyl Isononanoate, Glycerin, Ceteareth-20, Dimethicone, Phenyl Trimethicone, Glyceryl Stearate, Erythrulose, Peg-100 Stearate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Stearic Acid, Cetyl Esters Wax, Polyacrylamide, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Laureth-7, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Sodium Hydroxide, DMDM Hydantoin, Fragrance, Caramel, Dihydroxyacetone.

Though all ingredients must be called "safe" according to Cosmetic Ingredient Review before the product is introduced to stores and customers, there are still many causes for concern. Data found at the Environmental Skin Deep Cosmetic Safety Database gives insight into what Jergens won't tell you about their product.

In Jergens Natural Glow Moisturizer for Face, Ceteareth-20 (fourth ingredient from top) is probably used as a skin penetration enhancer. It is harmful if used near open skin, and showed adverse affects on test animals' nervous and sensory systems.

Peg-100 Stearate is probably used as a cleansing agent in this product. However, the Cosmetic Safety Database gave this ingredient a "moderate to high hazard" (rating of 7 out of 10, with 10 being highest hazard). The Peg-100 Stearate dangers included cancer, developmental/reproductive toxicity, organ system toxicity (non-reproductive), endocrine disruption, with skin or sense organ toxicity hazards suspected.

Tocopheryl Acetate is often used as a skin conditioning agent or an antioxidant. It ranks a 4 on the hazard scale, with warnings about cancer (mutation results on mammalian cells) and there is strong evidence for it being an allergy or immunotoxicity cause (human skin toxicant).

Final Analysis

Is the "natural," non-orange, non-streak glow of Jergens Natural Glow Moisturizer for Face worth risking breakouts and enduring the smell? What about the ingredient concerns? With several ingredients known to cause cell mutation or tumors (cancer) and toxicity in reproductive and sensory organs, you should count the cost thoughtfully before you use this product. You may decide to check out some all-natural ingredient self-tanners, or try rubbing on some coconut oil (used for centuries by Polynesians and native Hawaiians as both a sunscreen and a tanning oil) and spend the first sunny day you get in your garden or at the park. Bottles of Jergen's Natural Glow Moisturizers are inexpensive, and often a sample of facial Natural Glow comes with your purchase of body Natural Glow, so you may just decide to put down the money and get a bottle to try for yourself.

© 2010 Jane Grey

More by this Author


Comments 34 comments

RTalloni profile image

RTalloni 6 years ago from the short journey

Thank you so much for this honest review!


Jane Grey profile image

Jane Grey 6 years ago from Oregon Author

You're welcome, RTalloni! I realized that a lot of people are wondering about this product and thought it would be helpful to give an objective and honest opinion. Thanks for stopping by!

Jane


UlrikeGrace profile image

UlrikeGrace 6 years ago from Canada

Thanks Jane...for the unbiased reporting, I was considering using a product like this as we have just moved into a hotter climate for a season...but maybe I'll take your advice and use coconut oil. slower but safer...

Ulrike Grace


Jane Grey profile image

Jane Grey 6 years ago from Oregon Author

Glad I could be of help to you, UlrikeGrace! I have heard many high recommendations for coconut oil, both for skin and as a conditioner for hair and scalp! It has many moisturizing properties, is a great sunblock for the harmful rays, but at the same time lets in the "tanning" rays that you want. I have heard it also helps the luster of brunette hair if used as a treatment (though I wouldn't recommend leaving it on if you are going out because it will make your hair look greasy). Coconut oil will also make your face feel greasy until it absorbs, but other than that, I don't think you can get something any better for healthy and lovely skin. :)


Angela Blair profile image

Angela Blair 6 years ago from Central Texas

Great, in-depth reporting -- I've never used any of this type of product but common sense says there'd have to be some pretty strong ingredients to reach any degree of actual tan. Enjoyed this Hub and appreciate your candid approach. Best, Sis


Jane Grey profile image

Jane Grey 6 years ago from Oregon Author

Sis, thanks for your sweet note! Your common sense is solid. I've read that it's best not to put anything on your face if you wouldn't mind eating it, because skin is highly absorbent. I've heard also of many connections between fertility rates being lowered by use of highly chemicalized cosmetic products. Pretty scary, when you think about it! Thanks for reading,

Jane


"Quill" 6 years ago

Great hub and interesting...will forward to Mrs. Quill...

Blessings


Jane Grey profile image

Jane Grey 6 years ago from Oregon Author

Oh Quill, you are so sweet to come visit a hub that it is highly unlikely you will have any interest in! I do appreciate you coming by, as usual it was a pleasure to hear from you.

God's Blessings to you too!

Jane


Rose West profile image

Rose West 6 years ago from Michigan

I can tell you've done your research on this. Your unbiased opinion is refreshing! I agree with you though, I think natural sunshine is the way to go.

Oh and congrats on your 100 FOLLOWERS!!!


Jane Grey profile image

Jane Grey 6 years ago from Oregon Author

Hello Rose! I'm glad to have refreshed you, though I know many others would probably agree with me about this product.

Thanks for your congratulations! I didn't realize I had 100 followers until you pointed it out! Wow! And you're up there too, I notice. :)

Love,

Jane


yenajeon profile image

yenajeon 6 years ago from California

Completely agree. I've been using the Jergens Glow Moisturizer for a very long time. Its a fabulous beauty product! Great Hub JaneG =)


Jane Grey profile image

Jane Grey 6 years ago from Oregon Author

Glad to hear from you, yenajeon! Also glad that it worked for you. I think what most people like best is the non-orange, natural looking tan and how amazingly inexpensive it is. Thanks for leaving your comment!

Jane


Marciella 6 years ago

If you haven't discovered 'Made from Earth' yet, their "Vitamin Enhanced Moisturizer" cream is marvelous. It's worth every penny - a jar will last you forever since there's no water in it, it's a very concentrated and rich emulsion of natural ingredients. it heals uncomfortable dry patches anywhere on your body, it softens cuticles, it makes a great eye cream when my eyes are irritated by allergies.

It is a little rich and heavy for a regular face moisturizer for me (my skin is normal although it's a little dry in the winter), although from time to time if my face is feeling tight I will dab on a little at night.


Jane Grey profile image

Jane Grey 6 years ago from Oregon Author

Marciella,

That moisturizer sounds wonderful! I know several people that would really benefit from it. Thanks for the info!


Alison 6 years ago

I just got this product about a week ago and noticed a sunspot come up by my eyebrow. I thought this was a coincidance until another friend of mine told me that she started developing moles when she used it. I'm just going to throw mine out now, after reading that there are high leves of toxic ingredients I am definitely not using mine again. Thanks for your research into this product :-)


Jane Grey profile image

Jane Grey 6 years ago from Oregon Author

Alison,

I had not heard of sunspots and moles caused by this product, but I'm not surprised that you have had that experience! All do-it-yourself tanners seem to have a horrible chemically smell, and it's no wonder, because they are full of chemicals designed to increase the appearance of tannin in skin, which also seem highly risky for causing moles and sunspots. Thanks for your comment-- I think that will be helpful for future readers!

Jane


kitty 6 years ago

I was thinking about buying this for a while. and so i finally did today, but before i use it, i wanted to search up stuff about this product. And im wondering if i should return it because im unevenly tanned. I rly want to get tanned on my legs, but im scared about the side effects. I also dont want to sun tan though... what do you think?


Jane Grey profile image

Jane Grey 6 years ago from Oregon Author

Hi Kitty,

Your concerns are well-founded. This product does not have as many noticeable side effects as many other self-tanners, and compared to all the other (non-natural) products on the market, this one seems to give the most natural, consistent tan without looking orange or spotty. The chemical ingredients harmful to your health that I listed above are commonly found in many cosmetic products, but tanning lotions seem to have a higher concentration --and more of the bad kinds. Some doctors think that the greater amount of cancer in this country is due to the high amount of chemicals we expose ourselves to. They say never put something on your skin that you wouldn't eat, because it instantly enters your system.

If I were you I would return that bottle and go visit the natural skin care section of your grocery store or health food store. There are many natural plant-based tanners that work really well. I know Alba Botanicals has a great line-up of stuff like that, and I think Kiss My Face does too. Hope that helps!

Jane


Kitty 6 years ago

Thanks very much jane. I'm going to return it sometime later(: Thanks for all the advice.


C. Stewart profile image

C. Stewart 6 years ago

Very detailed review.


Jack Hooper 6 years ago

Please post more on this topic


Jane Grey profile image

Jane Grey 6 years ago from Oregon Author

Jack, what else would you like to know? I researched this product as thoroughly as I could without actually conducting a scientific test myself. Is there any particular question you would like to have answered?


naty 5 years ago

I have dark scars on my legs from chickenpox. If i use the Jergens natural glow will my scars get darker? I want to cover them and all the makeup cover for legs either dont match my skin tone or are too liquidy. Any advice to hide my scars?


Jane Grey profile image

Jane Grey 5 years ago from Oregon Author

Naty,

None of the research I did mentioned scars and the effects of Jergens Natural Glow on scars. However, that doesn't mean that it is necessarily safe! If you are thinking about trying this lotion, I would sample it on a very small spot somewhere on your legs that is very discreet. That way, if it does darken your scar on that one spot, it won't have effected your entire leg.

Have you ever tried natural skin healing techniques to hide or fade your scars? Some say that lavender oil/extract helps heal old scar tissue. There are some other herbal products on the market that make that claim as well-- and aren't dangerous or chemical-based.


MyExperiment 5 years ago

Great talk! I too am seeing new moles on my skin after using Jergens lotion, but I don't use the self tanner. I'm using the Jergens Sensitive Skin Relief. After Curel changed the formula of their Fragrance Free lotion a couple years ago I went out and bought a Jergens lotion with all the same ingredients with only the addition of ACACIA SENEGAL GUM. I began researching this ingredient on the Internet. One of my finds was from the University of California showing multiple types of fungi growing off of this African tree. http://www.ipm.ucdavis.edu/PMG/PESTNOTES/pn74109.h...

Call me weird but I believe some moles are a fungus. They grow in size and change in shape, I am stopping to use the Jergens Sensitive Skin lotion and trying a different brand without acai senegal gum in the ingredients. I'm hoping this will end the occurrence of multiple new moles showing on my skin. Anyone else have this experience with the Jergens Sensitive Skin lotion?


Jane Grey profile image

Jane Grey 5 years ago from Oregon Author

Wow, what an experiment! I too would love to hear if anyone else is seeing new moles after the use of this lotion. YOur theory about the fungus is an interesting one. Have you encountered any other research evidence abut the fungus?


girlie girl 4 years ago

Thank u for posting this! This product gave me ugly moles everywhere. I actually love the product- I have been using it for a year and was told by a friend that only the sun can cause moles but now I know my suspisions were right. Are there any mole free selfless tanners? And hou do I get rid of all these ugly flat moles?!


Vellur profile image

Vellur 4 years ago from Dubai

Thanks for sharing. Indepth review. Very useful. Voted up.


Jane Grey profile image

Jane Grey 4 years ago from Oregon Author

Hi girlie girl,

The best self tanners for the healthiest skin are natural ones. I would be very cautious of using any products, such as this one, that cause moles or freckles, as that can occasionally be related to skin cancer. Sorry, I don't have any experience with getting moles to fade or disappear, but you might talk to your doctor or dermatologist for some ideas. Occasionally people have tried lemon juice, apple cider vinegar, or essential oils to get rid of skin discolorations-- you may want to look into that.


amj419 4 years ago

Hi, i have used this product in the past and thought it worked great. But i tried it again recently and found out after i applied it to my skin, i broke out in bumps (feels like a bunch of razor bumps). I am not sure if the chemicals had a delayed reaction on my body but i am definitely have to discontinue using this product!


Jane Grey profile image

Jane Grey 4 years ago from Oregon Author

Yikes, amj419! I had not heard of that reaction to this product before, but it doesn't surprise me. Thanks for letting us know.


Nulife74 3 years ago

I am in covered in raised red rash from neck to toes. This has happened 1-3 days after application of this product three times now. I'm going to stop using it altogether. It starts as a pinpoint red rash and becomes full blown hives within 24 hrs. Since this is the only new additive in my life, I'm pretty sure it's the culprit. I don't suffer from allergies on a regular basis and the physician can't decide if it's my reaction or the product's chemicals, but I am now having to take steroids and antihistamines short term to reduce the symptoms. A store bought tan isn't worth this kind of trouble.


Jane Grey profile image

Jane Grey 3 years ago from Oregon Author

Yikes, that sounds awful, Nulife! Yeah, I wouldn't use the product.


Jasmeetk profile image

Jasmeetk 11 months ago from India

Thanks for sharing your reviews...

Submitting comments has been temporarily disabled.

Click to Rate This Article
working