Light Notebooks - Review of 5 Lightest Laptops

Review: 5 Lightest Notebooks Available

For many years you have paid a premium for lightness and portability in a laptop, the less they hurt your shoulder the more they were going to damage your wallet.

For the key considerations when buying a light laptop check out: Light Laptops A Buyer's Guide

However recently thanks to improved technology allowing processors to run faster but not overheat, small no longer always equate to expensive. Admittedly the first 3 laptops reviewed : the Toshiba Protégé R500, Sony VAIO TZ150 and Apple MacBook Air are all going to cost you over US$2000 mark. However the Averatec is priced well under US$1500 and the innovative Asus Eee PC will set you back less than US$500! So now is an exciting time to be buying a truly ultraportable laptop!

Toshiba Portege R500

Toshiba Protege R500

Toshiba Protege R500

This laptop manages to fit a full sized keyboard with a 12.1-inch screen and a native resolution of 1,280x800 and that's a matt screen too. This well-known brand doesn't come cheap but Toshiba's reputation is well deserved for reliable, well-engineered laptops.

Price point: an expensive laptop where you are paying for the convenience and lightness. Main Competitors: Sony VAIO, Fujistsu Lifebooks

Aimed at: the corporate/business market which requires a big name brand, excellent support and backup and can afford to pay for it.

The Good:

  • 12-inch display but lighter than some 11-inch notebooks.

  • Avoids the annoying ultraportable trick of eliminating important keys, squeezing in separate page-up and page-down keys

  • Better performance than the Sony VAIO

  • A fingerprint reader

  • Excellent battery life of 5 hours under standard conditions.

  • Standard 3 year mail-in warranty.

The Bad:

  • Lack of mobile broadband antenna EV-DO

  • Only an SD card slot not a multifunction card reader

  • No WebCam

  • Only quicklaunch buttons are brightness mode and a button for launching Toshiba's proprietary help utility.

Toshiba Portege R500 At a glance:

Processor 1.2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo T7600

Memory 1GB, 667MHz DDR2

Hard drive 120GB 5,400rpm

Chipset Intel 965 Graphics Mobile Intel Express 950GM (integrated)

Operating system Windows Vista Premium

Dimensions (WDH) 11.1 x 8.5 x .77 inches

Screen size (diagonal) 12.1 inches

System weight / Weight with AC adapter [pounds] 2.4/3.1 pounds

Sony VAIO TZ150

Sony VAIO

Sony Vaio TZ150

A beautiful design which gives even the style icons at Apple a run for their money. Just manages to beat the Toshiba R500 on battery life and size. The 11.1-inch laptop combines an ultrathin, LED-backlit display and even with an optical drive, this system is amazingly only about an inch thick. However the Toshiba does weigh slightly less. With a native resolution of 1,366x768 the text is small and hard to see, but that's the trade-off for such a small screen. The screen is matt which is a nice change for the currently popular shiny screens.

Like the Toshiba R500 the Sony is aimed for: the corporate/business market which requires a big name brand, excellent support and backup and can afford to pay for it.

Adding a solid state drive will push the price over $3000. Unless you are prepared to pay for a lot for the design aesthetic the Toshiba is probably a better deal.

Sony's standard one-year warranty can be extended a number of ways at extra cost to include up to 4 years on-site and accidental damage protection

The good:

  • Extremely slim and light with a stunning good looks.

  • Almost impossibly slim, the body of the Sony VAIO TZ measures just less than an inch thick. Adding the standard battery raises the rear of the laptop slightly, to 1.17 inches thick, but this is still one of the smallest laptops you're find.

  • Fantastic battery life at over 5 hours.

  • Includes integrated WWAN with EV-DO for web surfing via hot-spots.
  • Includes an integrated DVD burner.

  • Includes an integrated Webcam.
  • Includes a Firewire port.

The bad:

  • Slow performance the slower processor 1GB memory and slower disk are not helped by the bloat ware which clutters the hard drive

  • Only 2 USB ports.

Sony VAIO TZ10 At a Glance:

Processor 1.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Ultra Low Voltage U7500

Memory 1GB, 533MHz DDR2

Hard drive 250GB 4,200rpm

Chipset Intel 945GMS Graphics Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 950 (integrated)

Operating System Windows Vista Premium

Dimensions (WDH) 10.9x7.8x0.8 inches (1.2 inches in rear)

Screen size (diagonal) 11.1 inches

System weight / Weight with AC adapter (in pounds) 2.7/3.3 pounds

Mac Air

MacBook Air

MacBook Air

Although not the as light as the Toshiba R500 the Air it still easily breaks new ground for small laptops.

Mimicking the 13-inch silhouette of the current MacBook line, it's only 0.76 inch thick at its thickest part, and Apple calls it the "world's thinnest notebook".

The MacBook Air is certainly a sexy, stylish, thin laptop. It does however come at a substantial price and costs significantly more than the MacBook Pro's which offer more connectivity and speed for less money, though with more weight.

The innovative touch pad gesture controls will win some fans as will the ability to wirelessly "borrow" optical drives attached to nearby desktops. Alterntaively you can purchase the USB-powered superdrive at an additional US$99.

While the MacBook Air's configuration is inferior to those found on the cheaper MacBook, they compare more favorably when you look at other ultraportables. . Both the Toshiba Portege R500 and Sony VAIO TZ150 cost hundreds more than the MacBook Air and feature slower CPUs and half the RAM as the Air.

One thing to be aware of though is that the custom battery is not replaceable by the user, which means if you want longer than the approximately 5 hours of battery life carrying a spare is not an option.

The MacBook Air is covered by a standard 1 year parts and labor warranty.

The Good Points

  • Includes integrated webcam and mike,
  • LED backlit display that responds to room brightness.

  • Full size backlite keyboard

The Bad Points:

  • Lack of connectivity is the biggest negative - only 1 USB no firewire FireWire, Ethernet, or mobile broadband

  • No media card reader

  • No optical drive

MacBook Air At a Glance

Processor 1.6GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

Memory 2GB, 667MHz DDR2

Hard drive 80GB 4,200rpm Graphics Intel GMA X3100 (integrated)

Operating System Apple Mac OS X Leopard

Dimensions (WDH) 14.2 x 10.5 x 1.9 inches

Screen size (diagonal) 13.3 inches

System weight / Weight with AC adapter 3.0 / 3.4 pounds

Averatec 1579

A good value for money option for those who don't want to spend the top dollars for the Sony Vaio or Toshiba Protégé models. Although costs approximately 25% less than the premium machines the Averatec supplies a robust 11.1-inch ultraportable with good performance, great battery life and solid construction.

At 1.5-inches the Averatec is noticeably thicker than other laptops reviewed but still manages to weight in at 3.4 pounds - just proving yet again than the less weight the more dollars it's going to cost!

The 11.1-inch wide-screen display features a 1,366x768 native resolution, which offers a decent balance of screen real estate and readability

Averatec includes an industry-standard one-year parts-and-labor warranty with the system.

The Good:

  • Reasonable performance in a tidy package at a competitive price.
  • DVD burner included
  • Mini FireWire jack and an ExpressCard slot included

The Bad:

  • Somewhat cramped keyboard.
  • No media control button
  • No webcam

Averatec 1579 at a Glance

Processor 1.06GHz Intel Core Duo Ultra Low Voltage U2400

Memory 1GB, 667MHz DDR2

Hard drive 120GB 5,400rpm

Chipset Intel 945 Graphics Intel Mobile Express 945GM

Operating system Windows Vista Premium

Dimensions (WDH) 10.5 x 8.1 x 1.5 inches Screen size (diagonal) 11.1 inches System weight / Weight with AC adapter [pounds] 3.4 / 4.2 pounds

Asus Eee PC

Asus Eee PC

Asus Eee PC

Starting from under US$200 there has been a sudden rush to the market of these tiny laptops may look and sound like a toy but they aren't. Netbooks are a new option for many people who want to save money and wonder if they should buy a netbook

Instead they are realistic entry point for those who until now couldn't afford a PC, never mind a laptop. Or a child or student who needs a small portable model they can carry everyday without fearing it being stolen or a bad back from the weight. Or a backpacker who wants something light and robust to travel with.

In particular the price includes bundled software for web browsing, FireFox, and office productivity, OpenOffice, so there is absolutely no need to spend more money getting up and running with basic word-processing, spread-sheeting, presentation and web applications. Also included are a generic media player, an instant messaging client that works with popular IM systems, and some preinstalled games.

However the operating system is Linux not Windows so some software won't run at all such as such as iTunes or Photoshop.

The Eee PC has a just 7" screen which obviously means some compromises on keyboard size, particularly for the non-letter keys, but at 2 pounds its great to carry around. The Eee PC's competitors may well be pocket PC's and mobile phones with keyboards, and compared to these the Eee PC's keyboard is a whole lot more functional.

Asus offers a 1 year parts and labor warranty.

The good:

  • Small, light, and inexpensive;
  • Solid-state hard drive is fast and efficient;
  • Well-thought-out preinstalled software package.
  • 3USB ports, a VGA out, and standard headphone and mic jacks
  • SD card slot. allows you to expand the hard-drive capacity.
  • 3.5 hour battery life.

The bad:

  • Cramped keyboard;
  • Little hard drive space;
  • Low screen resolution.
  • No optical drive or firewire port

Asus Eee PC at a Glance

Processor 900MHz Intel Mobile CPU

Memory 512MB RAM

Hard drive 4GB SSD

Chipset/Graphics Intel 910

Operating System Linux (customized by Asus)

Dimensions (WDH) 8.8 x 6.5 x 0.9 inches

Screen size (diagonal) 7.0 inches

System weight / Weight with AC adapter [pounds] 2.0/2.4 pounds

The Author

Lis Sowerbutts has been traveling since age 7, and has to date visited over 55 countries. She firmly believes in traveling for the over-30's and that you are never too late to start traveling. Lis writes on a broad variety of subjects and you may be interested in other articles by her including:

Comments 75 comments

Mark Knowles profile image

Mark Knowles 8 years ago

Great review Lissie. You already know my opinion, but this is a good guide. I think I'm going for the ASUS next time I need a new portable.


Lissie profile image

Lissie 8 years ago from New Zealand Author

Thanks for stopping by Mark - yes the Asus is definitly on my list for the next backpacking trip


helenathegreat profile image

helenathegreat 8 years ago from Manhattan

Great hub, Lissie! I didn't even know the Asus existed, but it's all very interesting. Thanks for writing this!


Lissie profile image

Lissie 8 years ago from New Zealand Author

Woth checking out the Asus in a shop - its impressive for its size but the keys are quite small!


caspar profile image

caspar 8 years ago from UK

Great hub, Lissie. I love the little Asus. I was looking for a PDA with a useable keyboard and I think this dinky machine might be exactly what I need.


Sybille Yates profile image

Sybille Yates 8 years ago

Next time I upgrade I will ask you! Great hub, SY


excellasys profile image

excellasys 8 years ago from US

Interesting This Asus Machine is intriguing. I wonder if they will make it into a cell phone too ;-) Good job.

-e-


ripplemaker profile image

ripplemaker 8 years ago from Cebu, Philippines

Thanks for writing this. I am actually trying to understand techie stuff. Whew...will have to bookmark this so I could refer to it when we decide what notebook to buy. :-)


Lissie profile image

Lissie 8 years ago from New Zealand Author

The jargon isn't that hard ripplemaker -keep reading and you'll understand enough -its far more important to understand what you want the laptop for - how will you use it - if its just going to sit in the study you don't need a particularly light one - but if you are going to carry it to school every day you do!

Excellasys - I sincerely hope they don't make it into a cellphone- I hate these all in 1 1 gadgets

Caspar- I agree - it seems the best keyboard Ive seen if you compare it to pdas rather than computers


budwood profile image

budwood 8 years ago from Southern Nevada

I am considering a "traveling" lap top for my assistant and your review helps sort out the details.  I'd like to see the Dell laptop reviewed, as that seems to be a reasonable choice, too.  We'll be sorting out your comments and those of others in the next few weeks.

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Bud Wood

  


dindin profile image

dindin 8 years ago from Texas

I've had several laptops over the years and I'm usually disappointed by the battery life. Except for the Gateway I have now (It's not light though) the battery life has not even been close to the manufacturers claims.

Do any of these come close to the 5 hour claim? It would be nice considering how heavy my Gateway is.


tanyawatson 8 years ago

Good info! I miss my portable so much. Someday I'll get another. Until then I guess I'm tied to my desk. Thanks for the review.


VinceSamios 8 years ago from Australia

Very well constructed hub - thanks!


Lissie profile image

Lissie 8 years ago from New Zealand Author

Because I never heard of it LOL ! Perhaps you should write a review of it?


2patricias profile image

2patricias 8 years ago from Sussex by the Sea

This is a well researched Hub. If I ever save enough to buy a laptop I might ask for an update.


SunSeven profile image

SunSeven 8 years ago from Singapore / India

Lissie, I think your content is already stolen. See the link here. I have already left a comment and flagged the blog. Please do the same. http://technews-watcher.blogspot.com/2008/07/revie...

Warm Regards


Lissie profile image

Lissie 8 years ago from New Zealand Author

Thanks for the headsup SunSeven!


Rochelle Frank profile image

Rochelle Frank 8 years ago from California Gold Country

Good work, Sunseven!-- and if this was your comment on the other site-- I'm impressed by the warning you gave.

I just came back to this becaue I was considering buying a light laptop, and wondering if Lissie had any updates.


Lissie profile image

Lissie 8 years ago from New Zealand Author

Hi Rochelle - I haven't updated this recently but personally I am seriously considered an EEEPC - and when I get closer to buying I will probably do a hub on it!


funwithtrains profile image

funwithtrains 8 years ago from USA

Great reviews -- great hub, thanks!


betherickson profile image

betherickson 7 years ago from Minnesota

I like the Mac Air. It looks like a folder in a few meters away. :)


Lissie profile image

Lissie 7 years ago from New Zealand Author

Update people I bought the EEEPC and I am very very happy with it amazingly portable!


Rochelle Frank profile image

Rochelle Frank 7 years ago from California Gold Country

Give us a review---

I keep thinking they are getting better, smaller, lighter with more features the longer you wait.

 I hve never had a laptop-- had 4 Macs so far, my new iMac is the best, but I am intrigued with the mini ones. I think I'd have to see it in person to know if I could read the screen.


Lissie profile image

Lissie 7 years ago from New Zealand Author

To be honest Rochelle I was going to rreview but there are so many reviews already its not worth it: the model I bought is the one I reviewed in this article (I'd forgotten LOL) Asus Eee PC 7g with a 701 processor, 525MB and 4g internal flash drive, linux operating system. It doesn't sound like much of a spec but it boots up in 10sec flat - MUCH faster than any windows machine: comes pre-loaded with openoffice, firefox, skype, video and photo managers - what more can you want. In fact the photos look very good as a slideshow and at A$300 it only cost about $50 more than some photo frames! Oh and its wireless modem is built in too-I just entered the security key for my modem and it connected automagically!

The keyboard is cramped: the most annoying thing as a touch typest is the misplacement of the right side shift key - you hit the up arrow instead. Now this is not restricted to subnotebooks - my partner's 17" laptop has it too! you have to try it out to see whether the keyboard will work for you

The scrreen is really clear and I have no problem seeing it to type - even though the resoution is only 800x600, the battery life is around 2.5 - 3hours with the wireless on (it would be quite a lot better with it off)

The best bit is thats its light and robust: although plastic the flash drive has no moving part - unlike most laptops inc Macs - that means its far less likely to break - and that's the important thing.

Oh and its the easiest laptop Ive ever seen for anyone to use: I could teach someone to use this much faster than either windows or macs - there is no big empty screen - there are icons you click - too obvious for the sophisticated designers!

Adding another 32GB of hard-disk using the SD slot will cost around $35 in Oz. Oh and there 3 usb ports and a port for an external montior too !


HelpingGuy profile image

HelpingGuy 7 years ago

Congratulations on your 100th HUB.

Well done. :)


Lissie profile image

Lissie 7 years ago from New Zealand Author

Thankshelpingguy - this was one of the early ones!


AndyBaker profile image

AndyBaker 7 years ago from UK

I had a sony vaio a while ago but the screen went dodgy.


Albert 7 years ago

What about adding samsung x360 to the list?


brown23 7 years ago

Wow that MacBook Air is one sexy laptop.... oh uhh I mean back to my point... great hub!! ;)


matryx profile image

matryx 7 years ago from Australia

Hi Lissie

Great hub thanks for the information much appreciated...


chandanakumarct profile image

chandanakumarct 7 years ago from Bangalore

Great Information on Netbooks. Good Study and Good Review. Great Hub. Thumbs up :)


AnnieMills profile image

AnnieMills 7 years ago from Poland

Great Laptop, Great review.


Laptop Computer Sales 7 years ago

For me maybe Acer Aspire One AOD150-1165 should be listed on 5 lightest laptop. Acer made a nice mini-notebook into a better one. The screen is larger and just as bright. The keyboard is still great (for a small one). No weirdly placed right shift key placement (Asus, Lenovo, etc). The mousepad buttons are below the touchpad not alongside (yeah). It is now easy to increase ram or replace the drive without entirely dismantling the unit and voiding the warranty. I have no complaints. I loved the first one, this one fixes all the criticisms of the first one. Nothing major just refinement. Someone is listening to its customers and it is Acer.

Addendum: the screen is glossy, and initial orders are getting the larger 5900ma battery. It stick out the back a bit, but the run time is amazing. It must be the longest running mini-laptop out there, including the new Asus 1000he and the Samsung 10nc, for much less $$. That's a win in my book. Easy to touch type (for me), good looks, I need a xd-card slot and this one has a 7-1, there is a bit a bloat ware, just delete and put on what you need, the HD is large enough.

but that just my opinion


dextermichaels profile image

dextermichaels 7 years ago from Birch Bay, Washington

Lissie...WoW!!

I fond this hub through a "related" one to mine. What a great review.

I have a nice little Acer laptop that I use everyday and love it!


Sexy jonty profile image

Sexy jonty 7 years ago from India

Great work lissie .... great little notebooks .....


kotoh profile image

kotoh 7 years ago from Chicago

Bit outdated, but nice review though. I'm looking for an affordable laptop with latest and quite good specs. Thanks...


ciidoctor profile image

ciidoctor 7 years ago

Next time I upgrade I will ask you! Great hub, SY


SarahJParkins profile image

SarahJParkins 7 years ago

I recently bought a new laptop. It had been a little while since I'd looked into such things and I was really intrigued by how the market as a whole now has such LIGHT laptops! It used to be a given that you'd feel like you were lugging a brick around, and now, most of the laptops weighed under 5 pounds. The one I got was just over 4 pounds.


chair 6 years ago

how about the vaio X series ...that has to be the lightest ....1.6 pounds and a 11.1 inch screen


fdfdfdffdf 6 years ago

Why not acer timeline 4810??? it has graphic cards for gaming man!


laptopexpert profile image

laptopexpert 6 years ago from USA

Great review. Thank You. Good Info about these laptop


Johnvincent profile image

Johnvincent 6 years ago

Nice Hub, looking for a laptop under 5lb can be hard sometimes


minzako profile image

minzako 6 years ago

Nice reviews, It can help me to find the best laptop for me

Thank,


The Rope profile image

The Rope 6 years ago from SE US

Thanks Lissie. This is a great start in my search! And what makes it even better are the quality responses you wrote.


rdelp profile image

rdelp 6 years ago

It's hard to go wrong with Mac's.


KenWu profile image

KenWu 6 years ago from Malaysia

Mac Air is the best!


Peter Enmore 6 years ago

I disagree rdelp, I prefer PC's.


laptop2 6 years ago

Great Information on laptop. Good Study and Good Review.


Mark Lawton 6 years ago

Hey Lis,

You are pretty good on these hub pages...

Nice hub this is, as I am after a nice second laptop...

I'll have to have a go at this again, I underrated them before.

http://www.mark-lawton.com


TVTopTen profile image

TVTopTen 6 years ago

I disagree rhelp...PCS are better. And I am more a desktop fan. I would like to see a hub on the 5 heaviest computers :)


WilyTiger profile image

WilyTiger 6 years ago

great post with good information. I personally prefer Mac though.


Stream Direct 6 years ago

what you think about fujitshu's not book...

i wanna buy that one....please post something on that...


Diet Solution Program 6 years ago

Ya these are nice products but confused which one is best among these.


mythbuster profile image

mythbuster 6 years ago from Utopia, Oz, You Decide

Nice review article. I am going to visit more review articles once I am ready to abandon my current laptop/notepad as I didn't read reviews prior to purchasing this one BUT SHOULD HAVE lol. It's an okay piece of tech matter but I could have gotten one with a little more function had I looked at articles like this before purchasing. Thx for sharing.


Paul 6 years ago

Another good option is the Acer AS1410 and AS1810 series. I bought an Acer AS1410-2285 for my last long trip and it worked out beautifully.

It was about $400 for a 11.6" screen "laptop" (really a netbook size) with a dual core 1.2Ghz processor, 2 GB ram, a 160GB hard drive and Win 7.


alishaneuron profile image

alishaneuron 5 years ago from Colorado (U.S)

Lap top is the need of growing business company as well as individual. Thanks for sharing this nice and great information even after reading many hubs.


nbbatt.com 5 years ago from bear, de, 19701

All are interesting info. People realize laptop is a need for work. This hub helps who doesn't know laptop much more well to go for it. Anyway thanks.


Phil Stream Direct 5 years ago

Thanks for the information, I'm in the market for a new laptop. I had my Toshiba Satellite laptop since 2005.


greencap profile image

greencap 5 years ago from Pakistan

I recently got a used Acer AOA110. And its a fantastic machine. Weighs only around 1Kg, boots quickly, runs everything a normal PC would run (even MS Office 2007 and latest firefox)

But i guess android tablets and smart phones are the future, as well as the recently announced chromebook by google


vlc 5 years ago

My Panasonic 14" Toughbook is lighter than these and has integrated optical drive.


netbooks under 200 5 years ago

The apple air laptop is still the lightest have seen


cheap netboos 5 years ago

cheap netbooks

Hi thanks for the awesome post!


cowtowngirl77 profile image

cowtowngirl77 5 years ago

I happen to like the Dell. I have had 5 or 6. I work online and always have 2 laptops available to me. I am sold on Dell.


Toshiba Lover 5 years ago

This could be the flagship notebook offer by Toshiba. More than enough for day to day usage and the screen is good. All stuff are grade A except the touchpad. It is so hard to scroll along and lucky enough that I found a matt textured touchpad skin from http://wristskin.com and instantly fix the the problem. Not just easy to scroll yet protective from polished defect.


TinaLynn profile image

TinaLynn 5 years ago

I'm actually looking at buying a new notebook in the next few months and this hub really came in handy. I was originally looking at an Acer but now considering a Toshiba Protégé.


Aceblogs profile image

Aceblogs 4 years ago from India

great information shared and very well written reviews. Well i have just bought a new little netbook of HP and it works like a charm, if you people wish to shift from notebook to netbook then this is a must go


Lynn_FJ 4 years ago

What do you think about the latest Acer Aspire S3 ? Tell all the "good" and "bad" about it.


ace11 profile image

ace11 4 years ago from Boston

Yes, the 'Acer Air" (S3) would be a good addition for comparison. Personally I went with the AO722, an 11" notebook, full size keyboard (minus the 10key) and only 1" thin and about 3 lbs, it's also much less than the S3 or any others listed here at about $300!

HDMI output, multi-in-1 digital media card reader 3 USB 2.0 ports, wifi, nice bright 1366x768 screen, AMD dual core processor, 2 gb RAM (easily upgradable to 4gb), a full version of Win7 Home Premium, 3mp webcam, and advertised up to 7 hours battery life.


Gerry 4 years ago

Adding an optical drive to your "light" notebook is a negative, not a positive! It's unnecessary legacy crap that wastes space, weight, battery, money and impedes air flow.

Why do you need a cd when your hardware drivers, music, movies, software is all avialable wirelessly via the Net and your operating system can be installed via a tiny usb thumb drive? If you're still carrying around that CD/DVD wallet, then your doing it wrong!


Anonymous 4 years ago

I have a Toshiba Portege. Not the exact same model, but close enough. Two weeks after I bought it, the chrome-colored plastic that covered the hinges broke off for no reason. Then it slid off a chair at a height of 14", and barely bumped the floor as I caught it--the lid was bent. Then a few months later the screen started suddenly dimming, then brightening on its own. (Lest you think this was because of the time it got dropped, it's not...my other Toshiba did the same thing at 1 year old, having NEVER been dropped or bumped). Now, it is getting dimmer and dimmer. I hate the screen on this. And the keys are hard to type on...even more so as it gets older. Please, do NOT buy a Toshiba. I'm going to try a Mac, or maybe a custom build. But never, ever a Toshiba. I paid twice what I've paid in the past for a laptop, and got half the life out of it. Never again. Other than that one drop, it has been well taken care of. The only good thing about this is the weight..I love how light it is. That's it. But I spent $700 for two weeks of trouble-free use.


ap100 profile image

ap100 4 years ago from India

Nice explained.. Sony viao looking good.


Java Programs profile image

Java Programs 4 years ago from India

Hi Lissie,

I hate toshiba's laptops .... though they were the first to bring the laptops in international market. I prefer sony viao ... I want to have one from the above ... thanks for the wonderful hub ... keep the good work up ....


Reves-diary profile image

Reves-diary 4 years ago from Dhaka

I am current using a netbook of Asus. It seems to be pretty good for me as i can carry out easily without being concerned of getting noticed by the hijackers! Its pretty light; therefore, i never have to think about its weight :)


cityalice profile image

cityalice 4 years ago

I love the MacBook Air. I can sit in the couch with it, and it's not heavy on my lap at all. Not only that, but it very rarely ever gets hot.


aalex 4 years ago

Actually I have a Portegé r500, bought 4 years ago. It weights 0,8 kg (1,8 lbs). My model is a little different than the one of the article...

- optical drive: not present

- connectivity: gigabit ethernet, bluetooth, wifi agn, modem hsdpa

- hard drive: 128gb SSD

Obviously I replaced Vista with ubuntu and windows xp.

I can say that i don't feel bad without optical drive, using a lot of data transfers via gigabit or via flash drives. The only moving part in the whole laptop is the cpu fan. For this reason I used to throw the laptop around :) and, it's still working!

Just a drawback: the cpu (U7700) it's not as fast as other notebooks.

It's a pity that it has been discontinued... I still think it's the best ultraportable ever made.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    More by this Author

    • Skirts For Men
      183

      Skirts are not seen as mainstream fashion in many western countries: well in the USA anyway. Well this is my hub to prove that it is in fact pretty common in many cultures for men to wear skirts or long-flowing robes. ...

    • Driving Across the Nullarbor: A How To Guide
      56

      Driving the Nullarbor plain of Australia is one of those things you just have to do once in a life time. Its an accessible adventure, which unlike many other of Australia's iconic drives doesn't require a 4WD - but it...

    • How to do basic waltz steps. (Men's and Women's parts)
      36

      The waltz is the first dance most people think the might learn when they decide to learn to dance. Whether they want to dance for their wedding or just for a social event the waltz tends to the dance they start with. ...


    Click to Rate This Article
    working