ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Hotel Receptionist:How to handle Guest's Complaint in Hotel

Updated on October 7, 2012
Guest's complaint
Guest's complaint | Source

The key to smoothly handling the custom’s complaint is based on “personal maturity.” But when it is said “maturity”, I am referring to your expertise on your job.

In this short and compact article, though it is entitled as “how to handle customer’s complaint” the idea of this writing is particularly focused on complaints related to the hotel receptionist and his/her tasks given by the guests or customers. Though you may be a graduate of hotel and tourism, basically you have been given a lecture on the possible guests’ complaints only. But when you are already at the position of actual front office service, you can hardly find techniques, taught in the class, which are directly applicable to your real job table.

Based on my experience, there are two kinds of guests’ complaints: voiced and unvoiced complaints. Both show the dissatisfaction of the guests. So why care about the unvoiced complaint? That is a good question to ask. But let me tell you, the hotel is in existence because there are guests to check in. It is simple, “No guests, no hotel.” That is the bottom line in Hotel and Tourism. Therefore, being a receptionist (front office), it is your main task to make your guests satisfied. One time dissatisfaction may cause forever dissatisfaction to the Guests. To satisfy your guests during their stay is rested upon your service. That is called customer service. The guests become your customers only when they repeat to come and stay with you. Thus, it is worth doing for you as a receptionist to settle the complaints as satisfactory as you can. The followings are tips from my experiences and the trainings.

Remember: Your guests are the best advertisement of your hotel. If they give bad feedback on your service, that is a great loss. But once they are happy at your service, they will bring more friends along with them next time. So the theory is “once for all.”

Self confidence: In order to handle the complaints smoothly, you need to have confidence in yourself. Though you may not attain self confidence by instinct, but you must build it. It can be built through your experience as well as knowledge from your readings. Feel yourself that the guests to come and seek your help or complaint because they believe that you are able to help.

Respect: Respect the guests whatever they be. Regardless of race, culture, language, appearance, and so on, they deserved to be served. Your respect for the guests will guide you how to help their needs met.

Be positive: Whenever the complaint comes to you, accept it positively. Whether you can meet their needs or not, always be ready to respond in the best way. If their complaint is not served in your hotel, give them other options to choose. Avoid using “No, I don’t know, No, We don’t have that service and so on.” Instead, try to help them by mentioning “How about this and that.” If they cannot like it, listen to their ideas and suggestions. If their suggestions and complaints are not in your service lists, let them know that their suggestions are truly appreciated. And you are willing to consider implementing next time.

Be considerate: let the guest talk more than you do. Listen to them attentively. Try to follow their emotions. While they are so serious, do not just smile at them.

Finally, if you cannot solve the complaints and cannot think out a way to help, you may refer to the Hotel General Manger. But try to do anything you can before referring to the GM.

Most of all let your guests feel that you do care for them. Though your service may not meet their needs, give your best.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      pradeep 

      6 years ago

      yes i like it.

    • profile image

      LollieReceptionist 

      6 years ago

      all ended well i apologized for the service he was unhappy with and actually got a big tip for saving the day :D lol

    • profile image

      Mvitaali@yahoo.com 

      6 years ago

      that right,receptionist must know how to deal with guest complaints

    • profile image

      LollieReceptionist 

      6 years ago

      Just got a huge complaint from a guest and i am so shocked and don't know how to handle it. i just started working at the hotel and now i feel so stupid for not knowing how to handle that specific complaint... ruined my day!

    • twobmad profile imageAUTHOR

      Ruatte 

      6 years ago from Myanmar(Burma)

      Exactly... no receptionist is perfect as no guest is the same.

    • profile image

      jhona magas 

      6 years ago

      when you are working in a hotel in any position,it is important to know how to deal with hotel guest complaints.

    • twobmad profile imageAUTHOR

      Ruatte 

      6 years ago from Myanmar(Burma)

      @Kamukama julius - you are most welcome.

    • profile image

      Kamukama julius 

      6 years ago

      This is a very great contribution to my knowledge, understanding and job.

      THANKS!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)