ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Getting Paid For Writing Blog Post And Reviews

Updated on December 29, 2009

Affiliate Writing Versus Paid Writing

Everyone wants to make money online these days. There is no better time then now to make money on the net. But just how does one do that? Basically there are two ways to make money off the net, writing as an affiliate and writing blog post and articles where you get paid for the actual writing.

All the money that people make online comes from ads or selling something. The net is one big TV commercial for many. The stories, news, videos and pictures are the entertainment, or TV shows.

All the ads you see as text links, banners and so on are the commercials. Many websites like hubpages have people all over the world sign up and write articles about everything under the sun. Those articles and stories are the TV shows.

Then the website displays text ads, banners and so on from advertisers who hope you click on them and go to their website to buy whatever they are selling. The writers are now affiliates, who share the advertising income with the website they are writing for.

There are many different ways websites use to share the ad income with the writers. The bottom line is both the writers and the website hope your article is a big hit and gets seen by many so they can show many ads.

The more times the ads are clicked, the more money is shared by both the website and the writer. However that can be risky for the writer. If the article is not popular and seen by few, the writer will not make much, if anything.

There is another way a writer can make money online that is more of a sure thing and can make the writer much more and faster. That is by getting paid a set amount for the actual article they are writing.

Getting Paid For Each Article You Write

Blogging is a popular way to make money online. People make blogs about a subject, like say pet care. They write many articles, or blog post, about pet care. Each article is seen as one page to the search engines, like Google.

So they rank very high in the search rankings because you can make each article all about one single subject. They then put ads in the article page that they make money off of. Some people have hundreds, yes hundreds of different blogs!

Others make full websites with lots of information in them, like reviews. For example you can have a website that compares all the different boats, or phones, toys, the list is endless. These websites need hundreds of reviews.

There is no way these people can even begin to write all the articles they need! Since they own their own websites they don't want to share their ad income. So instead they pay writers a set amount per article or review.

They tell you just how many words each article needs to be and pay you a set amount for that article. Then they may send you a URL to the subject they want you to write about, or just ask you to talk about a subject in so many words.

So the writer knows upfront just how much they will make. No guessing how much their share of ads will be, no worries about if their article will be popular. You just write the article and get paid for it, simple.

If the writer is good at writing fast, quality articles and can write about many subjects they will find this is the fastest and most secure way to make money online. But where do you find all these people looking for writers?


Writer Broker Sites

Believe it or not, there are just as many website and blog owners trying to find good writers as there are writers trying to find them! So it was only natural that some had the bright idea of making online writer broker sites.

These are websites that act like a middleman, bringing both writers and website owners together. They charge website owners a fee per article, or a service fee. In return they supply writers a list of article subjects to write about.

Once the writer completes an article, they get paid an upfront amount for it. Then the broker in turn sells the article to a website owner looking for that article at a higher fee than they paid the writer.

This works out well if the writer has no idea what to charge per article. Or if the writer wants a big list of subjects to choose from, or does not know how to find website owners looking for writers. It's also the fastest way to see money, and safer.

Some of these writer brokers can pay very well, like Demand Studios, which pays per article and uses most of them itself. Text Broker is another established broker that is fair and popular. Another one is Content Current.

Each place has it's own rules and requirements on how to join. Follow the steps for each one carefully to insure your accepted. There also is one last way to make money per article, and that is as a fully independent writer.


Becoming A Freelance Writer

A freelance writer is a writer that works for him/herself. They know what the going rate is to charge for articles, reviews and blog post. They know their writing is good and don't want to have a middleman take a part of their pay.

They contact website and blog owners directly and get paid straight from the person buying the article. But how do they find these people that are looking for articles? There are many ways to find writing gigs.

Most freelancers join many writing forums and groups to connect with others and find potential clients. They use social sites like facebook and twitter to get the word out about their writing skills.

In time they can get well known and have clients seek them out, so much that they have more than enough work! There are also websites dedicated to freelance writers, like Freelance Writing Gigs, or Freelance Writing.

Writer forums are also a great way to find writing work, like Writers.net, or Writing.com. You can join Associated Content, then go to the members only forum and see other online writing jobs.

It takes a lot of work, but in time you can charge top dollar for your articles and have more than enough work for yourself. So if you want to make money online writing and get paid per article, check out the above links, and good luck!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      lorkKarfarm 4 years ago

      Hey guys just wanted to tell you all about my new blog, its all about how to make money fast, so if you have 2 minuites have a quick read and tell me what you think. Website

    • profile image

      Mylindaminka 4 years ago

      Рассмотрим несколько моделей праздничных причёсок, создаваемых из уложенных на голове волос. Причёска с лентой (для средней длины волос). фото pourfemme.itВымойте и высушите волосы, зачешите их наверх (не бойтесь начёсов – они в этом сезоне в моде!), и загните, пряча концы вовнутрь, но не стягивая голову сильно – заколите получившуюся причёску шпильками и зафиксируйте лаком. Кстати, для праздничных причёсок лака лучше не желать: хоть потом трудновато будет прочёсывать волосы (лучше просто смыть лак шампунем, не выдирая волосы расчёской), зато причёска продержится весь вечер, не причиняя беспокойств. Обвяжите голову цветной лентой, в тон одежде, и подвяжите её под получившимся приколом. Концы ленты можно по желанию и по характеру праздничного наряда либо оставить струиться по спине, либо аккуратно убрать. Для торжественного случая и как дань последней моде хорошо подойдут ленту золотистого, серебристого цветов либо украшенные стразами или искусственными жемчужинками.

    • profile image

      Futamarka 4 years ago

      30 мая 1986 года "Автограф" выступал на одной сцене с Михаилом Ульяновым, Аллой Пугачевой, Александром Градским, группами "Круиз" и "Браво" в концерте "Счет № 904", сбор от которого пошел в фонд помощи Чернобылю.

    • profile image

      suetGethy 4 years ago

      My partner and i employed to acquire on top of lifestyle but lately I've truly established a new opposition.

    • profile image

      suetGethy 4 years ago

      We employed to get high on living however lately We have developed some sort of resistance.

    • profile image

      Free GPRS TRICKS 5 years ago

      awesome sir, I am gonna subscribe you.. thank you

    • Ian Dabasori Hetr profile image

      Ian D Hetri 5 years ago from Papua New Guinea

      Useful information. I find this hub very useful and will share this in my social networking sites. Voting it up.

    • workfromhomeguide profile image

      workfromhomeguide 5 years ago

      hi bill, thank you for the information, this is so useful.

    • whoisbid profile image

      whoisbid 6 years ago

      well done. Very informative. Keep up the great work

    • Bill Manning profile image
      Author

      Bill Manning 6 years ago from Orlando, Fl.

      Serge, you mean here on Hubpages? No, it's not a blog site. You make money here by using ads in your articles here. Take a peek at the help page to find out more.

    • profile image

      Serge Halytsky 6 years ago

      It's fine, but can I get paid for writing blog posts on this site?

    • profile image

      Bulk SEO Content 6 years ago

      I really enjoyed reading your article. Expressing yourself honestly is something that is very important,as visitors love to hear other’s story and their experiences. Thanks again for your sharing.

    • Lamme profile image

      Lamme 7 years ago

      Great information. I've been considering hiring a writer from textbroker, but I'm still in the research phase. There's a big demand for good writers, so anyone with an aptitude for writing should have no trouble freelancing their skills.

    • mquee profile image

      mquee 7 years ago from Columbia, SC

      Good information with links added. This is great for someone fairly new to writing on the internet. Thanks for sharing.

    • profile image

      Uday Vedant 7 years ago

      Hi,

      It is a very informative article. Hope it continues in this fashion.

    • profile image

      Uday Vedant 7 years ago

      Hi,

      My name is Uday Vedant and i am from India.

    • Bill Manning profile image
      Author

      Bill Manning 7 years ago from Orlando, Fl.

      I'm so happy to hear that Vicki! It's nice to know I've helped a few people make some extra money. :)

    • Vicki99 profile image

      Vicki99 7 years ago from Meridian Idaho

      Just a follow up, since I signed up with a few of these sites, I have now got a steady gig writing 400 word articles at $15 a pop. I make about $1,200 a month writing 20 articles a week for one company that hired me from some work I did through an article writing site. I also now make almost $500 amonth from text broker. The money is better when you get your rating up there, then you charge whatever you want per article. All my work there is through direct orders that I charge a nice fee for. If you need money to supliment while you wait for hubpages to pay off, this is the way to do it.

    • rcgal profile image

      rcgal 7 years ago

      Thanks for providing this. I had looked a bit earlier at writing articles for pay, but stopped after seeing what articles were actually going for at elance - it just didn't seem to be worth it. I'll take another look.

    • IsabellaRothchild profile image

      IsabellaRothchild 7 years ago from Orlando, FL

      Very informative, thanks. Being a fellow Orlando resident, I'll be using some of your other hubs as well. I'd add you on Myspace if I was on that site = sorry - only facebook. LOL

    • shabarigirish profile image

      shabarigirish 7 years ago

      Nice and informative hub. Thank you for sharing this.

    • Singular Investor profile image

      Singular Investor 7 years ago from Oxford

      Thanks for the swift reply - I just had a look at DS and TB unfortunately they only accept US based writers.

    • Bill Manning profile image
      Author

      Bill Manning 7 years ago from Orlando, Fl.

      Thanks for all the comments everyone! Singular Investor, just about everyone I know that writes for places like these say Demand Studios is the best money maker.

      However they also are the hardest to get into. If they turn you down, the next one I recommend would be Text Broker. With all of these, the longer your there the more per article you can make.

    • Singular Investor profile image

      Singular Investor 7 years ago from Oxford

      Thanks for the useful info. Although you don't seem to be answering comments I will ask anyway. Is there one broker site that you find better than the others with regard to the amount of revenue it can bring in? Thanks.

    • AEvans profile image

      Julianna 7 years ago from SomeWhere Out There

      You certainly have opened doors for other sites quite refreshing and thank you for taking the time to share the information. :)

    • WizardOfOz profile image

      WizardOfOz 7 years ago

      very informative article, thanks Bill.

    • viryabo profile image

      viryabo 7 years ago

      Thank you so much for sharing this Bill. Been wondering how to diversify. Don't want all my eggs in 1 basket.

      Demand Studios only for US residents and citizens. Content Current i have registered now. Will see how it goes.

      Great hub.

      Cheers

    • efeguy profile image

      efeguy 7 years ago

      what a hub bill.checking it out.thanks

    • irwanfazri profile image

      irwanfazri 7 years ago from Malaysia

      Good hub on making money

    • Highvoltagewriter profile image

      William Benner 7 years ago from Savannah GA.

      Great info! It is always good to find more ways to make money on line...Good Job!

    • skyfire profile image

      skyfire 7 years ago

      I'm going to apply for textbroker site now. Thanks for listing it.

    • H.C Porter profile image

      Holly 7 years ago from Lone Star State

      Thanks for the info and links-I write for a site, and get paid for each view... Some do well-others, not so well. I will be checking out what you have suggested

      hc porter

    • Vicki99 profile image

      Vicki99 7 years ago from Meridian Idaho

      Thank you for writing this hub. I believe this information is quite valuable.

    • Ivorwen profile image

      Ivorwen 7 years ago from Hither and Yonder

      Thank you for the information here. When the new year comes I plan to check out these sites.