ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Metal Clay Product Reviews

Updated on March 4, 2016
Margaret Schindel profile image

Margaret Schindel is a jewelry artist and internationally known expert on metal clay techniques. PMC certified in 2006 by Celie Fago.

Unbiased Reviews and Recommended Products for Metal Clay Artists

More and more people - from hobbyists to world-renowned artists - are using precious metal clay (PMC and Art Clay Silver and Gold) to create fine jewelry, small sculptures, and other objets d'art in .999 silver and 22K gold, often with accents of dichroic and other art glass, porcelain, gemstones, and even pure 24K gold. With the recent introductions of base metal clays (bronze clay and copper clay), metal clay artists now have the ability to create jewelry and other items in bronze, white bronze, copper and steel as well.

Increased awareness, acceptance and adoption of metal clay as a unique and valuable artistic medium has created a growing market for products, tools and publications for metal clay artisans. New uses for old products are being discovered and marketed to metal clay artists and enthusiasts. Manufacturers are developing innovative new products specifically to meet the needs of metal clay artisans. Magazines are adding more content devoted to metal clay-related information and projects. And many of the world's top metal clay artists and instructors are coming out with new books.

As an experienced metal clay jewelry artist, author of numerous metal clay techniques articles, and the Senior Editor and Technical Editor of Metal Clay Artist Magazine I am often asked for my opinions about specific products and/or my recommendations on what to buy. I have read most of the books on metal clay that has been published to date, and have used many (probably most) of the metal clay tools and supplies on the market. This article will not cover all of them, or even all the ones I like and recommend. Instead, I will be reviewing selected products that I have chosen for their unusual effectiveness, usefulness, or unique properties and benefits. I hope you'll find my reviews helpful!

The Metal Clay Product Reviews Are Based On My Personal Experience as a Metal Clay Artist

Forgive me for stating the obvious: These reviews express my personal opinions, experiences and observations about products I've used. Your mileage may vary, and my preferred products may not appeal to you at all.

Also, despite my best efforts to provide accurate, up-to-date information, there's always a chance that something here might be incorrect or out of date. Feel free to bring factual inaccuracies to my attention. I will try to verify the relevant information and correct it here ASAP.

I hope these product reviews will provide you with valuable information and insights to help you make informed buying choices.

Happy claying!

Source

Sherri Haab Pastemaker

I used pure essential lavender oil to make metal cay oil paste for many years, and it works well. So when Sherri Haab first came out with her Pastemaker solution, my first reaction was, "Why do I need a specialty product to make metal clay oil paste?" I didn't order a bottle until my respected colleague Wanaree Tanner started raving about it. It wasn't long before I started raving about it, too.

Advantages:

  • Metal clay oil paste made with Sherri Haab Pastemaker solution is sticker and has better "grab" than slip strengthened with lavender oil. That makes it easier to attach components - especially ones that are placed on a curve or at an angle - and have them stay properly aligned while the oil paste dries.
  • Once oil paste made with Pastemaker solution has dried, it is stronger and less than dried lavender oil paste. Both this and the stickiness are important advantages when repairing broken pieces or attaching new elements. And because the are more secure, especially on unfired metal clay, and the dried slip is more durable, it can easily be refined with needle files, sandpaper or sanding pads or sponges before firing.
  • After firing, repairs are more durable than those made with metal clay lavender oil paste.
  • Smoother, creamier texture than past made with lavender oil. I find that this makes it easier to apply and control for joins or repairs.
  • Like lavender oil paste, slip made with Sherri Haab Pastemaker solution can be used to make attachments or repairs on both unfired and fired metal clay. It can attach pieces of dried, unfired metal clay (greenware); pieces of fired metal clay; fired or unfired clay to metal sheet, wire or findings; and greenware to fired metal clay.

I don't know the secret to Pastemaker's effectiveness. I'm guessing that it somehow helps the slip penetrate into the pores of both unfired and fired metal clay better than lavender oil, giving it superior holding power on pieces to be attached or repaired. However it works, it does a fantastic job.

Limitations:

None that I can think of.

Cost:

As of this writing (March 2016), a 1 oz. (30 ml) bottle of Sherri Haab Pastemaker costs $6.95.

Cool Tools Clay Rolling Frames

I purchased Cool Tools Clay Rolling Frames many years ago, when they first came out. I now own them in both the regular and jumbo sizes and find them much more accurate and even than using stacks of playing cards or color coded plastic slats for rolling uniform sheets or slabs of metal clay. There's no reason you couldn't use them to roll out polymer clay, especially if you don't own a clay-dedicated pasta machine. I've even used mine for rolling out slabs of two-part silicone molding compound into flat, even slabs for creating my own flexible texture sheets.

Advantages:

  • More even, uniform sheets or slabs of clay. When you use stacks of playing cards, plastic rolling slats, or other thickness spacers for rolling out sheets of clay, if you use firm pressure there's a good chance that the two edges of the clay where the thickness spacers end will be thinner than the center section. Cool Tools Clay Rolling Frames maintain the thickness on all four edges of the clay and keeps your roller completely level across the entire surface of the clay.
  • More even, uniform depth of texture. Maintaining a uniform space between the roller, the clay and the texture across the entire surface results in an impression of uniform depth throughout the entire sheet.
  • Roll longer slabs of clay. Standard playing cards are only 3.5" long. The regular size Cool Tools Clay Rolling Frames (outer dimension: 4" x 7") are perfect for rolling clay onto Cool Tools Texture Tiles (approximately 2" x 4") or any texture of a similar, smaller or even slightly larger size. The extra-large Jumbo Clay Thickness Rolling Frames (outside dimension: 8-1/2" x 8-5/8") allow you to roll and texture long, wide slabs, e.g., for making cuff bracelets, large necklace centerpieces, metal clay bezel strips, etc.
  • Quickly and easily roll clay from 2 to 28 cards thick! I don't know of any project that requires a slab that thick, but you'd need two decks of playing cards to make stacks that tall. The standard size includes 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 8 card thick frames, so you can stack them to make any thickness from 2 to 28 cards. The jumbo size comes in 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 card thick, to roll sheets from 2 to 20 cards thick.
  • More durable than playing cards. Playing cards are made of thin, coated paper stock, and they tend to warp or even swell up with moisture over time. And if clay or paste gets on them, they're not easy to clean. By contrast, these plastic rolling frames don't warp or swell, and cleaning off stray bits of metal clay or paste is a snap.
  • Numbered for ease of use. Each rolling frame is permanently marked with its card thickness. So the 2 cards thick frame is marked #2, the 3 cards thick frame is marked #3, etc.
  • Easy to store. Since you need only one rolling frame to roll out a sheet of clay, a stacked set of all six frames takes up less storage space than a deck (or two) of cards.

Limitations:

  • More expensive than playing cards. A deck of playing cards is fairly inexpensive compared to the cost of an entire set of rolling frames. However, if you tend to make pieces that are rolled out at the same one or two thicknesses, you can buy individual rolling frames just in those sizes.
  • Doesn't include a 1 card thick frame. There are very few situations that call for clay rolled only 1 card thick, but for making metal clay bezel strips, for example, there are times when you may want your sheet that thin. You can cover both sides of a sheet of bulletin board paper or thin construction paper with clear self-adhesive film (e.g., Con-Tact) and then use one of the Cool Tools rolling frames as a template to cut it out with a scalpel or sharp craft knife. See Wanaree Tanner's Youtube video tutorial for Metal Clay Artist Magazine, below, for more detailed instructions.
  • The jumbo size frames require a longer clay roller. A typical 6" long clay roller can be used with the regular size rolling frames, although it will overlap only the inner edges of the frame, so a 7" long roller is a better option. And a 10" or 11" long clay roller is needed for the wider jumbo size frames.

Cost:

  • As of this writing (February 2016), the regular size Cool Tools Clay Rolling Frames cost $5.95 each for the #2, #3, #4, #5 or #6 frame and $6.95 for the #8 frame, or $31.95 for a set of all six. I recommend getting the bundle of all six sizes plus the 7" Ultimate Non-Stick Clay Roller (see my review below) for $36.95. You'll use these tools constantly and they'll last you for many years. The Jumbo frames cost $9.95 for sizes #2, #3 and #4, $10.95 for size #5 and $11.95 for size 6, or $29.95 for a set of all five. You'll definitely want an 11" roller to use with these frames, so I recommend the bundle of all five jumbo frames plus the 11-inch Ultimate Non-Stick Clay Roller for $34.95.

Wanaree Tanner Video Tutorial for Making a Thin Rolling Frame and Metal Clay Bezel Wire

Cool Tools Ultimate Non-Stick Clay Rollers

Whether or not you use the clay rolling frames reviewed above, I highly recommend the Cool Tools Ultimate Non-Stick Clay Roller. True to its name, I have found this roller not to stick to metal clay. I own both the 7" and 11" long versions, which also happen to be the perfect sizes to use with the regular and jumbo rolling frames. As of this writing (February 2016), the 7-inch nonstick roller costs $5.95 and the 11-inch nonstick roller costs $7.20.

UltraLite Beehive Kiln (120V) Product Review

This small, relatively inexpensive, versatile kiln can be a smart investment for metal clay artists. It's useful not only for firing small-to-medium sized metal clay pieces but also for keum-boo, enameling, glass fusing, silver fusing and granulation.

The UltraLite Beehive Kiln from JEC Products, Inc. is a multi-use "trinket kiln" that's extremely useful for metal clay artisans. It's more versatile than torch-firing and less expensive than buying a full-size kiln. Best of all, it's a purchase you won't outgrow even after you purchase a full-size kiln (or if you own one already), because you'll still use the UltraLite for enameling and for keum-boo (applying 24k gold foil to your fired metal clay pieces with heat and pressure). And if you buy the optional temperature controller, you also can use it for granulation, fusing silver, and fusing glass.

Many people start out firing fine silver metal clay with an inexpensive butane torch, but to ensure full sintering you're limited to firing fairly thin pieces no larger than a quarter or maybe a half-dollar. (The reason is that if you fire anything larger or thicker, it's almost impossible to keep the entire piece at sintering temperature throughout the firing process because you need to keep moving the flame around, creating hotter and cooler spots the flame moves.) The UltraLite enables you to sinter larger, thicker pieces than you could with a torch.

Advantages:

  • The UltraLite is significantly less expensive than most full-size kilns.
    As of this writing (updated January 2016), the UltraLite kiln, which comes with a spatula and instruction booklet, costs $188 to $219, and the ceramic discs you'll need for firing metal clay cost between roughly $20 and $30. So you get a basic UltraLite kiln set-up for metal clay for approximately $208 to $250 (plus another $38 to $55 if you add a set of two red brass covers for keum-boo, which I highly recommend) as opposed to $600-$1000 or more on a full-sized kiln. Then you can add other optional accessories, such as a temperature controller, flat cover for enameling large pieces, a heavy-duty extension cord, etc., only if and when you need them.
  • The UltraLite beehive kiln uses much less electricity than a full-size kiln, and costs about 7 times less to run.
    In an e-mail exchange with JEC Products' John Chabrian, he told me that "The UltraLite uses only 250 Watts of electricity compared to the 1700 Watts used by the larger box kilns. This equates to operating costs that are 7 times lower."
  • The UltraLite enables you to fire larger, thicker and more complex pieces than you can with a torch.
    You can fire bigger metal clay pieces with a higher degree of confidence that they will be sintered fully without being melted by the flame accidentally (assuming you have done the recommended firing test)..
  • The UltraLite has multiple additional uses for metal clay and jewelry artists beyond just firing metal clay.
    It also can be used for enameling, keum-boo, fusing glass, fusing silver, and granulation. (Some of these require the use of the optional temperature controller.) And with the addition of the optional Flat Cover, which raises the temperature of the kiln by 100°F, it can be used to fire larger enameled pieces.
  • It's the best, easiest, most reliable heat source for keum-boo application.
    The UltraLite kiln with the red brass covers designed by Celie Fago for keum-boo application makes the process nearly foolproof. It's cooler (if you face the kiln opening away from you) than a hotplate and achieves and maintains the perfect temperature for diffusion bonding the gold to fine silver effortlessly. With the high prices of precious metals, it's especially important to have a heat source that helps to produce perfect results every time. (Just remember to burnish well and check those edges!) :)
  • A second ceramic insert disc placed on the lid can be used as a drying surface for your metal clay pieces while the UltraLite kiln preheats.
    10 minutes usually is enough to dry most pieces this way. You don't need a separate mug warmer, and it provides extra insurance that no moisture is left in pieces that have been air-dried (with or without a dehydrator).
  • The UltraLite needs only 15 minutes recovery time between firings.
    When you fire metal clay in the UltraLite, you place a ceramic insert (waffle-textured side down) over the heating element, cover with the domed lid and preheat the kiln for 45 minutes before adding your metal clay greenware. After you fire and remove your piece, if you want to do another firing, just replace the cover for 15 minutes to bring it back to full firing temperature.
  • You can fire the UltraLite on virtually any flat surface next to an electrical outlet.
    Many people use the kiln on their kitchen counters. Just put it on a heat-proof surface - a large ceramic tile, an insulated counter protector, etc. - and put another heat-proof surface next to it so you can set down the hot lid, hot tools, etc.

Limitations:

  • The UltraLite doesn't offer the same temperature range or control of full-size kilns.
    The UltraLite kiln with the ceramic inserts for metal clay fires at approximately 1550°F, depending on the voltage in your area (110V-120V in the US), so it's not suitable for firing most base metal clays. And for certain applications, you'll need optional accessories to permit temperature adjustments. For example, to use it for keum-boo (and it's perfect for that application), you'll need to buy the red brass covers, which will lower the temperature to approximately 775°F-835°F. If you want to fire pieces with cork clay armatures, or fire heat-sensitive stones embedded in PMC3 or Art Clay Silver, fuse glass or do silver granulation, you will need to purchase the optional temperature controller that allows you to control the temperature range based on percentages of the kiln's maximum temperature. As of this writing (January 2016), the temperature controller costs around $31, depending on where you buy it. An optional Flat Cover is available that can be used in place of the regular domed cover to raise the firing temperature by 100°F. It was designed to provide additional heat for firing large enamels and costs around $8.
  • The firing temperature is "approximate":
    This is because electricity in the US can vary from 110-120 volts, which has an effect on the maximum temperature of the kiln. (Note: There is a 230V version available for non-US users from JEC's international distributors.) Depending on the voltage in your area, firing with the lid on could raise the temperature enough to melt metal clay, especially if you're also using the optional Flat Cover. For that reason, it's advisable to do a firing test on a piece of scrap (fine silver or metal clay) to determine whether you can fire with the lid on without melting your silver. See the "Tips" section, below.
  • The cord is extremely short and it's preferable not to use an extension cord.
    However, in many if not most studios, an extension cord for the UltraLite is a practical necessity. If you use one, it must be heavy-duty (a minimum of 16 gauge wire) with a 3-prong plug and no longer than 6' maximum, or you can use a heavy-duty power strip with as short a cord as you can find. The optional temperature controller also can serve as an extension cord.
  • The UltraLite can't accommodate extremely large, thick or volumetric pieces in a single firing.
    However, you can fire without the cover and fire multiple times, turning the piece to a different side for each firing to ensure that the entire piece has been sintered properly.

Cost:

At of this writing (January 2016), the basic UltraLite kiln with spatula and instruction booklet costs around plus the set of three ceramic discs you'll need for firing metal clay can be had for between $208 to $250. If you add the set of 2 red brass keum-boo covers, that brings the cost up to $246 to $305. If you add all the other optional accessories -- a temperature controller ($31-$33), the flat cover for enameling large pieces ($8 to $10), and a short heavy-duty extension cord, if you wish (I recommend a 1-foot extension cord) for around $8, that comes to $293 to $356.

Note: If you use the kiln often, eventually you will need to replace the heating element, so it's good to have a spare on hand. Currently a replacement heating element costs $37 and can be purchased directly from JEC Products.

Tips for using the UltraLite beehive kiln

  • Test-fire some scrap to avoid melting your metal clay masterpieces!
    Since variations in electricity can cause variations in temperature depending on where your kiln in plugged in, do yourself a favor and test-fire in the preheated kiln with the lid on either 1) a scrap of fine silver sheet or wire for 20 minutes or 2) a small scrap of metal clay for 30 minutes. If at the end of the test-firing period the silver glows orange-red, it's OK to fire metal clay with the lid on. If it starts to shimmer (like mercury), the silver is starting to melt, so you'll need to fire your metal clay with the lid off.
  • Use caution - and a pair of heatproof tweezers - to place your metal clay pieces in the preheated kiln.
    The ceramic disc gets extremely hot and touching it accidentally could cause a serious burn.
  • Instructions for using the MiniPhaser Temperature Control::

    Cover the kiln and plug it into the Control, adjust dial to 100% for 30 minutes, then adjust to desired temperature setting.

    Setting/Temperature Application

    55% = 830°F Burning out cork clay prior to firing

    60% = 1110°F Firing metal clay with gems

    65% = 1300°F Firing PMC3 or Art Clay Silver 650

    85% = 1490°F Firing PMC+ or Art Clay Silver

    100% = 1550°F Enameling, keum-boo

    Source: JEC Products web site

Celie Fago is the definitive authority on keum-boo on silver metal clay. Her book Keum-Boo on Silver is a must-have if you plan to do keum-boo. Be sure to get the updated and revised edition.

Metal Clay Findings / Crafted Findings - Product Line Review

Metal Clay Findings is a company with a single focus: providing innovative findings that meet the specific needs of metal clay artisans. Because the company has developed quite a number of unique and useful products (and continues to do so), I've chosen to review the entire product line rather than writing individual reviews for just a few of their products.

Owner Anthony Squillacci, Jr. has worked for more than 32 years in his family's highly regarded manufacturing business, which produces metal jewelry findings, stamping, tubing, etc. He is extremely knowledgeable about the manufacture of jewelry findings, and he carries on the family tradition with this extremely high-quality line of fine silver metal clay findings made in the U.S.A.

Since its inception, the company has introduced many innovative products for use with metal clay. At the time of this writing, their product line includes:

  • Tabbed silver bezels (shown above) and tabbed bezel wire that, like all the company's embeddable .999 fine silver findings, can be fired in place with silver PMC or Art Clay and will fuse with the sintered silver clay to create a strong, seamless bond.
  • Ring liners - fine silver band rings designed to be completely covered with metal clay. The ring liners are scored across the outer surface to provide "tooth" for the clay to grab on to. Like the company's ring bands (which are not scored so that some of the band can be left exposed), can be only partially ornamented with clay), they take all the guesswork out of sizing your metal clay rings, can't come apart at the seams, and provide a perfectly smooth interior, so you can focus on the best part: designing.
  • Curved and straight tubing, which can be used for bails, hinges, and many other applications.
  • Embeddable earwires that can be fired in place (fine silver fish hooks and leverbacks are available also so you can market your earrings legally as .999 fine silver).
  • Fine silver jump rings that can be embedded in unfired PMC or Art Clay Silver or used with fired metal clay pieces.
  • Plain round accent beads for stringing with your metal clay beads, pendants, etc.,(so your finished design is entirely .999 FS) and fine silver balls that can be embedded in silver clay, ensuring perfectly round spheres (and perfectly matching sizes, if you wish).
  • An exciting recent addition to the line is the new flared bead cores, which come in an unthreaded version that is sized perfectly to slip onto the popular Pandora, Chamilia, Biagi, and Trollbeads type interchangeable bead charm bracelets, and in a threaded version designed to screw onto Pandora and Chamilia type bracelets. You can use these fine silver cores as a base for creating lampworked glass beads, or wrap them with metal clay or even polymer clay.
  • The new "artisan kits" are great project kits developed in collaboration with well-known jewelry artists and teachers. The first kits are from Sherri Haab and Barbara Becker Simon, including one that teaches Barbara's method for created lampworked beads with a fine silver core quickly and easily by using Metal Clay Findings' unique flared bead cores.
  • And the brand new and ingenious interchangeable bead earring findings allow you to switch in and out any of the beads you create on the flared bead cores (or any beads that fit on Pandora, Chamilia, Biagi, and Trollbeads type interchangeable bead bracelets).

In my personal experience, Metal Clay Findings not only offers high-quality, innovative and often unique products developed specifically for metal clay artists, but also delivers superior customer service. Mr. Squillacci personally welcomes (and is very responsive to) input from metal clay artisans about desired products that are not available in the marketplace. In fact, many of the company's products were developed directly as a result of customer requests and suggestions.

The site includes a "How To" section with tips on working with some of the the company's unique products, such as tabbed bezel wire and ring liners. There's also a gallery of customer designs created with Metal Clay Findings products that is sure to inspire you.

Metal Clay Findings also has a line of great riveting tools and related findings under the name Crafted Findings. If you make a lot of riveted pieces, this tool and its accessories can save you a lot of time and effort . This tool is especially useful for making neat, consistent tube rivets.

Personalized Custom Logo Stamps, Name Stamps or Artwork Stamps for Clay - Product Review

Test impressions of a customized logo stamp on a sheet of clay
Test impressions of a customized logo stamp on a sheet of clay | Source

For years, well-known metal clay and polymer clay jewelry artists have raved about the personalized name stamps from Babette Cox, which are designed to impress a personal or business name, signature or logo into metal or polymer clay. So I was thrilled when Babette invited me to try out a sample to review for this article. I paid to have the stamp customized with my P&PT (Polished & Put-Together) logo, but not just for the obvious reason. My logo artwork is extremely challenging to work with in miniature because of its very thin lines and outlined letters, and getting a custom logo stamp would be an excellent way to find out just how much detail these stamps could reproduce.

Signing Metal Clay (or Polymer Clay) Pieces Can Be a Challenge

Signing pieces freehand, using a needle tool (or something similar) in fresh clay or a rotary tool on fired or cured clay, works fine for many artists, and is preferred by some. However, it's not the ideal way for every artist to sign his or her work. You may not have nice, neat, handwriting. You may not want to run the risk of ruining your piece in the process (especially if you are using an electric engraving tool on metal clay greenware). And you may have a logo or logotype for your business. For me, all three of these factors apply. So when I started working with metal clay some years ago, I tried impressing fresh clay with my custom steel logo stamp, which I use for stamping commercial metal jewelry tags. It stamps metal just fine, but it wasn't very good at impressing fresh clay. A lot of the detail was lost and after shrinkage, the logo was too small to see clearly on metal clay pieces. I tried making a photopolymer plate of my logo, but the fine lines never had crisp edges, and were hard to capture at all when the image was resized small enough for a logo stamp. Eventually I just gave up...until Babette's offer to let me test one of her stamps. I knew that Babette used laser engraving on hard (and durable) Delrin® plastic to get sharp, clean edges, so I was anxious to see how well the process would work for my fine-lined logo design.

Side-by-Side Comparison vs. My Metal Logo Stamp

When my Delrin custom logo stamp arrived, I decided to do a side-by-side comparison against my metal stamp. I impressed both stamps in polymer clay rolled out to a thickness of 2 playing cards.The photo shows several of my first attempts at using Babette's stamp, intermixed with impressions from my metal stamp. (The white dust is cornstarch, which I used on the clay as a release agent.) It's easy to tell the impressions apart, since the ones made with Babette's stamp are noticeably larger (to allow for metal clay shrinkage). Since this way my first time using the new stamp, I experimented to get a feel for how much pressure I needed to use (only a very light touch is needed). You can see how much more distinct the details are using this stamp vs. the metal stamp, especially on letters.The impressions made with the Delrin stamp show the outlines of each letter clearly, while the ones made with my metal stamp make the letters look solid. Both are high-quality stamps, but the one designed for stamping metal works well only for its intended use. The advantages of owning a separate stamp for adding my logo to metal or polymer clay became obvious almost immediately.

An Elegant Solution

The stamp is a pleasure to use. Only very light pressure is required to get a perfectly clear impression. The shank is rectangular, with Babette's logo engraved on one side, so (unlike my metal stamp), it's easy to orient and align the image correctly. If you prefer the look of a box around the name, just use slightly more pressure, The laser-engraved Delrin lives up to its promise of impressing very precise, clear images, even with challenging custom artwork, like my logo. The impression looks great on polymer clay, and the size I chose will be easy to read on metal clay even after firing.

To summarize my experience with the Babette Cox Personalized Name Stamp:

Advantages:

  • These stamps create crisp, detailed impressions on fresh clay.
  • You can choose the size you prefer, within a specified range. For metal clay artists, this also means that you can accommodate for shrinkage for the metal clay formulas you use most often.
  • Custom artwork may be used for logos, logotypes, etc.
  • These stamps are Ideal for both metal clay and polymer clay. Remember to specify a size that will look good both full-size and also after shrinkage.
  • They are very durable because they are made from hard Delrin plastic.
  • They are easy to align and comfortable to hold because of the rectangular handle.
  • You need to use only very light pressure to make a crisp impression.

Limitations:

  • If you forget to apply a suitable clay release agent to the stamp (for metal clay) or to the clay (for polymer clay), it may be very difficult to remove every last bit of clay from the engraving. This could ruin your stamp, so be sure to use an appropriate release agent every time you use your stamp!li>
  • These stamps can't be used to stamp metal (such as fired metal clay or commercial jewelry tags).

Although Babette sold this portion of her business, here are some other companies I recommend who can make a personalized name stamp or logo stamp for you in Delrin or a similar high-quality hard plastic:

Custom Signature Stamps from The Charm Factory are made with laser-engraved Delrin. You can choose from one of the company's fonts for your text with no set-up fee or additional text costs, or send them your own artwork of your signature, logo, etc. for an additional set-up fee. The maximum stamp size is 1/2" wide x 3/8" tall. The depth of the stamp is 1/32" (.8 mm).

Custom engraved High Definition (HD) Stamps for clay from Jet Stamps are made specifically for stamping your name or logo into clay. They're "usually" made from clear acrylic. The stamp engraving depth is a nice, deep 0.06" (1.5 mm). Note: Jet Stamps is temporarily not taking orders due to the owner's illness. They expect to be taking orders again some time in 2015.

Custom signature and logo stamps from MetalClays.com also are made from "high-strength rigid plastic" (a less expensive Delrin equivalent). These custom stamps are available in three sizes: a small 12 mm x 8 mm round stamp, a medium 13 mm x 13 mm square stamp, and a large 20 mm x 20 mm square stamp that can accommodate larger artwork. The depth is not specified, but you can see in the photos on MetalClays.com that the stamps can create quite deep impressions if desired. Owners David Nemeth and his wife, metal clay artist Liad Wischnia-Nemeth, are wonderful to work with and provide terrific customer service.

.

LiL BeLLA - Product Review

This ingenious little humidifier keeps PMC and Art Clay Silver clay and paste/slip fresh and moist while you work.

LiL BeLLA is a small humidifier will help you keep your unwrapped metal clay (and slip or paste) moist for hours during your work session. I adore mine (and recently purchased some extras for BRONZclay).

LiL BeLLA resembles a little clay flowerpot with a piece of sponge on the inside and a handle on the outside. Its inventor, award-winning metal clay artist and instructor Donna Lewis, recently enhanced the design to make her LiL BeLLAs retain moisture even better than the original version. (One enhancement is a special exterior glaze applied by Donna and fired by a local potter; the others are trade secrets.) There have been imitations, but none work as well as the authentic improved LiL BeLLA.

Just soak LiL BeLLA briefly in a bowl of water (or run it under water) and it's ready to go. Cut off the amount of metal clay you need from the package and, instead of rewrapping it and resealing the rest, just cover it with the LiL BeLLA. It will stay moist and pliable for several hours. When you're through working, work a drop of water or extender into the remaining clay, rewrap it in the original plastic wrapping and seal it back in its foil pouch for storage.

Advantages:

  • You don't have to stop to unseal the foil pouch and unwrap the clay every time you need more, or rewrap and reseal it after you remove what you need. The clay stays moist and ready to use under LiL BeLLA.
  • Eliminates the need to keep the clay you've removed moist while you're rewrapping and resealing the rest of the clay.
  • Lets you keep your paste or slip container uncovered while you work. Place your open container of slip or paste under LiL BeLLA when you start your work session. When you need paste or slip, just lift LiL BeLLA enough to dip your brush and then replace the dome over the container to keep it moist.
  • LiL BeLLA takes up less than 3" of workspace.

Limitations:

  • The body of LiL BeLLA is a terra cotta pot that can crack or break if dropped or stored without appropriate protection. (I store my BeLLAs wrapped in bubble wrap in a small cardboard box.)

Cost:

LiL BeLLA is available directly from its inventor, Donna Lewis, for $9.99 plus shipping on her site Metal Clay Arts.

Donna provides superb customer service. She'll answer any questions you have quickly and clearly, pack your LiL BeLLAs carefully and securely, and ship them to you promptly. And if you ever have a problem with your clay humidifier, she'll help you solve it quickly and cheerfully.

Tips for using LiL BeLLA metal clay humidifier

  • Make components or embellishments from fresh clay and keep them fresh and moist under LiL BeLLA until you're ready to attach them.
  • LiL BeLLA is only large enough for one package of clay or one jar of slip, so you may want to purchase more than one. Currently I own three - one for silver lump clay, one for silver clay slip, and another for bronze and copper clay (I prepare only small quantities of bronze and copper clay slip as I need them).

© 2007 Margaret Schindel

Is There Another Unusual or Unusually Effective Metal Clay Product You'd Like Me to Review?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Margaret Schindel profile image
      Author

      Margaret Schindel 4 years ago from Massachusetts

      @TransplantedSoul: I'm so glad they've inspired you to give this awesome medium a try! Please let me know if I can be of any help when you're ready to take the plunge. And many thanks for your blessing! :)

    • TransplantedSoul profile image

      TransplantedSoul 4 years ago

      I have been reading your lenses about metal clay. I'm going to have to take the plunge soon!

    • Margaret Schindel profile image
      Author

      Margaret Schindel 4 years ago from Massachusetts

      @ItayaLightbourne: Thank you so much for your lovely comments! I really appreciate them. :)

    • ItayaLightbourne profile image

      Itaya Lightbourne 4 years ago from Topeka, KS

      As usual, you go above and beyond with your reviews! Very well done. I love that there is a smaller kiln out there for doing small projects. :)

    • Margaret Schindel profile image
      Author

      Margaret Schindel 4 years ago from Massachusetts

      @consumertrend: Thanks for the lovely feedback! I really appreciate it.

    • profile image

      consumertrend 4 years ago

      Thanks for reviews..good writing.

    • Margaret Schindel profile image
      Author

      Margaret Schindel 5 years ago from Massachusetts

      @anonymous: Note to lens visitors: I added Naturescapes Studio as a source for the UltraLite Beehive Kiln until they stopped carrying it.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      The UltraLite BeeHive Kiln is also available from naturescapesstuio.com. I have packaged a kit that is ready to go for metal clay artists. There are also some very unique and useful tools for metal clay artists there as well.

    • profile image

      JLally 8 years ago

      Great start! I hope you'll be adding more product reviews on a regular basis.

    • profile image

      Griggs 8 years ago

      Really helpful product review! Can't wait to see more of your metal clay products reviews here.

      Thanks!

    Click to Rate This Article