SUPERAntiSpyware Review: v4.54.1000

SUPER Antispyware 4 Box

SUPERAntiSpyware Box
SUPERAntiSpyware Box

SUPERAntiSpyware Review: Intro

SUPERAntiSpyware has been around for quite a while now, and it's clear that this software will stay on the market despite fierce competition.

A couple of months ago I was offered a lifetime license for this product, and I thank the developers for it. It's always pleasant to receive gifts, but it's simply awesome to receive such great gifts!

I thought it would be cool to write a SUPERAntiSpyware review. Of course I checked Google for existing reviews, and found just what expected to: rave reviews from affiliates who clearly seem to have no idea of what they're writing about. Most reviews lack screenshots badly.

That's why I will include in this review several screenshots you won't find anywhere else.

SUPERAntiSpyware Tray Icon
SUPERAntiSpyware Tray Icon

The Tray Icon

Since SUPERAntiSpyware installs just like any other Windows application, there's no need to describe the installation procedure.

When installed, a licensed SUPERAntiSpyware Pro with enabled real-time protection places an icon in the tray area. It is a bug - I mean, it looks like an insect. Neat and unobtrusive. The cursor hovering over, the program will display software details. If right-clicked, the bug will unfold a menu (see below).

Tray menu
Tray menu

Tray Menu

SUPERAntiSpyware lists a standard menu which you expect from a full featured security program.

For most users, the following tasks will be of interest:

  • Scan for Spyware, Adware, Malware...

SAS will launch a window which offers to run a scan, but also provides information about build version.

  • View Control Center...

SUPERantiSpyware wisely sets its default configuration to provide adequate protection against malware. Its Control Center will inspire advanced users to play with various settings. In case you mess thigs up, there's a restore option (SAS programmers sure know how necessary it is!)

  •  View Blocked Spyware Applications...

Here super antispyware will list suspicious objects. Because the program silently works in the background, sometimes you may want to go there and look what has been marked as worth close inspection.

  • Enable real-time protection

Users of the free edition of SUPERAntiSpyware will not have this option, though.

  •  Check for Updates...

If you prefer to switch off automatic updates, this is where you can initiate manual check for latest definitions. You will like clicking it because the software gets updated at least two times a day, including weekends and holidays.

  •  What's New in this Release...

SUPERAntiSpyware will conveniently enumerate the bugfixes, enhancements, added options, improved algorithms, installed antimalware signatures, etc.

Scan for Spyware, Adware, Malware...

Super Antispyware: Scan options
Super Antispyware: Scan options

Essentially you can launch a scan from here, or schedule a check, as well as get updates and manage Quarantine options. The Preferences button will bring you to an array of configuration settings.

Control Center: General / Startup

Super antispyware control center: startup
Super antispyware control center: startup

Start-Up Options allow you to tick:

  • Start SUPERAntiSpyware when Windows starts
  • Show SUPERAntiSpyware icon in system tray
  • Show splash screen on startup (I don't like any splash screens and always disable them whenever possible)
  • Use Windows XP Style Menus (more colourful!)
  • Integrate with Vista Security Center (I'm running Windows XP hence this option is greyed out). Easy to guess that SUPERAntiSpyware supports Windows Vista ;-)

Start-Up Scanning is useful for two cases: if you're security paranoic, and if your system is infected. In the latter case this is a good option to eliminate malware that autoruns with Windows.

  • Do not scan when SUPERAntiSpyware starts
  • Start a Quick Scan
  • Start a Complete System Scan
  • Start a Custom Scam (parameters and options can be specified in the Scan Center which is launched via tray menu: Scan for Spyware, Adware, Malware...)

Because my system is clean, I disabled start-up scan. Remember, when enabled it will slow down Windows booting process.

Finally, you can switch to another language and instruct the program to check for updates before running start-up scan. For normal computer operation, this is not required, but security paranoics will set this option to ON in the first place ;-) 

Scanning Control

Super antispyware scan parameters
Super antispyware scan parameters

SUPERAntiSpyware comes with a plethora of boxes to tick!

  • Ignore files larger than 4MB (leave it checked);
  • Ignore non-executable files (leave it checked);
  • Ignore System Restore/Volume Information (for deep scans it is recommended to enable this option);
  • Scan only known file types (recommended);
  • Close browsers before scanning (it's always recommended to close ALL applications before performing antispyware scan);
  • Scan for tracking cookies (not essential, but sometimes needed);
  • Resolve Links/Shortcuts during scan (SAS will check for invalid links);
  • Terminate memory threats before quarantining (should be ON);
  • Scan Alternate Data Streams (leave it ON for additional peace of mind);
  • Use Kernel Direct File Access (this is the reason developers call their program SUPERAntiSpyware);
  • Use Kernel Direct Registry Access (err... smart malware will be chased no matter how smart it is);
  • Use Direct Disk Access (allows SUPERAntiSpyware to dig "deeper" into the system);
  • Display scan option in Explorer context (definitely useful);

Excluded Folders

Super antispyware scan: excluded folders
Super antispyware scan: excluded folders

Folders Excluded to Scan

SUPERantiSpyware allows to exclude folders from scanning. Normally PC owners don't need to keep any folders excluded, but this feature is useful in case you have gigabytes of audio or video files stored in one folder. Antimalware scanners set to thorough mode will check every byte of data, so a folder full of media files will make the scan time substantially longer.

Real-time Protection

Real-Time Protection
Real-Time Protection

Hardly anybody would argue about the importance of manual antispyware protection remover.

Latest threats like MyWebSearch and Vundo, Virtumonde or Zlob are known to bypass antivirus monitors easily. Norton, AVG, PC tools, Trend Micro and other security suites often cannot catch such infections, which cause wild damage to Windows systems. Software that stops these threats sure saves lots of time and money. I'm not exaggerating; if you're not comfortable with reinstalling everything, then professional repair service will cost you up to $100 in the very best case.

Real-Time Protection options are easy to configure.

  • Enable real-time protection;
  • Show an alert when a potentially harmful application is blocked (for a completely silent mode, turn it off);
  • Play a sound when a potentially harmful application is blocked;

When enabled, First Chance Prevention will run startup scans (additionally you may instruct SUPERantiSpyware to download latest updates before the scan is started). Computers with critical mission (such as home servers) can benefit from this feature.

Real-time module will monitor browser activity, executed files, launched applications and installation of new programs.

Once, after SUPERAntiSpyware got its regular database update, I looked at the contents of the latest download:

Vundo Protection

Anti-Vundo Updates
Anti-Vundo Updates

As you can see, SUPERAntiSpyware targets multiple variants of Vundo. In case you're struggling to erase this particularly annoying malware, get a copy of SUPERAntiSpyware and it most likely will get rid of the infection.

Repairs

Repairs Option
Repairs Option

'Repairs' is a very powerful feature you won't find in other antispyware applications. Under this tab you can tackle a number of Windows settings if they got screwed by malware attacks. Did you experience desktop wallpaper hijack? Task Manager disabled? Browser homepage replaced? Highlight appropriate option under Repairs tab and click Perform Repair. SUPERAntiSpyware will correct necessary registry entries, restore system settings back to normal, and eliminate unwanted browser behaviour. I hope you won't have to use this tab often, but it's there anytime.

Updates

Updates Tab
Updates Tab

Super antispyware can be configured to check for updates every 8 hours (that's about as regular as new definitions are released). Additionally you can get updates upon program startup. If you set SUPERAntiSpyware to start with Windows, it will contact its servers before loading. Be prepared for a longer Windows startup, though.

If you prefer to update the program manually, it can remind you in case you forget to do that.

Verdict

Overall impression: it is a leighweight application. It loads times faster than Lavasoft Ad-Aware or Sunbelt CounterSpy. It uses a tiny portion of system memory when running in background (360 kilobytes in my case). Its configuration takes a couple of minutes, but there's no real need to change anything: default settings will suit most computers.

PC owners who are paranoid about security will fall in love with SUPERAntiSpyware. It can be configured to download latest updates when starting up with Windows and perform full or custom scan.

For every update, SUPERantiSpyware will provide a detailed description of newly acquired definitions.

The program can be added to Windows Explorer context menu to quickly scan any particular file/folder.

I never experienced super antispyware freezing or hanging, it is responsive, easily detects rogue software.

Silent mode allows to turn SUPERAntiSpyware into set-it and forget-it security program.

Who will benefit from SUPERAntiSpyware?

If you are a happy owner of a high-end Internet Security Suite from Kaspersky or G-Data, then I wouldn't recommend you getting a paid edition of super antispyware. You have already paid enough for PC security. It makes sense though to install a free SAS edition for occasional on-demand scans.

But if you're running an antivirus program without solid antispyware shield (e.g. Avira Free, F-prot, DrWeb, Norman, etc), then SUPERAntiSpyware will greatly complement your security software by providing additional layer of protection.

If your computer is used for Internet access by family members, friends, teens, - SUPERAntiSpyware will help to avoid infections coming from social networks, adult sites, etc. For workstations sharing Internet connection with other computers SUPERAntiSpyware Pro is as important as real-time antivirus protection.

Have you ever tried SUPERAntiSpyware?

  • Yes
  • No
  • Gotta check it out!
See results without voting

More by this Author


Comments 35 comments

razzs 5 years ago

As per my opinion SAS is a good free tech but not the excellent one.As one with free version cannot enable real time protection which is a must option in antispyware which can give needy customer a full satisfaction.So Without real time protection for free users i doubt about its complete protection.I would like to suggest SAS company to please launch a SAS free version with real time protection access to free users too.After all money isn't everything.Other than that SAS is a good software.


satyaaemula 5 years ago

ok Thank you so mch for the help..!!


charlemont profile image

charlemont 5 years ago from Lithuania Author

Can you turn to network administrator personally? Even if there's an issue inside computer (like a damaged system file or corrupt registry entry, I can only make guesses) it is very possible that something is wrong outside computer as well. Connection dropping off at 9 pm looks like the cause has nothing to do with the operating system settings.


satyaaemula 5 years ago

charlemont,I have somthing specific to tell you,I wondering that I am unable to accesss my internet after 9.00pm at any cost..otherwise in the day the connectivity is up and down..I have been watching its become a trend like after 9.00pm my time internet will not be connected..I am having a doubt whether some1 accessing my connection.Mine is a Lan connection where I have to give my user-id and password provided by network administrator.Please let me knw wat is the prblm.


charlemont profile image

charlemont 5 years ago from Lithuania Author

On Intel website there's an updated driver package v16.4 (released on 7/21/2011) which you can download and update existing installation.


satyaaemula 5 years ago

This is the model.."Intel(R) 82578DC Gigabit Network Connection"


charlemont profile image

charlemont 5 years ago from Lithuania Author

satyaaemula, what is the model of the Network Interface Card? (You can look up in Device Manager--> Network adapters).


satyaaemula 5 years ago

The Internet is still getting disconnected..What could be the reason..?


charlemont profile image

charlemont 5 years ago from Lithuania Author

satyaaemula, I'm glad it wasn't too difficult to sort out. In case if removing malware doesn't fix the problem, usually it's sufficient to reinstall/update drivers and/or software. Take care!


satyaaemula 5 years ago

charlemont,Thank you for your responses..The Other OS Windows 2003 express..I only use for my Oracle applications practices and Internet cannot be accessed from there..Any how I have re installed my drivers and internet seems to be fine now..Let me check in the day and respond to you..Thank you once again...!!


charlemont profile image

charlemont 5 years ago from Lithuania Author

satyaaemula, that's great having two operating systems means you can switch back and forth, and use your computer even if one OS is not bootable. Are these Internet connection issues specific to one operating system or both Windows XP & 2003?


satyaaemula 5 years ago

I m using two Operating system on my pc 1 is windows xp professional on C and D drives and other is Windows 2003 on E and D drives..and mine is a Desktop..Suggest me do I have to reinstall my drivers..?


charlemont profile image

charlemont 5 years ago from Lithuania Author

satyaaemula, what Windows are you running? I assume your computer is clean and there's no any kind of infection whatsoever. If this case, it may help to uninstall Network Card drivers (most probably Windows will re-install them automatically, but have a package of latest drivers downloaded from Network Card manufacturers website just in case it's needed). If your computer is a laptop or a desktop with exact model, then I think it should be easy to find a compatible driver package.


satyaaemula 5 years ago

Hi the prblm is only because of the Virus..I find this from my network provider..and Its been confirmed as well..and I am still facing the prblm..Yes'day after the post I could not use my internet..it was unplugged and when I unplug the cable and reinsert it I may find the connection somtimes and somtimes it automatically connects..I am sure its not a prblm with plugin..Can you help me with this..Thank you..!!


charlemont profile image

charlemont 5 years ago from Lithuania Author

satyaaemula, there can be multiple causes that disrupt Local Area Connection. A driver issue, a faulty cable, incorrectly placed jack (plugged not firmly enough), and that's besides possible effects of malware.


satyaaemula 5 years ago

Sas is really nice..Thank you for advice..I was facing trojan virus and my pc was getting disconnected from Local area network..and I am still facing this somtimes can you suggest somting more..80% of the disconnection has been solved.Thanks again..!!


jake 6 years ago

If you have had your computer for a while and have accumulated

the normal build up the only thing slower than this program when running a full scan is molasses.


charlemont profile image

charlemont 6 years ago from Lithuania Author

Chatsworth, what was that malware that SAS couldn't get rid of? And what's the mame of the solution? I'm sure a lot of visitors will appreciate this info.


Chatsworth 6 years ago

I liked it until I got a nasty malware then their support dept. couldn't solve the problem and just advised me to quit surfing the internet. I found help thru another free anti malware program that very easily removed the rogue program. SAS was no help at all.


Carl 6 years ago

I used this program, and it worked when others wouldn't. Love this thing.


Dusan 6 years ago

SAS is superb product. Used it for number of years and have nothing but praise for it. Hats off to the author of the program.


Alan Choi profile image

Alan Choi 6 years ago from NC, USA

very informative. I use this app and love it.


charlemont profile image

charlemont 6 years ago from Lithuania Author

dave certainly not unless you have a hard drive of exabyte's size. Stop SAS and try performing a quick scan first, then restart and scan individual folders/logical drives.


dave 6 years ago

my SAS has been scanning for almost 3 days now, and isnt complete. is this normal?


IMBAGEN 6 years ago

A comparative SCAN results between SUPERANTISPYWARE and MALWAREBYTE'S:

-------------------------------------------------

SUPERAntiSpyware Scan Log

http://www.superantispyware.com

Generated 12/30/2009 at 11:03 AM

Application Version : 4.32.1000

Core Rules Database Version : 4423

Trace Rules Database Version: 2249

Scan type : Complete Scan

Total Scan Time : 00:14:35

Memory items scanned : 580

Memory threats detected : 0

Registry items scanned : 6514

Registry threats detected : 0

File items scanned : 17272

File threats detected : 1

Adware.Tracking Cookie

C:\Users\nicky\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Cookies\nicky@lfstmedia[2].txt

----------------------------------------------------------

Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware 1.42

Database version: 3453

Windows 6.1.7600

Internet Explorer 8.0.7600.16385

12/30/2009 11:50:07 AM

mbam-log-2009-12-30 (11-50-07).txt

Scan type: Full Scan (C:\|D:\|)

Objects scanned: 167116

Time elapsed: 25 minute(s), 31 second(s)

Memory Processes Infected: 0

Memory Modules Infected: 0

Registry Keys Infected: 2

Registry Values Infected: 0

Registry Data Items Infected: 0

Folders Infected: 1

Files Infected: 0

Memory Processes Infected:

(No malicious items detected)

Memory Modules Infected:

(No malicious items detected)

Registry Keys Infected:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Ext\Stats\{b69a9db4-d0a1-4722-b56b-f20757a29cdf} (Trojan.Agent) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Ext\Settings\{b69a9db4-d0a1-4722-b56b-f20757a29cdf} (Trojan.Agent) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.

Registry Values Infected:

(No malicious items detected)

Registry Data Items Infected:

(No malicious items detected)

Folders Infected:

C:\Program Files\Live_TV (Trojan.Agent) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.

Files Infected:

(No malicious items detected)


MaxTheITpro 7 years ago

One other thing, Open Source apps have really taken off over the past few years...and they all run on Linux. Apps like OpenERP, ERP5, OpenBravo, vTiger, WebERP and other excellent CRM/ERP programs are making headway against the big boys. This is another reason why I'm sticking with Linux. Things just work!!!

Cheers!

- Max (aka MaxTheITpro)


MaxTheTItpro 7 years ago

Well, I THINK the BEST anti-virus/anti-spyware on the planet is Nix in the form of Linux or BSD-nix. I now run XP in Virtual Box on Ubuntu 9.10 and I LOVE it...no going back -- EVER!! I've had it with Windows malware, reinstalling stuff, USB autorun "traps", etc. If I see an autorun or something fishy on my USB stick in Linux, I merely DELETE it! Can't do that on X-pee.

Forget Vista and although Windows 7 is much improved, I just LOVE all the apps that come pr-installed on Ubuntu. Heck, even the LATEST releases of PCLinuxOS, Linux Mint, OpenSuse and Mandriva kick royal ass with EXCELLENT hardware detection. I'm using a Toshiba L305-S5944 and Ubuntu detected EVERYTHING.

So, for me, I'm staying put because I can do all my XP stuff inside VirtualBox which runs fast as hell. In full screen mode, you can't tell you're running XP in virtualization. All I can say is that Linux has caught up with Windows in many, many areas and even surpasses it in tons of other areas. Doing a system resource check with VirtualBox running shows both my processors running at about 4%. AMAZING!!!

Ciao!


Manna in the wild profile image

Manna in the wild 7 years ago from Australia

Good information. I am glad you mentioned the lightweight load on the system. This is an important feature as some are so heavy on resources, that people turn them off.


charlemont profile image

charlemont 7 years ago from Lithuania Author

Daniel, this is really strange. I have never experienced anything of the kind. Have you contacted SAS support about this issue?


Daniel Patterson 7 years ago

I have one complaint. No mater which computer I install on, no mater which antivirus I have installed, SuperAntiSoftware disables the antivirus everytime and I can't get around it. Any suggestions? Thanks djleap@bellsouth.net


Usa guy 7 years ago

I use it and it is simply great. I tell friends who come to me with computer problems and it has helped everyone of them make their computer malware free. I tell them to use Superanrispyware and to also get a free anti virus program. So far so good.


Misha profile image

Misha 7 years ago from DC Area

Wow! Just love your new profile pic, even better then the former one! :)


Cure4-backpain profile image

Cure4-backpain 7 years ago from Northern Germany

Hey Charlemont absolute super write up I read your write up 3 weeks ago and I was toying with the idea of purchasing a samusng NC 10 which I am now using and was thinking about a new antivirus software and one that didnt eat resources this Netbook only has a small hard drive and 2mb ram so a resources killer would be a big no no for me.

I also read a few other writes ups on google as well but your knowledge as an obvious user of this software came over to me.I purchased it an hour ago and its certainly everything you said it is,oh by the way also got the life long updates as well.

Thanks Peter


adelacuesta profile image

adelacuesta 7 years ago

Aside from this magnificent app, I would commend MalwareByte's Anti-Malware to work with this in tandem. And another one that cleaned my PC lately called Combofix.

Check it our here:

MalwareBytes - http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php

ComboFix - http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/combofix/how-to-us...


Constant Walker profile image

Constant Walker 7 years ago from Springfield, Oregon

Great piece. I only have the free version of SAS but I love it. And I plan to try this one, too.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working