jump to last post 1-5 of 5 discussions (7 posts)

An AUTHOR of popular CS Books Reads MY Blog!!

1. melbel profile image91
    melbelposted 5 years ago

So yesterday was an awesome day! I am a computer science student learning the Perl programming language. Anyway, there are these Perl programming books:

Anyway there are a bunch of those books, "Learning Perl", "Intermediate Perl", "Mastering Perl."

So I found my blog on this feed aggregator that the one of the authors of these books maintains and I was like, "Cool, whatever."

Then I get an email from the author of one of these books that was like, "Hey, I read your blog so if you ever have a question about Perl just ask it on your blog and I'll comment."

So, I opened up commenting and got some comments on some of my posts by that author. Made me feel sort of awesome. It's like a nerd's dream come true. Well, second to meeting the cast of Star Trek: Next Generation... that would be cool too.

Just sharing because cool things like this don't normally happen to me. smile

1. vox vocis profile image92
      vox vocisposted 5 years ago in reply to this

I'm glad for you melbel. You're a great hubber and a great blogger, I'm sure - so, you deserve it smile

BTW You're currently, living my dream (I'm interested in studying computer science, too - not sure I can go back to university for another five years, though)

1. melbel profile image91
        melbelposted 5 years ago in reply to this

Oh goodness, just get one of those "learn a language" books. Seriously, I paired two of those books together and learned a semester's worth of CS in one month.

I used the exercises from "Programming Logic & Design" (The rest of the book was so so, but the exercises were great.)

The other book was "Learn to Program" by Chris Pine.