ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Make Money Reviewing Music with Slice The Pie (slicethepie) - It's No Scam

Updated on June 19, 2013
Name of service:
Slice The Pie
Type(s) of work:
Scouting / reviewing music
Payment type:
PayPal
Payment schedule:
NA
Minimum payout:
$10.00
Friend bonuses:
Affiliate program, 10% of referrals' earnings
Software requirements:
Browser with Flash, broadband connection
Overall rating:
Pending

I was browsing Craigslist the other day, and I ran across an ad offering up to $8.00 an hour, working from home. I followed the link, and was directed to a site I did not know about before, and I have been looking into different web money making opportunities for a while. The link of course was an affiliate link, but the site was unique and did not look like a scam, so I have decided to review it.

Signup process review:

The signup process was very simple. All you need is an email address, and a password and you are in. It simply couldn't be much easier. Unfortunately, the sign in screen does not really describe the site or the work, and once you sign in, it starts you off immediately with no hand holding. There are FAQ's linked you can go to that help you along.

Site and work description:

When you login, you are taken straight to a page with a flash plugin playing music. You can pause and adjust volume but that is all. There is a simple numeric rating, and a text box to write in a small review. You are required to listen to at least 90 seconds of the song before submitting. Once you submit the next song starts. You can add songs to a personal playlist if you like them. You do not know who the artist is, or the song name until after you review it, presumably to keep the reviews as unbiased as possible. There area few progress bars as well. One is your rank, which goes up as you gain experience points, which are shown on the second bar. As your rank goes up, you get more per review. There is also an 'energy' bar, which goes down with each review, and slowly goes up over time. This is to prevent bots or scripts from flooding the system with bogus reviews.

The Slice The Pie interface.
The Slice The Pie interface.


Site and work review:

I have only been on a couple days, and not had much time to use it, but at low levels, I received $.05 to $.06 per review. You do not have any choice as to the genre. After I did two or three reviews, it took me to a page to state my preference in music, presumably to better match songs, but immediately after it played a song in a genre I did not pick and that I quite dislike. I am assuming they want people to also review music they do not like to help balance out overly positive reviews from others who may like the style and be skewed.

Today I spent a half-hour reviewing music. You have to listen to at leas 90 seconds of each song. I tended to listen to them a bit longer than the required time, and completed 13 reviews, earning 75 cents. That works out to about $1.50 per hour. I could have gone a bit faster, but even going at the maximum speed, the math can be calculated. I earned about 5 cents per review.At 90 seconds required per review, that if 40 reviews an hour or $2.00 per hour. You can, after earning enough experience, and apparently writing good reviews, get up to 20 cents per review. That works out to $8.00 an hour. From what I have been seeing, that may be nearly impossible to reach. Of course this does not include affiliate earnings, which is 10% of what your referrals make. I seems you would need to get lots of referrals, or referrals that did quite a bit of work to add a significant amount to your earnings though.

However, it is fun if you like music, and may be a way to find new artists you like while making money a little money, just do not expect to make a mint from this. If you have idle time at work or home, it may be well worth it too you. Unfortunately, you will have to sit through and review songs you do not care for. I have read that there are some truly terrible songs too, since anyone can upload their music to have it reviewed. I have been fortunate in noy getting any truly terrible "American Idol" scouting rejects yet. Soon, I will also report how well they pay once I reach my payout limit.

Affiliate link: http://www.slicethepie.com/?wyd=446514 (I get 10% of what you earn, allowing me to rate their affiliate program.)

Non affiliate link: www.slicethepie.com

Pros:

  • Fun an easy to do.

Cons:

  • Sparse instructions at first.
  • Need to listen to music you may dislike strongly.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Guest 

      4 years ago

      It is a complete scam, i wrote lots of good honest reviews for all the artists, then withdrew my $10 and got an email from their customer support team the next day saying it had been brought to their attention that my reviews were not good quality so they decided not to pay me and suspend my account. If i knew who to speak to with regards to getting that website shut down i would do it now to help save people wasting their time in future.

    • mobilemonopolyx profile image

      mobilemonopolyx 

      6 years ago

      Wow! I didn't know what I have missed until I read this!

    • bizzymom profile image

      bizzymom 

      6 years ago from New York

      This sounds very interesting and I may just give it a try. If I do I will definitely use the affiliate link. Thanks for sharing!

    • Koshaugh profile image

      Kara Monterey 

      6 years ago from Indianapolis

      Interesting. I'm curious to see how you like it. Thanks for sharing!

    • profile image

      iamaudraleigh 

      6 years ago

      This could be fun. I am up for the challenge. Thanks for communicating this to your followers:)

    • medicaribbean profile image

      medicaribbean 

      6 years ago from Caribbean

      This will definitely fill in my lull hours and coffee breaks. But I must wait for your report before I jump in because like luv2hike, am a bit apprehensive about this type of earning scheme online. I also wish you luck and take care on your exploration. Thank you very much for sharing and looking forward to hear your report.

    • BradTheGeek profile imageAUTHOR

      BradTheGeek 

      6 years ago

      Thanks for reading my hub, I have not been hiking in a while, but would like to do so, and your hubs look interesting, keep up the good work.

    • luv2hike profile image

      luv2hike 

      6 years ago

      This is a very interesting hub. I have never heard of anything like that before, I am a little eerie of the whole money making thing online but am slowly learning that many people do it everyday. I look forward to reading about your experience through this site. The best of luck to you!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)