ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Most Common Guests' Complaints in a Hotel

Updated on October 10, 2011

Though the guest’s complaint may be diverse in forms and kinds, let me list down some of the common complaints made by the guest according to my own experience. Taking aside with the guest, they should not be blamed for complaining because they pay as they are charged. And if the hotel facilities and services do not meet their expectation, more or less we it is possible to expect that they will complain. In the times like these, the receptionists, as you all know, are the the first staffs that will handle or solve the complaints.

Whether in a hotel room or at the dining hall, they find unsatisfactory experiences they will go directly go to the receptionist and start complains. To list the most common complaints in the hotel; let me begin from the check in stage.

Upon the check in, though they normally do not speak out but if the hotel is too far from the airport or less than their expectation they will not be smiling. The causes can be the comparison between the room rate of the hotel and the structure of the hotel. They pay almost the same rate as five stars hotel but if the hotel reaches only the standard of four stars, they complain.

In the hotel room, when the air-conditioner is not on beforehand and they enter the room, they complain.

If the prices of items and services served in the hotel are higher than their expectation, they complain. So as a receptionist, one must be ready to explain the reason why it is expensive with confidence. One day when I was at the Front Office desk, a guest from Malaysia came and asked me if you could ring his family back in Malaysia. But he didn’t ask me before he rang. So he called for a couple of minutes. Then the bill was USD 3. He was surprised. Because he thought it was too expensive. I tried my best to explain the reason why it was. He then understood.

When the room service didn’t arrive within an expected time, they complain. If the service delays, you ring immediately the room service department. When they could not have their own privacy, they complain. They came to stay for business or leisure, they need privacy. Avoid making noise in the hotel as much as possible.

When their food is not as good as they expect, they complain. Based on my experience food related complaint is the most common. Though it is not your problem as a receptionist about food, you are still confronted by the guest.

When the laundry is not available at their needing time, they complain. Make sure that you update with your laundry department every now and then.

When they feel that they are ignored, they complain. One day in our hotel, we arranged to serve breakfast at pool side. At that time, we had about 60 in house guests. Among the 60, 40 of them were a French group. So the next morning, when the time for breakfast turned, F&B department and water/waitress are busy with serving the group of French Tourists. Unfortunately American two young ladies were intentionally ignored to serve them breakfast. Then the lady, tears in her eyes, was walking in quickly in front of the Front office and began to complain. The complaint was later resolved. But I would like to mention this just to show that being ignorant to an individual guest can cause complaint. However the bottom line is that whatever complaint it may come, always provide them with another option. Do not just say “Sorry, Sir or Madam.”

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      anny 

      3 years ago

      Thank you! I have to deal with guest everyday...

    • profile image

      ALLIE360 

      5 years ago

      THE SAGUARO HOTEL IN SCOTTSDALE ARIZONA!

      THIS SPECIFIC HOTEL IS AWEFUL!

      I HAD A COMPLAINT REGARDING 2 EMPLOYEES AT THE POOL AREA. I EXPRESSED MY CONCERN "THEY WERE PERVERTS"

      THEY SMIRKED AND LAUGHED TO EACH OTHER, WHEN I ASKED TO SPEAK TO A SUPERVISOR OR MANAGER. THE BALD FAT ONE (THEY DID NOT HAVE NAME BADGE ON) STATED " THAT THE OTHER ONE WAS THE CHIEF DIRECTOR AND LAUGHED, THE OTHER GUY, SO CALL CHIEF DIRECTOR SMIRK AT THE BALD GUY". I AM SO IRRITATED, THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE! I AM REPULSED, ANNOYED! THEY WALKED AWAY FROM ME AS IF I WAS NOTHING!

      I INFORMED THE OTHER PARTIES TO TRY TO COVER UP AND THAT THE HOTEL STAFF WAS PERVERTS! NOT ALL BUT THE

      BALD FAT ONE AND THE SO CALL DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS.

      I THEN WENT TO THE FRONT DESK, ASKED FOR FURTHER INFORMATION REGARDING THE PERVERTS. THE FRONT DESK UNPROFESSIONAL, RELUCTANT TO SPEAK, INADEQUATE ATTITUDE, I ASKED NAME OF THE INDIVIDUALS SHE ONLY GAVE ME A NICK NAME "TIM" FOR THE CHIEF DIRECTOR OF OPERATION (WHAT IS THAT ANYWAY?) NOT A FULL NAME IS IT TIMOTHY I NEED A LAST NAME!!!! I THEN ASKED FOR SOMEONE HIGHER THEN HIM AND HER RESPOND WAS:

      I CAN TRY TO BE APOLOGETIC AND TRY TO ACCOMMODATE YOU, AS FAR AS OUR GENERAL MANAGER THEY ALL BUDDIES! HOW DO YOU THINK "TIM" AND ALL OF THEM GOT THEIR JOBS!!!!

      SHE WASN'T TO PLEASANT BUT AT LEAST HONEST!

      OUTRAGES!!!!!! I WAS THROUGH!!! NEVER AGAIN!!!!!

    • profile image

      David-chow 

      5 years ago

      Thx god, I found such a good website. Thank you for your sharing. yes, of course, complaint makes us get better. For a green hand, we have to learn ,learn how to say with the guest, learn how to solve the problems. And we also have to learn THE WAY TO THINK.

    • twobmad profile imageAUTHOR

      Ruatte 

      6 years ago from Myanmar(Burma)

      @Ros. - I'm so glad that you find this my simply put hub gives you some ideas. :D

    • twobmad profile imageAUTHOR

      Ruatte 

      6 years ago from Myanmar(Burma)

      @Nelz - Thank you for your contribution. As you said we as the Hotel also must be clever in handling the guests' complaints coz some guests are so dirty too. That also in somehow approves that there is no static description in handling the complaints. It is a learning process.

    • profile image

      ros 

      6 years ago

      its my pleasure of listening the guest complaints...however sometimes, i didn't find the solutions for it, so thank for this short explaination..

    • profile image

      nelz 

      6 years ago

      Definitely guests will complaint maybe because they were not satisfied of the service rendered by the staff in a certain lodging property; but then again there are some guests who were just have that complaint for the reason that to avoid the payment; then the management will give some complimentaries in order to wave that complaint.....Remember the word of mouth publicity!!!

    • twobmad profile imageAUTHOR

      Ruatte 

      6 years ago from Myanmar(Burma)

      Thank you for the comment Manmohan. I am glad that you find it helpful. I did not do technical research but those are based on my personal experience.

    • profile image

      manmohan 

      6 years ago

      thanks for the information it is really helpful for me..

    • twobmad profile imageAUTHOR

      Ruatte 

      7 years ago from Myanmar(Burma)

      Thank you very much again. I am still trying to hard to write all those my experiences in words, but I hope someday I will be able to write as smooth as you are. Salamat po kuya.

    • thesailor profile image

      thesailor 

      7 years ago from Seven Seas

      I'll take your insights in mind. Thank you very much!

    • twobmad profile imageAUTHOR

      Ruatte 

      7 years ago from Myanmar(Burma)

      Esta.. Thank you for your wonderful comment... no receptionist at Hotel is perfect, we continue to learn as we encounter different types of Guests. God luck to your career.

    • profile image

      Esta 

      7 years ago

      I am a receptionist and thank you very much for this insight.

    • twobmad profile imageAUTHOR

      Ruatte 

      7 years ago from Myanmar(Burma)

      Lol.. Alexander Pease.. you are making sense here by your clever comment. Honestly, guests are not really lovely sometimes...... two modes of complaints by them .... silent complaints and verbal complaints.. :D

    • Alexander Pease profile image

      Alexander Pease 

      7 years ago from Maine

      Great hub. I would not want to hear that many complaints, lol. It sounds as though the species "guest" is a finicky and complex creature.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)