How to Change Your Drivers License Address in Illinois
Why do you need to change your address?
There are many reasons why you need to change you address on your DMV records and drivers license. If you just moved here from another state the situation changes. If you are moving from one place in Illinois to another or just down the street you need to change your legal address in the state records.
This is state law that you need to legally change your address. Little know fact is that you legally have 10 days to change your address or name.
Changing your address will also help if you are ever in an accident and are unconscious or unable to tell people where you live.
Voter registration is also linked to your address in the state records.
Change of Address
How long did it take you to change your address?
Change You License Address Online
You can change your information online but it will remain incorrect on the hard license that you carry. This does fulfill the 10 day requirement until you can make it into the department of motor vehicles and have your license or id changed.
Requirements to Change Address in Person
In order to have your license changed you must appear in person at a state facility to have your information verified and completed.
You must bring with you two forms of acceptable identification in order to have you license or state ID changed. The two item must include your full name and full residential address. Many of these items must be current within 90 days of the date you visit the facility. You can not bring something from 2 years ago to suffice as a new documentation.
- Certificate of Residency
- Bank Statements with your new address
- Canceled Check with your new address
- Certified Transcripts from a educational institution
- Credit Report with new address and within 12 months
- Deed/Title, Mortgage, Rental/Lease agreement, this is a common form if you just moved.
- Insurance Policy for home or apartment
- Letter on Official School Letterhead
- Medical Claim or Statement of Benefits
- Mail received from a State, County, City or Village or a Federal Government, may include the following items:
- Homestead Exemption Receipt
- Illinois FOID Card
- Jury Duty Notice
- Selective Service Card
- Social Security Annual Statement
- Social Security Disability Insurance Statement
- Supplemental Security Income Benefits Statement
- Voter Registration Card
- Pay Stub or Electronic Deposit Receipt
- Pension or Retirement Statement
- Phone Book, produced by a phone book publisher
- Report Card from educational institution
- Tuition invoice/official mail from college or university
- Vehicle Registration Card
- Utility Bill such as electric, water, refuse, telephone land/cell, cable or gas
These are a list of items that are allowed, go with something easy to recognize that you currently live at that residence. Remember you are dealing with the DMV so the more obscure the item of proof the long it is going to take them to verify your new residence.
License Change Fees
A corrected or duplicate license will cost you $5 to obtain a new one. It is free to change your information online.
Interesting side note, if your license was stolen and you bring in the police report you can obtain a new license for free.
Name Changes to Driver's License
Please note that if you are also changing your name you must do so in person. You must also have you court documents from legal name change or your marriage license. Also bring your old license. They may make you surrender it for the new one.
If you hold a CDL you must change your identification within 30 days of legally changing your name.
State of Illinois Drivers Licensing
Secretary of State Facilities - Illinois
There is an interactive element on the state's website that will help you find the closest facility to your area. Use this site to help you find a place to change your license.