Samsung Sync - User Reviews

Samsung Sync Review

Samsung Sync 3G - phot o from www.cingular.com

Samsung Sync - User Reviews

Samsung Sync users typically agree that the Samsung Sync is heavy in the feature department but a bit light in the looks department. For a phone costing less than $50.00 (with a 2 year contract and after rebates) its most prominent features stand out to music lovers. External controls for the MP3 player, clear speaker even at high volumes, support for Napster, Yahoo Music, streaming XM radio and MobiRadio (requires a subscription fee) as well as a microSD card for loading your own songs.

AT&T (Cingular) has signed an agreement with Napster to include one year of free music, which is a $180.00 savings for its wireless subscribers.

This 3G Sync accepts most all music formats except iTunes. Cingular's high speed video is supported through the HSDA network. Last but not least it has stereo Bluetooth technology that works well with wireless headphones.

Physical features include the feeling of a good and sturdy handset. The internal screen is awesome with its wide viewing angles. Too bad, that the external screen does not get the same accolades. Does anyone wear a wrist watch anymore? Maybe not, since one of the most common complaint heard from owners of the Samsung Sync, is that the external display does not automatically show the time of day. Even though the time can be found when the phone is opened they complain that there is a lag time before the screen lights up.

The 2.0 megapixel cameral takes great pictures when in bright light. The Sync's navigation controls please many owners. The keys are large enough to easily type text messages and emails but to some there is an annoying lag in response times. Multitasking is not a high point. Apparently the MP3 player, as well as the other applications, do not play well together all at the same time. You have to exit one application be opening the next one. However, the MP3 player can be resumed by pushing a button after a call has ended.

Apparently to keep the price down no USB cable, headphones or software is included straight out of the box. An optional kit is available for $40.00.

Users are fairly happy with the battery life even when using the multimedia features. A charge every couple of days kept the music playing.

25 comments

Maribeth 21 months ago

Tocnhdowu! That's a really cool way of putting it!


Marisabel 6 years ago

This is an old entry, but I just have to say this to defend my cellphone after reading the reviews. I've had this cellphone for almost 3 years. It NEVER fail me, the front screen got cracked on a Paris trip in the metro (bumpy place). And before that It would fall from the top of my HIGH bed (almost ceiling) unto the TILE floor. And it survived. In Holland, biking in the wind, it would fall from my coat, open up in pieces on the concrete (battery out and so). And it was still completely safe! This phone has been the most trustworthy phone I've own. EVER. Now I'm trying to replace it since it's old and the calls are failing now. But before now, those years back, it was wonderful. So yes, this phone is worth it. I would buy it again... but i sort of like changes. Time for a new phone means a NEW phone.


Biz 7 years ago

physically, this phone has taken a lot of abuse. i have had it for about a year and a half and there are no cracks or overworn keys or anything. the phone itself is pretty beat up but otherwise fine. my first complaint is that it almost never reads my memory card- i have to keep taking it out and putting it back in for it to be recognized. then, for no good reason, the phone would cut out and in randomly during a call. the person on the other line could hear me, but i could not hear them. i had to put it on speakerphone when it did this, and it gets really annoying having such a frustrating and tempermental phone. the icing on the cake is that recently, the phone decided to go off the deep end. now it drops my calls all the time, and whats worse, when it is on and idle, it calls people! over and over it calls and hangs up on the last person i callled or who called me. it doesn't matter if the phone is open or closed, it's possessed and i'm fed up with it. not a bad phone for about th first year, really it can take a lot of abuse, but mine needs an exorcism....


Nick 8 years ago

i dont know why every one id dissing this phone it is a good realiable phone, yes it has a few flaws but every phone does nothing or nobody is perfect. i have it and it was much better than my old phone...a heck of a lot better. but the one thing that i dont like is that the front display is on for only a few seconds. when i want to see the time i have to flip the phone up and then close it and it is not as convient as my dads phone which is an LG all you have to do on his phone is press a button and the front display comes up longer that tha samsung a707 sync. but i got mine from att for 50.00 instead of the list price so i cant argue that much but the reason i got it was since we had insurance on it and it accidently got washed and didnt make so i had to send it back and they didnt make my old phone any more so they sent me the sync and it was a heck a lot better than my old phone so like i said i cant argue that much


Cookie 8 years ago

this is my second phone. I just broke it.. [don't know how] about 30 mins-1hr ago... reading everyone's comments im thinking its the internal antenna like someone else stated..

i had this EXACT problem with my first one.. it says i have zero bars...&& when people call it goes directly to my voicemail.. i put the sim card into my mom's phone..&& it works perfectly...

soo im calling at&t tomorrow...

again.... with the same problem as last time..hopefully my 90 day warranty isnt up [i dont remember when i sent the last one in]

other then this...i think the phone's pretty good.. i like the look [even though its kind of big] i love the features...& everything...it just keeps breaking.... maybe cuz i have a bad habbit of flipping my phone open & shut constantly.... did that maybe mess up the antenna or something? i dont know.... i like the phone... but 299.99$$?!?! not worth it..... free with contract was though...


bill 8 years ago

had the phone 2 days broke front screen other tha that it works but tha is all would not buy a nother one


Melanie 8 years ago

I am on my 2nd phone, and it still drops calls all the time (e.g., 5x in 3 mins.) with no definite area. I use this phone for business, so it is a BIG problem to have calls dropping, excessive static, etc. Sometimes the drops are less if I don't use bluetooth -- has anyone else experienced this or have any suggestions?


David 8 years ago

Piece of junk.. Phone drops calls like crazy.. Sent 2 Replacements for me and my wife.. They are not any better either.. Both drop calls like crazy... AT@T is sending 2 new replacements again.. I'm not optimistic at all... Junk


Michael 8 years ago

I've had my synch for quite a while and everything on i works fine. The owner's manual was not very helpful. It took me a while to figure out that you had to push the volume control for a second or two to get the time display to show up. One cool thing is that if you hold down the camera button while the camera is closed, it brings up a menu where you can use the camera, play music, or put your phone in silent mode. I thought that was kind of neat.

The only problem I have with the phone is that the software seems to LAG a LOT. Not just when opening the phone, but when doing just about anything. Sometimes while texting, it will seem to lock up for a moment before catching back up. Sometimes while trying to make a call, each step seems to take a full step. So I thought I would just update the software, but that option is grayed out in the phone settings, and I can't figure out why.


James 8 years ago

The Samsung SYNC is a piece of junk. You can not keep a signal on the phone. I thought it was just the first phone and got the second and it is the same way. If given the chance DO NOT BUY THE SYNC, it sucks.


Janet 8 years ago

I hate that I cannot see the time in the front. I thought my phone was broke at first, I was messing around with it for alomst an hour trying to change all the settings.


Meredith 8 years ago

I LOVE this phone's Auto Reject feature. It automatically sends unwanted calls to your voice mail. LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT!


Sandy 8 years ago

I got the red one and love it the only problem I have is I lost the battery cover and can't find anywhere to buy another one if anyone can help would be great. Sandy


Sara 8 years ago

There are alot of pros to this phone... but there are still the cons...

I got this phone along with extending my contract one year... When i first got it i was like yes! i liked the multitasking... its nice when im looking through my media and i get a text i can just hit the multitask button and BAM but my problems arnt with the softwear...they are with the overall wear and tear of the phone... note: dont put charms on it... the front screen is extreamly breakable... so now i have a large crack in the external display... secondly... the middle button, firstly on my friends sync broke off after 2 months of having the phone.mine is almost broken off and i have barally had the phone 3 months. its probably from our obsessive texting, but if the number keys are big enough for texting... and whatever. i would hope the other buttons could hold up to the wear and tear of an average texter...-Sara


Eryn 8 years ago

That's good thinkin' Jessica. I have done that before.


Eryn 8 years ago

If you want to do other things while you are listening to music then push the red button you use to hang up on phone calls once, and if you want to x out of it completely then push it twice.

The only issue I have with it is that I can't see the clock all the time.. I can always just open the phone to look at the time though.


Jessica 8 years ago

Hey there,

I think that this is an amazing phone and i LOVE it.

I have had a defect, but hey, sometimes it happens.

and to you guys with the clock problem just press one of the arrows on the side ORRRR you could go into your settings and make the light stay on longerr.


Jenica 8 years ago

I just got this phone yesterday... apart from getting a defect that wouldn't work in the store ( spending 2 hours trying to figure out why)- I got one that works.. so far so good.. BUT: if I had known about the clock only lasting for 5 sec. I would have chosen a different one. I use my phone as a clock ALOT of the time and its really annoying. My old Samsung.. ( just a little crapper one) was awesome and I had it for 3 years.... it had a clock at the front that would show 24-7.. you just had to push to 'light' it. this on is just a BLACK screen.

FALSE ADVERISING!!!


Trisha 9 years ago

Cannot keep my phone charged for more than one day. Have had 2 of these phones in the last month, hate everything about, the front display and all. Taking it back again today. Very unstatisfied with it. No wonder it's free!


steve  9 years ago

this will be the second time I will have to have this phone replaced because of the internal antenna, they replaced it for me free of charge but it has happened again and I am unable to make or receive any calls now.


Alan 9 years ago

You can hold down the volume button for a second and the clock will be displayed. This seems to be a common feature on samsung phones.


Debbie Cook profile image

Debbie Cook 9 years ago from USA Author

The front display on this phone is like the one I had on my Motorola MPX220. It was on only for a few seconds and then turned off. I know that it was saving battery life - but like you - I wanted it to stay on. Even when I charged the battery I had to open the phone to see if it was charging correcty.

I agree - do not understand why they put a clock on the front display and then not display it.


ivan 9 years ago

So, the pictures posted with this article have a clock displayed on the front screen, but the article talks about the lack of a clock on the front screen as being a major complaint of customers. Did AT&T disable (break) a feature on this phone?

I just bought this phone and don't like that the front display does not have a clock while in idle mode. Just about every other phone I have had or seen has this basic feature. At the same time, it is not a deal breaker for me. It is an annoyance, but you can hold the volume adjustment button for two seconds and get the clock to display.

As for call quality, I've only had the phone for a short time, but so far I think the call quality is great. It knocks the doors off my old RAZR. It also seems to produce significantly less interference than my RAZR did. I could not talk on the RAZR and be within 3 feet of any unshielded speakers without getting electromagnetic interference and buzzing.


don  9 years ago

Do not buy this phone - it will break just after 30 days and AT&T will not give you a different phone - you will end up paying full retail unless you feel like spending an hour yelling at someone at AT&T's "Business Care" department (they don't really care).

If you don't mind not being able to read any txt that is sent to you, not getting most of your calls, and/or you don't expect the alarm you set to wake you up then buy it - otherwise stay away from this phone!!!


JL 9 years ago

I received this phone today and plan on sending it back because of the external display issue. I wished I had looked into this before ordering.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    More by this Author


    Click to Rate This Article
    working