ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Soul Food Restaurant Review #2

Updated on May 29, 2011

I am very proud to report on this grand opening of the newest Fish ‘N’ Loaves Downtown Restaurant. The first day of opening was a grand smashing success; this new restaurant is located at 595 W. Church St, Suite E, Orlando Fl 32805 and their phone number is 407 841-8130

The restaurant is located in the heart of downtown Church Street across from the newly built Amway Center, in the same spot that the old Johnson’s Diner Restaurant was before they closed.

There is no comparison between the two restaurants, the place was gutted, cleaned, and brought back to life with soul and attitude. This soul food restaurant is a total transformation from what was there before, and it is the pride and talk of the community. Every attention to detail was addressed and it is evident to the eye even before you enter the restaurant.

A markerFish 'N' Loaves Downtown, Soul Food Restaurant -
595 W Church St, Orlando, Suite E, FL 32805, USA
get directions

One block west of Amway Center

Location

The location is in an awesome spot in Central Florida, it is in the midst of the business district, and the clientele is of all financial background from the social elite such as Congressmen, Mayor, Judges, and many professionals to the mom and pops of the neighborhood; everyone gets to enjoy this gem of a place.

Downtown Church Street is known to be very congested and parking is very limited, but Fish ‘N’ Loaves took those issues in view and made preparation for their customers by securing a place for parking. This parking space is directly across the street from the restaurant and it takes the worrying of where to park away from future customers. Having proper parking adds value and class to the establishment, this will provide easier access to and fro the restaurant, allowing for their customers to come in and relax, and dine in comfort.

Jazz Musician
Jazz Musician

Grand Opening

The first day of the Grand Opening was crazy, they had such an influx of people, and they were bombarded by the media, there were several different TV stations that showed up to cover the event, they literally camped out on their front steps before the time of opening. The opening of a new soul food restaurant brought out all the critics; it was a mixture of anticipation, curiosity, and excitement.

The place was packed to capacity for lunch, (seating capacity is 114) the staff was overwhelmed at the turn out but they managed with grace and diligence. There were numerous amounts of people with much ethnic diversity that came out to welcome in the newest, hottest, and vibrant new wave of soul food and seafood dinning extravaganza at its best. The celebration was exciting, the ambiance was great, the atmosphere was relaxing, comfortable, and friendly; it’s like going home and being a part of a family get- to- together.

The evening dinner rush was still filled with excitement and fast paste movement but with something extra added for more pleasure, yes there were live music entertainment, more specifically jazz and Gospel music which was soothing and mellow, it added to the ambiance and the entire dining experience.

Food & Menu

What can I say about the food other than it was exceptional, you could see that there was great care and love that went into the preparation of all the meals. The top signature meal for me was the Pan Sierred Talapia served with yellow rice, collard greens and hush puppies its delicious mouthwatering right down to the last piece. No where have I tasted and enjoyed hush puppies as I did these, they are served hot freshly made and they are sweetish in taste and crisp - well cooked, other places I have tasted hush puppies were always on the salted side and soggy. The food was well cooked and seasoned just right bringing out all the beautiful flavor of each individual meal so every bite is delicious and enjoyable. The portions of the meal were great and filling; I thoroughly enjoyed my meal, it exceeded my expectation both in taste and portion size. I will be back to frequent this establishment because their menu is great and attractively laid out and it has very affordable prices

Staff

The staff is young and efficient; maybe not as much as they needed to be but they are still learning the ropes of handling such large crowds, on a whole they were great. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, and they are very diverse in culture and languages; there are African American, Spanish, Caucasian, and Italian. The diversity is awesome because they are more readily to communicate with many people visiting the state of Florida from around the world. The staff are all properly dressed in clean coordinating uniforms such as black pants, and shirt ( 3 different colors such as burgundy, beige/taupe, and green) all reflecting the colors of the décor of the restaurant, details - its all about the details.

Décor

The décor is fabulous; the attention to details was a very pleasant surprise from the color to the strategically placed wall decoration to the lighting and placement of tables, the coordination of colors worked well and was pleasing to the eyes making it a very relaxing place to dine. If I were to rate this establishment my rating would be a 9.5 out of 10, very classy.

Every day during after the grand opening they continue to have a generous crowd with lunch time being one of their busiest times. Good food, pleasant people, and good service are a combination you can’t beat. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone without any hesitation knowing that they will enjoy the overall experience of a fine soul food and seafood restaurant.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • jagandelight profile image
      Author

      jagandelight 7 years ago from Florida

      Powerpoint, thanks for reading. If you do go to the restaurant you will enjoy the food immensely, it's really good.

    • Powerpoe1 profile image

      Powerpoe1 7 years ago

      Great Review on Fish 'N' Loaves, thanks for sharing- I'll check it out when I'm in the area. Voted Up & Rated Useful~

    • jagandelight profile image
      Author

      jagandelight 7 years ago from Florida

      Dave, thanks for stopping by.

      This place is great and it's a christian based restaurant, so yes the name does reflect the feeding of the multitude.

      There is a variety on the menu, I just love the husppies.

    • jagandelight profile image
      Author

      jagandelight 7 years ago from Florida

      Denise,

      I really appreciate it. Last night something was bugging me that something was incomplete, but I couldn't think what it was. Thanks again.

    • Dave Mathews profile image

      Dave Mathews 7 years ago from NORTH YORK,ONTARIO,CANADA

      jaganddelight: Sounds like a great little place to try.

      The name suggests a biblical reference to when Jesus fed the five thousand with fish and loaves. I do hope there is more than hush-puppies on the menu though.

    • Denise Handlon profile image

      Denise Handlon 7 years ago from North Carolina

      Just a little boost for an already great hub. :)

    • jagandelight profile image
      Author

      jagandelight 7 years ago from Florida

      Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the tip, I'll do that.

    • Denise Handlon profile image

      Denise Handlon 7 years ago from North Carolina

      Sounds yummy. Wish I could visit it, but I'm not in the area. Thanks for the review. May I suggest: edit it and add a map.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)