ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

10 Steps to Becoming a Certified Mortgage Consultant

Updated on September 26, 2011

Grow Your Business With a CMC Designation

Mortgage professionals are under increasing pressure to keep up with regulatory and other changes in the industry while providing the highest level of service to existing customers and meeting their business-development goals. One way to show you're up to the task is by earning professional certifications such as those offered by the National Association of Mortgage Brokers. NAMB's highest level designation, Certified Mortgage Consultant, tells clients and colleagues that you're a highly knowledgeable, well-qualified professional who upholds high ethical standards.

Step 1

Gain at least five years of experience in the mortgage industry.

Step 2

Earn at least 100 qualifying points through work experience, continuing education, college courses, professional certification and through industry leadership and participation.

Step 3

Download and complete a Certified Mortgage Consultant application from the NAMB website.

Step 4

Make copies of your diplomas and course certificates showing your name, the date you completed the program, the name of the program, the name of the program provider and the number of credit hours you completed.

Step 5

Submit your application, the certificate and diploma copies and your application fee to NAMB, as instructed by the application material.

Step 6

Register online for your exam after you receive notification from NAMB that it has accepted your application.

Step 7

Use the registration confirmation NAMB sends upon receipt of your registration to schedule your exam according to the confirmation's instructions.

Step 8

Prepare for the exam by reviewing general mortgage industry topics, ethics issues, insurance, legal topics and residential and commercial financing.

Step 9

Sit for your exam at the exam center where you're scheduled for testing.

Step 10

Wait for your exam score and pass/fail notification immediately following the exam.

Helpful Hints

25 of the 100 points -- five years' worth at five points per year -- must be from industry work experience; 30 points -- one per credit hour for 30 credit hours -- must be from continuing education.

You can use your Certified Mortgage Consultant designation immediately after passing the exam, although documentation of your certification won't arrive for up to 10 business days.

Your certification is valid from the date you pass the exam through December 31 in the third year following your passing date. For example, if you pass your exam on June 1, 2011, your certification remains valid through December 31, 2014.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.


    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at:

    Show Details
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the or domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)