ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Business and Employment»
  • E-Commerce & How to Make Money Online

Ashop Commerce Review

Updated on May 6, 2013
Source

Ashop Overview

Ashop Commerce is located in Syndey, Australia and has been in business for over 10 years. It's one of the smaller eCommerce companies, but has been gaining popularity over the past several years.

The reason its emerging is due to its incredible features and low pricing options.


Ashop Features

The extensive features is what makes Ashop Commerce great. When looking for the right shopping cart for our business, we all prefer to have the lowest pricing and the best possible features. With Ashop, this just might be possible. Here is a list of some valuable features:

  • Unlimited product variations
  • Several different product image styles and options
  • Low stock alerts
  • Fast product control grid - edit products without going to their individual pages (kind of like mass editing)
  • Inventory feeds
  • Pre-orders
  • Featured and related products
  • Tons of free customizable templates
  • Real-time theme editor requires no coding skills
  • HTML and CSS control
  • Facebook store
  • Newsletter marketing
  • Shopping comparison site feeds
  • Social sharing tools
  • Built-in search engine optimization tools
  • B2B module - wholesale pricing with password protection
  • Flexible content pages
  • Integrated blog
  • WYSIWYG Editor
  • Product reviews
  • Live sales/support chat integration
  • Automatic order and shipping confirmations
  • Fraud detection
  • 2 step checkout process
  • Partially ship orders
  • SMS alerts for new orders
  • Custom or real-time shipping rates
  • Tax options
  • Reporting and conversion tools
  • Over 50 payment gateways including Authorize. PayPal, and Google Checkout
  • 24/7 customer support Monday through Friday

Ashop Commerce Pricing

Ashop Commerce has four different plans to choose from and all start you off with a fully functional 15 day free trail. They offer a decent discount if you prepay for the entire year and even a bigger discount if you prepay for 2 years.

  1. Starter plan costs $24.95 per month and entitles you to 100 products, 250 MB of storage, unlimited bandwidth, and all of the primary features. The plan can be as low as $16.95 per month, if you decide to pay in advance for 2 years.
  2. Accelerator plan costs $49.95 per month and entitles you to 500 products, 500 MB of storage, unlimited bandwidth, and all of the primary features. The plan can be as low as $34.95 per month, if you decide to pay in advance for 2 years.
  3. Advance plan costs $99.95 per month and is considered their best value plan. It entitles you to 2,000 products, 1 GB of storage, unlimited bandwidth, and all of the primary features. The plan can be as low as $66.95 per month, if you decide to pay in advance for 2 years.
  4. Champion plan costs $249.95 per month and entitles you to 10,000 products, 2 GB of storage, unlimited bandwidth, and all of the primary features. The plan can be as low as $169.95 per month, if you decide to pay in advance for 2 years.

If you are serious about opening your own online store, I strongly suggest you take advantage of their discounts and prepay in advance for at least 1 year.

Ashop Commerce Customer Support

Customer support is available 24/7 Monday through Friday via phone, email, and chat. Ashop Commerce is known for their fast response time. They have a bunch of support tools along with a community forum. Basically, you can avoid the need to contact them directly by going through either the forum or the support section.

Pros and Cons

Pros - Low price, features, integrated blog, discounts available for paying in advance

Cons - Templates need minor updating, located outside of the USA, no weekend support

Do you plan on using Ashop Commerce?

See results

Conclusion - Is Ashop Commerce Right For Your Business?

Regardless of the shopping cart you go with, building your online store can be hard for some. Ashop Commerce is an amazing eCommerce cart for beginners and experts in the whole online business gig.

If you decide to go with Ashop Commerce, I recommend that you pay as far in advance as you can, that way you take advantage of their discounts.


To learn more about Ashop Commerce or to start a 15 day free trail, visit the Ashop Commerce Official Website.

5 out of 5 stars from 1 rating of Ashop Commerce

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Mr D 4 years ago

      No problem, will do

    • reviewraters profile image
      Author

      reviewraters 4 years ago

      Not a problem, I hope everything goes well for you. If you do not mind, let me know which one you go with and if it is any good.

      Thanks

    • profile image

      Mr D 4 years ago

      Hi Reveiwraters, Thanks for that and yes, i am considering OpentCart at the moment and i will take a look at CS-Cart as well. From what i have heard, Magento can be a little resource heavy and unless you get a high end server it can be a little sluggish.

      Thanks for the update and i will look forward to reading your new review of Ashop.

    • reviewraters profile image
      Author

      reviewraters 4 years ago

      Oh my, I am sorry to hear that and I will be reviewing their service within this week or so.

      If you are looking for an open-source shopping cart, have you tried looking at one of these:

      Magento

      PrestaShop

      CS-Cart

      or even OpenCart

    • profile image

      MrD 4 years ago

      Hey reviewraters, thanks for the reply and yes, i have had a look at BigCommerce, but i am leaning towards an open source solution ... i think my whole experience with Ashop has made me extremely wary of a another hosted option. Anyhow, not long left on my termination so i need to make my mind up pretty soon.

      Oh. and another warning about Ashop, they are also refusing/ignoring my request to get a copy of vertain parts of my data, which will mean i will need to set up things like redirects, customers delivery/billing address, product questions and reviews by hand. And we are talking 5 years worth of data!

    • reviewraters profile image
      Author

      reviewraters 4 years ago

      Thank you for pointing that out, sounds like they do not want others to know about bugs in their software. Have your tried using BigCommerce or Shopify?

    • profile image

      MrD 4 years ago

      Nope, no violations of the terms and conditions, simply questioned whether the new version of Ashops software was fit for purpose, logged around 200 bugs that i found in the new software and was vocal on their forum. Bottom line is that they don't like customers to question them and when threats don't shut you up, Ashops answers is to simply close you down.

    • reviewraters profile image
      Author

      reviewraters 4 years ago

      Thank you very much for pointing that out to people that are interested in using Ashop Commerce.

      That termination letter should not be sent to you in that order, unless you violated their Terms of Conditions.

      Ashop Commerce is not keeping up with the updates that would ideally bring new features to keep up with the trend in ecommerce. However, they are still a decent shopping cart to use.

    • profile image

      MrD 4 years ago

      WARNING _ WARNING – WARNING – WARNING

      I am an Ashop customer, have been for 8 years and have stuck with them though many a bad upgrade and reductions in functionality. During the version 4 release back at the beginning of August i decided i had had enough and decided i could no longer stand by and be quite regards the mess that the software and support was in, despite being warned by other customers that Ashop could be quite nasty if stood up to. I didn’t believe it but then on the 19th of September i received the following from Ashop: -

      ———————————————————

      Dear Mr Driver

      NOTICE OF TERMINATION

      It is with regret that we feel that our mutual working relationship has broken down to such an extent that we have now to give you notice of our intention to terminate our Agreement. Therefore we hereby give 45 days notice that we shall discontinue all of our services with you and your company. This means store# 3710 will be closed by 4th November 2013.

      Please take this email as statement of the official notice of termination period as stated in our terms and conditions paragraph 6 -6.2

      With regards

      Ashop Commerce

      Yunus Atalan

      ————————————————————————-

      Seriously folks, if they can do this to a customer of 8 years, who had spent time, energy and money in creating a store that had rank and loyalty, then believe me when i say that they will do this to anybody who dares to question them.

      I now have to try and move my store to a new platform so that i do not miss the Christmas sales period … worst of it is, i cant even download my data from Ashop because it is still failing … as it has been since the August upgrade to version 4.

    • profile image

      Mark Wilks 4 years ago

      I have used Ashop for a while and it has slowly gone from being a contender to the worst of the bunch. Version 4 will be its end. It has reduced functionality and the worst SEO built in that you could find. Check out the urls of the products and categories, you could get less google friendly and in V4 your images are not even stored on your own domain they are just bunched on a shared server for all Ashop customers! And if you think you are likely to need support then you will find that Ashop don't have any. They will be rude and arrogant of live chat, ignore your emails and are not contactable by phone. My advice to anybody looking at using Ashop is ... keep on looking ... elsewhere!