ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Preventic Dog Tick Collar Review

Updated on December 27, 2015

Keep your dogs tick free

Dog preventic tick collar review
Dog preventic tick collar review | Source

Ticks season is among us and unfortunately there are no products out there that are effective as we would like. Advantage and Program take care of only fleas, Frontline kills ticks but really does not help in prevening them from getting on the dog in the first place, Advantix is an effective repellent but it can be pretty pricey and tick collars do not seem to work, or worse some have even been reported to have caused some reactions in pets.

So what is left? Shall we simply accept the fact that along with a dog come the ticks and let the ticks ruin our bond with our dogs because we are afraid of petting them or allowing them inside our homes? The answer is no, because there is a new product on the market that promises to detach ticks off your dog and kill them. It is veterinarian approved and sold by Virbac under the name of Preventic.

Preventic specifically targets ticks which is why it is so effective. It effectively detaches ticks from dogs within hours of its application and it works for up to three months in preventing new ticks from attaching. Preventic unlike other tick products has an effective slow release formula which explains why it is meant to last longer. The product delivers the exact quantity of active ingredients to the oils in the skin so to allow uniform protectiveness against serious tick borne diseases.

The first time the collar is applied it takes 24 hours for it to become entirely effective. The box contains instructions on how to fit the collar properly. While water should not make the collar ineffective the dog's coat should not be washed with anything that strips the dog's sebaceous oils away such as detergent soaps or shampoos. If the dog needs bathed with such products, it is best to remove the collar, bath the dog and then reapply the collar waiting 24 hours to allow the active ingredient to spread on the dog once again.

Preventic shoud not be used on cats.

Reference:

http://www.virbacvet.com/images/resources/other/Preventic_Brochure.pdf

http://www.tickalert.com/how_protect.cfm





Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • alexadry profile imageAUTHOR

      Adrienne Janet Farricelli 

      6 years ago from USA

      Thank you for sharing, I have used it for a couple of years with great results. It seems like it does really matter how tight it is as I have heard the same problem from others.

    • profile image

      Nan 

      6 years ago

      We have used the Preventic Collars successfully on our dogs (4 med/large dogs living on a farm) for 2 years. The only time they did not work well was when we did not have the collar adjusted tight enough - it is very important you follow the instructions on how to adjust the collar.

    • profile image

      Toni 

      6 years ago

      I use this tick collar on my Annie girl and i find it works extremely well and we are in a high tick area. the one thing i did find is that the square clasp was irritating the hell out of her neck. I ground the corners off and instantly got rid of that problem

    • alexadry profile imageAUTHOR

      Adrienne Janet Farricelli 

      7 years ago from USA

      I am surprised they did not work for you, I have used it all summer and no ticks on all three of my dogs. If you look at the product reviews the majority say it works. I am not saying I do not believe you, but just saying you should perhaps contact the company, it could be you got a bad batch, it was expired or wasn't used properly. The ticks should not be able to attach as their mouth paralyzes. I think the phone number is on the box, if you do not have it I will supply it to you on request.

    • profile image

      Kevin 

      7 years ago

      I am currently using these collars on my three Chow Chows,for over a month now ,I still find live ticks attached to my dogs at least once a week .I will not use them again ,they are useless.

    • alexadry profile imageAUTHOR

      Adrienne Janet Farricelli 

      8 years ago from USA

      According to Virbac's website: '' Activity against ticks starts within 24 hours and continues as long as the collar is worn (up to 90 days)''.

      http://www.virbacvet.com/preventic/product/prevent...

      But if the instructions with the product state 2 months go with what it says, pharmaceutical information tends to change all the time.

    • profile image

      Jordanna 

      8 years ago

      The instructions clearly state that the collar is effective for two months...not three months as stated here...

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)