ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Business and Employment»
  • Learn Business Skills

Top 5 IT Certifications For 2015 - Best In Demand

Updated on February 19, 2015

Top IT Certifications for 2015 - An Overview

Specializations and certifications are given very high importance in corporations that work on Information Technology related products and services. A person specialized in software testing and security cannot shift to core computer programming and designing tasks all of a sudden. Certifications like CCIE (The highest level of certification from Cisco) are held by a few thousands in the whole world. Over time the wealth of experience you gather and the specialization certifications are the two important factors that quantify your value and remuneration in your respective field of work. For both, fresh graduates and experienced professionals there is always a chance of getting good certifications in IT for a boost in career. This article compiles the list of most demanded IT Certifications for 2015-2016

1. Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist (MCTS)

The Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist trains the candidates on various Microsoft products and technologies like Windows Operating System, Visual Studio, Microsoft Exchange Server and Microsoft SQL Server. It enables you to design optimise and design solutions to corporates that depend on new technologies. The MCTS also enables you to evolve with the changing technologies and make the most out of the current trends. It’s suitable certification for both new graduates as well as seasoned professional.

Examination Fee and Training Details
Currently, there are 13 specializations in MCTS Program. The number of exams you need to take depends on the specialization chosen. Each exam costs 150 USD. The duration of the training also depends on the area of specialization and your expertise in the technology. However, questions will be focused to evaluate your hands-on experience and familiarity with the systems than theoretical knowledge.

About vmware certifications
About vmware certifications

2. VMware Certified Professional

VMware Certified Professional (VCP) is the first level of certification in VMware technologies. It’s one of the top industry recognized computer certification programs that focus on Virtualization.The latest release VCP 5 focuses on operating vSphere 5 technology developed by VMware. The certification objective is to train the candidate to install, configure and deploy VMware vSphere systems and manage virtualized environments.
Examination Fee and Training Details
In order to get qualify for VCP test you need to attend a four day instructor led training at one of the training partners of VMware near your place.

Examination Fee and Training Details

  • The training session will have an install and configuration of vSphere 5 of VMware. The training fee is 3000 USD . You can also get the online version of this training from VMware for 2995 USD. The exam registration fee - 175 USD
  • Number of Questions - 70
  • Qualifying Score 70/100
  • Exam duration - 110 Minutes

3. Cisco Certified Internetwork Expert (CCIE)

The Cisco Certified Internetwork Expert is the highest level of certification offered by Cisco. It focus on managing huge, converged networks and troubleshooting them. It’s regarded as one of the the most difficult IT Certifications today. Till 2010, there were only 21,000 CCIE professional around the world. There are 7 Specialization to the CCIE Program . It’s undoubtedly the most sought after and demanded computer network certification program today.

Examination Fee and Training Details
First the candidate will have to undergo a written test with 90-110 questions. The examination fee is 350 USD per attempt. The results will be announced immediately. The candidate will have to pass the written test to sit of the lab exam.

The lab exam is the toughest part. The duration of the test is 8 hours where the candidate will have to deploy and operate the Cisco lab environment. The fee for each lab attempt is 1500 USD. The result of the lab examination is published withing 48 hours.

About red hat certification
About red hat certification

4. Red Hat Certified Architect (RHCA)

The Red Hat Certified Architect is regarded as the most complete certification among the 7 major Red Hat Certification. The per-requisite for RHCA is Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) . The program provides an enterprise level focus on the Red Had technology solutions. Red Hat systems provide unique cost effective infrastructure management systems like cloud systems and server technology to enterprises. Hence, this certification has highly industry recognized and sought after by enterprises.

Exam Fee and Training Details
The candidate will have to pass five separate expert exams to get the certification. The duration of the expert exams vary from 2 to 8 hours depending on the selected fields. Each examination will cost around 150 USD for each attempt. The result of the examination will be intimated via email within 5 working days.

Above described are the top IT certification in demand for 2015 according to today's scenario. If you need further help or have come up with newly launched great certifications please post it as comments in this page.

5. Cisco Certified Security Professional (CCSP)

Security and virtualization specializations are among the most demanded certifications in IT industry today. The Cisco Certified Security Professional belongs to the premium category in security certifications. In today’s scenario of corporate cyber warfare and information theft, management of secure network infrastructure is vital for the survival for any company.

Examination Fee and Training Details

The test consist of 55-75 questions split into 5 parts. The duration of the test is 75-90 minutes. Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) is the pre-requisite to attend the CCSP examination. The exam fee is 150 USD for every attempt. Note that the CCSP doesn't publish any fixed passing score as they revise it constantly.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Andrew 23 months ago

      Each RHCA examination will cost $600 making this one of the most expensive IT certifications to obtain (at least $6k in testing fees).

    • profile image

      noble 6 years ago

      its there any scholarship attached to it,cause i will like to do ccna and CCIE

    • profile image

      shekhar nagle 6 years ago

      It provides vital information for those who want to pursue carrier in IT

    • profile image

      Mukesh Kumar Saini 6 years ago

      Best Article for carrier in IT

    • profile image

      bhargob gogoi 6 years ago

      How to get a Microsoft certified technology specialist certificate?what are its demand in the IT world.

    • RK Sangha profile image

      RK Sangha 6 years ago from USA

      Thanks for information