ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Arts and Design»
  • Crafts & Handiwork

Review of Bernat Cottontots Yarn

Updated on February 8, 2012
Bernat Cottontots Yarn
Bernat Cottontots Yarn | Source

Review of Bernat Cottontots Yarn

Bernat Cottontots is one of my new favorite baby yarns. I have only gone through a couple of small balls, but I already know that I like it. I guess what I like about it most is that it is a natural and soft cotton yarn that will not irritate a baby’s sensitive skin. Natural yarns are generally a bit more expensive, however, they are worth the few extra dollars.

So far the only things that I have made with this yarn is a baby earflap hat and a toddler flower headband. I made them with the “very berry” color and both items turned out to be very pretty. The yarn is said to be good for making baby blankets, baby clothing and many other baby items as well. I imagine that it would work really good for a little dress or a jacket.

The yarn is slightly textured but still very easy to work with. It also appears to be quite strong and durable.

Bernat Cottontots yarn is not as easy to care for as most other yarns. The yarn label recommends that it be washed by hand at a low temperature. Also, it is recommended that you dry it flat.

Yarn Information At-A-Glance:

Weight: Medium (Category 4)
Recommended Hook Size: 7-4.50MM or H/8-5.00MM
Recommended Needle Size: 7-4.50MM
Crochet Gauge: 20 sts and 26 rows = 4”/10cm (with 7-4.50MM)
Knitting Gauge: 20 sts and 26 rows = 4”/10cm
Available Colors: 18 colors, including both solids and ombres.
Net Weight per Unit: (Solids) 3.50oz/100g (Ombres) 3.00oz/85g
Length Per Unit: (Solids) 156m/171yds (Ombres) 137m/150yds
Material: 100% Cotton
Care Instructions: Wash by hand in warm water and dry flat. Do not bleach, iron or dry clean.
Available At: Len’s Mill, Amazon and other online stores.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Rhelena profile image
      Author

      Rhelena 5 years ago

      Ah finally someone else who buys yarn without having a project in mind for it lol. If you go to their website you should find lots of patterns for this yarn. Hope you enjoy working with it too :)

    • faythef profile image

      Faythe Payne 5 years ago from USA

      I just recently bought some of this yarn....I need to get busy now and make something..thank you for the review..Hmm now what should I make ?

    • Rhelena profile image
      Author

      Rhelena 6 years ago

      Gail, I agree, it is great to work with. Thank you for stopping by.

    • profile image

      Gail 6 years ago

      I have made 2 baby sweaters from this yarn and it is a joy to work with...

    • Rhelena profile image
      Author

      Rhelena 6 years ago

      It's a very nice yarn, and I'm sure you will like it as well. Thank you for the vote.

    • profile image

      PWalker281 6 years ago

      Now this sounds like a nice yarn, particularly for crocheting here in Hawaii where the weather is warm to hot year round. Will have to keep it in mind next time I make a cotton yarn purchase. Thanks for sharing. Rated up and useful.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)