ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Arts and Design»
  • Crafts & Handiwork

Review of Red Heart Soft Touch

Updated on January 26, 2012
Red Heart Soft Touch Yarn
Red Heart Soft Touch Yarn | Source

Review of Red Heart Soft Touch

Red Heart Soft Touch yarn is an inexpensive yarn that is not only soft, but it is also durable and easy to work with. The softness is almost like a satiny soft, and it feels great in the hands as you work with it. Not only that, the fabric it creates is tough and heavy, yet it appears soft, and has a nice drape to it.

My experience with Red Heart Soft Touch has been nothing but good. I have used this yarn to make some bags, cowls, scarves and an afghan, and they all turned out great. And because of its lovely drape, you could also use this yarn for making beautiful sweaters and other clothing.

The only downfall this yarn is that it is synthetic, which might be irritating to someone with sensitive skin.

According to the Coats & Clark website, this yarn is available in 29 colors. It comes in a variety of solid colors, as well as in multi-colors. Maybe I haven’t looked hard enough, but I have never seen it in a multicolor at my local Walmart. But they seem to be readily available online.

Another thing that I like about this yarn is that it has all my favorite fall colors. I am not good at color coordination, but these colors are very easy to work with and go well with each other. My absolute favorite are the dark red, orange and brown. Other fall colors include a nice bright yellow, and two shades of green.

Fall Flower Afghan
Fall Flower Afghan | Source

Afghan Made with "Soft Touch" Yarn

To the right of this, you can see some of the fall colors in my Fall Flower Afghan that I made last fall. Since it is an afghan, you can use just about any yarn that you have on hand, but it turned out great with the Soft Touch.

Oval Tote
Oval Tote | Source

Tote Bag Made with "Soft Touch" Yarn

Once again, to the right, is a picture and a link to my bag pattern that I designed using this yarn. This is one of my favorite bags that I have ever crocheted, which is mainly due to the fact that I used Red Heart Soft Touch.

Yarn Information At-A-Glance:

Weight: Medium Weight (Category 4)
Recommended Hook Size: 7-4.50MM
Crochet Gauge: 17 st and 19 rows = 4”/10cm.
Knitting Needle Size: 8/5.00MM
Knitting Gauge: 20 sts and 26 rows = 4”/10cm.
Material: 100% Acrylic
Care Instructions: Machine wash and tumble dry. Do not bleach or iron.

Available Colors: According to the Coats & Clark website, it is available in 29 colors.

Net Weight per Ball: 5oz/140g for Solids and 4oz/113g for Multi-Colored.
Length Per Ball: Solids are approximately 257m/281yds in length, and Multi-Colors are approximately 206m/224yds in length.
Available at: Walmart, Amazon.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Rhelena profile image
      Author

      Rhelena 6 years ago

      PWalker, I don't know about the classic, but the Super Saver isn't my favorite yarn either...It's too bad they don't carry the soft touch because I'm sure that you would like it. Thanks for the vote. :)

      Barbara, Thank you as well. You should definitely try it if you have a chance...it is not like most other red heart yarns.

    • Barbara Kay profile image

      Barbara Badder 6 years ago from USA

      Rhelena, Good review. I haven't tried this yarn yet, but I will.

    • profile image

      PWalker281 6 years ago

      I'll have to check out this yarn too if I can find it at Walmart's. The Hawaii's local craft chain, Ben Franklin Crafts, only carries Red Heart Classic and Super Saver which aren't the best yarns in the world to work with. Thanks for sharing. Rated up and useful.

    • Rhelena profile image
      Author

      Rhelena 6 years ago

      Thank you craftdrawer!

    • craftdrawer profile image

      craftdrawer 6 years ago

      I agree with you it is an inexpensive quality yarn with lot of colors. Terrific write up!!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is used to quickly and efficiently deliver files such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisements has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)