Samsung Intrepid Review

My First Product Review

After much deliberation, I finally decided to do a product review after having bought the actual product that I'm reviewing as it makes perfect sense to. To me, reviewing a product that I haven't actually tested out first-hand doesn't really amount to a hill of beans; so writing a review on a cell phone I now own is not only rational but effective towards an end. I'd like to start by saying that I absolute am satisfied with this phone and have only scratched the indelible surface of what it can actually do. After reading this review, I hope that you leave here with the same impression. Please enjoy.

Samsung Intrepid
Samsung Intrepid

A Very Early Mobile Phone

Remember these?  I do!  I'm pretty sure that the first time I saw one was while while watching the show, "Miami Vice."
Remember these? I do! I'm pretty sure that the first time I saw one was while while watching the show, "Miami Vice."

Blackberrry? iPhone? Never heard of 'em!

Okay, so maybe I really have a poor and unfair comparison to make between my new Samsung Intrepid and my old, worthy-of-being-in-a-museum Nextel/Motorola i850 flip-phone. Gone are the days of "downloading" text messages from friends, co-workers, and family members. Imagine having to wait to send and receive text messages!

Released in October, 2009 the Samsung Intrepid is a viable alternative to the very popular Blackberry and Apple iPhone. Unlike the iPhone, it has a full QWERTY keyboard which keys light-up upon touch and unlike many Blackberrys, it has a touchscreen as well, so in essence, it's the best of both worlds in one package. In addition, it does not have the added expense of Blackberry add-ons in order for you to enjoy many of its free apps and features which will save you upwards of $70 a month (in addition to what you're already paying for service) if you're not already under certain Sprint data plans--an added luxury most of us would rather not have to spend. To me, going with an actual Blackberry phone is doubly expensive. You're basically paying for a brand name if anything else.

Some of the applications or "Apps" featured on a Smartphone with Windows 6.5 Professional
Some of the applications or "Apps" featured on a Smartphone with Windows 6.5 Professional
Samsung Intrepid 3.2 Megapixel Camera and Video Camcorder
Samsung Intrepid 3.2 Megapixel Camera and Video Camcorder

Samsung Intrepid Features

  • Windows Mobile 6.5 Professional
  • Full QWERTY Keyboard
  • 2.5" Touchscreen
  • Sprint TV
  • NFL Live
  • Wi-Fi Capable
  • Sprint Worldwide Service Capable
  • 3G Speeds Where Available
  • GPS Navigation Capable
  • Web-browsing Capable
  • Music Capable
  • Bluetooth
  • Email Capable
  • Tellme Application
  • Voice-activated dialing
  • Memory Card Slot

What's In the Box

  • Samsung Intrepid with Stylus
  • Standard Lithium Ion (Li-Ion) Battery
  • AC Phone Charger
  • SIM Card (Installed)
  • 3.5mm Stereo Headset and Microphone
  • USB Sync Cable
  • Get Started Guide
  • Set Up Your Email Guide
  • Features Guide
  • Basics Guide
  • Terms & Conditions of Services
  • Wireless Recycling Envelope

My Samsung Intrepid Experience

At first glance, I really fell for this phone. I read a couple of reviews pertaining to its design and one of them went as far as calling it "uninspired." It certainly inspired me enough to buy it! I think that it looks better with a rubber case, especially in black as it helps to protect it from getting scratched up, dirty, or manhandled by greasy fingerprints. Here's my impression of my phone:

  • Web Browsing and Resolution: Although its resolution is 320 x 240 its a lot clearer than that surprisingly. The phone gets real internet (like you get on your PC) and obviously, one of my favorite places to go is HubPages! You can easily zoom out and zoom in to better read the small text you'll find on certain sites. What I enjoy most is to be able to now read and comment on other people's hubs while on the run. The 2.5 inch touchscreen to me is large enough and is very responsive (should you have a problem finding your stylus by the way, it's store on the bottom right-hand corner when faced frontwards).
  • Functions and Layout: I'll admit, I wish Samsung did a better job with the navigational tool and made it more like a control pad of a video game console--the Nintendo Wii pops into mind first. However, after some time, I did grow accustomed to using this. I especially like the chrome buttons and the one with the famous Windows icon is very helpful. Overall, Windows Mobile 6.1 is very easy to navigate from one function or app to another as the resolution is crisp and colorful.
  • Camera and Video Camcorder: Although I don't use this much, I do like the availability of this feature as it's great to have when my really expensive digital camera is not at hand. 3.2 mega pixels isn't great, but it isn't bad either. I would've probably bought this phone without a camera. Overall, its camera is above average in comparison to other phones.
  • Texting and Email: By far, this is one of my favorite features on this phone. I like how it makes distinctive chirps or sounds whenever I receive a new email or text from someone. Sending and receiving texts are now instantaneous and easy to read. To top it off, the phone actually remembers your writing and texting tendencies. As you write or are texting someone, it'll actually give you suggestions as to the word you might be typing. For instance, if you typed: TH, the Windows program will suggest to you the word THANK YOU to help you. You just click on the suggested word to apply!
  • Battery: This is one of the most impressive features of all with this phone. I use my Intrepid pretty heavily during the course of the day and have yet to have the battery run out on me. Believe it or not, Samsung boasts that it's battery life on the Intrepid is 5.5 hours of talk time, but there were days when I got as far as 6 hours with one single charge! It certainly is a "juice sipper" rather than a "guzzler" of sorts.

Here are some of the added features at no extra cost to you:

Sprint

Since November of 2005, I've been with Sprint (or what used to be Nextel). I realize that there are many of you that are on the other large networks like Verizon or AT&T and like them, but I really must insist on going with Sprint as their customer service representatives are very helpful and their calling plans are reasonable, notably their Now Network. When I lived out in New Paltz, New York, I sometimes had problems with my cell phone reception due to the lack of cell towers and interference caused by be practically surrounded by the Catskill Mountain range. However, when Sprint bought up Nextel, things got a heck of a lot better, as costs went down and the quality of service went up, so, consider them as a viable alternative to Verizon and AT&T. I'm glad that I stuck with them all these years.  You can visit Sprint.com by clicking here.

Click to enlarge

Tellme

Tellme is a relatively new technology that was bought by Microsoft in 2007 to the tune of $800 million (Bill Gates sure saw something promising by doing so). So what is Tellme® you ask? In a nutshell, it's the fastest way to get information, make a phone call, or even send a text message! To me, it's like having a secretary follow me around to help me throughout my day and all's I need to do is hit two buttons and say my command. Here's some of things that Tellme® is able to do:

  • Voice to text messaging
  • Voice Activated Dialing
  • Web Search
  • Businesses
  • Stocks
  • Sports Scores
  • Weather
  • Movies
  • Traffic
  • GPS Enabled

Just say it and get it! That's exactly what Tellme® tells us.

NFL Mobile Live

For many of us NFL fans, we don't like to miss out on any of our favorite team's games. A handful of the NFL games played annually, such as the New York Giants at the Denver Broncos game on Thanksgiving will only air exclusively on the NFL Network. Luckily for me, I'm able to watch my favorite team--the New York Giants--via my cell phone-while on Sprint's Now Network for free! By the way, Sprint is the only network that is agreement with the NFL to do so (sorry Verizon and AT&T). I'm now able to watch a total of 8 Live NFL games through the course of the season, get live updates 24/7 through the NFL Network, and free audio for EVERY NFL game and much more...

Bluetooth

I shouldn't have to get into too much of what Bluetooth® is, as I'm sure that you've witnessed hundreds of people walking around using these devices while seemingly to be talking to themselves and swore they were cuckoo-for-cocoa puffs. While at Wal-Mart, I heard one guy "talking" into his Bluetooth®: "Fine! You wanna divorce?! You GOT A DIVORCE!" I guess shopping at Wal-Mart does that to people.

Windows Mobile 6.5 Professional

For those of you that use or are familiar with a Windows OS, you'll feel right at home using Windows Mobile as it's based off of Windows CE. Here are some of the things Microsoft improved upon from their their previous Windows Mobile 6.1:

  • A new Today screen highlights e-mail, SMS/MMS, missed calls, voice mail, Windows Live services, and even music and photos.
  • Improved touch is fast, and gestures now work in most e-mail, contacts, and calendar.
  • Handy new widgets display the latest stocks and weather.
  • Improved Internet Explorer Mobile is now more touch-friendly with desktop-quality display.
  • New services give you more of what you want on your phone. Browse and buy apps with Windows Marketplace for Mobile. Free Windows Live services deliver push e-mail for Windows Live Hotmail accounts. Microsoft My Phone offers protection by backing up and syncing phone information on the web.

Okay, so how much???

So how much does a Samsung Intrepid cost? Well, retail it'll run you about $450 unlocked (meaning no contractual agreement required to operate) and a measly $150 after a $100 mail-in-rebate (which takes 4-6 weeks) with a new 2-Year Agreement with Sprint. To me of course, the price was a factor when purchasing my Samsung Intrepid.  I'm don't know of any other Smartphones you could by at such a low-cost, with so many extras, can you?

In Conclusion

Given the chance, I'd buy the Samsung Intrepid smart phone all over again, mainly because of its price, functionality, battery life, and for its ease of use. Being a writer, I like to carry with me my work at all times (in case I bump into someone from Random House or Knopf) and with Windows Mobile 6.5 I can now carry ALL my written works with me to either write or edit! With its added extras and freebies under Sprint's Now Network I get to enjoy NFL Moblie Live, NASCAR Sprint Cup Mobile, Tellme, YouTube, and so much more all for free. There's also pay on-demand Sprint TV which allows you to enjoy all your favorite shows that air on ABC and Disney and Mobile channels such as The Weather Channel and Sirius Music. I highly recommend anyone to get this phone. It's very practical for the $150 I paid and I'll go as far as saying it's an absolute bargain over an overpriced Blackberry or iPhone that does not have the adequate amount of cell towers for many rural areas in the United States they allegedly serve.

I hope you enjoyed this review! Thanks for reading me!

Was this Product Review Helpful?

See results without voting

More by this Author

  • Write a 55-Word Story
    122

    From winningwriters.com: Sponsored by Tom Howard books, the Tom Howard/John H. Reid Short Story Contest is hosting its 18th annual contest. Any type of original short story, essay or other work of prose is eligible....

  • Book Review: How the Grinch Stole Christmas
    88

    Just recently, I bought my seven-year-old niece Erica three Dr. Seuss books for her birthday—Yertle the Turtle, The Sneetches and Other Stories, and How the Grinch Stole Christmas—after having learned that...

  • 2009 Hankook Girls
    103

    After writing a hub article on Falken Tire Show Girls, I decided to write another hub article on arguably their biggest competitors: Hankook Tire USA Umbrella Girls. Another name for them could also be Hankook Spokes...


Comments 54 comments

Bbudoyono profile image

Bbudoyono 7 years ago

Wow, this is great!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you for that, Bbudoyono! I'm glad you liked it.


Tammy Lochmann profile image

Tammy Lochmann 7 years ago

Wow very information packed hub! You didn't miss a thing.

Tammy :-D


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

I really am thorough in that sense (usually). Thanks, Tammy! I'm glad you enjoyed it.


Michelle 7 years ago

great hub dohn!:)


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, Michelle. I'm glad you liked it.


Peter Dickinson profile image

Peter Dickinson 7 years ago from South East Asia

That you would buy it all over again says it all for me. Definitely consider this if I purchase again. I bought a dirt cheap Apple iPhone when I has last in the land of your fathers. I still haven't figured it out yet and I have to replace the battery daily.

Thanks for the review. One of the best I have read.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, Peter. That's so good to hear. Yes, I actually worked as a subcontractor for AT&T for a time and many of their customers were less than satisfied with their iPhones. More than two-thirds of the members of my family are now on Sprint as they are very cost-effective to use. I really do appreciate the compliment! Thanks.


wesleycox profile image

wesleycox 7 years ago from Back in Texas, at least until August 2012

Excellent review Dohn, very thorough and I don't think you missed one single thing. I use Sprint and enjoy their service, I considered switching to AT&T for the sole purpose of communication while in Iraq because they are the only ones that have service over here. But I believe I'll stick with Sprint.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Hey, thanks for the feedback, Wes. Yes, I always tell people to go with Sprint as they've improved on everything that Nextel was lacking, including putting up more cell towers. Overall, Sprint is more cost-effective as a service provider. Thanks!


Philipo profile image

Philipo 7 years ago from Nigeria

Nice review. Samsung products are good. Thanks for reviewing.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thank you, Philipo. All my life, I've used Motorola, beginning with beepers/pagers, lol. I've finally crossed to a different company by going with Samsung!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

:D Thanks, HT! I think the last time I laughed was while reading you Condom hub! A 100 Hubscore would be pretty darn awesome! It'll give me more to be thankful for come Turkey Day! Thanks, as always my friend!


Tatjana-Mihaela profile image

Tatjana-Mihaela 7 years ago from Zadar, CROATIA

Very cute and interesting little toy... and so useful. Excellent review, Dohn.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Yes, us boys love our toys :D One of my favorite things to do with my Intrepid is read hubs, especially of course when I'm away from my PC. Thanks, Tatjana-Mihaela!


Keira7 7 years ago

I am never suprise when I come reading one of your hubs, they are all excellent. Bravo Dohn, you really are one of the best hubber in HP. I am glad to be your fan. Thanks for the info on this one. God Bless bro.


Pamela99 profile image

Pamela99 7 years ago from United States

Well written hub with great information.


shamelabboush profile image

shamelabboush 7 years ago

This is interesting! Never ventured into getting Samsung before but it looks interesting. I am an Ericsson fellow and sometimes LG :) Great review dohn.


Lily Rose profile image

Lily Rose 7 years ago from East Coast

Very, very good review, Dohn! I have a Samsung Glide and I hate it, the touch screen has a mind of it's own - it's like a ghost is touching the screen and making it do things and I have to power off and on again to make a phone call often. Unfortunately I'm only 9 months into a 2 year Verizon contract so I'm stuck. I've been wanting an iPhone, but when the time comes, I'll certainly consider the Intrepid! Thanks!


andromida profile image

andromida 7 years ago

Very smart looking phone. Though Samsung is cheap comparatively, its a well-established Brand now.I always put priory for battery life when I buy a phone.


Green Lotus profile image

Green Lotus 7 years ago from Atlanta, GA

Hi there dohn. Ah, to be able to read and comment on other people's Hubs while on the run. I dream of the day. I've got a BB (relatively new) and web browsing is a nightmare. I will definitely bookmark your Hub for future reference and will send it along to my friend who can purchase the Intrepid from their mobile providers. Thanks!


wannabwestern profile image

wannabwestern 7 years ago from The Land of Tractors

This looks like a great phone and I'm in the market for one in a few months. As always your writing is totally top notch. Your attitude and vision is amazing, even in a product review hub. You really are an inspiration.


Justine76 7 years ago

Hey, I am right now looking to get out of Verizon..contract is up in December and I HATE those SOB's!!!! Thanks for the review! Perfect timeing. :) I honestly had been wondering how good Sprint was...


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

@Kiera7-Thank you so much for that! Wow. I'm proud to be your fan as well. I appreciate all of your support and kind words. Thank you!

@Pamela99-Thanks Pamela! I'm glad that you enjoyed it.

@shammelabboush-Thanks, Shammel. I really like the Sony Ericsson myself, but the price tag is a bit hefty for my blood! Thank you for the compliment as always.

@Lily Rose-Sheesh...I'm sorry to hear that, Lily. Samsung has really come a long way since their flip phones...The Glide is a middle-on-the-pack player and as many of the phones in existence, it's already fast becoming virtually obsolete. I'm sure you could find another phone via internet. Thanks for commenting!

@andromida-With my previous phone, I'd be able to talk for only 25 minutes or so (on a full charge) before the low-battery light came on! I think that much of it has to do with the battery being old. Yes, I'm loving this phone for that reason in particular. Thank you so much for your comment.

@Green Lotus-That's wonderful news, GL! Thank you for doing that. I really appreciate it. I just believe that for what you pay, you really do get the most for your money with the Intrepid. I'm sure they'll like it if they do decide to buy. Thank you!

@wannabwestern-Thanks as always for your kind words! Can you tell I like this phone? My attempt in writing this was to be as honest as I could about a product I use. I'm amazed by the amount of feedback I've received, really. You know I love your writing as well and you've inspired me! Thank you.

@Justine76-You should definitely check out Sprint. They do just about everything that Verizon does and more. I think that one day they'll surpass Verizon in subscribers, but for right now, their working hard to earn your business (hint). Thanks, DM!


jobister profile image

jobister 7 years ago from Anaheim, California

Great review, but I'm sticking with my iPhone!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

To each his own! Thanks fine, so long as you like it. Thanks for reading, jobister!


juneaukid profile image

juneaukid 7 years ago from Denver, Colorado

I enjoyed reading this and seeing all of the marvelous features it has--but, alas, I'm one of those neolithic types who doesn't even on a cell phone yet.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

I used to be just like you, juneaukid! My parents both have basic clam shell-type cell phones without web browsing or text messaging. They go as far as taking pics but that's about the extent of it. Maybe one day you'll cave in too! Thanks for the feedback!


prettydarkhorse profile image

prettydarkhorse 7 years ago from US

Samsung Intrepid smart phone, can I have one I need 500 dollars for it LOL, hmmm, you always nail it Dohn, product review, short story, feature, what else can you not do, erotic triple XXX stories, bet you can still do it,

I like cellphone Asian brand, Samsung, Nokia they have lots of features too, very informative and useful hub DOHN, Happy thanksgiving to you and your family, Maita


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

*Blushes* Yes...I'm know a little something something about that too ;) I'd love to give you $500 (or $150 with a contract) for a phone! But...

Happy Thanksgiving, Maita! To you and yours, I wish you peace and prosperity! See you tomorrow ;)


prettydarkhorse profile image

prettydarkhorse 7 years ago from US

thanks, yes when the NY G has won already, YAY


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Yes. I hope so! We should be okay tonight :D


dusanotes profile image

dusanotes 7 years ago from Windermere, FL

Hey, dohn, that was an excellent article. You made it very comprehensive. You seem to know so much about these iPhones and similar communications gadgetry. I guess it's all above my head. When cells first came out I had one, for my work. But now I'm retired and I rely on a couple of land phones, that's all. If I ever get another phone it appears the Samsung Intrepid is the one to get, thanks to you and your thorough review. Don White


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks Don for the wonderful compliment. Yes, in this day and age of high-technology, the Samsung Intrepid just makes sense to me. During the time when everyone was getting a cell phone, my brothers and sisters asked me why I didn't have one and asked what I would do if I were stuck on the side of the road? I told them that I just flag someone down and ask to use theirs! Makes sense, right? Thanks again. I hope you have a good Thanksgiving!


poetlorraine 7 years ago

wow all we need to know about that gadget for sure


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Yes! Thanks, Brenda! Since I researched this well, I guess I'm Inspector Gadget then? :D Glad you liked it!


Useful Knowledge 7 years ago

This is a great hub. It makes me want to go out and buy a Samsung Intrepid. I am impressed at your product review. I think you would be an awesome salesman>>>>:)


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

I AM an awesome salesman! You know how much I like this phone! Great to see/hear from you, buddy! Happy Thanksgiving :D


wavegirl22 profile image

wavegirl22 7 years ago from New York, NY

NFL . .on your phone! Ok you almost have me sold. . except I love my IPhone too much! This one kinda looks like Samsungs Blackjack which was actually the first "smartphone" I ever had .. but I am a Mac person and as good as a salesman as you are in this hub. . or is it that you write so well (hehehe) Im sticking with my Iphone. . as for the NFL. . cant talk about that today:(


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Yes, there are a lot of iPhone users out there in this day in age. I too for a time wanted one, but being in CT (blah!) I heard that the signal for them isn't all that great (as for a few other things). I just found that the best thing that I could do is stick with Sprint...Yes, I'm familiar with the Blackjack too! And no, I don't want to talk about the G-Men for the next 10 days either!

Thanks Shari ;)


Paradise7 profile image

Paradise7 7 years ago from Upstate New York

NOw THAT's what Santa should get us all for Christmas! Great hub. Thanks.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, Paradise7! Yes, this is an awesome phone and is really the complete package if you ask me. I'm glad you liked it!


Truth From Truth profile image

Truth From Truth 7 years ago from Michigan

Great post Dohn121

I could use a new phone.


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, TFT. I hope Santa Claus can help with that ;)


Leop profile image

Leop 7 years ago

This is a great gadget you wrote about. Lots of fancy features. I don't have one myself but this is tempting. Well written and documented. Thanks for sharing!


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, Sue! I appreciate that very much. Can you tell that I like my new toy? I really don't know how I got through my day without this doo-dad. Thanks as always!


Cris A profile image

Cris A 7 years ago from Manila, Philippines

So great was this review that I want one! Off to make my Christmas list to send to you, er, Santa! :D


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks for coming by, Cris. I'm glad that I piqued your interest! I'd buy you one if I could, buddy! Now where the heck did I leave that Adsense check???


Cris A profile image

Cris A 7 years ago from Manila, Philippines

I don't know about your check, my friend but I'm expecting mine in a couple of days! Ha! LOL :D


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Nice! I'm still waiting for my first one, ROFL. I should have it to start the new year, I guess...Better late than never!


Cris A profile image

Cris A 7 years ago from Manila, Philippines

Don't worry, the succeeding ones come faster than the first. And at the rate you're going, you'll be rich in no time Mr Gates! :D


dohn121 profile image

dohn121 7 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York Author

Thanks, Cris. I only need about $20 to reach my threshold...Does Santa Claus click ads? :D

Yeah, my best month ever I think was October so far. I made $38 for that month. My goal of course is to reach $100 every month. I got a bit of research to do and then I'll be okay.


Dreartootap 3 years ago

I helpful to acquire at the top of lifestyle but lately We've built up some sort of resistance.


Futamarka 3 years ago

Даже процесс эмоциональной и энергетической наполненности лекции у визажиста и парикмахера отличается. Стилист начинает лекцию размеренно и спокойно, постепенно увеличивая эмоциональную наполненность, как бы раскачиваясь, достигая кульминации к концу выступления. У визажистов же в начале присутствует какое Прикол - либо неординарное начало (новая шутка, предложение встать и подвигаться, необычный или затянувшийся риторический вопрос).

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working