ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review for Bernat Handicrafter Cotton

Updated on January 26, 2012
Bernat Handicrafter Cotton Yarn
Bernat Handicrafter Cotton Yarn | Source

Review for Bernat Handicrafter Cotton

Bernat Handicrafter cotton is my favorite yarn to use for crocheting up dishcloths. It is a natural 100% cotton yarn, which is not only safe to use on the dishes, but it also acts as a natural scrubber.

After several uses, the yarn becomes super soft and absorbent, which makes it the perfect yarn for crocheting all kind of kitchen items, including dishcloths, towels, placemats, coasters and aprons. Bath scrubbies and wash cloths also work well with this yarn.

Since it is a cotton yarn, you can also use it to make baby blankets, baby clothes, bibs, and other baby accessories.

I have also used this yarn to make bags, and am planning on using it for making a yoga mat later on this year. From my experience so far, I believe the yarn will help to provide a good grip for the hands and feet during the yoga postures. But I’ll have to wait and see how well it works.

Another great thing about Bernat Handicrafter, is that it is available in both large and small balls. This is great because then you don’t have to buy a big ball if you are only going to be making a small dishcloth. In addition, you can get the yarn in solid or multi colored balls.

Fan Stitch Apron
Fan Stitch Apron | Source
Double Stranded Bath Scrubbie
Double Stranded Bath Scrubbie | Source

There are different variations of this yarn, which include “Cotton Stripes,” “Cotton Scents,” “Cotton Twists,” UltraSoft” and “Peace and Love.” As much as I love Handicrafter yarns, I have not yet tried out the “Stripes,” “Twists,” or the “Scents.” The “Scents” sound like a therapeutic yarn as they release a scent while it is being worked.

The biggest downfall of this yarn is that it fuzzes up a lot during washing. However, after a few washes, a lot of the fuzzies seem to disappear, and you end up with a beautiful fabric. Another downfall, which is normal for any cotton material, is that it shrinks a lot if you leave it in the dryer at a high temperature for too long.

Yarn Information At-A-Glance:

Weight: Medium Weight (Category 4)
Recommended Hook Size: 7/4.50MM
Recommended Needle Size: 7/4.50MM
Knitting Gauge: 20 sts and 26 rows = 4”/10cm
Material: 100% Cotton
Care Instructions: Care instructions vary from each type of yarn. But in general they are machine washable and dryable. Bleach is not recommended.
Available Colors: There are a huge number of colors available, which include both solids and variegated yarns.

Net Weight per Ball: Small Balls are about 1.75oz/50g and the large ones are 12oz/240g.
Available At: Walmart, Amazon and other online stores.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Rhelena profile imageAUTHOR

      Rhelena 

      6 years ago

      Thanks PWalker!

    • profile image

      PWalker281 

      6 years ago

      Will do, Rhelena!

    • Rhelena profile imageAUTHOR

      Rhelena 

      6 years ago

      Kschimmel, I always wondered if there was a difference between the yarn. I think I bought Sugar and Cream once, but can't remember how it turned out. But it was more expensive and so I never bought it again. Thanks for letting me about the difference.

      PWalker, I never had the chance to try peaches and cream, but if you miss it, then it must have been a nice yarn. If you have a chance to try Bernat, I would love your opinion on it. Thanks again for the vote!

    • profile image

      PWalker281 

      6 years ago

      I'll have to try this yarn. When Peaches and Cream, a very nice cotton yarn, was bought by Lily's Sugar and Cream, I was sad to see the yarn disappear. But looks like there are alternatives to try. Thanks for sharing. Rated up and useful!

    • kschimmel profile image

      Kimberly Schimmel 

      6 years ago from North Carolina, USA

      I had used Sugar'n Cream for years, but then found some Bernat on sale. The Bernat cotton made a much softer dishcloth--in fact, I made a bigger dish towel with it for drying dishes.

    • Rhelena profile imageAUTHOR

      Rhelena 

      6 years ago

      Craftdrawer, yes I agree. Not all yarns work for all projects. Thanks for stopping by.

    • craftdrawer profile image

      craftdrawer 

      6 years ago

      Great review....It's nice to know what yarn to use when crocheting..

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)