ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Acrylic painting techniques - Terry Harrisons top tips for acrylic artists book review

Updated on May 21, 2011

Terry Harrison shows you 115 of his best arylic painting tips in his acrylic painting techniques book

Terry’s Top Tips for Acrylic Artists, 115 essential tips to improve your painting is a handy acrylic painting techniques book filled with acrylic painting tips from Terry Harrison, one of today’s experienced artist working today. The acrylic painting techniques book will offer some great tuition and insight into how Terry Harrison creates his paintings and help you master acrylic painting.

I use acrylics for all of my traditional painting and you can see some of my work lower down on this hub page. While working for a publisher I often look at the various art instructional books that end up on my desk as part of my day job. A recent book that caught my eye was Terry’s Top Tips for Acrylic Artists, an acrylic painting techniques art book which includes various tips and techniques for painting in acrylics by artist Terry Harrison.

This acrylic painting technique book is from the well known art book publisher Search Press, known for their informative art instruction books. Like many others in the series, this is a small pocket book, and as such makes it easy to carry it with you if painting outside is your hobby. Being a nice handy sized book it measures up at 160mm x 215mm x 17mm thick with a spiral bind and the version I have in front of me is in hardback.

Spiral binding allows you to have the book completely flat without the pages wanting to fold back over and close. I really like this in books and it does help if you want the book flat out on the desk or beside your easel while trying to paint. Another personal aspect of this handy little book is the hardback cover. This means this book can take the knocks and bumps without the corners of the covers turning up, a pet hate of mine, as you will know from previous art book reviews.

At 96 pages, Terry’s Top Tips for Acrylic Artists offers a wide variety of information, tips and techniques that will appeal to a broad range of acrylic artists, from beginners to more established painters alike.

As with many instructional art books of its type, it is structured in a way as to have opening sections on various areas, including, colour, using photographs, how to start, various techniques and transferring of images. After these initial sections the book is structured under different elements to paint, with tips and tuition within each of these areas. The areas covered are varied and include painting skies, painting distance, painting fields, foregrounds, painting trees, painting mountains, painting water, painting coastal scenes, and painting snow.

The areas themselves don’t have a massive amount of step-by-steps, like many other books, but is based on more of a tips approach to help you achieve the best results, an illustrated notebook if you will, based on tips for acrylic artists. The book, Terry’s Top Tips for Acrylic Artists is filled with 115 essential tips for budding acrylic artists of all abilities and is priced reasonably at $19.95 or £9.99.

Varied introductory section

Clear tips on varied subject matters

Tips that will appeal to new and seasoned artists alike

See Terry in action with these great video clips

If like myself you like to see the artist in action I have found a couple of great clips of Terry in action.

Terry Harriso shows us how in his instructional art books

As Terry Harisson is a well know and established artist using various mediums, he has had the good fortune to have produced a number of great books in his career, many available from Amazon with some great discounts.See below for a few of Terry's art instructional books.

Lost - acrylic painting based on a science fiction story
Lost - acrylic painting based on a science fiction story
Summer path acrylic painting on watercolour board
Summer path acrylic painting on watercolour board
Summer fields acrylic painting on watercolour board
Summer fields acrylic painting on watercolour board

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Jonathan Grimes profile imageAUTHOR

      Jonathan Grimes 

      3 years ago from Devon

      Thanks for the feedback Elsie Hagley. . .

    • Elsie Hagley profile image

      Elsie Hagley 

      3 years ago from New Zealand

      Great hub. I enjoy viewing others painting art work, it is something I wouldn't try myself. think I will stay with my needlework and create beautiful sceneries.

    • vox vocis profile image

      Jasmine 

      6 years ago

      Those three paintings are wonderful, especially the second one in the row! I was never that good with landscapes, but enjoy looking at nice paintings on the subject. Abstract art is not my thing, but realistic paintings take my breath away. I'm impressed with your ability to depict depth in your paintings.

    • Jonathan Grimes profile imageAUTHOR

      Jonathan Grimes 

      6 years ago from Devon

      Hi Vox

      Thanks for the feedback on this. As far as examples of my work, the three paintings at the bottom of the hub are all mine and painted by hand in acrylics.

    • vox vocis profile image

      Jasmine 

      6 years ago

      I'm adding Terry Harrison's book to my to-buy list. I've painted only three acrylic paintings so far - reading the book would probably motivate me to continue with the hobby. Surely, I'll find some inspiration in your other hubs - hope to find examples of your own work.

    • Jonathan Grimes profile imageAUTHOR

      Jonathan Grimes 

      6 years ago from Devon

      Thanks for the feedback. I have a desk covered in art books and I am sure there are some pastel ones in the pile. I do web graphics etc for an art website and take a look here for a selection of pastel art books http://www.painters-books.co.uk/pastel/books. Hope this helps. Thanks Jon

    • Georgina_writes profile image

      Georgina Crawford 

      6 years ago from Dartmoor

      What a great book. do you know of any on pastels??

    • Jonathan Grimes profile imageAUTHOR

      Jonathan Grimes 

      7 years ago from Devon

      Hi Laura

      Thanks for the feedback on my hub it's appreciated and plenty more to come. If you liked this review, take a look at my other art books reviews.

      Thanks

      Jon

    • Laura du Toit profile image

      Laura du Toit 

      7 years ago from South Africa

      Great hub . Thanks for sharing - Will seriously consider purchasing the book after reading your hub.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)