ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

A Rigorous Review of Hubpages

Updated on February 4, 2016

I have been a member of the Hubpage community for well over four years now. In this time, I have had multiple triumphs and tragedies in my life. I believe I can say the same about Hubpages.

Why am I writing a review of Hubpages?

Hubpages decided to "roll out" a new contest. It is called the Rigorous Review Contest and you can read all the rules here. Many people are writing reviews on restaurants and products they have bought, but I don't believe anyone, as yet, has reviewed this website.

I don't know how well it will go over. I am not counting on winning any prizes. I haven't won a prize here yet. I do think that Hubpages does need to regularly hear from us, the writers. We all want to make money here and it takes a team effort. That is why I am writing this review. I will say what I like and what I don't. I hope this review doesn't anger some, but if it does, oh well.

Like I stated at the beginning, I have been here for four years. Here are a few of the avatars I have used in that time:

Click thumbnail to view full-size

The Start

When I started at Hubpages, I was looking for a way to make just a bit more money. I was also using this website as a sounding board for injustice against children and other social issues that I feel strongly about. It worked well, and I gained a large following. I started making money and I felt like Hubpages was a great avenue to attack social issues and make extra money.

I found that I could share about some of my hobbies, one of which was coin collecting. I installed E-Bay ads with coins and I started making some good commissions. I was receiving a check monthly and this helped pay some of the bills.

This is where my review turns a little ugly.

Google decided to do all these crazy panda and penguin and poo-poo updates and drove Hubpages into a tailspin. Hubpages had to make changes, many of which, I defended. I have watched Hubpage staff working night and day trying to keep everyone happy. For the most part, I feel they have done the best they can.

So what problem do I have?

I told you about the money I was making on the E-bay ads. On an average, I was making over $200 a month just off E-Bay. Hubpages decided to take over the E-Bay program. Since that point, I see clicks, but very little money. I now average off E-Bay about $6 a month. Wouldn't you question this?

I have watched some long time Hubbers pack their articles and leave. They have claimed the same I am claiming here.I have watched "newbies" join and write hubs with 60 words and claim they are making good money from them.

I am frustrated with what has happened here at Hubpages, but I strive on. I still remember when Paul and his wife sent me that Hubpage T-Shirt and I recall all the great friends I have met here. My beautiful wife, Lastheart also writes here, and I know she loves it too.

I just hope that Hubpages will take a close look at what has happened to that money I was once making and attempt to bring it back. This would entice me to write more for this site. I have found myself writing for freelance content sites, just to get the money that at one time I was making here.


The Good

I spouted about the bad in the last paragraphs, I must now tell the good.

Hubpages is a highly recognized website, and by writing here, your articles will tend to soar to the top of search engines much quicker.

The staff at Hubpages is some of the most professional and friendliest staff that I have dealt with in any content sites.

Hubbers are tight-knit and seem to stick together and help each other. It is a well managed website and you don't have the porn and other "crap" that seems to be all over the internet.

My overall review of Hubpages is 9 out of 10 stars. I hope that they keep striving to be better and I hope that we all will make money here.

HUBPAGES ROCKS!!!


© G.L. Boudonck

You Rate Hubpages Out Of 5 Stars

4.6 out of 5 stars from 9 ratings of Hubpages Overall

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      chrisinhawaii 

      6 years ago

      I sure hope things turn around on here. I absolutely love the community and support, but making more money would sure be nice.

      Thanks for the honesty, Froggy. Aloha

    • Froggy213 profile imageAUTHOR

      Greg Boudonck 

      6 years ago from Returned to an Isla Del Sol - Puerto Rico Will Rise Strong

      thanks honey.

    • profile image

      Maria Ruiz 

      6 years ago

      Very good review Froggy213.

    • Froggy213 profile imageAUTHOR

      Greg Boudonck 

      6 years ago from Returned to an Isla Del Sol - Puerto Rico Will Rise Strong

      Thank you for all the comments. It shows just how good this community is.

    • smcopywrite profile image

      smcopywrite 

      6 years ago from all over the web

      i love the community here at the Hub and work diligently to make great hubs with terrific content. i agree with you about the changes that have effected the writing income earned at hubpages. i havent been here at long as you, but certainly hope things get better. i believe there are too many changes too fast and not all of them great.

      there are a number of writing sites around the web where passive income can be made. hub pages is still one of the better ones-warts and all

    • Happyboomernurse profile image

      Gail Sobotkin 

      6 years ago from South Carolina

      Love the fact that you reviewed HubPages during the Rigorous Review Contest.

      You made a lot of great points both pro and con.

      In the end each of us has to decide whether writing here satisfies our financial goals in addition to the social benefits of writing within such a supportive community.

      Voted this hub up across the board except for funny.

    • CrisSp profile image

      CrisSp 

      6 years ago from Sky Is The Limit Adventure

      Precisely! And, as you said, I'm just going to emphasize it once again:

      "Hubbers are tight-knit and seem to stick together and help each other. It is a well managed website and you don't have the porn and other "crap" that seems to be all over the internet."

      And this is just one of the reasons, I am here.

      Excellent review! Voted up and sharing!

    • mpropp profile image

      Melissa Propp 

      6 years ago from Minnesota

      Nice review and good idea. Obviously, you have been with HP for a long enough time that you clearly have the experience and authority to review the product. Still being fairly new myself, I can't say that I've seen any money yet (can't miss what you never had) but I would trust your figures over any newbies with less than 60 word hubs! I can agree with you also that this is a great supportive community and the administrators of the site certainly do seem to be trying. I think they will take 9 out of 10 stars and be happy with your summary of the website.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      6 years ago from Olympia, WA

      It's funny, but I was wondering if anyone would review HubPages. Well done my friend; I have some concerns with this site but I'm pretty sure nobody really cares. :) I just keep writing and try to stay positive about the lack of money that comes my way.

      Good job! Very factual and objective!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)