ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Arts and Design»
  • Crafts & Handiwork

Review of Bernat Cottontots Yarn

Updated on February 8, 2012
Bernat Cottontots Yarn
Bernat Cottontots Yarn | Source

Review of Bernat Cottontots Yarn

Bernat Cottontots is one of my new favorite baby yarns. I have only gone through a couple of small balls, but I already know that I like it. I guess what I like about it most is that it is a natural and soft cotton yarn that will not irritate a baby’s sensitive skin. Natural yarns are generally a bit more expensive, however, they are worth the few extra dollars.

So far the only things that I have made with this yarn is a baby earflap hat and a toddler flower headband. I made them with the “very berry” color and both items turned out to be very pretty. The yarn is said to be good for making baby blankets, baby clothing and many other baby items as well. I imagine that it would work really good for a little dress or a jacket.

The yarn is slightly textured but still very easy to work with. It also appears to be quite strong and durable.

Bernat Cottontots yarn is not as easy to care for as most other yarns. The yarn label recommends that it be washed by hand at a low temperature. Also, it is recommended that you dry it flat.

Yarn Information At-A-Glance:

Weight: Medium (Category 4)
Recommended Hook Size: 7-4.50MM or H/8-5.00MM
Recommended Needle Size: 7-4.50MM
Crochet Gauge: 20 sts and 26 rows = 4”/10cm (with 7-4.50MM)
Knitting Gauge: 20 sts and 26 rows = 4”/10cm
Available Colors: 18 colors, including both solids and ombres.
Net Weight per Unit: (Solids) 3.50oz/100g (Ombres) 3.00oz/85g
Length Per Unit: (Solids) 156m/171yds (Ombres) 137m/150yds
Material: 100% Cotton
Care Instructions: Wash by hand in warm water and dry flat. Do not bleach, iron or dry clean.
Available At: Len’s Mill, Amazon and other online stores.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Rhelena profile image
      Author

      Rhelena 4 years ago

      Ah finally someone else who buys yarn without having a project in mind for it lol. If you go to their website you should find lots of patterns for this yarn. Hope you enjoy working with it too :)

    • faythef profile image

      Faythe F. 4 years ago from USA

      I just recently bought some of this yarn....I need to get busy now and make something..thank you for the review..Hmm now what should I make ?

    • Rhelena profile image
      Author

      Rhelena 5 years ago

      Gail, I agree, it is great to work with. Thank you for stopping by.

    • profile image

      Gail 5 years ago

      I have made 2 baby sweaters from this yarn and it is a joy to work with...

    • Rhelena profile image
      Author

      Rhelena 5 years ago

      It's a very nice yarn, and I'm sure you will like it as well. Thank you for the vote.

    • profile image

      PWalker281 5 years ago

      Now this sounds like a nice yarn, particularly for crocheting here in Hawaii where the weather is warm to hot year round. Will have to keep it in mind next time I make a cotton yarn purchase. Thanks for sharing. Rated up and useful.