ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

2014 Honda Grom Motorcycle Review

Updated on September 8, 2014

The day had finally come....

Our local Honda Motorsports dealer delivered my new 2014 Honda Grom. I had put down a deposit on my new Grom several weeks before.

I had my new Honda Grom delivered because our local Powerhouse Honda Motorsports Dealer was over 30 miles away in rural Middlefield Ohio.

What is a Honda Grom?

The Honda Grom is a 125cc single cylinder air cooled road legal motorcycle. It is classified as a "Monkey Bike".

The Honda Grom has been available in Asian markets, known as the MSX125, for several years but has just been made available in the United States market in 2013.

The Grom offers many engineering advances found in much larger sports bikes including fuel injection, digital instrument cluster, inverted forks, LED tail lights, and disc brakes. All for a MSRP of $2,999.

Official Honda Video of the Grom in action!

What is a Monkey Bike?

A Monkey Bike is a small low-powered motorcycle introduced by Honda in the 1960s.

The first Monkey Bike was introduced at Tama Tech a Honda owned motor sports themed amusement park in Tokyo Japan.

Image Credit

The First Monkey Bike

The first Monkey Bike, the Z100, was only available in Japan. You can think of the Z100 as the great grandfather of the Honda Grom!

Image Credit

The Monkey Bike invades the USA!

The first Monkey Bike to grace my homeland, the United States, was the Honda Z50A in 1968. It was not street legal as it lacked turn signals, mirrors, or brakes lights.

Image Credit

The 600cc myth

I have been riding motorcycles for over 15 years. As a new rider it was pounded in my head by other motorcycle enthusiasts that "Anything less than 600cc is a waste". I have owned everything from a 1978 Goldwing (1000cc) to a 1998 Honda CBR (600cc). This little Honda Grom with it's 125cc engine has given me as much if not more enjoyment than the other motorcycles I owned. Would I take the Honda Grom on the highway? Probably not, and it some states it might be illegal as they have enacted laws with minimum cc requirements. For around town the Honda Grom is a blast. Due to it's small wheels you actually feel like you are going much faster than you really are (going).

The new Honda Motorsport strategy

Honda realizes that it needs to focus on promoting motor sports and to get first time buyers buyers or buyers who are returning to the market such as myself.

To meet this challenge, Honda is pricing several of it's motorcycles under $8,000 and is offering low APR financing. Honda realizes that these entry level riders will be back wanting a bigger or more powerful motorcycle in the near future and they might choose Honda if they have already had a good experience.

My Honda Grom review, drum roll please!

As mentioned, I have been riding on and off for about 15 years, my biggest motorcycle was a 1978 Honda Goldwing (1000cc) and my smallest was a 1998 Honda CBR600RR (600cc).

I have owned motorcycles from all major Japanese motorcycle manufacturers (Honda, Kawasaki, Suzuki, Yamaha) with as least several motorcycles in my stables at any given time. But none of these previous bikes I owned has plastered a bigger smile on my face then this little Honda Grom! First of all, the seat height is comparable to most sport bikes and was comfortable for someone with my body build (180 pounds) and height (5,8) to ride.

The riding position is more erect like if you were riding a standard. The Honda Grom sports 12 inch wheels with 120/70-12 tires on the front and 130/70-12 in the back. These wheels coupled to inverted forks in the front and a monoshock in the back did a fair job of smoothing out bumps in the road. Honda does not post the horsepower of the Honda Grom on their Powersports site but I have searched the Internet and most sources agree that the air cooled single cylinder four stroke engine produces about 10 horsepower stock.

The fuel injection system always produces the proper fuel/air mixture and I never had a starting issue no matter how hot or cold the day. The motor has never sputtered during normal operation and I always feel like I am getting the full 10 horsepower out of the engine. Braking has been superior, the single disc brakes with dual calpers in the front and single in the back are firm but not "grabby".

The four speed transmission produces precision shifts with no issues like slipping out of gear. The digital instrument cluster is wonderful, what you would expect from a much more expensive motorcycle.

Did I mention the front projection lamp and rear LED brake lights that look oh so cool? How could Honda provide all this with a MSRP of only $2,999? I can't wait to see what aftermarket accessories will be available for this motorcycle in the near future!

Stunt Driver Nick Apex Brocha in action on a Honda Grom in Thailand

Ride your Grom... - with a Honda Big Wing T-Shirt.

Factory Effex 'Honda' Big Wing T-Shirt (Black, Large)
Factory Effex 'Honda' Big Wing T-Shirt (Black, Large)

I own this shirt, very good quality and is an officially license Honda product.

 

Conclusion

If you want a spunky little bike for around town, are a new or return rider, but do not want to spend a lot of money, then the Honda Grom is for you!

My Guestbook

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • SBPI Inc profile image

      SBPI Inc 3 years ago

      Great lens. Bike is too aggressive for me. I do ride a Conservative Suzuki 1500 90T with much enjoyment on some quit long trips and love it.Thanks for sharing and be safe.Jonathan

    • profile image

      mina009 3 years ago

      Love that Monkey Bike, Honda Z50A. Great lens!

    • profile image

      likdang 3 years ago

      awesome, i want to have a bike like that!

    • tedwritesstuff24 profile image

      TedWritesStuff 3 years ago

      This makes me miss my motorbike even more!

    • SusanDeppner profile image

      Susan Deppner 3 years ago from Arkansas USA

      Cute! My sons both ride and my husband is going through a bit of a senior citizen crisis, but he wants something big enough to ride on the highway. I might feel a bit better if he got one of these for just tooling around here, at least to start with. Monkey bike, huh. Did I mention that I think it's cute? :)

    • jbdkz profile image
      Author

      jbdkz 3 years ago from Cleveland

      @SusanDeppner: The Honda Grom is big enough so that a person of average height can ride it comfortably. This a great bike for around town! If he wants to get on the highway he will need something bigger as the top speed of the Grom is only 65MPH.

    • Muebles de exte profile image

      Muebles de exte 3 years ago

      nice lens, thank you for your help

    • profile image

      MartinTim 3 years ago

      Nice Lens. The Honda Grom seems not very hunk, but you would fall in love with its sporty look. I like the tires it has used and the headlights you would have never seen before!! This 125cc bike is good for average height riders.

    • federico-biuso profile image

      federico-biuso 3 years ago

      Good and interesting lens!!!

    • jbdkz profile image
      Author

      jbdkz 3 years ago from Cleveland

      @MartinTim: Tim, what do you mean by "hunk"? Must not be a term we use in Ohio.

    • eiramarie profile image

      eiramarie 2 years ago

      Very Good Lens..

    • stephenfleetwood profile image

      stephenfleetwood 2 years ago

      I enjoyed reading this lens. Thanks. I run a CBR900RR Fireblade very cool.

    • Hutch871 profile image

      Matt Hutcheson 2 years ago from Aberdeen

      Beautiful looking machine!

    • Justin00704 profile image

      Justin Patrick Gonzales Lopez 2 years ago from Philippines

      Awesome!

    • esmonaco profile image

      Eugene Samuel Monaco 2 years ago from Lakewood New York

      What nice looking machine, and great pictures! Nice lens, Hope you enjoy your new toy :)

    • favored profile image

      Fay Favored 2 years ago from USA

      Love riding but haven't ever riden on one of these. Glad you're having fun with it.

    • profile image

      candy47 2 years ago

      I remember riding on a Honda Dream. That was a really long time ago!! Have fun riding :))

    • MJ Martin profile image

      MJ Martin aka Ruby H Rose 2 years ago from Washington State

      What a great review about an awesome Honda!

    • Dressage Husband profile image

      Stephen J Parkin 2 years ago from Pine Grove, Nova Scotia, Canada

      Well done on becoming the first Hub to be Squidoo LOTD! The redirects are working now. Maybe you will be the only Hub to achieve this?

    • profile image

      Dranny 2 years ago

      I see a bike to pumped up to be dangerous little bugger with a bit more power and better suspension I can't wait to get my hands on this thing!

    Click to Rate This Article