ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • HubPages Tutorials and Community

How to get your Hub past 'Pending' to be featured.

Updated on December 8, 2014
You work in isolation, thinking nobody is watching you. But as soon as you publish your hub, everyone notices the details. Is your hub original?
You work in isolation, thinking nobody is watching you. But as soon as you publish your hub, everyone notices the details. Is your hub original? | Source

Key points to remember!

  • Your work must be original
  • Images must be appropriately labelled
  • Use capsules for text and photos in every hub
  • Check for errors including spelling, grammar and punctuation
  • Edit, edit, edit.

Making money from HubPages

Most writers like the idea of making some extra dollars from their online writing. I live off the grid and consider myself semi-retired so there is a definite advantage to making money from HubPages. I can write, publish and receive any payments without having to leave home.

The social aspect of HubPages is an unexpected bonus for me. I acknowledge and respond to familiar hubbers in occasional forums, although I am nowhere near as active as other hubbers with a much higher profile.

As with membership in any community, we all have an inherent responsibility to help build HubPages and aid new hubbers as they establish their own presence on HP. Welcome to all newcomers who visit this page. :)

I am just one of the writers who actively rate new hubs. Often I wish I could offer direct feedback to explain my scores, but that facility is not available.

In an effort to encourage and assist new writers seeking advice on how to get past pending and have their hubs successfully published, I offer this advice ...


Make your hub original!

A hub is an original work by an author who strives to meet the guidelines set out by HubPages. It can take many forms, but above all else it has to be original.

An experienced writer has a nose for copied content. If you copy text from promotional sites selling barbecues or themed clothing or any other item, it will stink of being copied from a promotional site.

I will copy part of your text and google it. Then, when the original site displays your text, I will flag your hub as being copied.

Some hubbers might think it is worth the risk, hoping their hub will be reviewed by an inexperienced writer. Perhaps your hub might slide past, but even once it is published it can still be flagged.

Do not underestimate the intelligence of other hubbers. There are many here who can spot copied content. It just takes one hub to be identified as copied for your other hubs to come under scrutiny.

Do not expect to be a hubber for long if you can't be bothered creating your own original work. The rules of HubPages very clearly state that the text in a hub must not be published elsewhere.


What image can you include to catch your reader's eye?
What image can you include to catch your reader's eye? | Source
Construct your hub with care. The message in a successful hub is poised to be carried far and wide.
Construct your hub with care. The message in a successful hub is poised to be carried far and wide. | Source

Include images!

Please show me a photo, a sketch, an image of some kind.

Don't just stop at one. Aim for three in the average hub. The more the merrier, particularly if your hub is lengthy.

I understand that there are some topics that are extremely difficult to illustrate. I have, in fact, rated at least one hub highly enough to be featured despite the absence of any images. It was original and written from the heart and deserved to be featured. I hope everyone reads it.

I also hope the author reads this hub and makes a few of the other improvements listed here. Why? Because another hubber could still flag that hub as being below the desired standard, and it might be idled. That would be a shame, but rules are rules.

Digital cameras are cheap and easy. We no longer live in the 1970s when taking a photo involved film and processing. Grab your cheap digital camera or your latest piece of technology and take photos to illustrate your hub. Even if it is a poem, be creative and take at least one photo to enhance the page.

Don't forget to make an entry in the 'source' box when you upload a photo. Your original photo could simply say, "Photo by author" or "Photo by hubber's name" to keep me happy.


Not my photo ...

This photographer is happy for his photos to be used in a hub such as this one, as long as he is given appropriate credit!
This photographer is happy for his photos to be used in a hub such as this one, as long as he is given appropriate credit! | Source

Give credit where it is due

Photos of beautifully decorated bedrooms, designer-created kitchens or promotional photos of specific products taken from commercial sites are obviously not original photos.

If you include images stolen from a retail outlet, they look like photos stolen from a retail outlet ... and will not be approved as suitable for use on HubPages.

If you are a hubber who identifies key words and then creates a hub around a specific theme, with no experience or knowledge or exposure to the product or issue you are writing about, it is understandable that you're not likely to have an original photograph.

HubPages provides you with access to instructions and advice about copyright and properly attributing ownership or publishing rights to any photo included in a hub.

Read the rules, learn how to play the game, and then choose your photos carefully and make sure you give credit in the 'source' information that will display beneath your photo. Do not just assume that you are allowed to display a photo in your hub just because it appears elsewhere on the internet.

Copyright issues involve more than just HubPages' rules. Laws exist to protect the rights of photographers. Make the effort to stay within the law.


Helpful hint!

Capsules including text, photos, ebay, amazon and links can be made to fit within each main text capsule. When editing, click the green arrow to make the capsule smailler.

Separate text and use headings

Divide your text into bite-sized pieces.

Paragraphs are important. Use your return key often.

Even the most engaging story becomes tiresome and difficult to read when every word rubs shoulders with the next.

Give thought to where you can separate ideas or points. Insert a new text capsule and write an appropriate heading before continuing your text.

Each text capsule can easily be enhanced by adding smaller elements.


Source

Check every sentence

Before you publish your hub, please read your text out loud.

If you have someone else in your home - a partner, a parent, a child - ask them to read it out loud. Listen to every word.

Too often hubs include extra words in a sentence, or are missing vital words. Even simple errors will influence the rating your new hub receives. As much as I enjoy your topic and your style of writing, any mistakes will influence your score.

Every experienced writer knows how easy it is to overlook their own small errors. Professional writers go back and thoroughly review their work before submitting it for publication.

HubPages is a site for writers. In order to be a successful hubber you need to start thinking like a professional writer. Make an extra effort to check your text thoroughly before hitting 'publish'.

Why is it important to read your work out loud?

When you know what you meant to write, your brain may race ahead of your eyes. If you take the time to read every word, you are more likely to spot your mistakes.

If I write, "Hubbers should check every word in a sentence," but then I decide to change it to "Hubbers must check each word in a sentence," there is a risk that my amended version may read "Hubbers must should check each every word in a sentence."

This kind of mistake appears more regularly than I thought possible. If this is only an occasional problem in a hub, the hub will pass the rating process. However if you want a perfect score, you really should have perfect text.


Choose a relevant video

As much as I love this video, it serves no real purpose other than illustrating 'what not to do' when choosing videos to feature. Watch it and laugh, but please do not include irrelevant videos in your hubs.

If readers go the the trouble of viewing a video, it should provide appropriate information on your chosen topic.


Other elements to enhance your hub

There are many additional tools and elements you can include in your hubs, but there is no pressing need to use them in your early hubs.

Tables, links, ebay and amazon capsules will all prove useful as you become more confident and experienced. Experiment with the options available to you, but be sure to keep them relevant to your topic.

Read other people's hubs. Keep an eye on the Hub of the Day. Learn what makes a good hub, see how and where the additional elements are used, and then put that knowledge into action.


Press the Preview button

A recent addition to the range of tools available when creating a new hub is the new 'Mobile View' of your hub during preview.

Preview before publishing. This gives you the ability to see how your hub will look when presented on both desktop computers and mobile devices.

Will your first impression on potential readers be a good one?


Become an active member

Within the HP community, you'll find an audience and new friends.
Within the HP community, you'll find an audience and new friends. | Source

Need help?

The HubPages community is very supportive of new writers who make the effort to protect and support the reputation of HP. If you cannot find the answer to a problem, ask a question. Visit the forums and see what hubbers are discussing. Use the 'search' button at the top of the page.

Occasionally you may encounter an individual hubber who seems gruff and unfriendly.

Like any community, HP has all kinds of members. Friendly and supportive hubbers are, fortunately, in the majority. I am quietly confident you will receive the help you need.

Writing makes better writers

While waiting for your first hub to be assessed, start writing your second hub. And your third.

Drafts can be saved unpublished, so you can be working on more than one hub at any time.

It might help to look at your own personal photo collection, choose a few original photos (that you will take credit for in the 'source' box when you upload the photos) and construct a hub around them.

Writing makes better writers. The more you write, the easier it will become. With confidence, you will find the words flow more smoothly and effectively. That's the first stage.


The importance of editing

Editing is the second stage. Before you publish your hub, review it with a critical eye. Look for mistakes. Actively search for ways to improve it.

At all times concentrate on perfecting the basic structure of your hubs. Check your text and your images, and give appropriate credit for any images included.

Later, if your hub is still pending, or has failed to be featured, go back and edit it again. While you are there, delete any empty capsules that may be showing in edit mode.

Every few weeks, reassess your existing hubs. Can they be improved? You may well be more skilled and confident than you were at the time you created the hub. Boldly make changes.


Write for success

One of the most appealing aspects about writing on HubPages is the potential to make some extra spending money writing about topics you love. Success is not guaranteed, of course. In order to have any chance of regularly reaching pay-out, your work must attract a reading audience.

Your choice of titles and topics, your attention to structure and grammar, your ability to create original work, and your willingness to meet the requirements of HP (including when using their ad program) will directly influence your money-making potential on this site.

It makes sense to learn as much as you can about the process of writing effectively for HubPages, so spend time in the Learning Center (help files) and keep an eye on the forums. If you can't find an answer to your question, ask another hubber in the community forum.

With knowledge and understanding comes confidence. Once you understand what makes a successful hub, you can start writing for success. Instead of writing lengthy slabs of text, you'll find yourself actively looking for natural breaks where you can insert new headings and capsules. You'll add appropriate photos, the occasional video and perhaps a poll or quiz to enhance your page and engage your audience.

I look forward to being pleasantly surprised by the quality of future hubs. It will be a happy day if I feel compelled to give good, strong, positive scores to every hub I read. Do your best to follow the points I have outlined, and I will have no problem scoring your hub worthy of being featured if I review it.

I can't speak for everyone who may review your work, but I suspect they will be similarly pleased.

Happy hubbing! :)

© 2013 LongTimeMother

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • vandynegl profile image

      vandynegl 4 years ago from Ohio Valley

      These are great tips! I will learn from them! Thanks!

    • londonaustin profile image

      londonaustin 4 years ago

      Thanks for the advice. Good Hub!

    • Louise Lately profile image

      Louise Lately 4 years ago from London, UK

      Great tips Long TimeMother! I actually couldn't stop watching the old lady road rage revenge! made my day:)

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 4 years ago from Australia

      Thanks vandynegl, londonaustin and Louise Lately. :)

      I laughed so loud the first few times I watched the video, Louise Lately, that it took a few reruns to notice the screeching brakes at the beginning. It could have been a very different outcome. As it stands, however, I love it!

      I thought if I'm going to illustrate with an irrelevant video, it might as well be a good one. lol.

    • profile image

      Lesleysherwood 4 years ago

      Excellent advice. I have never understood why on earth anyone would want to participate in this whole hubpages experience if they're just going to 'copy and paste.' It reminds me of someone else passing exams for us. You can't ever feel good about praise of accolades as its not your own work.

    • John-Rose profile image

      John-Rose 4 years ago from USA

      Great advice, for the most part I follow the same checklist when looking at hubs. I have come across some hubs that copy another site word for word and I always get a kick out of it.

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 4 years ago from Australia

      Hi Lesleysherwood. I like to think that new hubbers will have the confidence to write for themselves ... and that the rest of us will encourage them to keep trying. It's hard walking that fine line sometimes as people develop their skills, but this is certainly not the site for copying. :)

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 4 years ago from Australia

      Hi, John-Rose. If you have any other words of wisdom, feel free to add them. I look forward to seeing improvements in hubs. :)

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 4 years ago from Australia

      Hi, John-Rose. If you have any other words of wisdom, feel free to add them. I look forward to seeing improvements in hubs. :)

    • healthmom profile image

      healthmom 4 years ago from Ohio

      Great hub and helpful to me as I'm just starting hubbing... I laughed so hard at the video I woke up my sleeping baby on my lap :)

    • Sloan Thomas profile image

      Shannon Sloan Thomas 4 years ago from Baton Rouge, LA

      As a new hubber, this is great!! I had never heard of freedigitalphotos.net - thanks for that tip. I purchased my photos from istockphoto.com - is it necessary to specify the source when you purchase them? Thanks for the help!

    • skperdon profile image

      skperdon 4 years ago from Canada

      Thanks for writing this hub LongTimeMother, as a new hubber I look for Hubs like this. I found it very helpful.

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 4 years ago from Australia

      Hi healthmom. We need to teach our children about laughter when they're young! Sorry if it broke your moment of peace though. :)

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 4 years ago from Australia

      Hello Sloan Thomas. I like the freedigitalphotos.net site because you can download for free as long as you display the name of the photographer plus the site, as explained on the site itself.

      As for when you purchase photos, the Learning Center will have answers about that ... but I tend to think it is best to address the issue, even if you put "Photo purchased by Sloan Thomas." That clears it up for everyone.

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 4 years ago from Australia

      You're welcome, skperdon. This is my effort to make the process a little simpler for new hubbers. Glad it was helpful. :)

    • georgialgal1984 profile image

      Mrs Clark 4 years ago from United States

      Wonderful and informative hub LongTimeMother! You've made some great points and suggestions. Voting up and rating useful!

      One of my favorite places to get pictures is Morgue File. You can use & edit the pictures for completely free, without giving credit, or linking back. Thanks again for sharing this information with us all. Hope you have a wonderful weekend~

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 4 years ago from Australia

      lol. My weekend's half gone already, geogialgal1984. It is 10pm on Saturday night. Ah, the wonders of global communication. :)

      Morgue file ... that's a name I won't forget in a hurry. I think it would be wise to write something in the source box, even if you don't have to give credit. It is like making a statement that the photo is not stolen. Even if you were to write "Photo used with permission." Or words to that effect.

      I think it is to our advantage to eliminate any possibility of people making the assumption that a photo is used without permission.

      Thanks for the positive feedback. Hope you have a wonderful weekend! :)

    • georgialgal1984 profile image

      Mrs Clark 4 years ago from United States

      Thanks for your suggestions! Will do. There is indeed a big time difference. It is Saturday morning here and almost 8:00 a.m. Goodnight gal~

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 4 years ago from USA

      Superb hub. Because I am curious, I review and rate a lot of hubs, too. You have a very thorough list, and it can benefit all hubbers. Errors with its/it's and their/there drive me especially irritate me, as well as failing to use spellcheck. Voted up and awesome!

    • moonlake profile image

      moonlake 4 years ago from America

      Thanks for all this information. Great list. Is your first picture a parrot in a pine tree? Voted up.

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 4 years ago from Australia

      Thanks FlourishAnyway. I think it is good to be active within a community. There's much to be gained at the same time as you're helping out.

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 4 years ago from Australia

      Hi, moonlake. This is one variety of Australia's black cockatoos. Most people are used to the white 'sulphur-crested' cockies - which we also have around here. It was near the top of a very tall pine tree and I was happy to have a camera with a long lens on hand. :)

    • Theater girl profile image

      Jennifer 4 years ago from New Jersey

      Thanks for this, I am still new here and I appreciate the advice!

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 4 years ago from Australia

      You are welcome, Theater girl. I hope it makes the path a little easier. :)

    • jagerfoods profile image

      jagerfoods 4 years ago from South Carolina, USA

      Good advice. Relevancy to the other content that you add is key. (i.e. pictures and video)

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 4 years ago from Australia

      Thanks, jagerfoods. Sorry I took so long to spot your comment. :)

    • cherihut profile image

      Cheri Hutson 4 years ago from Eastern Ohio

      Thanks for all the advice! I appreciate it. I'll be sure to try to put it all to good use.

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 4 years ago from Australia

      Good luck cherihut. I'm sure you'll do brilliantly. I think the main thing is to just get started, then continually edit and make improvements to your existing hubs as you become more experienced. :)

    • cherihut profile image

      Cheri Hutson 4 years ago from Eastern Ohio

      Thanks for the advice. For now, I'm still trying to work around the site, and tweaking an article before I send it...

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 4 years ago from Australia

      Tweaking is good. :)

    • profile image

      Vickiw 4 years ago

      Hi there Longtimemother, I had no idea that you actually rate Hubs. I haven't been here all that long, so everything I can learn is something to be gratefully read. So far I have had good luck with all my hubs as they are all featured. How did you get into this position? Or are you talking about hub hopper? Just curious. I love your Hubs by the way, and you have an interesting variety. This one is very informative and helpful to a lot of Hubbers, I would imagine.

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 4 years ago from Australia

      lol. I'm not sure how much luck has to do with your successful hubs, Vickiw. I've been following your hubs for a while now and I enjoy how you write. :)

      Thanks for your compliments. This hub was actually inspired by a large number of disappointing efforts I viewed via the new version hub hopper. As I explained in my opening sentence, I am just one of the writers who actively rate new hubs. Within a community like this one, I think it is important for experienced hubbers with appropriate skills to help assess pending hubs. Nudge, nudge. :)

    • Oklahomamom2 profile image

      Lindy West 3 years ago from Oklahoma

      Thanks so much I am new and have been struggling to get my hubs published so I will keep this for the future. You explained it wonderfully.

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 3 years ago from Australia

      I am glad it was helpful, Oklahomamom2. I wish you every success. :)

    • lifelovemystery profile image

      Michelle Orelup 3 years ago from Houston, TX

      This is great advice and I wish I had read it when I first started on HubPages. Yesterday, I spent the day going through my hubs and brought them up to current HB standards. It was time consuming, but well worth the effort. Voted up!

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 3 years ago from Australia

      Thanks for the feedback, lifelovemystery. Good luck with your writing. :)

    • sallybea profile image

      Sally Gulbrandsen 3 years ago from Norfolk

      Very useful information and a beautifully written Hub - thank you for sharing LongTimeMother.

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 3 years ago from Australia

      Thank you for your feedback, sallybea. I appreciate it. :)

    • Torrs13 profile image

      Tori Canonge 3 years ago from California

      Thanks for this great information! I've written on other sites before but every site has their own way of doing things, so I always like to read advice from users who know the site the best!

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 3 years ago from Australia

      Hello Torrs13. Don't be discouraged if it takes a while for your hubs to give you the kind of returns you're hoping for. Just make each one the best you can ... and then move onto the next. Good luck. :)

    • Margaret Schindel profile image

      Margaret Schindel 2 years ago from Massachusetts

      As a new Hubber transplanting from Squidoo, I found this information extraordinarily helpful. Thank you for sharing your knowledge, experience and insights with us.

    • Sarah Switalski profile image

      Sarah Switalski 2 years ago from Iowa

      I'm also a Squidoo transplant. While many things are the same here when it comes to quality articles - it's always good to review the best practices! This was very helpful to me and I will likely review it often! Thank you :)

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 2 years ago from Australia

      Hello Margaret and Sarah. Welcome to hp. I wish you every success. :)

    • techygran profile image

      Cynthia 2 years ago from Vancouver Island, Canada

      LongTimeMother, you are such an encouraging being-- when you combine that with your excellent tips for writing and fitting in at Hubpages, you have a prescription for success! I do hope the new writers will read and take this in as the gift it is... I know that I am! ~Cynthia

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 2 years ago from Australia

      Thank you, Cynthia. When I first wrote this there was much less discussion about the actual construction and ingredients of hubs. I am pleased to hear it is still helpful. :)

    • peachpurple profile image

      peachy 2 years ago from Home Sweet Home

      with my low ranking hubs, i am going to take heed of your tips, thanks

    • Elsie Hagley profile image

      Elsie Hagley 2 years ago from New Zealand

      This is a very helpful article, I will be taking note on a few points I didn't know like this "A recent addition to the range of tools available when creating a new hub is the new 'Mobile View' of your hub during preview".

      I will be checking it out as I progress through improving my hubs.

      I appreciate your help very much.

      Hope you have a nice easter.

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 2 years ago from Australia

      Hello, peachpurple. I hope it helps. Just make changes to your existing hubs as you find time, and try new things as you create new ones. :)

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 2 years ago from Australia

      You are welcome, Elsie. The more you understand about HP's tools, the greater your chance of success. Just keep working at it. :)

    • kristinekaren profile image

      kristinekaren 2 years ago from Philippines

      Hi! This is such a motivation.I have a hub that is not featured and you are right ,there are things to do to make it be featured and I will not give up.I totally agree to your advice that Writing makes better writers .Thanks!

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 2 years ago from Australia

      I am pleased you find it helpful, kristinekaren. There's a great deal more to learn about making your hubs successful, but the first step is to get them featured. Good luck with your writing!

    • the rawspirit profile image

      Robert Morgan 2 years ago from Hutchinson Island, FL - Myrtle Beach, SC - Scottsdale AZ

      You are a god send.... Than you for this article. I am learning so much from you. Blessings.

    • LongTimeMother profile image
      Author

      LongTimeMother 24 months ago from Australia

      lol. Happy to help. :)

    • PegCole17 profile image

      Peg Cole 20 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Good tips for new users and experienced writers as well. Edit, edit, edit. It seems that I do more of that than anything else.

    • CYong74 profile image

      Cedric Yong 16 months ago from Singapore

      Yes. Edit, edit, EDIT. And If I might add, revisit older pages now and then and improve. God knows how many errors I discovered on my things that way.

    Click to Rate This Article