LG Cosmos Review

LG Cosmos VN250
LG Cosmos VN250

LG Cosmos VN250 Review with Tips & Tricks

After 4 years with the same phone, upgraded the other day to LG Cosmos VN250. I've had time to play with many of the features, so here's my LG Cosmos review.

First here's a list of the core features and upgrades I purchased:

Core Features:

  • 1.3M Pixel Camera
  • Sliding Motion Pulls Out to a Fully Landscaped QWERTY Keyboard
  • Mobile Email and Web Browser
  • Bing Search, Verizon Navigator Capable, Blue tooth Support

Accessories

  • Wall/USB Charger
  • User Manual & Quick Reference Guide.

Purchased Upgrades

  • Protector Case & Shield
  • 2GB micro SD Module


Setup, Initial Configuration & Basic Use

I found the phone easy to program and navigate. Coming from a flip phone I was not accustomed to pushing buttons to answer a phone so that took some getting used to. Setup was fairly intuitive and pretty quickly I had all my programmed numbers back on their accustomed speed dial spots.

Answering and making a call is easy as can be. Navigation is configurable and pretty intuitive. A couple of nits regarding how the phone locks/unlocks. For my taste the phone locks automatically way too fast. I wish there was a way to increase the time before locking. I tried doing a search online for "Cosmos phone LG how to make it not lock automatically" and all I found was others who had the same issue. There needs to be an option to extend the time. Second nit is not as big a deal but 2-3 keystrokes to unlock the phone then 1 more to answer. I wish then the phone was ringing you would not have to unlock it.

Sound Quality

I use my phone on the speaker setting a lot and I have to say the quality is much improved. I was able to hear clearly while driving without having to max out the volume. Same goes with the phone in general, I no longer need to keep my volume setting up to max. Easy to use voice dialing and speech recognition seems to work about as well as most systems, so there was no problem dialing in the car hands free. When it is on my ear, it is easy to hear as well.  Still do keep the volume down as well.

As far as the quality received on the other end, seems pretty good because I don't find myself repeating things and no complaints about background car noise on hands free setting or wind in the background when I'm walking outside.

LG Cosmos VN250 QUERTY
LG Cosmos VN250 QUERTY


Texting and Internet

I have to confess here that I'm not "textually active" so I'm going on the advice of my other family members. Keyboard and texting features work well. QUERTY keyboard size is good and the up/down arrows are quite helpful navigating. No problems with mis-typing words and a rich set of keys and functions. Easy to send and receive texts quickly. Extended features include Bing Search and a Social Network interface to some of the more popular sites, Facebook, Myspace and Twitter.


Media - Camera and Sound

Let's start with the camera. There is only so much you can do with a 1.3MP camera. Image quality is OK but there is no video. Kind of a surprise there. Camera is easy to use and there are several options like noise settings and contrast settings that help you get the most out of this camera.

Like I mentioned earlier the sound quality is terrific. I was able to configure my ring tones and with a little research I was able upload some fun sounds to add to the base package. (see links section below for details on how to do this.)  Another downer about this phone is it does not have a music player per se. You can upload music to the sounds feature and play one song at a time but there is no music player.

Battery Life

I have had excellent results so far with batter life. I can go 3-4 days with moderate use and not need a charge. On that note, I love the USB Charger and adapter. It means you can either plug into the wall or any USB port to charge your phone. I haven't needed it yet but I could see how this could come in handy.

Overall Rating

I really like this phone. It is intuitive, easy to use. Sound quality is great, Hands free operation and speaker phone work terrifically. I have a couple of issues with the locking, no audio player and maybe a couple of suggestions for configuration options but overall I'd give this an 8.5 out of 10. This phone is a winner and could easily get into the 9's with a few minor tweaks.

Other Mobile Solutions

If by chance you haven't found what you are looking for here, you can check out our cell phone & accessories portal. Lots more ideas from other solutions to accessories and more.  Thanks for visiting and check back soon.

More by this Author


Comments 148 comments

billyaustindillon profile image

billyaustindillon 6 years ago

Handy review - thanks for sharing.


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Thanks. I do like this phone.


me 6 years ago

anyone figure out how to put free games on it yet?


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Not me but if anyone knows a resource please let me know! (so long as it is virus free!)


star wars lovers 6 years ago

I just ordered this phone off the internet a day or so ago, so this review was very helpful and I was glad to see that I might have picked a good phone, especially for texting. Thanks!


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

You are welcome and congrats. Be sure to check out my hub on transferring data if you get a data card.


Zonkaghoop 6 years ago

Great review! I just got this phone today and while playing with it I saw that you can change the unlocking option to where you just press one button instead of 2 to make it a little quicker. You can go to Setting and Tools, then Keyguard Settings, then Unlock Options. I agree with you about it locking too quick while you're still on it. Overall I really like this phone too. Great for texting and I didn't need internet so I like that there is no extra charge per month for that.


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Zonkaghoop, Glad you like the phone. It's been a couple weeks now for me and I still like it a lot. Have fun.


Review Boy 6 years ago

The good thing is that you can upload music to a micro sd card and then you should be able to play it in "tunes and tones"


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Review Boy - yes you can play it but only one song at a time. That's the rub. They need to add a player where you can cue up a list of songs. Thanks for stopping by.


Gina 6 years ago

I own the cosmos, and there are ways to change how long it takes to lock. you can turn the auto-lock off. and you can make it so you only have to press one button to unlock it. also, if you are getting a call, but your phone is locked, you don't need to unlock it to answer; simply press the send button. i have almost no issues with the phone. i love it!

i have recently come across one small problem; my wall charger has stopped working. has anyone else experienced this? my phone charges fine on the computer, but not with the wall charger. my mom and i have the same phone and her doesn't charge at all on the wall. despite the fact that i left it in all night, mine only charged one bar. any suggestions?


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Gina - Thanks for your suggestions. I just found the call/unlock tip yesterday after hanging up on people for a couple weeks now! As for the charger, I have found it to be a bit picky. You have to have the cord just right. I only charge mine at the computer but my wife says she sometimes has to wiggle the connector a bit until the battery icon starts showing that it has begun charging. Hope that helps and thanks for the tips and for stopping by.


Suzy 6 years ago

I love my LG Cosmos except for 2 issues- 1) The camera quality is not good. A lot of my pictures turn out blurry. 2) I have had problems with the wall charger and now my car charger. first I had a problem with my wall charger so since it had 2 parts, I charged the phone with my USB from my laptop. Then Verizon replaced my wall charger and I purchased a car charger. Now I am having problems with the car charger. It is frustrating because i really love my new phone. I really think it is the connection at the bottom of the phone bc sometime is u wiggle it, it will start working again.


j cat 6 years ago

thanks this review was helpful!(:


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@Suzy - yes I agree the camera is not so great for taking pictures to use anywhere but on a phone. For there it seems to work just fine. As for the charger, we had a similar issue but it turned out to be a finicky connector at the cell phone end. Had to make sure the battery icon showed it was charging then leave it alone.

@Jcat - thanks for stopping by. Glad to help.


john 6 years ago

does it cost money or are there charges to send updates and pics to facebook?


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

John - If you have a data plan you can send things to Facebook and it is already included. In fact there is a module built in that can access Facebook from the texting mode. Hope that helps and thanks for stopping by.


Debbie 6 years ago

I saw on your other post how to transfer files and pictures onto the phone. I've been trying to make my own ringtones and I'm wondering what audio format this phone accepts. It doesn't seem to be able to take MP3's... at least not for me. I was wondering what you're doing?

Thanks


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

I was able to use MP3's for ring tones. If you have problems you can use something like this web site to convert the file http://www.iwfr.net/mp3toringtone/. One thing to make sure is that your MP3's are in your ringtones file folder on you memory card. See http://hubpages.com/technology/LG-Cosmos-Transfer-... for more info.


DD 6 years ago

I see a lot of reviews saying that the battery life is horrible. Why do you think you have good experiences while some others had bad?


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Hi DD. Thanks for stopping by. I have had no problem with battery life. I use my phone moderately while others in my house have heavy use. So long as the phone is charged each night there seems to be no problem. One thing to look at with those who have batter problems is the charging. Some have had problems with making sure the phone is charged. Here's some info on that issue, http://hubpages.com/technology/LG-Cosmos-Problems


DD 6 years ago

Thanks for the reply, Tom, and for the link. That definitely makes my decision much easier, along with your review above. Well done.


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

DD No worries and enjoy the new phone.


Karen 6 years ago

I've had my LG Cosmos for one day. I upgraded from a Razor flip phone. I'm enjoying all the features this phone offers. But the sound doesn't seem to be very good. When I have it on Speaker it sounds like a blown speaker. When I turn the speaker off it sounds like I'm in a tunnel and the sound is very hallow. Is this normal? I did take it into the Verizon store to have them check it out, but they just said I needed to keep the volume down... well then I can't hear it. I don't see many negative reviews about the sound quality so I just wondered if anyone has had the same problems.

I did find out by accident that you can just push one key to unlock the phone or to answer it. That is a nice feature.


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Karen, Thanks for stopping by. I've used my phone in speaker mode using the Medium volume setting. It seems to work fine. I've never tried to use using the speaker phone at full volume. When I play music on my phone the fidelity is not perfect like an MP3 player but it does sound good. The highs are not as high and the lows are not as low but it is decent.

As for the tinny sound you hear, that could be a combination of things including a high volume setting, poor quality connection or damage to the speaker. Since you have had it only one day, you could go back and make them exchange it. Good luck and thanks for the tip.


Karen 6 years ago

Thanks for the suggestions Tom. I am going to try it for a few days and see how it goes. I hope it isn't a bad speaker. We will see...


Steve 6 years ago

Great review, I've just deciced on my next phone!


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Steve, thanks for stopping by. Congrats on your new phone.


Car65 6 years ago

One idea I'd like to share abour car chargers. Radio Shack sells the I-Go vehicle phone charger. With upgrades and various new phones the I-Go end has tips that you can change out that attach to every model phone out on the market. The tip for each phone costs about $5.00. I keep the I-Go in my glovebox along with tips for each family members current phone model.(Remember the days when we all had the same phones) It usually takes about 2 hours to fully charge on the I-Go. I have a Ford that will charge phones,etc even when the vehicle is turned off.

Hope this helps some of you with car charge issues.


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Car 65 Terrific Tip. The LG Cosmos uses a USB charging system. Don't know if they have a tip for that but it would be interesting to see if they have a tip for this phone. Thanks for stopping by and contributing.


indy12731 6 years ago

I was happy to see that the phone uses the same charging adaptor as most bluetooth ear pieces. so that is also a money saver to have 1 charger for both units


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@indy12731 - Yes it is always nice to save a little money... thanks for stopping by.


fonefreak42 6 years ago

I am getting the LG Cosmos in about a week, and I had a few questions. 1) I read on reviews that the memory is not very well and that it can save only 30 pictures without a memory card. Is this true? 2) I was also wondering how good the vibration is on this. I am a person that always has my phone on vibrate, even though I may be different with this phone. But I'm just curious. 3) And lastly, does this phone have a sound recorder?


Shelly 6 years ago

Do you think this would be a good phone for a girl w/out talk minutes, lots of texting, a little Facebook (just the social networking already on the phone), a couple pictures that I'll delete once I upload them to Facebook, and not much else? I want to get a good one with no data package. This won't be my first phone, but I'm 13, and I had a phone at 9 for when I went to friend's houses and such but it was inactivated around when I turned 10 for financial reasons. It will be my first phone that I will really use. Please comment. Thanks!


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@fonefreak42 - Thanks for stopping by. As to your question...yes the standard memory is not that much. Fortunately for less than $10 you can significantly upgrade. I can feel the vibration if it is my pant pocket but not my jacket pocket. Probably best to try it out in the store. Finally there is a voice memo recorder feature. I have not used it but I'm guessing a memory upgrade would help there too! Hope that helps.

@Shelly - I'm not in a position to comment as I'm not a big text user and it depends on your plan. The QUERTY keyboard makes the texting I've done really easy. Pictures will cost you a little if you upload to Facebook if you don't have a data plan and you do it through the phone. Same goes for the social networking/Data plan comment. Hope that helps.


Shelly 6 years ago

Thx Tom I appreciate it! :)


Bored 6 years ago

Anyone know how to put games onto it?


brittany  6 years ago

i would never by this phone if i were you i have gone through 5 of them already first the screen wouldn't work also when u took a pic there would be a line going down the center of the screen also 3 of other ones wont charge so my review is really bad


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Brittany - sorry to hear your bad experience. I'm sure there are others. I've had nothing but good luck and I hope you find yourself a great phone.


Taj.. 6 years ago

I was wondering what people mean when they say that they can only play one song at a time... can somebody please explain...i ordered this phone and i will have it in a few days. but im kinda worried, because i ?love? music and that's really what matters the most.


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Hi Taj - It means that you can't play a list of songs consecutively without going back and hitting play each time for the song you want to play. In other words, it only plays the song you select. Once it is done, silence until you select and play another song. Kind of tedious and I'm not sure why there is not a simple music player. Hopefully there will be an upgrade of the software to add that feature. Hope that helps.


Mark 6 years ago

I read your info about file transfers but When I transfer an MP3 to the My Music file on the directory for the phone (when plugged into the computer) it transfers just fine but there is not My Music folder actually on the phone. Only thing that appears under Tunes & Tones is My Ringtones and My Sounds. Any ideas how to actually play the MP3 songs?


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Mark, Thanks for stopping by. Yes browse as you noted, from the main menu under the media center there is a folder called Tunes & Tones. Select that folder and then navicate to the My Sounds folder. If that is where you put your songs they will be in that folder. Select the song and hit play. You should be good to go. Good luck.


Tilda 6 years ago

I have had my Cosmos for exactly a week. Upgraded from the ENV2. #1 It started powering down and resetting for no reason today, no rhyme or reason for it. We thought it was only during texting but when I tried to call Hubby it kept rebooting itself. #2 The QWERTY keyboard is off to the right from the ENV2 am having to do a lot of backspacing. What I used to be able to do by activating "symbols" is now on the top left key under "functions". Am waiting to see if I have the powering issues with the replacement phone and wondering if this is an isolated issue or common place with this model????


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Tilda, Sounds like you may have a charging issue...but that is just a guess. See my hub on http://hubpages.com/hub/LG-Cosmos-Problems.

Hope your replacement is better. We have 3 of them in my house and all work fine.


Tilda 6 years ago

Tom can you check that link because when I go to it I get that the page doesn't exist error. I'm a dinosaur and have problems with change and am starting to get used to the Cosmo phone so I'd be interested in that page to see if that is what causes it


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Sure try this...there was an extra period. http://hubpages.com/technology/LG-Cosmos-Problems


joe 6 years ago

when i try and upload songs to "my sounds" on my phone it never works...im just putting the micro card into my computer with a micro/sd adapter. once the the device window opens i hit click to view files and open "my sounds" and click and drag a cds worth of songs into it...i close the window..take the card out of the cpu and put it into my phone..i go to "my sounds" on my phone and its never there..its always the same train...rainforest crap thats always been there..am i missing something? should i be using a dif program to upload songs or is my phone just not working properly? thanks- joep


joee 6 years ago

i figured it out....i was trying to download straight from a cd...u have to convert it to an mp3...hence the term "mp3 player"...god im dumb


allie 6 years ago

can you say more about the voice memo recorder - how does it work, where is it on the various menus? I looked through the manual and didn't find anything about it. I need a feature like this for making short reminder memos while driving. I previously had an LG Chocolate and used to use the video feature to do this, but the Cosmos doesn't do videos.


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Joe - No problem glad you figured it out. I also have a hub on this topic in the list above.

Allie- I haven't used this feature. Let me do some research and look for a follow up on a couple of days.


allie 6 years ago

just a comment - attention left-handers, this is a right-handed phone - most right handers use their left hand to hold the phone, leaving their right hand free to write, etc. left handers, vice versa. when you hold this phone in your right hand, your index finger continually touches the camera. i'm left handed, and my camera lens is covered with fingerprints. aargh!


Roger 6 years ago

Allie - just keep the CLR button pressed until you see the "Record New" screen. Then press OK to record.


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Allie- Sadly you are probably right. Lefties have to adapt. I am right handed and sometimes I keep the phone in my right hand. One suggestion would be to get yourself a hard cover for the phone. There is a cutout where the camera lens is at and your finger would quickly know that it is the cutout without touching the lens. Helps for me.

Roger - thanks of this tip...so that is how you record a message on the Cosmos VN250! Let's give props to Roger!.


allie 6 years ago

thanks roger, this is fantastic!


Kay 6 years ago

Hi- I will be receiving this on Monday. I'm converting from the LG regular cell phone. 2 questions-

The Rep said they would e-mail instructions to transfer my contacts-- my contacts are all just phone numbers.

Also, when testing- can I use the name w/ the phone number ( no e-mail address) to text? Thank You.


Eben 6 years ago

you said you could not get the key lock time any longer.

try changing your backlight timer from what its set on now to something longer that will

determine the length of your key lock time


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Kay - I believe if you have a SIM card you can upload contacts but I'm not sure how you get them from you current phone to the SIM card without a data charge. As for your 2nd question, yes. So long as they have a text enabled phone all you need is the phone number.

Eben - thanks for helping out. That's a great tip. Kind of a back door type of solution.


allie 6 years ago

if folks haven't found it yet, here's the actual user manual - much more useful than the little book that verizon provides with the phone.

http://cache.vzw.com/multimedia/mim/lg_cosmos/cosm...


Gian 6 years ago

I have the same phone - I agree with your review for the most part. Have you had a problem where your phone turns off at night time? I use my phone for my alarm clocks for class, and have been unable to wake up on time because the phone turns off at night. I just got it replaced by Verizon, but it is still doing it. Is there a setting on the phone that I do not know about?


Clare 6 years ago

I just got my Cosmo after my Intensity stopped working about a week ago. I keep it on vibrate at all times except for at night when I need the alarm for the morning. I have used it for about 3 or 4 nights so far as an alarm. I have not dropped the phone and I have a case for it so it seems that it should be well protected. I have not had a problem with it until now. I set my alarm tonight for the morning and turned the volume on high. I received a text message a few minutes afterward, and my phone vibrated due to the settings I put it on. However, once my phone started vibrating, it would not stop. I turned it off and it continued until I took the battery out. When I put the battery back in the problem persisted. I turned it on again and reset my alarm, the vibrating stopped and hasn't started again but I turned the alarm back on and I'm hoping it won't happen again. The phone works perfectly fine while it is vibrating, it is just extremely irritating. Anyone with a similar problem or suggestions?


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Gian, Sorry to hear your problem. Is it possible the battery was low. There have been some connector problems with some people. I know my wife sometimes has to wiggle her's to get a good connection to the power. If not, I'm not sure what to say. That is a new one.

Clare - Another new one. I suspect yours may be a software glitch...at least it sounds like it to me. I know you can do an over the air software update for the LG Cosmos VN250. You may want to give that a try that. The link is http://search.vzw.com/?do=viewdoc&id=31322&support...

Hope that helps.


okiegal2413 6 years ago

I just got my cosmo but iam havin trouble with the battery life. It doesn't stay charged very long but iam also a heavy texter.I need to know if there is something wrong with my phone. I haven't had the phone long only a week.


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

okiegal2413 - you are not alone, there have been some problems with charging. http://hubpages.com/technology/LG-Cosmos-Problems I'm not sure what you mean by heavy texter but anytime you are using bandwidth to send data, it uses up more energy. Perhaps there is an extended life battery you can upgrade to? Wish I had a better answer. Anybody got suggestions?


andrea 6 years ago

hello Tom! I bought my LG Cosmos yesterday, and I like it. But i'm trying to put games into it and I just don't know how. Do you know how to help me? thanks!


dea 6 years ago

there's any music player in this cellphone? i wanna play my music doing another stuff, like txting! thnks


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@andrea - Sorry, that's beyond my pay grade. I don't know what tell you. Hopefully someone can chime in with an idea.

@drea - Sorry there is no music player. That's one of the downers. If you look at the media/sound section above, there is no media player. You can only play one song at at time.


ManderTaBOMB 6 years ago

I have had this phone for about what 6 months now? But, I've been having a couple of problems with it :/. First, I put it in my locker one day. Later that day, my phone is upside down backwards and red and blue. I know this problem probubly relates to interacting with a magnet in my locker but the PHONE HOLDER said it fits MOST phones. It was meant to have phones on it. Im not happy with this problem but this phone has lasted me a pretty long while i'll give it a 4/5 * rating.


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@ManderTaBomb - Sorry to hear your problems. Try reloading the software. Directions can be found here, http://hubpages.com/technology/LG-Cosmos-Problems

Don't know of a hardware reset but usually disconnecting the battery does the trick there.

Give those a shot and hopefully it will reset. In the mean time, stay away from magnets...


Marty 6 years ago

Tom - thanks for the time you take to help everyone. I am considering an LG Cosmos and will use it mostly for voice and text. I will rarely use the camera and have no need for a data plan, music or video on my phone. I have a few questions I hope you or the other contributors can help me with. 1) If I do not purchase a micro SD card, does the phone have enough internal memory to hold a few pictures? 2) What is the lock function? Does it terminate conversations if it engages unexpectedly? I don't think my current (very old) phone has this. Can the lock function be disabled permanently if you do not want to use it? 3) Probably a dumb question, but is it possible to download additional ringtones without a data plan? If not, is there another way they can be transferred? 4) If you do not have a data plan, is it still possible to install the software update you previously mentioned? Thanks again for helping others.


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Hi Marty,

Thanks for stopping by. Here's your answers,

1) Yes a few.

2) It locks the phone pad so you don't make unintentional calls when the phone is in your pocket. I don't think I would disable it but you can make it a one key touch instead of a 2 key touch. It does not engage unexpectedly and terminate a conversation so no worries there. One suggestion from above was to change the length of the back light timer to extend the time between key strokes and the phone locking.

3)The answer here is yes, you can download ring tones but they have to come in through the microSD card. You can get a cheap microSD card for a couple bucks online at someplace like Amazon. Have a look here, http://hubpages.com/technology/LG-Cosmos-Transfer-... for more details

4) Yes. It comes over the cell network and it is no charge for the minutes.


Kristen 6 years ago

I have the LG Cosmo, and I was wondering if it has a video camera or a a voice recorder, because I would LOVE to record songs and then use them as my ringtone, and if it does have a voice recorder, how do I get to it. And awesome review Tom!


DAvid 6 years ago

Ok, So I got this phone about 2 weeks ago. I accedently spilled some water on it, and now it keeps turning on and off. Any suggestions?


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@Kristen - There is no video recorder. There is however a voice/memo recorder on the phone. Just hit "CLR" button a couple times until you get a "Record Now" Screen. I think it gives you up to 1 minute per recording.

@David - Look at the article about http://hubpages.com/technology/LG-Cosmos-Problems There was someone there who used rice to dry out his phone. My suggestion - take it in and have someone professionally take care of it because water drying can leave residue and eventually corrode electronics.


APPLE 6 years ago

I saw Kristen's comment and i was trying to get to the record now screen and i pressed clr a couple times and it just kept saying please say a command and it never came up so can u please explain it in a simpler way instead of pressing the clr button on the front. Your talking about the button with the clr then picture of a microphone button next to it right?


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@Apple - Try just pressing and holding the CLR command. That should give you a screen with a picture of a microphone and it is a 1 minute max per recording.


David 6 years ago

Thanks for the advice, the rice worksed great! Excellent review, by the way!


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@David - no problem. Glad to help and thanks for stopping back.


Ali 6 years ago

I have had the Cosmo for 4 days now I upgraded from the LG Chocolate2 & I must say that the Cosmo seems to be a great little phone, I am surprised there arent more pic settings w the camera/ no flash seems I have to turn on every light in the house to snap a pic [which was the same w my previous LG so Im thinking its an LG thing I never had that problem w my previous Samsung] overall I would give the phone an 8 out of 10 & I am satisfied with my purchase.

??..?? anyone know how to save ringtones I haven't been able to save as ringtone only as sound


Tom T profile image

Tom T 6 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@Ali - yes the camera is not top of the line. No flash, no movies. Only 1Mpx. As far as ring tones, check out another of my posts, http://hubpages.com/technology/LG-Cosmos-Transfer-... If you have a microSD card you transfer them to your phone with a PC. Thanks for stopping by.


jwoow 5 years ago

Do you have to pay to use the social network?


Jessica 5 years ago

Does anyone know how to turn off the voice like how it says "message from" or "call from" before playing my ringtone? its rather annoying.


Tom T profile image

Tom T 5 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@jwoow - if you have a data plan there is not charge. If you do not, then there is a charge.

@Jessica - you must have your phone in hands free mode.


Ranwdiggums 5 years ago

I can't send more than 1 pic at a time.. I hate that


Tom T profile image

Tom T 5 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Ranwdiggums - I agree that is kind of a rub. Thanks for Stopping by.


PersonwithLGcosmos 5 years ago

You don't have to unlock it to answer. Either that or my phone was hacked before it was activated.


Tom T profile image

Tom T 5 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

PersonwithLGcosmos - no that is a function that can be preset. Also if someone is calling, and you hit send to answer the all, you don't need to unlock the phone.


Mandy C 5 years ago

I got LGcosmos 2 days ago and I wanted to put pictures onto my computer, but it just never worked when I ues the USB cable and that really pissed me off. Do I have to but a MircoSD card??


Tom T profile image

Tom T 5 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Mandy - Sorry for your frustration. See the link above regarding transferring files. http://hubpages.com/technology/LG-Cosmos-Transfer-...

I don't think you have to use an SD Card but it makes things a lot easier and they cost like $5 or $6. Hope that helps.


Mandy C 5 years ago

umm... I am still puzzling, can u make a video to show me how?? thank you so much>


Tom T profile image

Tom T 5 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Mandy,

I don't have the tools to make a video. When you plug your phone into the computer, it should make a beep like a USB device is attached. If you are running windows, it will look for a device driver. You should have previously downloaded and installed the driver for your cosmos phone. Windows will find that driver and install it. When it has completed, you should just follow the directions at the hub above.

Hope that helps.


RunnerGurl 5 years ago

I was wondering, does the LG Cosmos have a SIM card in it? I can't find anything online saying that it does or does not. If so (which would be great), where is it? Help?


Tom T profile image

Tom T 5 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

RunnerGurl - No it does not have a SIM card, it has a place for an SD card. (Actually it is a MicroSD Card.) It is on the side of the unit by the CLR/End keys.


Ellen Thompson 5 years ago

Hi, I found this review very helpful,Does this phone have good internet access? I do alot of web browsing and e-mailing.

Also, I'm trying to decide on the LG Cosmos or the LG Rumor 2. Which one is best?


jaydub 5 years ago

you say that you use the voice command feature, and I'm having trouble with mine. I can get it all the way to the number it's supposed to dial, but then nothing happens - it doesn't connect the call (even if I press send or ok), instead, I get the black verizon "turning on" screen, although without the turning on noise. my previous phone would actually dial the number and connect the call - is this phone supposed to do that too, do I have some setting not set correctly?


a.falyfel@yahoo.com 5 years ago

I bought 2 cosmos for my kids ,next day I noticed that the screen got scratch for both of them ,is that abuse or they have problem with the screen,thx,Adnan .


unknown 5 years ago

i have this phone and i love it!!!


Louise 5 years ago

Help! I'm trying to remove a few shortcuts from my screen that I put there but decided against them later, but haven't figure out how.Thx,Louise.


2manyProbs 5 years ago

UGH! I am on my second Cosmos and I love it except for one minor issue... Occasionally while texting, it will restart and put the last message in my inbox back in there. This is sooooooo annoying! It makes it impossible to do squat. Does anybody have a solution?


Julie 5 years ago

I am having difficulties. When I set the ringtone it just beeps. instead of my ringtone.


BRUZER_59 5 years ago

I have had the same cell phone for over 5 years` when my wife told me it was time to upgrade... we got this lg cosmos.. i thought very little of this phone when i got it home, but i used it daily for months with no problems

Until my lg cosmos was left in my work pants and did a tour of duity in the washing machine.the wife said open it up & pull the battery and sd card & hope for the best..well two days went buy with no phone we put the phone back together and it WORKS ..!!! OMG this is a GOOD piece of equipment ....THANK YOU LG


Tom T profile image

Tom T 5 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@Ellen T - I don't use the internet feature as I don't have a data package. Anybody got some input here?

@jaydub - check and see which version of software you are running. If you are running v3 update to v4.

@a.falyfel - yes the screen is not that hard. Need to go out and get some protectors. They are pretty cheap.

@louise - try rerunning the setup wizard. Should give you access to all your choices so you can fix your problems.

@2ManyProbs - I'd look and see if you may need a software update. Might be a bug with V3.

@julie - you can set ringtones from 2 places, your SD Card folder or from the default list. If you are using ones you uploaded to your SD Card, make sure they play sounds other than the beep you describe. If not, remove the SD card and see if the default ring tones work.

@Bruzer_59 - Glad to hear your good news but keep an eye out for strange behavior. Even a little bit of residual moisture can manifest problems over time. Hope for the best but keep an eye out.


2manyProbs 5 years ago

I have tried that, it even came with V4. Ive talked to Customer Service, they were supposed to call me back going on 3 weeks ago... still waiting on the call!


Tom T profile image

Tom T 5 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

2manyProbs - My suggestion is to take it to a company store and have them flash the firmware either back to V02 or up to V04. This is not a patch put over the current software but a whole new firmware version. Should take care of the issue. Good Luck.


marisa 5 years ago

hey i have this phone and the battery dies in 2 hours or less. i chrage my phone all night 2...........what do i do


Tom T profile image

Tom T 5 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Marisa - There are a couple of things. First make sure when you are charging your battery that the charging symbol comes on solidly. The connector sometimes does not make a good connection and it will intermittently turn on then off. Next I've read somewhere the V04 of the software has improved battery life in some cases. Finally you may have to bring it in to the shop and have them do a diagnostic. It could very well be that you need a new battery. Good Luck and hope that helps.


awilson 5 years ago

I just got the Cosmos touch, and every time I get a message it talks(says 'message from...' It didn't do that when I first got it, but somehow i managed to change it. It's highly annoying and after spending quite a high number of hours trying to turn off, I can't get it figured out. How do i turn off the talking? Could i get specific instructions just so I can definitely turn it off and then I can remember if it ever turns back on?


Tom T profile image

Tom T 5 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@awilson - Sure try the following; menu, Settings & Tools, Sound Settings (6), call sounds, Call Ringtone. Let me know if that works.


Jessica 5 years ago

UNRELIABLE!!!! after having the phone for only 6 months it have broken 5 times! it keeps on shutting off...and now the buttons wont work and it gos to take pics and takes and saves randomly! i need a RELIABLE phone because i travel to places where i need a phone! if i dont have one there will be issues. they have replaced my phone 5 times but only because i got the extra warranty. i wold not recommend this phone to anyone...it is CRAP!


Tom T profile image

Tom T 5 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@Jessica - sorry to hear of your problems. It sounds like you really to a lemon. I'm surprised you could not get them to replace it under warranty.


jo 5 years ago

does it cost extra everytime u download a pic to facebook if u dont have a package plan?can you automatically download from your phone or do you have to have a card?


Tom T profile image

Tom T 5 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@Jo - you need a data package to upload photo's to Facebook or there is a charge. As far as downloading, from your phone to your computer, you do need an SD Card. If you look on the LG Cosmos file transfer page, http://hubpages.com/technology/LG-Cosmos-Transfer-... you will see cards for between $3 and $20 depending on the size of the memory card.


Rafael 5 years ago

Is posible transfer MP3 songs to this phone?

Greetings!!


Tom T profile image

Tom T 5 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@Rafael - yes you can play MP3 songs on this phone. See Hub link above on file transfers for more info.


Micheleks 5 years ago

Something strange has popped up suddenly. When I click on Nedua Center and then go to Tunes & Tones and then go to My Ringtones (I used a micro SD card to save some new ringtones myself) it gives me this message that says "Alarm Only Mode Please adjust temporary player volume to listen. It plays the song for one second and stops and then to play it again I have to restart it. Just wondering as it did not do this till today and I was wondering if you knew what the message meant and how did it get there... oh and how do I get rid of it? I have tried googling it, playing with the settings and just am not sure how it suddenly appeared. Thanks :)


Tom T profile image

Tom T 5 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Micheleks - Sorry for not getting back to you. That is a new one. (by the way I'm assuming you mean media center) I'd suggest moving the ringtones off your SD card onto your disk drive and see if the problem goes away. If so, reload them 1 or 2 at a time to see which one is the culprit.

Otherwise, I'd suggest reloading the software. You might have some sort of bug in there. Good luck and let us know what happens.


savygirl 5 years ago

I am looking at buying the cosmos. I need a phone for mobile internet and web use. Not a texter. A smart phone just doesn't seem sensible for my use versus data packs costs. Will using the web count against my minutes on my package? Or will I be forced into a datapackage to use these features?


Tom T profile image

Tom T 5 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

savygirl - I believe you will have to pay for a data package either on a per use basis or by purchasing gigabytes through a plan.


TOM 5 years ago

FORGOT MY PHONE UNLOCK CODE


Tom T profile image

Tom T 5 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@Tom - Unless you changed it the default is the last 4 digits of your phone number. If you changed it you may need to do a hard reset and reprogram it with your preferences. Good Luck.


Amandamommy 5 years ago

trying to connnect my cosmo to facebook. i had it set but dropped my other cosmo in the tub. i forgot how to set it up to be able to post pics and status updates from wherever i am. Any ideas on how to do this. it is not the cosmo touch!


Tom T profile image

Tom T 5 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Amandamommy - Sorry but I've never done that. Is there anyone who could help out?


Amanda 4 years ago

i lost my phone for a while and i just found it today i have lost it for about 6 months and i forgot my password....i never saved it but i was wondering if there is any possoible way for me to reset my password without knowing it or even getting onto my phone.?


Tom T profile image

Tom T 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@amanda - Unless you changed your password it is the last 4 digits of your phone number. Failing that, all I can think of to try is to do a master reset but hopefully you've backed up your data as the phone will lose everything. Here's the link for the master reset http://support.verizonwireless.com/clc/devices/kno...


Lisa 4 years ago

I had this phone and it barly lasted me a year! No video, it was always slow. The vice recorder stinks. It would ALWAYS shut off randemly exspesily when I was trying to send a text! Then it would get these gliches for a while and then the scren gose black. I've had two different cosmos because my first one the day I got it the gliches were so bad I had to take it back. Then the seconed one was the one that lasted for about a year. Over all I DIDN'T like this phone at all. I wouln't ever recomened it. (Sorry about my spelling I was typing to fast)


Tom T profile image

Tom T 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@Lisa - clearly this was not a good fit in terms of your use of the phone. If you look at the problems page I have here on hub pages you will see lots of problems and questions. Many are simple fixes. Many are user related issues (Fixing a phone that has dropped in the water) and some are just bad phones. Sounds like you fall into the latter. This phone suits me fine but I'm not as heavy a user as most. I just use it for phone calls, taking a few pictures, 2-3 texts per month and listening to music every once in a while. With the advances in technology, there are lots of choices out there. Good luck on your next phone and I hope it works better for you.


George 4 years ago

I would like to be able to download pics from my Cosmos VN251 to my PC [ XP Pro ] via USB cord. I've downloaded the software upgrade, but apparently need an SD Micro card. How many MB is needed for this application ? Thanks, George


Brian 4 years ago

My lg cosmos is my life! The updated one is way better


Tom T profile image

Tom T 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@George - Yes you do need an SD card. Between 1GB and 4GB should suffice for most users. I think you can also by cards up to 32GB but that's probably more than most users need. If you look above you will see some examples. Prices range from a couple dollars to something around $25 for larger sized models. Hope that helps.


Olivia 4 years ago

I'm really aggravated with the "please say a command" 'button'I was in class today and I accidentally hit it and it went off like 8 times I was so embarrassed could someone please help me with this I want to get rid of this feature I never even use it.


Tom T profile image

Tom T 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@Olivia - You have 2 options. You can turn off the feature by hitting the CLR key Then Settings then select #5 to turn it off. Or you can set up keyguard which prevents keys from inadvertently being hit. You will find that under Menu Then Settings & Tools Then Keyguard Settings. From there you can select an option to use 1 key or 2 keys to unlock your keypad.

Hope that helps and thanks for stopping by.


Kari 4 years ago

How do I silence any incoming calls and texts while I'm asleep and have an alarm set? Thanks!


Tom T profile image

Tom T 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Hi Kari,

Interesting problem. Not sure you can. The only thing I can think of is to find a custom ring tone that is very soft (or silent) and change your default ring tone to something quiet while the alarm tone is loud.


Kari 4 years ago

Thanks for the response Tom. So if I use this phone as my alarm clock, I have to leave the ringer and text notification on while I'm sleeping? My best option is to get a soft ring tone to wake me up? That seems kind of crazy.


Tom T profile image

Tom T 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@Kari - Well no, the ring tone for your alarm can be loud. I believe it lets you select tones for your alarm as well for your phone ring and text alert. The default ring tones for your text message and phone should be soft tones.

That's all I can think of because your phones volume is being used for 2 separate functions letting you know there is someone contacting you via phone/text and alerting you that it is a specific time. In your case that time is the time to wake up. There in lies the conflict. If you don't want other things to disturb you, you need to somehow set the volume low for the other functions but not the alarm function. The phone doesn't do that. The only work around is to set the alarm sound really high compared to the rest of the rings or set the other rings really low.


Hammy 4 years ago

i tried updating my cosmos touch and i have had no problems with it, but when i got through updating it i deleted the software on my computer to update it cause i didn't think i would need it anymore. so when i unplug it it still says its downloading. its been saying this for 2 days and ive tried pluging it back in and it gives no notification on my computer that ive done anything and i have also tried taking the battery out. PLEASE HELP.


Tom T profile image

Tom T 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Hello Hammy, not sure what to tell you. If you interrupted some kind of update, that can be problematic. I'd suggest deleting the software on your computer and reloading the driver. See if the problem might be on the computer end. Better yet try it on another computer if you have access to another one. If the problem is with the phone you may have to take it in and have them update the firmware or reset the phone. Don't do it yourself unless you have everything backed up as you never know what happened if you unplugged too early. Something may have been corrupted.


Kaylen 4 years ago

Ive had mine for about a year now. All of the sudden it started freezing on me. Just today acutally. I was texting and it froze. Now it shuts off every 3 mins and turns back on itself. Or you have to take the battery out to turn it back on. It shuts off during phone conversations and while texting. I did not drop it or anything. It came from nowhere so make sure you get insurance!


Tom T profile image

Tom T 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

Kaylen - try taking it into the store and have them update the firmware. This sounds suspiciously like it may be a software issue rather than a piece of the electronics gone bad.


4 years ago

does anyone know how to keep the phone from posting the forecast and other pop-up ads when you wake it up from sleep mode? thanks!! it is my son's fone. I don't know how you all work with such complicated technology :)


Tom T profile image

Tom T 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@B - If you go to the links above, you will see something about "Remove CityID..." Follow that procedure for whatever app is taking over your phone and it should fix your problem.


4 years ago

@Tom-Ahh, there it is at the top, thanks!! I read through the entire thread looking for it the other day. it looks like you've been answering people's questions for a long time now. I wonder if it was your intention to help so many people when you originally wrote up the review a year and a half ago? Anyway, well done. I think you deserve an iphone for all your hard work.

I have a gophone set up on my iphone, no contract ever. $50 a month unlimited talk & and text, data package is an extra 5 per month/10mb, but NOT necessary to activate the phone. in order to use the data package you need unlock it with an APN app, free online. mb do rollover and build up eventually. it's really so easy and cheap to have a fully functioning iphone without jailbreaking, contract, etc, it almost makes me cry (55/month).


Tom T profile image

Tom T 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@ B - Thanks for the tip. Maybe for my next phone I'll check it out and do a writeup!.


kk 4 years ago

i have the cosmos touch and everytime i try to get on my camera to take a picture it says camera start error. how do i get rid of it so i can use my camera again?


Wendy 4 years ago

Something is wrong with my phone. The screen won't turn on but the buttons still light up. Do you think you can help?


Alison 4 years ago

I've had this phone for about 1 1/2 years and today for no reason the screen turned black. All of the buttons work, and I can send and receive calls and texts, I just can't see what they are. The whole time I've had this phone I've dropped it maybe 5 times (which my dad is blaming it on). When I take out the battery and put it back in it stays the same. Should I take it in to the store or is there some way to fix it myself?


Tom T profile image

Tom T 4 years ago from Orange County, CA Author

@KK sorry I don't have the LG Cosmos touch.

@Wendy & Alison - I'm afraid that a black screen is probably a hardware issue. If the lights come on but the screen does not light, there is likely something physically wrong with the phone. If you have issues with dropping, (I agree 5 does not sound like many!) but you may want to consider a hard/soft case going forward.


StarGirl 4 years ago

I have heard lots of negative and positive comments about the LG Cosmos, but I have owned it for THREE years and am here to set the record straight. The LG Cosmos is a great phone for kids. Great first phone. Also, great for adults who are nervous about their children having a phone. This one is really simple and also great for adults who do not stare at their phone all day. In conclusion I honestly like this phone. Great for kids.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working