ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Arts and Design»
  • Crafts & Handiwork»
  • Textiles

Charmed Knits Knitting Projects Reviewed By and For Fans of Harry Potter

Updated on September 12, 2014

Want A Harry Potter Scarf? Charmed Knits Projects Will Help You Knit One For You Or For Your Fan of Harry Potter!

Since the very first Harry Potter movie, I have wanted a Harry Potter scarf. I even went so far as to purchase the yarn, in burgundy and gold, to make one. However, all these years have passed (the first Harry Potter movie, Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone was released in 2001) and I still don't have one.

It was therefore with interest that I read of Charmed Knits: Projects for Fans of Harry Potter by Alison Hansel. For the price of not much more than a single pattern, I can have a book packed with projects for people like myself who love Harry Potter!

Granted many of the patterns will be beyond my knitting ability, for I believe that remembering how to knit well enough to do a scarf will be a challenge. Knitting a sweater or a pair of socks, well, let's just say THAT should prove beyond my meagre knitting ability.

On this page, find my review (for what it is worth) of this knitting pattern book PLUS (and more importantly) find the review of other knitters, amateur and expert and even those who are somewhere in between in knitting ability. I hope it inspires you to make a scarf or a sweater or eve a pair of socks, if that is what interests you. And don't forget you can always ask a knitting grandma, aunt or friend to create an item for you...that may be the answer to my quest for a Harry Potter scarf!

Click here to order your copy of Charmed Knits: Projects for Fans of Harry Potter from Amazon.

"Sit and Knit A Spell"

Harry Potter's Sweater
Harry Potter's Sweater | Source

Charmed Knits: Projects for Fans of Harry Potter Book Description

Harry Potter's red sweater.

Use the magically knitting abilities that you did or did not know you had to conjure up some Harry Potter knitted pieces but don't go it alone. Check out this book, Charmed Knits, which offers many Harry Potter themed pieces including but not limited to a wizarding robe, an invisibility cloak, a sweater from Quidditch, a raglan sweater like the one Ron wears, a blanket and even some Christmas decorations.

It features coloured photographs of each project, patterns and illustrations designed to "make it easy" for all from beginners to Mrs. Weasley's more advanced knitting level.

Use the patterns to create Harry Potter themed projects for yourself or for the other Harry Potter geeks in your family.


Knit Today says there are techniqus and abbreviations in this book that will help novice knitters knit their way to Hogwarts.

Amazon Customer Reviews Of Charmed Knits

Music Lover from Wisconsin writes that she is a Muggle who has a 14-year old Potterhead and four extended family members who are batty over Harry Potter. She says this book has projects ranging from small to big and that they are sized from toddler to adult XXL. She particularly likes the invisibility cloak that is created in a "pale gray laceweight cashmere" and the house scarf bookmarks.

Manchesterunicorn says she's a bit fan and a beginning knitter. She likes this book and intends to use it to become a better knitter.

Finally, Adrienne Mueller says she loves the book and everything in it from the weasley sweater to the quidditch socks.

Harry Potter's House Socks

Harry Potter  House Socks
Harry Potter House Socks

Order Your Copy Of Charmed Knits: Projects for Fans of Harry Potter From Amazon

Charmed Knits Projects for Fans of Harry Potter
Charmed Knits Projects for Fans of Harry Potter
The Unofficial Harry Potter Knits
The Unofficial Harry Potter Knits

The Unofficial Harry Potter Knits Special Issue Magazine 2013

If this existed in prior years, I missed it but I knew many knitters would be excited to see another source of inspiration for Harry Potter themed knitting. Love the ideas as mentioned on the cover: a Ginny inspired sweater, Albanian forest mittens and a Hagrid-style pullover.

Are YOU interested in a scarf, sweater or even socks knitted from Charmed Knits: Projects for Fans of Harry Potter?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • kimberlyschimmel profile image

      Kimberly Schimmel, MLS 4 years ago from Greensboro, NC

      @TreasuresBrenda: The patterns in the book are very clear. The author is a very good knitter who can write excellent instructions.

    • TreasuresBrenda profile image
      Author

      Treasures By Brenda 4 years ago from Canada

      @kimberlyschimmel: You must be a talented knitter. I have a son who would love to own a Quidditch sweater but alas, his mother does not knit.

    • kimberlyschimmel profile image

      Kimberly Schimmel, MLS 4 years ago from Greensboro, NC

      I love this book! I just finished the Mrs. Weasley housecoat with the fabulous sleeves. I've also done the scarves, Quidditch sweater, and socks.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      The items featured here are smashing! I've don't plan to knit anything myself because Mrs. Wesley and Ginny keep me well stocked in charming knits.

    • SusanDeppner profile image

      Susan Deppner 6 years ago from Arkansas USA

      What great projects for Harry Potter fans! These would be fun gifts to make. Returning the lensroll to my Marie Osmond Heartfelt Giving book lens. Bet she'd enjoy these projects, too!

    working