ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

ODesk Review - from an Actual User

Updated on April 4, 2013

oDesk - A WINNER or Just Another LETDOWN?

For years now, my experience with freelance programmers has been a nightmare.

Missed deadlines. Lacking communication. Dashed expectations. Delays and frustration.

All told... I've wasted thousands of dollars and literally years of effort working with the wrong people. It was time to try oDesk.com.

Frankly I had every reason to be skeptical.

But I was hopeful as well. The ability to sort through profiles, projects, and reviews to find good candidates was as an exciting step forward.

I decided to take the plunge.

So, was oDesk the answer to my prayers... or just another letdown?

I have now gone through the complete oDesk experience as an employer.

I registered.

I browsed through their freelancers.

I posted a project.

I chose a candidate and hired him.

And I completed that project.

So I can confidently tell you... oDesk is exactly what I have been looking for.

Now let me tell you why...

As I mentioned previously, I have spent (wasted) years trying to find a responsible programmer. I used Craigslist. I used referrals. And time and again, I got the runaround... or worse, incompetent, unprofessional people.

In fact, I wasted nearly 6 months (and a lot of money) trying to finish a project that ended up being completed in ONE week on oDesk.

I'm ecstatic.

The process was easy. There were no hoops to jump through. I just registered an email address and posted a job (absolutely free) with my specific requirements. I also invited a few people to apply who met my requirements. I love that I was able to see ratings and choose someone that others have had a positive experience with.

Within 48 hours, I had instant messaged with my top candidate to discuss the project and get a feel for our compatibility. Based on his reviews and our conversation I felt great about him. So I clicked the "HIRE" button. And off we went...

It's less than two weeks later... and the job is done.

Odesk just charges my card for the hours worked (you can do flat fee as well) so payment is automatic.

Now whenever I have additional work, I send him an email through oDesk. We email or IM to clarify anything that's unclear. I ask for an estimate of how long it will take, and before I know it the job is done.

He... and oDesk... exceeded my expectations.

It's hard to believe how efficient the process is given what I've experienced in the past. You can post a job for free and then see who applies... evaluate their reviews... even interview them... all before you make a decision. If you find someone you feel good about at a rate that works for you, great. If not, no harm, no foul. It's the best experience I've had finding and hiring freelancers and I'm glad I found it!

oDesk Alternatives?

Naturally, oDesk is not the only kid on the block.

Several similar sites also provide access to freelance and virtual workers of all kinds, and have earned loyal fans due to their interface, monitoring system, and dispute resolution. The site that's best for you ultimately depends on your needs.

Freelancer - is now the world's largest online global workforce and source of freelancers having recently acquired both Scriptlance and vWorker. They boast nearly 7 million contractors! Posting a project is free, and it's easy to browse through workers, ratings, and skillsets to find the right hire. Not only do you decide when to release the funds (when you're happy with the work), but there is dispute resolution as well which is helpful if any sticky situations arise.

Elance - is another well established, well-staffed outsourcing solution with flexible global payment options that facilitate overseas relationships. Posting a job is free here as well. Elance gets paid out of the rate you agree upon with your worker, so it's seemingly fee free. Elance automatically tracks and documents time worked with screenshots, and allows you to collaborate online (including video conferencing) via a shared workroom.

Guru - another well-respected outsourcing site, however Guru is significantly smaller than oDesk, Elance, and Freelancer when it comes to the number of registered workers in its database. Guru is also free to post, offers collaboration tools to aid in communication and project management, and releases payment only when you approve the work.

What Matters Most!

Your satisfaction will ultimately depend on the worker you hire. So do your due diligence before choosing someone. Don't just look at reviews (some can be misleading), but rather look at the projects they've done and chat with them to make sure they're responsible and ready to take on the task!

Why I Like oDesk

and online freelance sites in general...

NOTE: Some time has passed since I first used oDesk, so the online freelance landscape has changed some since writing this review. For starters, Freelancer purchased both vWorker and Scriptlance making them the largest source of freelancers available today. Secondly, platforms have evolved and improved. I still find oDesk easy to use, but other options are similarly simple, and equally fee free (fee is paid out of agreed upon rate). One complaint I do hear is in regard to oDesk's lack of dispute resolution. I've never had a problem personally, but I do hope it's something they address.

Anyway here are some of the things I like about oDesk and about freelancing websites in general.

1. Easy to Use / Lots of Talent

oDesk is very easy to navigate based on the kind of work you are looking for. Searching for workers using different criteria (reviews, hours logged, hourly rate, language proficiency, test results, etc.) is also a snap. Before even posting a project I could see that there were a LOT of people who met my requirements. With literally MILLIONS of workers registered, the pool of talent is extraordinary.

2. No "Hoops" to Jump Through

It's easy to get started. Personally, I had never done this before and was hesitant to put a lot of time into a site that was largely unfamiliar to me. Setup takes MINUTES. Posting a project is as easy as typing a title, describing the work, and clicking some boxes to narrow down workers by review level, hourly rate, and other metrics.

3. As Close to FREE as Possible

Posting a job is free. If you hire a worker at $11/hour, that's ALL you pay. Period. You won't see any fees on top of that. oDesk, Elance, Freelancer, and Guru make money by taking a small percentage of the agreed upon rate. So for example, if you agree to hire a designer at $11/hour, the worker gets $10 and oDesk gets $1. Easy. Brainless. Brilliant. Some websites have premium listings, but they are optional.

4. Transparency

How do you know you're paying for real work? Elance and oDesk have workers LOG IN when they're working, and during that time screenshots of their computer are recorded. This is a great deterrent against time wasting, and should it happen it's easy to dispute the wasted time. There are other safeguards as well. On Freelancer, you only release the payment when you're happy with the work. There is also dispute resolution should you ever have a problem.

There are more things I liked, but that's what's coming to mind right now. I can honestly say that every stage - from signing up, to posting, to viewing candidates, to completing my project was easy.

Some of that credit certainly goes to the fact that my freelancer was awesome... but a lot of it goes to oDesk.

My A+ Recommendation

The BEST Way to Find Freelance Designers, Writers, Programmers, Artists, and More.

What Kind of Worker Do You Need? - Take part in the 1 question poll...

oDesk Review
oDesk Review

I am looking to outsource...

See results

Was This oDesk Review Helpful? - Questions? Suggestions? Feedback?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      MervynGoh 6 years ago

      thanks for sharing, i agreed with you too, as i am also utilizing this portal.

    • jello28 lm profile image

      jello28 lm 6 years ago

      hello, im new to odesk.. but im learning fast.. its nice to know some odesk workers here..

    • patriciabruce1 profile image

      patriciabruce1 6 years ago

      In my opinion, ODesk is awesome! In less than 1 month, I have earned over $400 and would recommended this site to anyone looking to work from home and earn real money.

    • profile image

      beardvc 6 years ago

      Odesk is nice

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      Sorry, could not agree. oDesk promotes slavery. Providers are asked to work for outrageous prices, as low as 50cents/hour. Any decent freelancing site has a minimum budget for any proposal and buyers requesting work for less than that amount have their accounts suspended. But oDesk does nothing of the sort. They have laid down no policy to help providers. It is "THE WORST" freelancing site. I am signed up on Elance, Guru and oDesk and I cannot wait to cancel my account on oDesk but they won't even do that. Buyers practically wants providers to work for free and unfortunately some providers are willing to do so.

    • siryellow1 profile image
      Author

      Alan 5 years ago from New York

      @anonymous: Sorry you disagree, but many freelancers and businesses find great value in oDesk. As far as 50/cents an hour, I have NEVER seen that. I see rates that run the gamut from low to high.

    • profile image

      mphilli72 5 years ago

      I couldn't agree more! I registered with Odesk on May 31st, and by June 4th I had work. Thanks for the post!

    • AllisonLindsay profile image

      AllisonLindsay 5 years ago

      @anonymous: One of the greatest aspects of sites like oDesk and Elance is the ability to pass on jobs that don't suit your income requirements. I frequently contract my writing and editing services on both sites and would have to say that they are equally fair, in my experience. Sure, oDesk does seem to have a larger quantity of 'low pay' jobs...but I exercise my right to skip on past them. Slavery would imply that you're forced into work without pay...but on freelancing sites, you're not FORCED into anything. Low paying employers eventually learn that you get what you pay for. If they want to pay $1 for a 500 word article, they're going to get crap. It's as simple as that.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      More feedback on oDesk: Overall good, but beware of âmanualâ hours.

      I read this review and the comments here before (reluctantly) outsourcing a small project through oDesk. Iâm offering some feedback to others who might be researching, as I did. Overall I was happy with the experience. HOWEVER; I caution anyone working with oDesk to make sure that you do not allow âmanualâ hours.

      oDesk plasters the site with copy on how an employer can check on work throughout the process (as in the âtransparencyâ and âwork diaryâ examples in this review). I must confess I find the screenshot diary a bit Big Brotherish, but it did provide me with a measure of reassurance when making my decision to use the service. It is NOT at all obvious that those features are only available if you do not allow the freelancer to enter hours manually. This came as a shock to me when we hit a minor snag (not the freelancer's fault, by the way) and I tried to check on work in the middle of the project. I was not able to do so because the freelancer I'd hired had opted to enter hours manually rather than having work tracked. I wasnât even aware that there was a âmanualâ option. Iâm still not entirely clear on how I could have prevented this. Fortunately, it didnât become an issue.

      Our programmer was great. He did what we hired him to do, and more. Because he completed our job well and within the allotted time frame, there was no need for me to verify how time was being spent. This could have definitely been a big problem on a larger project, if work was not progressing as expected, or if I'd hired a less than honest freelancer. So read the fine print. Thoroughly.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I was shocked at how many jobs there were that offered ridiculous rates of pay. I am a freelance editor and writer, so I need to live off what I earn. Asking for people to accept 50 cents per 100 words is abysmal. The worst thing is, there are people accepting these tasks, although I do wonder about the quality.

      I am signed up with Elance, and I will be signing up with Guru soon. However, with the amount of low-paying jobs on oDesk, I think I will be very cautious about using the site.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: I have to agree with Mita about oDesk (but not Elance). oDesk buyers expect people to work for free, or they wind up hiring the person with the cheapest rate, only to turn around and hire the second cheapest when that person flakes out before complaining that the site has crappy workers. There are plenty of good workers, with skills they don't have to lie about, on oDesk...employers just have to be willing to pay them a normal wage.

    • siryellow1 profile image
      Author

      Alan 5 years ago from New York

      @anonymous: I think this is the first issue I've heard raised from the employer side. Certainly a legitimate concern, but if both the employer and the employee get to rate the other, how is it possible to police that? Doesn't it work the same way on Elance, Ebay, etc. where each party gets to leave a review for the other? I'm not saying what that contractor did is right, or fair, or anything close, but I'm also not sure why that's an Odesk issue as opposed to an issue with that contractor. Let me know if I'm missing something, and hopefully another option will work out better for you.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @Kailua-KonaGirl: This person did not understand instructions and wanted to go on his own way with php and . when I hired him to do html. He charged me $89.91 to do my drop down work and put a picture in my header. He was great on the php but I won't hire him for any html. This place Odesk will not return any money either when your person over charges you for hours. It cost me over 65 dollars just to get a picture put in a banner and faded. I could have done the job myself in an hour but didn't have time, I do now. I would not hire this person again and I would not hire Odesk again unless it is by the job and that is a maybe after this experience. I am looking other places for a secure job and my money working for me not some person working for Odesk.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I just began to use http://www.odesk.com last week. I found an employer who wants to begin working with me. Then, suddenly, my network can no longer connect to the site.

      I checked with a friend in Canada who can connect.

      Has anyone ever experienced such technical difficulty with odesk? Has anyone lost any jobs because of technical problems with odesk?

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I have had 1 good contractor with ODesk who actually finished a project for me. The others disappear in the middle of working on my projects and take off with any money I've given them. Then I'm always told by the next contractor that the work the last person did was crap and it needs to be redone and fixed, of course costing more money. ODesk has horrible customer service, they don't care about employees at all and totally disregard any agreements that have been made between the contractor and the employer. I personally, will never be using ODesk ever again.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I should not complain about the service itself, since it was okay.. the issue here is with the Odesk process of filling for a dispute. It does not protect the interest of someone who is hiring the contractor... it seems like Odesk is interested in getting it's 10% share and hence has provided no tools to put a hold on or any mechanism to approve hours... If you don't closely monitor or your project does not fall in the paradigms of how Odesk wants you to monitor manually added hours.... You have to pay... no matter if the contractor has done the job or not... VERY Bad practice..... BY ODESK.... Will not be doing any business here

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I have been working as a Unix software developer for 30+ years. The amount of money offered for these jobs are pittiful. A job at McDonalds as a french fry cooker pays about the same.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I tried Odesk some months ago as a contractor. I think there are two parallel worlds on Odesk, the professional line and the poor line. I haven't been able to escape from the 'poor' side of the track. I even provided a lot of free programs with documented sources to employer when projects were very simple, to finally receive no reply. It is absolutely not convivial when it's time to bid and bargain. I decided to be the employer.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @siryellow1: As an employer who has used Odesk for the past three years, I would say there is good and bad. I've hired very good software developers globally at good rates. The bad side is the false rating system. I just finished a contract with an Asian developer and gave him a 3.5 rating. He demanded a 5. When I declined he threatened all types of bad exposure on facebook and Odesk. I think Odesk has to do a better job of policing their site.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I registered for oDesk a few days ago and managed to be accepted for a simple job my first day. Simple research for less than two hours of work and $15. Not a ton of money, but for what I did, it's perfectly acceptable. I'm using this to supplement my regular job. My second job started last night, and will be about 20-30 hours of work.

      So far the site has been easy to use, but be careful and read the directions and reviews of the employer carefully. There are many who want to pay 50 cents for an article, have no review, or do not have a verified payment method. I just avoid applying for those jobs. No, it's not going to make you rich, but if you need a bit of supplemental income, this seems to be a good way.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      oDesk was one of the best freelancing sites I have been to. While competition among contractors is great, there is still high chance of getting hired unlike in elance were contractors get to bid. And most employers go for cheaper labour cost. It's great that you hired a perfect freelancer, but just so you are aware, there can be scammers in oDesk, too. You might want to check staff.com, too! It works the same as oDesk but jobs are not posted for public's view to prevent scammers from applying to the post. Instead, they have a recruiter who can shortlist applicants for you.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Odesk has a lot of competitive contractors globally. Unsurprisingly, that has it's pros and cons. Cheap prices for employers, but high signal to noise of potential hires. Intense competition for providers, but a variety of short projects to gain skills and portfolio entries at that wouldn't be available locally.

    • steph-naylor profile image

      steph-naylor 4 years ago

      Thanks for sharing Lens! This lens was just what I was looking for

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      If you use Odesk, don't make your job public! That resulted in an inordinate amount of spam from applicants who clearly hadn't read the job posting - even to the point of some who began spamming my company's public contact forms and phones demanding work!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @Kailua-KonaGirl: Yes! A walking-through would be great: how to screen, hire and monitor Odesk freelancers. I'm especially curious about effective ways of choosing a good writer.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: I joined Elance and Odesk as a provider at the same time 2 years ago. While my earnings and jobs in Elance kept increasing although I was bidding for a job, at Odesk I was often frustrated because I am competing with contractors who are ready to work for ridicuously low rates. How can I compare my expenses in USA (in New York) with someone in Philippines who will do the same job for a fraction of my cost. So, I gracefully left Odesk some time ago, and continue to get jobs at Elance. There are bidders from other countries, but not for rates that you see at Odesk. Yes, it is not a ton of money at Odesk, but definitely supplemental income if you have the patience.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      My oDesk experience has been terrible. Contractors missing a deadline by 4 months (and counting!!!! Still not delivered). I don't think they speak english. They add ugly design elements to my clean design when programming it in, and then take months to remove them with dozens of emails going un-read (or just uncomprehended). Don't know if i'd ever use it again.

    • profile image

      daniel-jolley-33 4 years ago

      Thank you for sharing your review of odesk. I checked it out and thought it was pretty useful if you are looking to make a little extra income, but probably not going to be enough to quite your day job.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I started using oDesk as a contractor at the start of May this year. I had recently moved to Sweden and do not speak the language that well. I was looking for an alternative means for employment but I too was skeptical.

      I have now received 7 contracts since I started, some long term, some short term. Overall (5/7) I've had great experiences. I started with a low rate and in the three and a half months since I've started I've seen my accepted hourly rate grow by just over 148%.

      The bad experiences you had with contractors also happens with employers. It is part and parcel of the oDesk community. With over 250,000 contractors you are bound to find some bad apples in the bunch.

      One of the clients I work for told me they went on price instead of quality, a mistake they would not do again. For the employers who have had bad experiences, rest assured there are contractors on there who have pride in there work and treat it like their own business.

      As a contractor I will continue to use oDesk as long as I see growth. There is a limit as to how much a contractor can earn on oDesk with the stupidly low rates some contractors a willing to work for.

      Do you hire someone at a low rate with a high risk the work will not be completed, or completed in a poor fashion, then hire someone else to redo it? Or do you hire someone that can perform the job at a high level at a higher rate?

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: Been there too. The found my private email address - gosh know how and seemed to add me to their spam list

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: I guess my odesk/elance exp is nightmare...wont recommend that

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: When you pay super-low rates, only desperate workers in third-world countries will respond. That's the other side of the supply-demand equation.

    • hi99ins lm profile image

      hi99ins lm 4 years ago

      Been on oDesk for 3 years it's a career move - I now work only there. Only pain is the escrow of earnings for over a week. If you need to know more go to www.whatisodesk.com

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Learn oDesk And Enjoy The Freedom Of Freelancing!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Just started oDesk for like 2 months and I have recommended this site to my friends who are also seeking for online jobs. I am a mom and I stay at home all day to watch my baby so I told myself why not give a try. I registered, took several tests, each each is 40 items for 40 minutes. Applied, interviewed and was hired! That easy! I got a data entry job for a new website company, telemarketing for a beauty supply, transcription (Australian company) and typing (PDF to MS Word). All those jobs, I am working for the 4 of them now. And they paid me good. They pay me every week + bonus for doing a great job. I'm sooooo loving to be a part of this team! Good luck to all of you!!!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I have a long history with Odesk, over 30+ projects. Roughly, about 1/3 of my projects were done accurately. Even vetted, highly-rated contractors can be outright scammers. In one case a coder was "revamping" our framework over an extended period until we found he had been simply billing, but not actually working (despite the screenshots).

      Lessons learned? Competent contractors are a small minority on Odesk. Scams are rife. Don't believe ratings or portfolios (I've had several coders/scammers offer me a refund only if I left no rating or feedback). You MUST stay on top of the work and be very clear about the work, few go the extra distance to provide quality. Odesk is incompetent about protecting employers.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      BEWARE! BEWARE! oDesk is a swamp of fraud.

      I had no experience with Wordpress so thought some help would be useful. Posted a job on oDesk for a blog with mapping and calendar plugins. The initial estimate was 40 to 50 hours. This promptly changed when the contract was let to 80 to 90 hours. 90 hours later, no blog. When I complained, three days later a minimal blog was offered that met none of my requirements and had no plugins. As a test the spend one hour--one hour--creating my own blog with calendar and mapping plugins. The result had about 100 times the functionality of the blog I paid for. The whole thing was a complete fraud.

      oDesk is a systematic party to this fraud. They have very limited dispute capacities and these are highly biased against customers. For example, on their site it is very easy to give a contractor a bonus but practically impossible to find how to dispute a bill. Negative contractor comments are not posted for at least 14 days, allowing known fraudsters to continue. Then, they can come back under new names. In any case oDesk gets their cut.

    • techmathhelp profile image

      techmathhelp 4 years ago

      Good review. I also use oDesk for outsourcing.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      My experience is the opposite. The freelancer I engaged tried to defraud me by charging for work not done, and I refused to pay. But ODesk aren't interested and just keep sending demands for me to pay despite me explaining the situation to three separate people. I have concluded they are as much a fraud as the con - tractor I engaged. I've had no problem with Freelancer or Elance but would avoid ODesk as I would avoid a known carrier of Ebola.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      by the way u can try odesk for free but they send u ton of threaten email to shut down your account if you don't verify with credit card ....

      and their coder is not much different with other site, most of them is lier with no responsibility ...

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I just started applying for jobs on odesk. What a nightmare! Every job wants content editors, grammarians, proofreaders, SEO specialists, and wants to pay $3 per hour? Is odesk a complete joke?

      To those of you complaining about the service you received, when you are paying slave labor wages to non-English speaking contractors, halfway around the world, what the dickens did you expect??? You get what you pay for, and my skills have been honed with over 22 years as an English teacher, a Masters degree, and a great deal of freelance writing. I do not cost $3 per hour. Pay someone what he or she is worth, and you will get a job well-done. Be a cheapskate, and you are just wasting your money.

    • profile image

      ThisGirlWrites 4 years ago

      On the flip side as an oDesk worker, I have never had issues getting projects with a fair price. I use the site sparingly. But in the past it has led to some long term contracts.

    • vsolomon2002 profile image

      vsolomon2002 4 years ago

      I have worked for four different clients in oDesk and they seem to be satisfied with the work I've done.

      There are lots of jobs being offered paying RIDICULOUSLY LOW rates, I just ignore them. :D

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      What I've found from many people taking on jobs, is they often drop out of a job without a reason, mess up terribly and then abandon it, so the job is reduced to starting over again, get frustrated with having to provide progress reports so money can be transferred as milestones are met...

      Often a person has taken on multiple jobs, so if one starts to get difficult, or a person realizes they didn't quite have the ability they thought they had or sold themselves on, they can abandon the job and work on the back-up one.

      There are a few good developers on the site, and work does get done when you fine one, but you have to wade through mounds of garbage to find a guenuine professional. They are out there on ODesk, but they are getting harder to find.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I completed the job on odesk of $ 700 with 5star but its RIDICULOUSLY reverse by odesk and suspended my account. its better Elance that will more trustable site for work

    • Amy617 profile image

      Amy617 4 years ago

      I signed up for oDesk yesterday, and I got hired today! Great lens

    • profile image

      pattee13 4 years ago

      I started using oDesk this weekend, so I'm happy to hear I have good things to look forward to,great article!

    • profile image

      OnlinePurchaseAdvisor 4 years ago

      I have an account in oDesk as a web developer not used much but am interested in participating actively. thanks for this great review of oDesk.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I have been ripped off twice in 7 days by odesk contractors, and the site admin refuses to do anything about it. Once by a contractor WHO DID NO WORK, used his timelog to check his emails, shop online, and browse the web. Odesks response?

      "oDesk has reviewed the work diary for this contract and determined that all time was logged in accordance with the oDesk Payment Guarantee."

      and once by one who just took the money and ran. BEWARE ODESK - there are a few good programmers there I am sure, but a lot more thieves.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I worked 2 contracts when it was time to withdraw the money, The withdrawal button doesn't work! Can you believe that?! So I contacted support and told them. Their response? Did you PAY someone using paypal? Um yes, what does that have to do with withdrawing my earnings? Well we disabled your withdrawal ability because of that. Give us 24-48 hours to resolve it. 3 days later, the withdrawal button still doesn't work! Do not depend on Odesk to pay you for your hard earned work!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I think Odesk.com support team don't have ability to solve the issue, They are take too much time to solve the issue.............Other option is better...................

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I am a current Master's student looking for some freelance gigs for some extra cash so I figured I'd try odesk. Heck, if I can pass the GRE with flying colors, the tests on odesk are nothing, so I decided to bulk up and get as many certifications as I could. I should have checked the pay rates first, though. Who in their right mind works for $1 an hour? That's just plain insulting! I can get a minimum wage job and health benefits for 8 times as much so why bother with this joke of a website? Needless to say, I'm sorely disappointed. No one can make a living or even buy a cup of coffee for $1 an hour!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      BUYER BEWARE - AVOID ODESK

      I would like to share my experience of hiring a developer through odesk. I needed a signin with LinkedIn button added to my site and posted a job. I received several replies and one programmer seemed well suited. He was more expensive than the average bids but claimed to have experience and contacted me repeatedly claiming he could complete the job within a specified time period. We agreed a price for the hours he quoted and started the job.

      After the hours were complete the project was at best half finished ( and completely unsuable) I contacted him and he said he needed more time. I presumed this was at his expense and questioned him to double check but got no response.

      next i received a notification that I had been billed for the extra hours (without ever agreeing them)

      i contacted odesk and was told they would check the worklogs. They then did this merely confirming that the hours had been worked. They did not take into account that the developer repeatedly promised to deliver the whole project within the specified time or that I had not approved the extra work.

      Apparently because I did not set a fixed price project at the start there is nothing they will do regarding misleading promises. My only option was to continue throwing money at an hourly rate at the developer in the hope that he migh feel like deliverign what he promised.

      This is a ridiculous system and is clearly biased towards poor, shoddy work delivered as alte as possible.

      Overall the service from odesk was cursory and totally useless.

      AVOID AT ALL COSTS

    • profile image

      anonymous 3 years ago

      @anonymous: I've worked with oDesk a bit and agree there are pitfalls. I think a bit of it is knowing what to expect, how to hire contractors and then how to set expectations with them. There are resources out there to help like this eBook on Amazon (currently free): The Unofficial Client Success Guide for oDesk - How to Create or Expand Your Business with Other People's Help. It is short and talks a bit about these points. At the end of the day there are people on the other end, some excellent, some less so. A thought.

    • profile image

      anonymous 3 years ago

      Site is good but I never got any luck from this site, I mostly met with fake people here :( I prefer SEOClerks.com, far better than oDesk.

    • profile image

      anonymous 3 years ago

      @anonymous: I have had terrible service from the person I hired who barely speaks english and then terrible customer service to resolve all the mistakes she has made.

    • seodress profile image

      seodress 3 years ago

      Enjoyed reading this lens. Very resourceful.

    • profile image

      david-conklin-3139 3 years ago

      I wish I could say that my luck with oDesk was as good as yours.

      I get contractors who want to get paid upfront, cuss at me when I won't and give me the bad review.

      I get contractors who don't understand English--and then the problem is all with me.

      Hours of work are put in and for garbage output.

      oDesk can't even handle simple math.

    • siryellow1 profile image
      Author

      Alan 3 years ago from New York

      @david-conklin-3139: Sorry to hear about that experience. I've had more positive experiences since the one I wrote about here. I will say that I spend a lot of time reading the written reviews / looking at portfolios / etc. before I choose, but I realize I've probably been somewhat lucky too. I understand your frustration and hope oDesk can find way to reduce these kinds of experiences. There are other options so it looks like its time to try one of them. Good luck!

    • profile image

      youngblazecky 3 years ago

      I think i prefer using seoclerks.com instead of odesk. Seoclearks is much easier and better, and i love their services. Maybe you should try it out if and see the difference.

    • siryellow1 profile image
      Author

      Alan 3 years ago from New York

      @youngblazecky: For SEO tasks possibly, but SEOClerks appears to be way too niche-oriented to be a viable substitution for the rest of these services. Thanks for sharing.

    • profile image

      jeffyb 3 years ago

      A scam artist devised as a service provider (Web programmer - Amju Verma - ThreeGInfo - puneet_lakhani@hotmail.com ) convinced me to change from ELance.com to ODesk - the reasoning for this is that with ODESK they charge your credit card and pay the scammer automatically without your consent, approval nor knowledge.

      When you sign up with ODESK they require credit card information and when yor attempt to hire someone that person is then in charge of your money - they have the ability to put through charges and even when you complain to ODESK they ignore the issue and allow them to continue to process charges.

      ODesk then closes out your complaint and will not allow you to contact ODESK nor the scammer any longer and you cannot rate the scammer.

      It has taken me months to try to get my monies refunded and CHASE Credit cards have continually refused to refund my monies for services that I did not even get.

      Odesk is set up to rip people off - they have no concern for the people hiring the talent and they have even less concerned with having a website that is condusive to resolving disputes and identifying scammers.

      Are they working for these scammers - It really appears that they are - why would they close the dispute and refuse to allow any additional information? WHy would they allow scammers to charge without the customer approving it?

      I would strongly suggest that everyone look elsewhere for contractual hiring of services.

    Click to Rate This Article